More socks?!

You’re all going to think that I’m a really fast knitter and that I’m whipping up a pair of socks every two days…

Trust me, that’s not the case!  It takes me about three days per sock, 3+3= 6 days/pair  and by day four I’m itching to get them done and on my feet!  I finished this pair last night and felt quite triumphant… I was struggling through the last half of the second sock, and decided that I was sick of making things in pairs, and my next project was going to be something single no matter what!

I am obviously unwell, because no less than 30 minutes after I had kitchenered that second toe, I had cast on another pair, eep… but more about that another time!

So how about that yarn! It is one of the colourways dyed by a lovely Wellingtonian lady named Tash, a.k.a Knitsch who is without a doubt, the provider of the grooviest sock yarn in New Zealand… possibly anywhere!  It is 100% supertwist merino, so has no nylon in it and is very different to knit with!  I loved it, I must say, it feels strong and durable and the colours are so zingy, and if I had one word to describe this yarn I would say “boingy.”  I was determined to get the toe just right on this pair, no knitting at parties, no knitting at polytech, it was concentration-central with these babies, and I finally managed it!

I had intended to knit these at the same time, to ensure that the dreaded single sock syndrome that has been threatening to occur lately didn’t happen, but as you can see, that first one got away on me… it’s the boingyness, this yarn knits up faster than other stuff seems to. (yay!)

Ta-daa!

Possibly the coolest socks in my drawer… As the yarn seems to be a weeny bit thicker, these have turned out to be quite a bit bulkier than my faery socks even though I used the same pattern and needles… they are on my feet now and are particularly snuggly… I forsee many more pairs in the near future….

So how about that Kitchener Stitch?  Kitchener is now my friend… I’ve graduated from being dependent on the Knitwitches YouTube video, to being able to do it from a book, and  think that by the time I reach the toe on my next sock, I might just have it in my head!

I am particularly proud of my toes….

So!  Sock particulars!

The Pattern:  Same as usual, I’m sticking with it until I feel like I’m sock-sussed!  (Maybe one more pair and then I’ll get adventurous!)

The Yarn: Knitsch 100% supertwist merino, colourway Ganguin.  You can check out her online shop HERE and her shop blog HERE!  Her shop, Holland Road Yarn Company is fabulous and I’m going on a  sneaky road trip out there tomorrow… note to self, try not to  buy more sock yarn!  Well, not too much more anyway….

Sock Satisfaction Rating: 10/10, these are bouncy, cuddly, snuggly and warm, plus they have the added bonus of being incredibly bright and funky, I can’t wait to show them to my Mum.

OK then, well I’m off for today!  I’m in the middle of writing an essay, 12 topics in 1500 words, my my, I’m discovering it’s waaaaaaaaaaaay harder to write a short essay than a long one!  The more I write the more confused I’m getting… wish me luck!  Oh, and don’t forget to enter my giveaway if you haven’t already! 

Have a lovely day, 

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in SOCKS!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to More socks?!

  1. MeredithJean says:

    Yay for perfectly fitting socks, your persistence paid off. You sure find some fabulous yarns Alice. Boingyness oh yes, that’s what baby lambs have when they spring around the field. So a yarn that can maintain the spring of the lamb is indeed a winner.

  2. Annette says:

    Awesome boingyness! Just love those colors! I’m afraid to try socks…they scare me. LOL

  3. Johnetta Harris says:

    I want to learn to knit socks because of your post. I can only need dish towels at the moment but you are my inspiration to branch out. I love love love the yarns. I wish I could dye my own!! :) thx for the post!! :)

  4. Hannah says:

    That has to be my favorite picture of Raymond!! Also, love your boingy socks! You really knit them fast. It takes me 6 days to do ONE sock!

  5. Wow! That yarn is just amazing!!! I can’t believe you are such a fast knitter! (Despite what you say!) I think you may have to go into the sock business. Sooner or later you will run out of feet. :) Perhaps Raymond needs some socks?

  6. Jude says:

    Flipping Marvellous!!
    You are a sock magician….
    They are beautiful, well done…I still searching.
    Take care
    Jude.

  7. Melissa says:

    I do believe those are positively perfect socks!

  8. Sarah says:

    Love your socks, Alice. And even more than your socks, I love the enthusiasm with which you share your creations :)

    Good luck with your essay
    Xxx

  9. Barbara says:

    I am loving those socks. Found your blog via Flickr and am so glad I did, it’s fab. Raymond is gorgeous, my four felines wave hello to him from the UK.

  10. Klockarbarn says:

    What a beutiful yarn. Looks like candy.

  11. Bimbi says:

    Fantastic socks! Keep knitting.
    How do you make sure with this type of yarn that the pattern looks the same on both socks?
    Bimbi

  12. 6 days/pair???That’s still real quick!!They’re ace!

  13. Nikkole says:

    They look perfect! I am determined to become a sock knitter :D

  14. kate says:

    My sister in law, a sock knitting nutcase – not dissimilar to your goodself (note the tone of envy in my voice….) always ‘knits the SECOND sock first’ so that she doesn’t get fed up!! Talk about mind over matter x Lovely socks (more envy going on here)

  15. I’m with Kate –More than a case of the green eyed monster here—- Those soxs are superlicious!
    Love Linda

  16. Margaretha says:

    Love the colour of your socks you really are a fast knitter! My D.H. and I will be flying to N.Z. for a weeks break this Sunday.

  17. Alice, I did warn you that sock knitting becomes addictive! But as addictions go, I don’t think this one’s too worrying! Lovely socks, I like this colourway especially. I’m so pleased you’re starting to make a habit of giving us a photo of Raymond at the end of each post, not only is he scrumptious, it proves he hasn’t left home to go to another loving couple, which from what you’ve said in past posts, it sounds like he quietly hints at doing, in his own cat way! Love Vanessa xxx

  18. Tan says:

    Stop ittttttttttt…..

    you make me want to learn to knit! no no no

    xx

  19. Tickety-boo says:

    Sqqqqquuuuuuuueeeeeeeeeee!!!! I don’t know if it’s blogging etiquette or not to squee someone else’s work but I can’t help it those bad boys are awsome! Love love love that yarn. It stripes do beautifully. I wouldn’t be wearing shoes if they were mine.
    Socky-wocky-do-dahs!
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxxx

  20. Ann says:

    I so love your f.o.’s Alice! Everything you do makes me want to be more creative. I love your colors, and especially your enthusiasm for your projects. You make me feel more enthusiastic and creative myself. Every time I have a plan for certain things I want to make next, you post something new and I have to add your creations to the top of my list! It’s getting longer and longer the more you post-

    Keep doin’ what you do because you love it, and it will keep inspiring folks like me to do it too!!

    Thanks again!

    Ann

  21. Pobby says:

    Your socks are so pretty! They absolutely look very comfy and warm.

    And I love the picture of Raymond ♥ He just seems so happy and satisfied :) Like he’s thinking : ‘No need to go anywhere, I have everything I need right here!’

  22. Textureknit says:

    I love the colours of the yarn but equally I LOVE the picture of Raymond brilliant!

  23. Penelope says:

    OK then let me walk the walk of shame! I can’t believe how neat, scrummy, perfect your soxy love is. These colours are just beautiful and no doubt your toes will soon be the envy of all in Wellington. Love ‘em Alice, just wish I could knit ‘em! xxxxx Thanks for another marvelous post xox Penelope

  24. Pati from London says:

    You are a VERY fast knitter, there’s no doubt about that!!!! A sock “extraordinaire”!!! Blue is my favourite colour and that blue is just beautiful!! I can see you are getting ready for your wintery months….. Here is a bit cloudy today but we are having a lot of lovely sunny spring days so can’t complain…. Enjoy your socks! x Pati

  25. Claudia says:

    Your socks are just perfect, Alice!! They seem so soft and cozy!! And this colors are terrific!
    (P.S.: I love Raymond´s photos!!)

  26. Carole says:

    Wow, another pair of socks! You are going to have a whole drawer full by the time I finish my first pair. They look very neat and the yarn is divine.

    Raymond is looking all content with himself today :)

  27. Meredith says:

    Beautiful socks Alice, the color and fit are just perfect. So is Raymond….is he winking at us?
    Good luck on the essay,
    Meredith

  28. Mar says:

    Even though I write in Spanish on my blog, I left a little comment in English for you there, as I finished my first pair of knitted socks.
    Thanks so much for all the encouragement!
    This addiction of yours is turning very nice, way to go Alice!!

  29. Karisma says:

    Oh they are most beautiful. I am very much wanting to give sock knitting a go thanks to your delightful sock posts. :-) Maybe one day, I have a gazillion projects on the go right now.

  30. Carol says:

    More beautiful socks, great toes!
    Raymond looking as handsome as usual, what a star.
    Carol xx

  31. Julie says:

    ooo these are super, i like the colourway of this pair

    Raymond looks like he might be wondering if there is a sock pattern for paws!!!

  32. Eve says:

    I am so jealous of your sock drawer right now! That yarn is STUNNING! I love the bit of texture it has.. it really adds to the character!

  33. Lynn says:

    GGGRRREEEAAAAATTTTTT job!! I just love the yarn what a fab color! Congrats on the perfect toe! JOB WELL DONE!!

  34. Kristen says:

    Wow, fantastic! I love love love that colorway, very pretty. And I think one sock every three days is still a pretty blistering pace. You’re a sock knitting machine!

  35. Jillian_R says:

    Wow, you are amazingthat you finished those things so fast!! THey look great too. That’s the problem though, so many pretty yarns to make socks with! Raymond looks so content, I am jealous. Good luck on the essay!

  36. José says:

    Drop-dead gorgeous !
    ( both the socks & Raymond :-) )

  37. Liza Flores says:

    LOVE ALL THE SOCKS YOU HAVE MADE THE COLORS ARE AWESOME BRIGHT, CHEERFUL, WARM , SNUGGY, JUST LIKE YOUR PERSONALIATY YOUR PROJECT TRU YOUR STORIES ON YOUR BLOG. LOVE THE PIC ON RAYMOND YOU JUST WANT TO KISS THAT FACE. TAKE CARE YOUR FRIEND FROM TEXAS !!

  38. penelope dubois says:

    That Raymond, cracks me up!!! What a face!
    Anyway, I really like that yarn! I am still struggling to decide on my method for socks, keep going back and forth. Gonna try the magic loop again, toe up!

  39. juniperjune says:

    3 days per sock is still mighty impressive! this colorway is gorgeous, and i love the little ridge you put on the toes. that’s a beautiful pillow behind raymond in the last shot, too!

  40. DebbyMcC says:

    Boingy: perfect description! =-) Love that yarn! And, yes, your toes are beautiful =-)

  41. edamommy says:

    Epic socks. ^_^

  42. ohangelina says:

    i dont like cats {{ at ALL}} AND for some reason…i am wanting to pet yours. he doesnt seem catish.
    are you sure he is not a small monkey?

  43. Juliadus says:

    You did a really good job! They look amazing! The colors are very bright and fresh! I love this socks. Good luck with the next project! :)

  44. Brenda says:

    Love the wool in these socks, gorgeous! Love Raymond too xx

  45. Sarah says:

    Gorgeous toes, I came by to check out your wonderful crochet but I’m delighted to find you’ve got the sock knitting bug too :)

  46. 'me' says:

    ok, you can’t deny it anymore : you have a sockaddiction !!!

  47. Kate says:

    Alice you are so clever, you have inspired me to learn to knit on dpns after many years of putting it off. But how to you avoid ladders?? I can’t seem to get rid of mine :(

  48. Robin says:

    WOW, ALice you are now the Queen of socks. Great job, great colors-stripes, and great feet! You are a sock making monster! Love love love them. xoRobin❤

  49. Nic says:

    Just wanted to say I discovered your blog today and it’s AWESOME! I saw the photos and thought they were from NZ. Keep up the good work, from Chch!

  50. Felicity from Down Under says:

    Alice, they are great socks in great colours. I’m sure Raymond loves them. And I wish iIcould find such nice sock yarn where I live. Perhaps I’ll have to plan an NZ holiday. thanks for sharing the colour

  51. Jill says:

    Those colors are fab! And I think Raymond agrees! :3

  52. Jane says:

    I know you are enjoying your newfound love of all things socky, I don’t share your love at this time, but you might like to see some socky love from a fellow sockanado (sp?)
    http://roseredshoes.blogspot.com/2011/05/totally-terrific-three-tsock-pattern.html

  53. Mom Wald says:

    The photos of your yarn are so yummy, I want to lick them.

Leave a Reply

