Rabbiting

Helloooooo!!!!

I’m trying to pick a lovely summery colour for the words in this post to match these lovely spring flowers…

Hmmm indeed!  That would be a perfectly normal beginning of a post for someone dwelling in the Northern Hemisphere, but down here in the South these spring flowers seem out of place!  Strangely, they’re even growing in people’s gardens, so the seasons and rhythms of the Earth truly are changing!  Nevertheless, the flowers are beautiful, very cheerful and smell delicious, so I’m not complaining!

So how are you all this weekend?

It has just started to rain and get a bit windy, it’s all dark outside, so it’s nice and cozy in here, KB will be arriving home just as the gluten free vegetarian lasagne finishes cooking, I’ve timed it all to perfection, and then the weekend begins!  A big handmade festival is on this weekend in town, and I’m really hoping KB will come with me for a look tomorrow but I’m not holding my breath, the poor woman puts up with a LOT so I never blame her when she puts her foot down… and best not to pressure her because then she might stop taking countless photos of my feet in socks for my blog.  A good relationship rule= pick your battles!

So today I wanted to talk about the wonders of lace knitting… but it turns out that I’m going to be talking about “rabbiting” instead!  KB calls frogging rabbiting… I wondered why and when she explained that you go “rabbit, rabbit, rabbit” when you rip your knitting out I kind of understood, after all, frogging comes from ribbiting which sounds like rippiting, and theoretically, rabbit is closer to rippit than frog, so rabbiting it is in our household.

I was having an awesome time knitting the Milanese loop cowl, it was coming along amazingly!

And EASY!!!  I’ve been a bit nervous about knitting lace again after I knitted the “easy” lace scarf back in March… If you remember, I did not find it so easy!  And towards the end, after repeating the same k2tog, yo, k3 blah blah pattern about 500 times, I was still managing to make mistakes!  But somewhere between March and now, my knitting skills have improved and something I once found extremely challenging is now a lot more do-able!  Another way of knowing it’s not so hard is that I’m not going  “shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh” with a mad look when Raymond utters a meow… my poor little family, I truly am a dictator when knitting is involved…  It’s amazing how you change when you practice isn’t it?  All these hours of knitting socks has paid off in more ways than warm feet!

So back to the cowl which I’m speaking of in past tense, obviously something went wrong…

I got to the halfway mark and remembered that I don’t like using variegated colourways to do textured or patterned knitting or crochet.  For some reason, I thought this would be a lot more subtle, but when it was halfway through, I looked at it and didn’t know whether to look at the dancing happy colours or the beautiful lace!  So instead of carrying on and wasting lots of time on something I wouldn’t be 100% thrilled with, I rabbited it and it felt good!

So I then began it in charcoal merino,  it’s lovely and has been sitting in my stash for an age now, waiting for its moment on the needles!  However, it’s 8ply and the pattern calls for worsted, and I underestimated the amount of stitches needed to make this the same size by about 100, so that was rabbited too!

So I then gave up on the Milanese Loop cowl, I need some worsted to knit it, but I’m definitely coming back to it!  I’ll have to go on a worsted hunt, a terrible shame that is… meanwhile, I have another cowl on the circulars as I type, and am wondering if anyone wants to have a knit-along?  I just discovered I’m not the only New Zealand blogger knitting it right now (!), so would you like to join in with us?

The pattern is HERE a wonderful free pattern by the lovely Julie at Knitted Bliss.  I found her blog months ago when clicking on a link from another blog, loved the cowl but forgot how to get back to her blog and everything about the blog except for the wonderful cowl!  Luckily I found it and have been eyeing it up for a couple of months now, I bought the stash to make it with, and now it’s time!  I’d love you to join in, I may need some help down the line!

Anyway, the lasagne is smelling suspiciously cooked, so I’m off to “cheese” it.  Wishing you a beautiful day!  I hope you spread some love and find some joy,

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Rabbiting

  1. Sherry says:

    It’s looking great! Love the color of your yarn.

  2. jalilah says:

    nice color
    i love your work and your blog

  3. Rachel says:

    I have never known what frogging is until now!!
    Lovely colours, and I hope the lasagne is delicious!!

  4. Tickety-boo says:

    Oh that cry of “sssshhhhhhhhhhhhhh” is so familiar. My brood walk past and sssshhh each other now “sssshhhh Mum’s counting”.
    It’s always funny how certain yarn can make a project your favourite item ever or another one makes you think I like it but not as much as I thought I would (even though you still love the yarn and the pattern.) Hope you find a a lovely worsted yarn to show off her lovely laceyness!
    I am sure you’ll get lots of takers for a KAL.
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxx

  5. MeredithJean says:

    OK… I’m currently making a beanie/hat from a Caron free pattern; have designed a beret myself in Noro Silk Garden and just bought enough to make 3 more; have a jumper with 1.5 sleeves to go, as well as a jumper not begun yet, both for my daughter in Spain so she can have them end July when she’s in freezing UK…. g a s p …… but I’d LOVE to join in the cowlathon!!!! Just may spend this weekend attempting to finish jumper #1 and contemplate my ability to begin it next week. The pattern is gorgeous. Oh and I forgot to mention the Spotlight $30,000 knitting competition didn’t I? Hahahaha yes, that as well, and I still haven’t decided what to make and that’s due by end July I think…. hehehhehe and a Shhhhhhh for good measure xxx

  6. Terrie says:

    Isn’t that cowl gorgeous! I came across it a while ago too and actually gave it a go but it all went terribly wrong! I may jump in and join you if I manage to get some longer circulars (which is where I went wrong before!) I can’t wait to see yours =]

    I can see what you mean about variegated yarn and busy patterns. When you have such gorgeous wool I think something simple shows it at its best – the same with such a pretty pattern. But then I’m no expert!

    I love rabbiting! Makes more sense than frogging! xx

  7. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice and welcome to winter. Oh your flowers are just beautiful especially this time of year. I have just caught up on your last posts and wish you a very happy but slightly belated blog-a-versary. Also grey, hmmmm I have been wearing and I have on hook lots of grey at the moment, so many colours go so well with grey, especially when my hook is a metalic pink! Have a wonderful weekend at your place.

  8. Lorena says:

    I usually Knit but for a change, now I am doing a cardigan with crochet. No patterns, just free style.. jaja it is working ;P – believe it or not.

    I have to have a look that pattern you have there, it looks very nice for a winter project.
    Regards from the UK.

  9. Robin says:

    Alice, so many rabbiting, I wanted to cry for you, I know that’s what I always feel like doing. It always best to do, just so painful. I hope you have fun picking out the worsted and that it just pops out at you at the yarn shop! Lasagna sounds good, enjoy! Have a great weekend, xoRobin❤

  10. Sara-Jane says:

    Sounds like a great weekend. My daughter, Mary-Alice, is making her confirmation then we are helping a friend move. You talk about being in school, what type of degree are you working towards? I just received my M. Ed. in education a few weeks ago. So happy that is behind me. You have inspired me to make some socks, but I’m a crocheter so I’m looking for a fairly easy pattern and some reasonably priced yarn. Hope to find something soon. Have a nice time at the fair! Love the posts so thanks to you for the inspiration, your partner for the pictures and Raymond for the love!

  11. Sarah says:

    Rabbiting is a much better name than frogging! (In the UK “rabbiting” means chatting/gossiping.) And I am totally with you on the yarn/pattern thing. It’s why I knit so much stocking stitch/ patterns with a lot of stocking stitch – I struggle to buy plain yarn but don’t like fussy patterns with coloured yarn.

    I’m loving the cowl and SERIOUSLY tempted, although I’ve already planned several projects and am going to *try* to resist as we’re just coming into ‘summer’ – we’ll see.

    Hope you enjoyed your lasagne, happy weekend.
    Sarah
    xxx

  12. I lost that pattern too!
    Glad you have found it for me again :-) I will join you in the Knitalong.
    I can’t start till next weekend though as I am booked out driving family to Doctors appointments and catching up on bookwork this week.
    I’m off to look for my long needles and I am sure the merino I bought recently in charcoal as well will be just right for that lovely cowl.
    I just frogged back my socks as the pattern was not leaving as neat a finish around the gusset as I was looking for. Got any tips on how to make that part of the sock hole free??

    I just adopted a little pony who has come from the rescue place and is so nervous and scared. One door closes and another one opens. It will take over the time that I used to spend with Tally. I find that having a horse who needs work and patience is the perfect ‘Time Out’ for me when there is daylight still in the sky. 20 minutes in the horse paddock bonding with a pony sounds perfect and luckily my Billy knows that too. If he can’t find me he looks in the horse paddock! Knitting is the timeout of choice once the sun goes down :-)

  13. Louise says:

    I love the colour and it looks fab! You are very clever with your knitting, quite talented I would say.

  14. Sarah says:

    The cowl is looking fab!!

    I wonder if you be able to recommend a pattern for beginners socks and/or point me in the direction of a tutorial? I am a very, very novice knitter (can only knit & purl) and have just started some tube socks on 4 needles which have you k2, p1 but I am getting in a proper mess k’ing when I should be p’ing and vice versa.

    I am thinking I may have been better taking the bull by the horns and knitting something completely plain and being brave enough to try a turned heel?

    I’d be really grateful for any tips?!!

    S x

  15. We call it goating around here. :) It’s all a matter of perspective isn’t it?

  16. Penelope says:

    Hi Alice, that knitted bliss cowl looks super scrummy, thanks for the link. It will probably go on my to do list as I am busy knitting the Shalom Cardy which is such fun so far and easy for a novice like me.
    The dancing colours of your varigated colourway yarn is too beautiful and I must agree with you about mixing lace and varigated colourways. Isn’t it just fun geting more and more cnfident with our knitting, such a lot to learn still but so divine to be making our own accessories and garments, I’m never going to look back ;0)
    Wishing you and KB a fab rest of the weekend xox Penelope xox

  17. Anki says:

    Lovely yarn and pattern! And the Stockholm scarf is lovely too, as is Stockholm itself! Says I who was born and bred there :D

  18. Melissa says:

    Ohhh! If I weren’t in the middle of my socks, I’d so knit that cowl with you! It’s fab! Cross your fingers, I’m off to turn my heel! Yikes!

  19. Bev says:

    Oh, that is the most beautiful color. I love the yarn and the pattern. Can’t wait to see it finished.

  20. Cuckoo says:

    GOODNESS ME!
    I just popped by for a little bit of colour and yarn therapy and I got a very happy shock. I’m in your side bar!!! Grinning and singing I am. Wow! Thank you. I love your blog, I think I may have told you this a few times. I know I said I’d follow you anywhere when you started thinking about a blog name change, such is my delight with your blog and with Raymond the LEGEND!

    I’ve started to learn to knit. Very slowly….and I blame you in part for this, not the slow learning bit but for inciting the need to knit within me. I’m hoping I’ll be to sock standard before the end of the summer so I can make a pair of socks for autumn.

    I would so love to join in with the knit along but I can’t do much more than cast on/off knit/purl. That lace looks awesome but I can see what your mean about the lace fighting with the variegated yarn.

    I think knitters and crocheters the world over will be using the term rabbiting now, you are a trend setter you know.

    Ah I’m beyond chuffed to find that you read my blog. Really happy. It’s like we are mates now!!! Ha heee ha!

    Many blessings,
    xxx

  21. Sophia says:

    Exactly what I’ve just started knitting :D How did you know – haha… Definitely keen for a knit-a-long, it’ll keep us motivated! It’s a large project (I want a HUGE one) so easy to get bored! Have you figured out where to hold the wool and which way to slip stitches? I might do a test piece today to see how different ways look – I’ll post it if I get around to it!

  22. Suzanne says:

    I just wanted to let you know that your blog is the very first that has ever captured my attention enough to come back and look for new posts. I am memorized by your choice in colors and wish I could find yarn as colorful as what you have, but so far my lys tends to carry the more muted Northwestern colors, sigh.

  23. Maria says:

    Totally agree about varigation and lace. Unfortunately I’m agreeing through experience and frogging too. The Stockholm Scarf/Cowl is lovely, I too have been eyeing it off. My but is I just don’t wear scarves. But oh, I want to knit one :-)

  24. Karen says:

    Hi Alice

    That cowl pattern is so lovely i’m going to have to knit it even though it’s summer here in the UK at the moment. So i’ll be knitting along with you and hopefully not having to rabbit.

  25. Sandra says:

    Hi Alice, just wanted to say how much I enjoy your blog and there is a little something over at mine for you! x

  26. sandiart says:

    I can smell the jonquils!!! Spring flowers are so yum. I have decided to knit my dad some socks for Fathers day, I have until September, I think that will give me enough time if I make mistakes to be able to redo :) I have been charging along on the granny stripe blanket and have an over used arm again that is giving me grief, but do I stop..oh no, I can’t stop I am enjoying it so much, who would have thought that crochet can give so much pleasure. That cowl is gorgeous but way too big for my little frame :(
    Have a wonderful day.
    x Sandi

  27. mariasangel says:

    i’m always thrilled to learn new words–and i certainly make up my fair share! LOL! I have ribbited/rabbited/frogged/goated more crochet projects than i care to admit, but never had a name for it…just another look of dismay from some family member and the comment “you are ripping the whole thing out????” ah well….i’m on board with the rabbiting….

  28. whitelavender says:

    Hi Alice, I will join in with the Stockholm Cowl knitalong, have my wool and circulars and ready to go this weekend. Just finishing off a cardy, sewing it up now ( For my grandaughter, so not too large a project ) horrible waikato weather so perfect for staying inside in the warm and indulging. Shirley

Leave a Reply

