Stash Love

Helloooo!!!

Happy Sunday to you… I hope you’re all having a happy one whatever you are up to!  I’m having quite the enjoyable weekend… after work last night we had a lovely evening with one of Raymond’s favourite friends,  his Aunty Wei Siew who he loves very much, as she has a comfortable and welcoming lap, a nice gentle voice and is particularly good at stroking, until the knitting comes out and takes up all the room… damn that knitting he says!  Today is filled with normal Sunday stuff, plus essay writing… ugh… this one is a shocker and I’m well and truly unmotivated and a wee bit stuck.  I’m spending the day alternating between essay writing and knitting, essay writing and cooking, essay writing and yoga and surely by the end of the day it will be all finished!

Yay for Sunday, today marked the end of my giveaway… 194 entries in total, wowsers… what lovely comments to read though, so much appreciation coming my way, it was quite awesome, thank you for taking the time to say thank you!!  It was very lovely!  I used a random number generator thingy and the winner was…………………………..

Pati from London!

Yay Pati, I’m excited to be sending you some Crochet with Raymond goodness, so e-mail me your address and I’ll get it in the post!!! 

Are you a follower of Rebecca Danger and her wonderful knitted monsters?  I was looking at her etsy shop a few weeks ago and saw that she has just released a book!  I needed to get my hands on this book because I’m busting to make some monsters… so I did!

And how flipping fabulous is this book!  I love it! 

I’ve been having so much fun going through my stash, finding all the single skeins with monster potential!  It was hard to decide which one to make first, I actually ended up trying out one of Rebecca’s free patterns, the bunny nugget which you can find on her blog but I need eyes for it!  Embroidered eyes look silly and buttons made it look like a zombie bunny nugget, so you’ll have to wait for the reveal on that one!  In the meantime, I’ve decided to get started on this one, using Perendale from The Wool Company in watermelon, one of my absolute fave colourways from TWC!

Very cute and very small… perfect to start on.  Rebecca is such a monster legend… I highly recommend her blog but have a look at her etsy shop to see pages and pages of monster goodness, I love it!  I want them all…. (seriously)

I love my stash.  It brings me endless amounts of joy… I like to buy bright coloured, exciting yarn that makes me zing on the inside, but generally I have no idea what I’m going to make with what I buy.  But I like it that way.  Because I only buy a small amount at a time rather than, say, a jersey lot, I have a lot of glorious single skeins, that are perfect monster material!

I’ve been uploading my stash onto Ravelry lately, just to prove how completely obsessed I have become!  My stash has two categories, wardrobe stash and basket stash.  The basket stash lives in baskets next to my rocking chair and consists of all the wool I use to crochet, knit little hats and generally experiment with.  I don’t upload basket stash onto my stash page on Ravelry because it is in constant use for lots of little projects.  (Also, I might point out here, that this stash is colour coordinated for maximum aesthetic pleasure)

My wardrobe stash is a different story.  This stash lives in zip-lock bags, (a necessary precaution after a moth attack on some feather dusters stored in there last year) and is then stored in big plastic boxes.  This is where my favourite yarns live, boxes of pure potential happiness… Want to have a sneaky peek into my wardrobe stash?  It’s not the hugest stash in the world but I love love love it.  So click HERE for a good old nosey!  Oh, and I finally reached 100 projects on ravelry the other day!  So if you want to see everything I’ve made since about August 2010 in one colourful hit, click HERE!  That’s a serious colour fix, brace yourself!

OK, I’ve procrastinated enough for today!  Back to the essay, wish me luck!

Have a lovely rest of your weekend,

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Stash Love

  1. Hannah says:

    You are an amazement!! I saw how much you have accomplished in less than one year. You need an award for this. Everything is so beautiful. I love your Sunday posts because I get them on Saturday! Thank you for all the inspiration you are providing people all over the globe.

  2. Donna (owlcrazi) says:

    Oh Alice – I too LOVE Rebecca’s monsters, and recently bought myself her book as a birthday present to me :) I started with Dot and like you had to wait for eyes, just finished her and added to my rav a few days ago as well!. I was just popping on here to get some instructions for finishing up my second Granny Mandala and saw your wonderful post – it’s still Saturday for me so that makes it even more fun!

  3. Now those monsters are just too cute! That one looks like he has your socks on! :)

  4. MeredithJean says:

    Bless you alice! How much you love colour, how much you love texture, your delight in the creativity of others, your albeit reluctant at times sense of responsibility for academia, and the FUN you have taking your photos with such care for us to RELISH! Thank you, thank you…. I’m going to check out your Ravelry page/s – 100!!! Well done! xxx

  5. Annegret says:

    I really enjoy to read your blog. Here in Germany we have nearly the end of spring time and I use to awake half past five in the morning, with the sun looking into my windows. So, on sunday mornings I can’t await to read your blog. You are soooo amazing, colourful, full of creativity. Thank you.

  6. MariLynda says:

    Alice…I visited Ravelry & looked at all of your wonderful yarns & creations. Absolutely wonderful…You do have a gift…!!! Congratulations to Pati from London for winning your tea cozy…Very lucky lady to have one of your hand made pieces. Look at all of those fantastic responses to a very deserving person…!!! Good Luck on your essay…!!! Brings back memories of helping my daughter with hers. You will do fine…!!! My best to your lovely Raymond. MariW

  7. Sarah says:

    Hi Alice, lovely to read such a long post (do I detect a little essay-procrastination?)

    I’d already spotted your revelry stash growing this week and was wondering if you were catching up or had been on a huge spending spree so I’m glad that one is cleared up :) Wonderful colours and truly your projects are a joy.

    Inspired by yourself and Lucy from Attic 24 (I first discovered you from her blogroll) I have finally started a little crochet this week!!!! Nothing too major, just a few apple jackets (the stick I’m getting about those!!) and jam jar covers. It’s an additictive start. Today I’m going to start a simple cushion cover. Not getting much knotting done!

    Anyway, enjoy the rest of your day and good luck with your essay,

    Sarah
    Xxxxxxx

  8. Rae says:

    I love the books I also had to get my hands on it when it came out. She has some of the cutest pattern in the book & in her shop. I need to take some time & make some monsters they would be wonderful gifts. Looking at your Mandalas makes me want to learn to crochet so badly they are so pretty & I love your color choices.

  9. Louisa says:

    Those two ravelry pages fill me with so much fabulous inspiration! When I get my own house next year, every room is going to have beautiful bunting at the windows, the kitchen is going to have a huge selection of potholders, my sofa will be full of cushions!!!
    Stunningly beautiful stash too!

  10. Karisma says:

    Those monsters are pretty awesome! I am not liking my stash right now though, after giving away 3 huge bags of wool to make room, someone gave me a heap more. Now I have been churning through it really fast so I have an excuse to go shopping for more. Making a gazillion pairs of ugly granny square slippers that my friends all seem to like, my darling son says to me today, I don’t want those, knit me a real pair of socks! Praise the faeries….now I have an excuse to not only go wool shopping but to finally knit a pair of socks! LOL

  11. Sarah says:

    Loving all those beautiful bright colours – and the apple coasters are the cutest thing

  12. Tickety-boo says:

    Essays? Blah! That sucks.
    Ooooo monsters how lovely are they???? You are so right about their eyes. I have two crocheted teddies I have made but I haven’t been able to get the right size of black eyes for them. Their personalities aren’t unleashed until they have eyes and I’m not so sure on the Coraline look!
    Off to drowl at your stash ;o)
    Love Tickety-boo
    xxxxx

  13. Ruth says:

    Love the monsters!

  14. Carol says:

    Hi Alice, love those little monsters so off the have a look at Rebecca’s blog and pictures of your stash.
    I bought a new book after reading this blog post http://cocorosetextiles.blogspot.com/2011/05/head-over-heels.html. What a sweet story, wonder what Raymond thinks?
    Good luck with the essay, enjoy the rest of your weekend.
    Carol xx

  15. Pati from London says:

    Oh My God Alice!!!! I can’t believe I’ve won your Gorgeous Tea Cozy!!! I’ve just opened your blog as I do every Sunday and there was my name (ahhhh!!!), I had to read it twice as I couldn’t believe it! (I never win anything…).
    To win something is always lovely but to win something that you have made yourself with love is TRULY special. THANKS, THANKS AND THANKS A LOT!!! You’ve made my day (and my girls’ day as they loved the cozy when I showed it to them the other day!). I will send you an email with the details. Thanks again, darling. I’m chuffed!!
    Love, Pati x

  16. I have a collection of Rebeccas monsters as well, just waiting for the right moment to make Daphne and Delilah….and all the others too, they are so cute!!! Rebecca has some cool tattoos as well :-)

    I have stash envy and KB is obviously not male as she would be wondering why????? as my Billy does :-)

  17. kiwiyarns says:

    Congratulations on your 100th project Alice!

    It was such a treat to spend time with you and KB last night.

    After I got home, I finished the sock, and was soooo annoyed I didn’t get the kitchener right again that this morning I got out a few of my old swatch squares, undid the cast-off rows, and used them as practice to learn until I got it. It’s such a counter-intuitive stitch! However, after four sets of kitchenered swatches…. I am now the proud owner of a Kitchener-perfect imprinted brain! :-)

  18. penelope dubois says:

    Woa!! What a fabuous stash! and all the colourful projects! Makes for a great mosiac.
    Love those Monsters, such a great idea, that book, and kids and adults love ‘em.
    I think the fun is just using fab yarn, and you sure have it!
    So, how does Raymond feel about these monsters? Maybe he would like a Bunny Nugget with a little catnip? Meow!

  19. Dawn says:

    Love, love, loooooove the way you describe it —-> “that makes me zing “!

    That’s it exactly, isn’t it!? …..the colors of our stash that make us zing.

  20. Robin says:

    Alice, Can’t type much want to see your stash!!!!!!Lovely post of yarny goodness. Love the looks of that book, will check that out too. Good luck on your essay, so happy those days are over. Only thing I like to write is journal type things and comments on lovely bloggers like you. Happy Sunday and success on the Essay and monster of course!!! xoRobin❤

  21. Regula says:

    Wonderful stash.
    Now I can see why someone only buys one skein of a specific yarn. I always think I need much for doing a sweater at least. How wrong I have been. :-)

  22. I love the yarn you have in your stash, what gorgeous colors!! I can’t wait to see your monsters, I just adore those things! And they always seem to have their own unique personality, very fun to have around at the office sometimes. It’s difficult to have a bad day when looking at those sweet monster faces. :D

  23. Louise says:

    L♥VE those monsters, oh and your stash too!!!!
    Finished your polka dot tea pot today :-) Thank you for sharing the pattern.

  24. Penelope says:

    Are those monster’s for real? They are just the bomb! Love ‘em I do, Want ‘em I do. Ooooo but it’s the old DPNs again! Gggrrrrr I watched Rebecca’s link to a good youtube video on ‘how to’ with Dpn’s and am still confused and not convinced I’m afraid! I think bamboo needls would probably be best as they are not heavy and slippery. I need to put an ad in the local paper asking if there is anyone out there willing to tutor me :0) I’m sure all that stunning wardrobe stash will be able to offer some incredible monsters. I saw on Rebecca’s etsy shop that she has a pattern for Penelope the empathetic monster!!! and that made me even more determined to learn!!! Love your stash Alice, love your 100 project make on ravelry you are such a dedicated follower of yarn pleasure! Good to hear that you are getting the balance between work and play right, I’m sure you are a marvel at essay writing too.

    We’ve been out for the afternoon, it’s very blustery here but we enjoyed some country life and a pretty garden or two. Well, I guess I must go now and face the inevitable making Alice’s packed lunch for tomorrow’s coach ride to York :( thanks for your love and support xox Penelope

  25. Casey says:

    If I ever learn how to knit, I really want to make one of her monsters! I love seeing pictures of them

  26. Katie says:

    Wow Alice! That’s incredible! So many beautiful things from one person. I’m so inspired. Good luck with your essay!!

  27. Sarah says:

    You’re such an inspiration! I haven’t touched my knitting needles for quite some time, but I may just have to after reading your blog – thanks! :)

  28. I love the belly buttons on these little guys! So cute.

  29. Melissa says:

    Oh my goodness! Can I live in your wardrobe? The handspun, the Noro, the Opal, the Malibrigo! Can you really blame the moths for trying? The monsters are way too cute. I’m living in knitting frustration. I am having the awfulest time with the magic loop. Not so magic for me :( Oh well. Persistence typically pays off. Hope you were able to get your essay done!

  30. Julie says:

    Hope you managed to finish your essay.

    Cute little monsters, looking forward to seeing your version

  31. Alice your stash is awe-inspiring! I kept scrolling and there was more and more! I’m going to have to show it to my OH to prove I don’t have “too much”. He could learn some patients from your KB :-D

    I still haven’t decorated my tea cosie, I’m terrible, but I love the polka dot one in your projects so that’s tempted me to get on with it again! One project at a time for me I think :-)

  32. Brenda says:

    OMG what a fantastic sight, so much colour and joy I love them all! I can’t believe you have made all that since 2010. Love the photo’s of the stash too. xx

  33. Susan Wright says:

    Hi Alice and the beautiful Raymond.
    Loved looking at your stash, how come its not all muddled up and tangled?!!!
    You do inspire us you know. I just wish i could get more things finished, I have taken some advice from you now and i only have two projects on the go so as not to become overwhelmed.
    Thanks for all that colour and inspiration.

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  34. Terrie says:

    I love those monsters – they have been on my to-knit list for a while! Just popped over to your stash page. One word. Wowza (is that even a word?!) I do believe your house is a yarn lovers paradise!

    Good Luck with the essay! x

  35. Sophia says:

    My oh my what a lot of sock yarn! I’m excited to see the final products! I hope that Opal sockenwolle is cheap in Germany – I’m going there in September…

  36. WOW-za. I haven’t popped by in a while. I’m loven’ just about everything I see here today. Especially, you blog border all hooked in my favorite colors. Amazing, it must be summer, as you are working with Watermelon colored yarn. I’m currently working on a fun crocheted Watermelon Bunting. Hope to post directions soon over at http://www.thegardenbell.blogspot.com soon, very very soon. However, blogger has been acting up the last few days, so I may wait till the weekend. I’ll be back much more often now.

  37. Today I received my first ‘Blog Award’ part of it involves passing it on, I always enjoy your Blog so you are one of my chosen few! Thank you for always being so generous with your time . Love Linda

  38. Sophie Slim says:

    my goodness – I just checked out your fancy stash and it is AMAZING!!! so beautiful!!! Seriously.

    I wouldn’t know what to do with most of it. Its all so lovely. No wonder your keep it in plastic ziplocks – protect the prettiness!!

    I’ve been reading back on your blog archives. I can’t believe how many socks you have knitted in the last few months, you are seriously on a roll huh! I tried to knit a pair of socks this year and I failed miserably. Since then I’ve managed to get the hang of DPNs… So maybe you have inspired me enough to have another go!! Do you have a particular pattern you stick to?

    Sophie

Leave a Reply

