Faery Feet

Helloooo!!

And welcome to my Sunday post!  My goodness, what a Sunday we are having here!  I’m sleep deprived today, as we had the most roaringly intense wind storm all night, I had heard on the radio that there was going to be very strong wind around the lower half of the North Island, and yes there was! Then early this morning the rain came, bucketing down, lightning and thunder too… I barely slept a wink!  I’m still a bit of an earthquake scardey-cat after everything this year, so every time the wind shakes the house or I hear a rumble (think thunder or big trucks) I get quite nervous.  Believe it or not,  I still went to the vege market this morning after dropping KB off at work!  In the pouring rain I bought my several tonnes of fruit and vege and as I reached the car the rain stopped.  Lovely!  It’s back and I’m having a cozy day here at home, blogging, knitting, hooking, writing assignments and cooking.  Usual Sunday stuff, I love it.

A few posts ago, I mentioned that I was waiting for a parcel to arrive in the mail and I was stupendously excited by it.  Well, it arrived a week and a half ago, but I got sidetracked with blogiversaries and other things, so instead of showing you what arrived, I can show you what I made with it! 

A month or so ago, I found a lady named Sabine who dyes yarn and sells it on felt which is the NZ version of etsy and madeit and other online shoppy things, and I’m sure you can imagine I was very excited about this!  I stalked her felt shop for about two weeks before I purchased some sock yarn called “lilac time.”  (Best thing about felt?  You pay by bank deposit so someone like me who has no credit card and doesn’t ever want one, not even for the purpose of buying yarn online (!) can still partake in the joy that is online shopping!)  A couple of days later, Sabine’s yarn had arrived and I joyfully ripped open the box and was amazed at 1. How lovely the colours were and 2. How amazingly different they were in real life!  Gosh shopping for yarn online is really hard, like Sabine says in her caveat, all monitors show colours differently, so what arrives might be quite different to what you order.  I was not disappointed however, because while the colours are quite different to my usual palate, they are particularly lovely and are the colours that faeries would knit their socks out of for sure….

Knitting with this yarn was a lovely experience and as you can see from the beautiful even stripes of colour, Sabine is a particularly talented dyer as there was no colour pooling at all. 

And guess what.

I learned kitchener stitch.  Yes I did!  After moaning that I was unable to do kitchener and would need someone to show me, I was inundated with hints from kitchener-legends, thank you!  I was given step-by-step instructions, kitchener mantras and links to helpful webpages, it was great.  The lovely Ali (thank you Ali!) left me a link to this awesome YouTube video which I found sooooo helpful I saved it to my favourites bar for super easy access!  Thank you Knitwitch!  You are so fabulous to put your tutorials up for everyone to learn from!  I appreciated it so much, so if you struggle with kitchener, go and visit her, she will sort you out!

(Grrr as I proofread the post I spotted not one, but TWO bits of Raymond fur on my sock in that picture…)

I’m still working on perfecting the toe… I took the first sock of this pair to the party Raymond was kicked out of the other day and was too shy to take off my other sock, try this one on while it was still on the needles and check the length in front of a whole bunch of people I’ve only just met, (that’s just taking it too far!) so I knitted a centimetre too far (bugger) but that’s not too bad, they ended up fine, if not a little square-toed!

I’m pleased to tell you that the pair I’m currently working on are toe perfection but more about that next time!

So!  How about some sock details…

Yarn:  “Lilac Time” by Curiouser & Curiouser… visit her Felt shop HERE her colours are lovely and I’m sure of you twist her arm she will post overseas!  She said she was having another dyeing day in a few weeks, so hopefully she will be doing a lot of sock yarn!

Pattern: step-by-step cheat sheet for socks, p.144 of Knitting Rules! By Stephanie Pearl-McPhee

Sock Satisfaction Rating: 8/10.  They lost two points for the toes, but 8/10 is still an A so these socks should still feel good about themselves.

So there we have it, socks number 4!  Each pair is getting easier, it really does take about five tries at something hard to perfect it (for me anyway!) and I’m hoping that I don’t get sick of socks as soon as I make the perfect pair!  I’m having a blast with them and I hope you’re enjoying popping in to see my creative buzz as much as I am showing you.

OK then, I’m off!  But before I go, don’t forget to enter my blogiversary giveaway HERE and thank you so much for all the love that came my way in the last few days!  I had lots of comments from people who had never commented before which is funny in a strange way because I’m amazed at how many people like to read my creative ramblings, that there are all these people around the world who know me but I don’t know they know me… the strange business of blogging!  Anyway, it was lovely to hear from so many new people, and I’m really excited about sending out a love parcel to someone, so don’t forget to enter!

Alright then lovelies, I’m off to cook lentils and chickpea goodness!  Wishing you a lovely rest of your weekend and a blessed beginning to your working week,

lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in SOCKS!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Faery Feet

  1. Lynley says:

    I can’t believe that we live in the same city. Out here in Porirua it has been windy and very wet at times but not the storm Welly has obviously had.

    My Jazz gets very restless and vocal as the full moon is around so he has been up in the early hours today.

    I’m about to start another few pairs of socks for my wee 2 year old grandson…..wool socks are impossible to buy for tiny feet……enter Gran….go me!

    Lovely stuff,
    Loads of Reiki
    Lynley

  2. Heather says:

    I think your Faery Feet socks are my favourite colourway you’ve used for socks so far. Sooooooo good. I need to learn to knit. And then knit socks. Or, pay my friend. Yeah, that sounds like an easier option! If only it were possible to crochet socks eh.
    Alice I might try to make a granny mandala to stand my jug of flowers on, I’ve just trimmed them all and put them in a stripy jug but I think they really need a something to stand on. Excited, I’m going to have a rummage in my yarn stash asap!
    xxxxxxx HEAther

  3. Dori says:

    Those are lovely! My favourite colour too, which probably gives me a little bias. I must say, you knit quickly. It takes me a lot longer to knit a pair of socks.

  4. Tickety-boo says:

    I am one of those odd people who love stormy weather. I love the feeling in the air especially during thunderstorms when the clarity arrives afterwards.
    OMG do I love that yarn!!!! I bet you knew I was going to say that. LOVE them. Faerietastic matey.
    I told you sock knitting was addictive. Don’t you fancy the toe-up thing yet?

  5. Melissa says:

    LOVE those socks! They are so pretty. Raymond looks purrfectly content. Hope you had a lovely weekend!

  6. Terrie says:

    I love those colours! I am working on my first pair of socks with Noro and I getting there verrrrrrry slowly! Seeing your socks from the side has helped muchly – I finally get where I’m going with it now! x

  7. 'me' says:

    oh! I’m in love with sweet Raymond !

  8. lyn says:

    Oh that last photo of Raymond is soooooo gorgeous!
    xxx

  9. Oh I wish I could knit socks — but you have inspired me to make the most beautiful set for my brothers birthday based on your pot holder pattern — So thank you so much for that little bit of inspiration xx

  10. DebbyMcC says:

    Definitely faery feet colors! Beautiful =-) And, oh my, Raymond is the handsomest kitty ever…what a sweetheart <3

  11. DebbyMcC says:

    Oh! I forgot to add my very favorite kitchener stitch video! It is AWESOME! (Even though I know you found a lot of help, I just had to add my 2 cents ) She has tips for getting us to memorize the process, and she makes so much sense. The very best one I have run across: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkW3kP7RZdk&NR=1 (Maybe you’ve seen this one…?)

  12. Rachel says:

    Beautiful socks, and beautiful colours!!!
    Absolutely adorable.
    And Raymond looks super content as well.
    I have just posted a blog about my cat Alfred, who loves to sit on my crochet, and whom I am sure would just love Raymond!

  13. penelope dubois says:

    Love the Faery Socks, gorgeous colour! The little bit of fur in your socks from Raymond Boy, is like a little love knitted in!

  14. Fabulous! We LOVE the colors! And, may we say you are such a wonderful and willing model. :) Happy Sunday!

  15. Beautiful socks!! I had to squint to see the Raymond hair :-)
    I am about to embark on a dying adventure. I sourced some really scrumptious Alpaca/Cashmere/Silk sock yarn that is undyed from a lady in UK and now before I touch the good stuff I am going to play around with my homespun and food colouring. What do you look for in sock yarn?? You like the stripes but would colour variegation within the same tone temp you?
    Have a good week Alice :-)

  16. Wilhelmina says:

    Ohh I just have to reply to a comment here…you can crochet socks. They even had a crochet along for the ones I want to try here http://crochetme.com/blogs/crochet_me/archive/2011/03/03/new-crochet-along-crochet-socks-sideways.aspx
    They are the sideways socks and I think they look wonderful. I didn’t do the crochet along but would still like to make them.

  17. Sandi says:

    I am really going to have to learn to knit socks, surely I can. Such a beautiful color Alice, but you do have that certain knack with color.
    x Sandi

  18. Samantha says:

    Oooh such lovely socks! I’ve not tried making socks yet. I am more confident at crochet so wouldn’t knit any until I’m a little more practiced, and haven’t got round to finding the perfect yarn and pattern to crochet any yet! Your very inspiring though and make me want to make some right now! Glad you liked the pictures of Poppy our kitten, she is very cute, but so naughty! Her newest trick is hiding until your passing then pouncing out at you… ;)

    Sam xx

  19. Juliadus says:

    The color is fantastic!! I love purple and this combination looks absolutely great, as well as the socks you’ve made. Very nice! I can’t tear myself away from the monitor!
    Thanks for sharing! I’ve got a good portion of purple-therapy :)
    ~Julia

  20. Susan Wright says:

    Hello Alice and the very beautiful Raymond.
    I love that picture of him and the cushion behind is gorgeous.
    I really must make some socks although summer is nearly here , my feet are often cold and i do live in the uk!! You have inspired many of us i think.
    I noticed that Heather would like to crochet some socks and just to say that Ravelry have some instructions for a free pattern.
    Happy socking , Susan xx

  21. Mary says:

    Hi Alice….
    Have enjoyed reading your blog….Now, when I open my e-mail, I quickly scan to see if there is a new communique from you & Raymond…!!! What a lovely shade of purple you found to work with…I can tell this has made you very happy…(and) the socks…great-great job…It feels so good to accomplish something you have been struggling with…like the kitchener stitch…good for you…!!! Very pleasant picture of Raymond…Thank You for sharing , Alice…you brighten my life…as I am sure, you do for so many…Until next time………MaryW

  22. Dianne says:

    Raymond is looking very inscrutable in that picture.

  23. Diemie says:

    I love the socks, and this picture of Raymond even more, he looks so content :)
    Love from the Netherlands!

  24. Marjo says:

    You have a lovely blog !

    Greetings from Belgium

    Marjo

  25. Bimbi says:

    They look like a beautiful fit and I like the toes too. My socks always look pointy at the toe and I don’t have feet that shape (nor does anyone for that matter) and I will try the kitchener stitch next time. Thanks for the link.

    Bimbi x

  26. Jane says:

    Gorgeous gorgeous socks! I loooove the colours. And I would like to have faery feet. But I’m still too excited about the wonderfulness of crochet to learn to do knitting too. But each time I see another lovely pair of socks you’ve made, it makes me want to try! One of these days…
    Thank you for all the inspiration :)
    Jane x

  27. Maureen says:

    Hello Alice!
    This is the first time I have ever posted a comment to any blog anywhere! I have just taken up the hook again after a 35 year hiatus. When I went looking for online inspiration, Crochet with Raymond was the first blog I blundered into. (I think I was drawn to your blog because I love crochet and cats and my husband’s name is Raymond.)
    Anyway…you not only inspired me to hook on, but also have a go at a blog of my own! So, thank you and I hope you have a wonderful week ahead. xxoo, m

  28. MeredithJean says:

    Oh Alice…. I love the way you share the splendid talents you find in NZ with us on further shores. I hadn’t even heard of felt.co.uk, let alone Sabine, and from a previous post Red Riding Hood yarns is now a great net providore. You are SO funny for letting us know there are 2 Raymond hairs on your sweetie socks. I spent ages looking for the second one, it seriously made me pay SO much attention to your great knitting. Hope your lentils and chickpeas went down well tonight. It’s cold in Adelaide, Australia tonight and we drove into the hills (even colder) to a fabulous wood oven pizza restaurant Jimmies. Our first time there, we sat beside a wood fire and enjoyed the entire experience. They had gelati! And we brought home a piece of turkish delight each to have with coffee in a bit.

  29. kiwiyarns says:

    Those are awesome socks! Well done! That base she uses looks very suspiciously like the sock yarn base a certain alpaca yarn producer does that I’ve got a particular weakness for… true?

  30. Marlene Bailey says:

    The socks are beautiful, nothing would make me happier than a pair of those and cuddling up to Raymond. I am a real cat-lover – does Raymond purrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
    My one cat has never been able to purr and it is probably just as well because she sleeps on my hip or chest and I would not get any sleep.
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend and thanks for all your trouble.
    Love
    Marlene Bailey
    sunny South Africa

  31. Dagmar says:

    I just love those socks..but Raymond’s fur adds to you post..you make me smile!
    xo

  32. Kathy N says:

    I love your “faerie socks” the colors are wonderful. How different were they from what you were expecting??? Also, Raymond looks so contented and handsome next to your pillow!

  33. Carol says:

    Beautiful yarn, great socks and what an absolutely stunning photo of the lovely Raymond.
    Carol xx

  34. Pati from London says:

    What a lovely pic of Raymond, Alice!! Very cute! I can’t believe that you’ve already finished another pair of socks!! (you knitting-machine!!). I love the colours! Am having a pleasant Sunday afternoon at home doing crochet and visiting blogland so that makes a change from my past hectic weeks. Have a lovely Sunday, darling!! Pati x

  35. Sandra says:

    Your socks look gorgeous! I got fed up with mine and have stuffed them back in the bag in favour of my crochet WIPs. Must give myself a talking to and have another go…

  36. Meredith says:

    Perfect socks Alice. Perfect color, perfect knitting and purrfect Raymond.
    Have a wonderful week,
    Meredith

  37. vikki hooks says:

    I have been reading your stuff off and on..love your blog. I think I should just become a follower.

  38. ohangelina says:

    sock queen. my sock attempts are awful. :( i will soon be rockin’ on that kitchener stitch for a silk shrug, it joins in the back with the kitch. and it looks fiddely! pop over and enter MY giveaway too, won’t you?
    x

  39. Gail says:

    Ahh wind we have it here as well in Yorkshire today. A couple of weeks ago we were camping on shell Island (Wales) and had 40 mph gust on the last night, nearly lost 2 tents in our group. Oh, well makes it more of an adventure. Your socks are lovely I like the color, and your new tea cozy it great. I had to read through a couple of your posts I haven’t had the time to get into blog land, where does the time go!

  40. Julie says:

    Super yarn, cosy looking too.
    I’m not a fan of the wind either, bad experience when i was a youngster and a window caved in… scaredy cat in this house when it’s bad weather, head under the duvet and shake like mad till it’s over LOL

  41. Eve says:

    Faery socks! How perfect! I LOVE the heel! It is amazing to watch your sock knitting progress.

  42. Jillian_R says:

    Wow! It’s been a year? Time files when you’re having fun I guess. I just want to say that I have enjoyed your blog immensely and I hope you are able to keep going!

    PS – Very nicely done on the socks, glad to hear they get easier!

  43. katie says:

    OOOhhhhh, these are so pretty! They look so soft and cuddly on your feet!

  44. Lori says:

    I love your socks! I haven’t a clue how to knit, but I am going to learn. Thanks for sharing! Have a lovely week@

  45. Pingback: The indie dyers of New Zealand | Kiwiyarns Knits

  46. Dez says:

    Love love love the sock and the photo of Raymond. Pure gorgeousness…all of it.

    You may already know about this by now (seeing as I am still reading past notes trying to catch up) but have you thought of a Debit card instead? I didn’t and never want a credit card and missed out alot on online shopping till my bank brought in debit cards that act exactly like a credit card but use your own money from your bank acount instead so if you don’t have the $ in your account you can shop online.

    Am an etsy.com fan but am def going to have a peak at felt! :D

  47. Pam O'Loughlin says:

    Hi, love reading your emails. Would love to chat to you, love all your work and especially your Raymond. I am from Perth

Leave a Reply

