Celebrating Mum

Helloooooooo!!

And happy Mother’s Day to all of the mums out there!  I am a very dutiful daughter,  and I’m off to visit my Mum, bearing gifts and maybe a hug if she’s not too busy selling bouquets of flowers to other dutiful children!

My Aunty posted this photo on facebook the other day, and I loved it so much I had to share it!

There’s my Mum, second from the left with the scrunched up face!  My Aunty is on the left and still looks the same, fifty-something years later!  I love this picture, it’s such a treasure, look at the shoes!  The gloves!  The handbags!  And my little wee Mum!

I had plans to knit her some Possum Merino mitts, but as the actual knitting of the Possum Merino is just as wonderful as the wearing of it, I couldn’t deny her the pleasure of knitting her own… (It had nothing to do with me running out of time because I was busy knitting Opal socks!  Nothing at all!)  and gave her a ball of Supreme Possum Merino.  Supreme has the highest possum content of any of the possum yarns I’ve seen around, at 40% Possum, 50% Merino and 10% silk, this yarn is so seriously soft and snuggly, I totally understand where the Yarn Harlot is coming from when she talks about the uncontrollable urge to take off your clothes and roll around in soft yarn, I am totally like that with this!  If you want to read about Supreme, or even oooh… order some for yourself (!) click HERE!  But I’ve said before, beware, because once you’ve knitted with it, no yarn will ever compare… you will be spoiled for life!

And there’s my Mum now, another photo to treasure, doing what she loves these days, minus scrunched up face!

And yes, another masterpiece by KB!

As well as yarn and card love, there were also little (but not that little!) carrot cakes for Mum… Delicious I must say, as I ate one for breakfast… the icing put me on a sugar high that catapulted me out of this world, it was fabulous…. Recipe for my healthy muffins and cakes HERE!  (Gosh, that’s an old post!  You can tell by the not so wonderful photography happening back then!!!)

So that was me spoiling MY mum…

Raymond bought KB some lovely lip balm and moisturiser which was just lovely of him… funny though… he forgot to buy ME a present!

Cheeky bugger…

Lucky we popped out to Holland Road Yarn Company today, (minus Raymond of course) where I got a late Mother’s Day present… my very first skein of Malabrigo…

Lush, soft, colourful goodness, thank you Raymond!

Allright then Lovelies!  Wishing you a lovely Mother’s Day… it can be a bittersweet day for those of us whose Mothers or children are no longer physically walking with us, so whatever you are doing and whoever you are celebrating with, we’re wishing you a wonderful day.

Lots of Love, Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Celebrating Mum

  1. Nikkole says:

    Happy Mother’s day to your mom! The pictures of your mom are just so wonderful :D Oh and your Malabrigo yarn looks amazing! I hope you enjoy knitting something fantastic :D I can’t wait to see your new creations :D

  2. Bronwen says:

    Oh that Raymond – he sure can pick a good Mother’s Day gift! I looooooove my Malabrigo. It’s so soft and gorgeous. And your gift to your mum is fantastic – love KB’s card! I’m sure she’ll be thrilled, too. You all have a good one! I’m going to a sheep & wool festival for mine.

  3. Jude says:

    Now, this is not fair!!! All this fabulous yarn…..on your doorstep!!!
    Here, on this little island, yarn (woollen) isn’t very common…people don’t knit (rarely) some of the older ladies still crochet (white, very fine, cotton)
    My son is working in Sydney at the moment, I think I’m going to get him on the case…lucky lad!!
    I know..I know…I can hear you shout..internet!! but…postage can be unbelievably expensive, honest!!
    Your mother should be very proud of you, I;m sure she is!!
    I hope you have a wonderful day
    Take care

  4. Lorenza says:

    Nice post, happy birthday to all moms over there! Have a nice fay and tha,ks from France (auvers sur oise). A plus!

  5. Hahnsmum says:

    Absolutely love that old family photo..It certainly is a treasure… And in the background-look at those ultra cute cars.. l just love old photos.. Hope you all had a nice day.. Mine has been quiet, peaceful.. Best Wishes, from New England, NSW, Oz.. XXX

  6. Sarah says:

    That old picture really is wonderful! As someone else said, your mum must be very proud of you, you seem like a wonderful daughter.

    I have yet to try Malabrigo OR possum – they both look divine!

    Xxxxxx

  7. Regula says:

    Wonderful post, thank you!

    I don’t know if my four sons will show up today because of me. However, mother’s day for my mother is special because we are celebrating the 50. wedding anniversery of my parents. Huge celebration and a wonderful day anyway! :-)

  8. Teje says:

    Hello Alice! Thank you for a lovely post! Your mother looks wonderful with her horse friend! KB has made again amazing and fully card! I’m sure your mom will be so happy with her presents!
    Have a lovely mother’s day! xxx Teje

  9. Carole says:

    That Possum yarn sounds fabulous, I wonder if it’s made it’s way to the UK yet, I’d love to have a play with some.

    And that card is just gorgeous, KB is one talented artist.

    Enjoy the rest of your day!

  10. Happybee says:

    you’re right, this photo is really a treasure, so cute!!! thanks for sharing and happy Mother’s Day to your Mom and all the Moms in the world!!!

  11. Nancy from Cleveland, OH, USA says:

    Dear Alice, You are so precious and I love reading ur blog posts!!! I recently picked up some new yarn called “Madelinetosh,” it’s a superwash merino hand dyed…Awesome yarn! I think u would love it! Of course, I won’t make anything w it until I finish my other projects :) Thanks for the smart advice!! In the meantime, I’ll just hold it and enjoy the incredible feel :D Have a great day, Nancy

  12. kiwiyarns says:

    Hope you had a fantastic Mother’s Day with your mum. I shall not complain that someone here does not yet understand that Mother’s Day is not about waking her up at 7am on a Sunday when she’s feeling unwell and in need of a good sleep-in…!

    That Mal looks very squooshy and yummy. A pretty hat or scarf perhaps? xx

  13. Ali says:

    Oh, you are gonna LOVE that Malabrigo!! I am currently forcing myself not to order from the Webs website as they have a sale on. Malabrigo Rios is my next conquest, along with some Madelinetosh, which sounds absolutely divine!

    I might have to try that possum merino, it sounds lovely!

    Glad your Mother’s Day was a goodie – that photo of your mum is priceless!

    Cheers,
    Ali xx

  14. I love that photo of your mum as a child, was that taken in NZ? It also looks very Australian :-)
    I spent the afternoon with my horses too, a was a perfect mother’s day present from my darlings.
    Love that Malabrigo, I have yet to try it and I know what you mean about the lovely possum….I am knitting a pair on arm warmers for my horse riding buddy in Merino and they feel so rough!!

  15. sandiart says:

    Everything is beautiful here today, all yummy. I bet your mum was a happy lady when you turned up with love in your heart and some delicious offerings too.
    Today I decided I am going to have to knit myself a cowl, oh yes I said I look funny in them, but I don’t need to make a big one. I have a dress that looks funny around the neck and a cowl would be perfect. Raymond is quite the one isn’t he, such good taste.
    x Sandi

  16. Heather says:

    Happy mother’s day to you! I’m glad Raymond remembered to buy you a gift, and what a gift! Yummy Malabrigo. What are you going to make with it? :-)
    xxxxx Heather

  17. Dorothy---Nannyto4 says:

    Beautiful post—-both words & pictures. Thanks for the Mother’s Day wishes, too.

  18. Amanda says:

    I always, always find it strange when Mothers Day comes around for everyone this time of year, because in the UK we celebrate it before Easter! It just seems so odd to me having spent so many years knowing it as an early Spring event to suddenly in recent years realise that the rest of the world celebrates it on an entirely different day!

    Glad to hear you’ve had a lovely day and that Raymond remembered you eventually ;)

  19. Tickety-boo says:

    What a fantastic photo! I love pictures like this. A tiny glimpse of the past and someone elses momories. I so want a squidge of that Possum yarn.
    Have a lovely day.
    Happy Mother’s Day.
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xx

  20. penelope dubois says:

    Raymond, you are such a gentleman!
    Great pix of your Mom!
    Malabrigo is soooo soft. I just started a baby sweater with it, the colour variations are so pretty, unfortunently it’s not superwash, so the mom will have to hand wash.
    Will have to check out that Possum!

  21. Amanda says:

    Great post! I love old family photos :)

  22. Penelope says:

    What a gorgeous old photo Alice, i LOVE them! One of my patient’s showed me her 1945 wedding photo and it was simply beautiful, her husband in his sailor’s uniform after the war, her looking all red lipped and stunning. I can never get enough of old photo’s. Hope your mum enjoys you spoiling her xox

  23. Laurie Eno says:

    Y’know Alice, I could get used to visiting this wonderful blog.

    Thanks again for permitting me to use one of your photos. I’ve just re-posted it again in my Mother’s Day blog:

    http://thedailycorgi.blogspot.com/2011/05/happy-mothers-day.html

    Happy Cat Mom’s Day to you!

    Laurie

  24. MeredithJean says:

    You advocate the Supremem Possum SO temptingly. Enjoy your malabrigo. ADORE your mother’s childhood pic. How old do the grownups look? They are probably women in their 30s lol xxx

  25. Melissa says:

    Happy Furr Mom Mother’s Day! Hope you have a wonderful day with your Mom!

  26. Meredith says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you Alice. Raymond should be lavishing you with cuddles. Your Mom must be so very proud of you. Hope you all have a great day.
    Hi to KB, and Happy Mother’s Day to her, too.
    Meredith

  27. faye says:

    I love this blog! I love this community! It brings me no end of delight! I am in Texas. I never, ever thought about the “regionality” of yarn. You know, that it’s easy or cheaper to get certain yarns in certain parts of the world. Now I’m thinking about my knitting & crocheting sisters and brothers all over the world. I would love to try some Possum Merino. Malabrigo merino worsted is my soul mate yarn. The only time it has been hard to come by for me was when they had a fire in their warehouse a few years ago. I love Malabrigo. So much. I realize now that I am also blessed to have easy access to Madelinetosh. One of my dear friends from my knitting circle is Madelinetosh’s biggest fan, and gave me a very generous gift of it about a year and a half ago. It is also very, very lovely and the business is based in Texas. Particularly great is what is called TML, Tosh Merino Light, which I believe is worsted weight. Her colors are stunning. I may have to send a little something to Alice!!!!

  28. This was just a lovely post! Actually made me tear up. My own mother is gone, but you have painted such a wonderful tribute to yours. And Raymond! You are such a good and dutiful son! Thank you for this Mother’s day gift to all mothers.

  29. Julie says:

    I love old piccies, thanks for sharing your special one.

    I hope you had a lovely time with mum, the carrot cakes do look inviting, i think i might have had to have more than one though!

    Poor Raymond, perhaps he ran out of pocket money LOL

  30. Mary says:

    Dear Alice…You are just way too much…!!! You have put sunshine into my Day…I loved the pictures of your Mother…I would have to say you are more than a “dutiful” daughter…you are a daughter who is…kind, caring, loving…& I know your Mum is very proud of you. I have three lovely daughters of my own who possess your shining charisma. Take care…Happiness to you & your Mum forever….MaryW

  31. Maria says:

    I just picked up some of that gorgeous soft yummy Supreme Possum Merino in Hobart. My dilemma is not to keep touching it, but what to make with it :-)

  32. Tas says:

    Those photos of your mum are both gorgeous. Off to check out those recipes…

  33. whitelavender says:

    Wonderful post Alice, thanks. Loved KB’s card.S

  34. Karen, UK says:

    Hi Alice

    Thanks for the recipe for the muffins, they look gooood and i’m adding some ingredients to my shopping list to make them this week. I don’t have bran, raw sugar or soy milk. Your recipe has prompted me to revisit my earlier musings this year of adding soya milk to my diet and the benefits it holds, especially since my body is slowly venturing into the world of menopause and my shape is looking more decidedly apple shaped these days lol

  35. miek says:

    WAOW, what a beautiful card KB has made for your mumm.
    And i realy find her a funny person, to give her that rocking horse hahahaaa.
    Did i allready mention that she should sell those cards, or is she an illustrator for profession allready ?
    thanks for sharing all the lovely pictures and words, wish you a happy knitting/crochet time…..
    greetings

  36. Jillian_R says:

    What a lovely post for Mother’s day, ALice. I am so happy that that cheeky Raymond remembered you at last. But I am suspicious that he remembered KB first! ;-) The card KB drew looks so nice. I hope your day was well spent!

  37. renee says:

    being mother gone sister gone was a somewhat bitter day but my two daughters made up for it being in touch and even away but friends took me out too eating great food. so wishing you belated Mother’s day love the site renee

  38. I imagine that beautiful Malabrigo made up for Raymond’s forgetfulness!!!!!!!!! What a wonderful old photo. Is it me, or do you look very like your Grandmother, I’m guessing that’s her, in the glamorous dress and hat? I love old photos like that, makes me feel very nostalgic. Love Vanessa xxx

  39. dacraftylady says:

    Love the photos what a wonderful way to celebrate. I love old photos. Happy Mother’s Day to you

  40. Lynley says:

    Hi Alice,

    More feasts in your latest post – yummy food, yummy yarn and a fantastic photo or two. I’m looking forward to seeing what you use your new yarn for.

    BTW can you tell me how to do the underline link thingy in wordpress please?

    Hope you’re enjoying this blissful calm, warm weather in Wellytown right now……not much need for woollies yet though!
    All the best
    Lynley

Leave a Reply

