April

April has been a month full of cowls and knitting warm winter goodness… much-needed winter goodness!  We keep getting freezing cold snaps, and then days and days of sunshine and no need for the heater… Strangely, I’m wearing socks, cowls, mitts and hats while teenage girls are still in their denim hot pants and singlets- I’m not sure if I’m just a total winter-wuss or they’re just really loving their short-shorts?

Raymond has been having some major cat fights this month… something is going on in cat-world and he currently has a sore right ear with four teeth puncture wounds in it… He’s off on fur patrol regularly and we’re wondering if he has expanded his territory lately and now has more to guard!

Despite the drop in temperature and winter looming in the very near future, April has been a lovely month of rest and rejuvenation, getting ready for the busy times ahead… my diary is looking suspiciously full from May-July, full of things that seriously cut in to my knitting and crochet time, but I suppose we need to find a balance don’t we?

Wishing you a beautiful start to May… month number 5, the number of change, I’m looking forward to seeing what it brings!

Lots of love, Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXx

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to April

  1. MeredithJean says:

    Ring all the bells for the month of change, and let’s start it as we mean to continue. Raymond honestly, leave all that testosterone stuff to the youngsters. Lie back and soak in the love xxx.

  2. Tatiana says:

    In a couple of these photos, Raymond looks smug enough you’d think he made the stuff himself. Love it!

  3. Jude says:

    Change? Really? I could do with some of that.
    Poor Raymond, hope he doesn’t get too injured.
    We’re just entering into some glorious warm weather, not to hot but good!
    Take care

  4. Helen says:

    Sometimes it sends a chill down my spine just looking at the young girls in singlets, thongs and usually a mini skirt or leggings. I’ll be rugged up in three layers, with thick socks and boots. Sometimes I am sure it is a case of “No sense, no feeling”!

  5. Regula says:

    Time of change indeed, bur for the warmer season here. And of course a lot of mini skirts and stuff I hate, not still but again. I’ve been longing for fashion with more fabric for years. However, it’s probabely too expensive.

    Anyway, enjoy the cooler season with scarfs, socks and mitts.

  6. Carole says:

    I hope Raymond heals soon.

    The weather is warming up nicely here so socks scarfs and mitts are put away for now. I hope May brings you some good times and you manage to squeeze in some yarny fun amongst your busy plans.

  7. miek says:

    you have done some beautiful work.
    it`s strange, am working on wintery things to, but we are going to spring, so i`ll have to wait months before i can wear enything.
    the socks are going well, i`m buzy whit two pairs at the same time for my husband whit the magic loop methode.
    and i`ll think i know how to finish them off at the toe, i`ll put them on a long stitch saver/marker/pin a few at a time to make a round from the little toe to the big toe, and then all do the kitcheners stitch.
    ending your socks at the toe whit the magic loop is an imposible thing to do, so i`m hoping that this is the final solution…..
    is it my immagination, or is Raymond smiling at the picture at the lowest row?
    BK is a great artist, i love her cards/ paintings
    greetings

  8. penelope dubois says:

    It’s really hard to imagine the different climates! Spring finally here, slow but nice.
    Raymond boy, what a fighter! His poor ear! Hope that heals quickly!
    Beautiful collage for April, all that wooly goodness!

  9. Robin says:

    Love your mosaic for April! I didn’t know 5 means change, I will be on the look out. Have a wonderful weekend. xoRobin❤

  10. Melissa says:

    It sounds so funny to hear you talk about winter in April! We are starting to get really warm here and I’m loving it, but don’t expect to see me in hot pants! Yikes!

  11. Meredith says:

    Alice, Your April photos were lovely. May is a beautiful month here in Florida, then it gets really hot and humid…so much so you hate to even be outside. So while you cool offf we get hot and steamy. And believe me the teenagers are always in their shorty shorts, even if it is cold out.
    Have a wonderful day,
    Meredith

  12. Amanda says:

    Your comment about teenage girls amused me… I went to college here in Rochester, NY… you could always pick out the freshman girls because they would be shivering in mini-skirts and strapy shirts in deepest part of winter. Mostly the upperclassmen had the sense to dress warm or at least to wear a heavy coat.

  13. Kat says:

    I could use a little change. I hope Raymond is OK. We can’t have our buddy getting hurt too badly.

  14. I also wish you a lot of goodness for May, and lots of creativity for you (and Raymond of course…) Your blog is an inspiration for me, I am totally fond of the colours you always use! (by the way, I crochet a lot with Malabrigo Silky Merino, like here, a wrap : http://vicarnosmama.blogspot.com/2011/04/de-allerzachtste-omslagdoek-geloof-ik.html : a scarf : http://vicarnosmama.blogspot.com/2011/04/malabrigo-velvet-grapes-verwondering.html and here : a necklace : http://vicarnosmama.blogspot.com/2011/04/arco-iris-halsketting-en-wat-met-de.html

    And you know : everything I look at the Malabrigo Silky Merino yarns I think about your blog.. It’s an associative proccess in my head…
    Have a nice and lovely weekend!

  15. Teri Caswell says:

    I have thoroughly enjoyed your April adventures! And, I have been much inspired to begin my own blog about crochet and life! Thanks so much! You are a treasure!
    Teri

  16. Rachel says:

    Raymond is a naughty boy (but so handsome). Maybe he should be grounded for a while before he gets himself in a serious scrap, but that is probably impossible. Bite infections turn into abscesses so quickly and cost big bucks plus all the trauma and agony getting the little sods to the vet and back. He is so gorgeous — I have put that one of him lying on the carpet in the sun with his tongue sticking out on my desktop. It’s a good thing they don’t know how silly they look when the do that. Oh, yes — love your crochet, too. Your colour sense is superb. I, too, love Noro Silk Garden but it is soooo expensive.

  17. Rachel says:

    Yes, I also really wish the weather would lust decide, so I can get my clothes sorted-spring or winter, either is beautiful, but just please decide!!!!!!!
    Everything you have made in April in beautiful, and again, you were the inspiration for me starting a blog in April, so thanks again.
    May all the change inspire positive things

  18. Rachel says:

    so sorry, just re read after that went up, perhaps if the weather would *just* decide, not *lust* decide, oops

  19. Hannah says:

    I am looking forward to “change”. Here in the desert it is warm, but it has been terribly windy. A change to calm would be appreciated! Take care of Raymond. I’m worried about him. Will he refuse to stay indoors?

  20. Tickety-boo says:

    Gorgeous Mosaic Alice! It’s lovely to see your fab photos arranged like that.
    Lets see what May brings, I hope it’s fantastic.
    Love Tickety-boo
    xxxx

  21. Penny says:

    What cosy and colourful pictures, and Raymond is the epitome of smug! Hope yopu had a good May Day,
    love Penny and Higgins xxx

  22. Alyson says:

    Poor Raymond! Hopefully his little ears will heal with the help of home remedies and he’ll get to stay away from the vet.

    As for the teenagers, it must be a world-wide thing. Here in the Midwest (US), after a long cold winter, and the temperatures start to break the freezing mark the shorts and flip-flops come out. No, thanks.

    P.S. I finally couldn’t stand it anymore. I had to have another go at sock-knitting. My first attempt was pretty sad. After a small hitch (that was remedied by employing the help of the LYS), I’m about to wrap up the first sock. Your blog and pics never fail to inspire me!

  23. kiwiyarns says:

    You’ve had a busy month and it looks like a few more busy months are coming up! Your cowls are such lovely colourful inspiration. I’m looking forward to seeing your Zauberball socks!

  24. I can’t believe its May already!! I love the cowls and those gorgeous colours :-) Looks like the weather is changing and you are going to need them!

  25. Julie says:

    I wonder if a new kitty has come into the neighbourhood?

  26. Jillian_R says:

    You made me laugh out loud with your comment on teenage girls. I guess it’s true for kids every where in the world it seems. Here in Seattle, the coats never come out even in the rain (well maybe a hoodie or two) and the girls are in tank tops and flip flops all year around. I guess you can tell when it gets cold as they all switch to yoga pants. LOL!

    Poor Raymond! It is hard to patrol when the new kitties are on the prowl. I hope his ear gets better quickly!

  27. Kathy Welsh says:

    Oh, poor Raymond! Hopefully he will establish himself soon as king of the neighborhood so no more fighting will occur.

    Very busy month for me, too, just got back from Phoenix this morning, went straight to work and am going home to crash. Have been a bad blogger lately with everything going on, but hope to get back in the groove again.

    Also, LOVE the granny square cowl!!

  28. Karen says:

    Oh Alice & JB, just seen the dreadful news about Auckland’s tornado…. thinking about you, with much love K xxxxxxxxx

  29. So in Raymond’s secret world he’s some sort of mafia boss, protecting his territory is he?! I imagine cats, like some men, can never have enough territory. Or maybe he’s just fighting over some hot chick? Lovely mosaic Alice! Love Vanessa xxx

Leave a Reply

