Rainbow Blessings….

Hellooooo!!!

Rainbow blessings are just what we’re needing here in Wellington… we’re in the middle of a rip-roaring Southerly which I’m starting to hope goes away soon!  Summer was so long and hot, it has been a bit of a shock coming into the cold weather and I’m being a total baby about it of course, but at the same time, loving my Noro cowl which is brightening up my day and keeping my neck very cozy and warm!

This week, one of KB’s and my besties is having her birthday.  I introduced her to you in this post aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaages ago when she was still pregnant with our Fairy God Daughter.  Being a Mum of two toddlers keeps her mightily busy, so I’m assuming that she won’t suddenly have a look at my blog and have her birthday surprise ruined!  Fingers crossed anyway!  Our lovely friend loves rainbows more than any rainbow-lover I know, so for her gift, I hooked her up an ornamental (yes, no food near it please!!) pot holder in her favourite hues….

As my goal for 2011- a resolution I set in Jan that you can read about (an drool over some of my Mum’s spinning too!) HERE- is to only give gifts that are handmade by me or another NZ artist, I then employed KB with a flutter of my eyelashes and a bit of a (big) guilt trip, to make our lovely friend a card, which she did, which as usual, I love…

She is just so clever, and I love her little water-colours, they are such special little things… Some of you have asked if she has her own blog, no sorry, while she is fabulously talented at water-colours, she doesn’t do a lot of painting, so you can only see it here!  It’s a family affair here at Crochet with Raymond….

So there we have it, one gift, made with love by two friends for another.  It’ll be wrapped up and popped in the post, ready to send tomorrow!

Thank you for all of your bread advice…it was really useful.  KB’s GF bread turned out great, and when she ate it, she exclaimed “it tastes just like real bread!”  So I’m going to have another go as soon as I hop off the computer, and am planning how to make GF brown bread next!

Wishing you all a beautiful day!

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Granny Mandala, Pot Holders!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Rainbow Blessings….

  1. Dorien says:

    This potholder is beautiful! It’s such a great idea to give only handmade or local gifts!

  2. Nikkole says:

    So wonderful and bright! Just lovely! KB’s card is gorgeous :)

  3. Teje says:

    Hello Alice! That pot holder is really beautiful and has lovely rainbow colours! I love the card, too! KB makes so unique cards! xxx Teje

  4. Amanda says:

    How glorious! I looked back at that old post and had to squeal with delight at the little pixie booties and hat (oh, my!) We’re finding out the sex of our little one in a couple of weeks time (we hope) at our scan, so that we can start planning these kinds of things to put some magic into his or her little life right from the word go!

    Such handmade gifts for anyone of any age are just so thoughtful and appreciated, I’m sure you’re friend will absolutely adore her new ornamental pot holder! And getting such gifts in the post is an added bonus, I know because we recently received a crocheted baby blanket (to be revealed on the blog tomorrow incidentally) from a friend in the US and I quite literally cried when I opened the box… imagine, a piece of mail making one cry!!

  5. Tickety-boo says:

    Love the rainbow pot holder and the card. What a team :o)
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxx

  6. Happybee says:

    What a so lovely and beautiful gift!!!!
    And the card add the final perfect touch!!!!

  7. Wow! This will probably make your friends best gift ever! I so agree on only giving handmade gifts….but I do make an exception here and there, because there are just some people out there who can’t value a handmade gift for what they’re really worth… But luckily most people really close to me do.
    Aah, the lovely smell of fresh baked bread, it’s the best. Good luck on your next try!
    X Floortje

  8. Lynne says:

    So glad to see crochet again, it gladens the heart! I,m afraid I left knitting behind years ago. Not creative enough for me. I love your colour combinations.

  9. Lynley says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond,

    I’m with you about the freezing weather in Wellington…..time for the sun to come out again pleeeeease.
    I love the colours on your blogsite and the colours you crochet and knit. I check out your blog twice a day at least to feast my eyes on the brilliance of the colours. They really give me a lift and inspire me.

    KB’s cards are very whimsical……wonderful creativity in your family.

    Mostly I am a knitter and I’m currently knitting small things for the babies of Christchurch.

    BTW I am also a Reiki master and am “staff” to two cats – 12 year old brothers called Jazz and PG.

    Thank you for sharing your works and life
    Reiki blessings
    Lynley

  10. whitelavender says:

    Lovely pot holder. Will have to make one now. The card is gorgeous.Looked back at old post and thought the wool to be spun was to die for. I am trying to learn to spin—ohh dear. It’s like patting your head and circling your tummy action with your hands, crikee I will never get the hang of it. I am going to bed at night sooo uptight!!S

  11. Sara says:

    I love this for two reasons, just love the rainbow colours and am trying my hand at crotchet which is not coming as easily as knitting but this looks lovely.

    Sara

  12. sandiart says:

    You two are certainly a talented couple with BIG hearts, love the pressy and card.
    x Sandi

  13. Karen says:

    Ooooo! Alice it’s lovely and please tell KB from me again that I love her little paintings soooooo much. It’s always extra special in the happy department when you share them with us, clever girlies! Like Amanda did I checked out the old post and I just adore those little pixie booties and the twiddley stem on the top of the hat – did you just make it up or do you have a secret book source none of us have!!!!!!!!!! Always something a little different to everyone else which I love about you too. Enjoy your stunningly cosy (cozy!!) cowl and keep warm – it’s been boiling in Dorset although quite a chilly breeze today… lots of love to you all Kxxxx ps still only got one hand in use ho! Hum! pps LOVE love love your Ma’s spinning, and the colours are amazing xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  14. Mar says:

    As others say, coming here make anyone happy, so many colours. I do my best to come @ least once @ day, even if you don’t post, to feed myself on colours and happiness.
    Very nice present you both are giving your friend. I declare that she will love it!
    KB and you are very created.
    I’m starting to do the same thing as you, just handmade presents, will look for in house artist too. Toronto is full of artisants that I’m pretty sure my friends and family will enjoy. Thanks for the tip!!!
    xoxo

  15. Amanda says:

    Beautiful! Such cheery colors :)

  16. Darlene says:

    Love the rainbow as well! Are they the colours of the chakras? I’m doing a mandala of the chakras so that’s why I asked. I love your blog, the happy colours and your tutorials.

  17. Robin says:

    What lovely gifts for your BF, she is very lucky to have friends like you and KB. Hope your weather improves, we have the same bad weather, only we are holding on to winter and we are supposed to be having spring! Enjoy your day and thanks for sharing. xoRobin❤

  18. Melissa says:

    What a lovely gift! I know that it will brighten her kitchen and her heart every time she looks at it. I love, Love, LOVE KB’s cards. They are so wonderful. I showed them to my Sainted Mother and she fell in love. She thought they were whimsical but not too cutesy. Sainted Mother has a bachelor’s degree in fine arts, so she recognizes the good stuff :) Thanks for sharing!

  19. Ingunn says:

    Hi there!
    I’ve just spent 45 minutes in your wonderful blog now, and I’m loving all the colors! I spotted a granny mandala in a Norwegian blog (with a lik to your blog), and hopped over here to find the tutoral. Thank you so much!
    Your projects are very inspirational!

  20. Meredith says:

    Alice, you and KB are so lovely to make these wonderful things for your friend. I love handmade gifts, so thoughtful and wonderful. Thanks for the comments about my wrists and hands. Keep your hand warm this winter and it will help your joints. Parafin baths are also wonderful especially for joint issues. Hope your friend has a wonderful Birthday.

    Sending you warm sunny thoughts from FLorida,
    Meredith

  21. Hannah says:

    Handmade gifts are the BEST! Everything about this blog makes my heart sing! Blessing to you and yours from New Mexico.

  22. juniperjune says:

    beautiful! i too am a rainbow-lover; in the summer i even paint my toenails into a rainbow. :)

  23. penelope dubois says:

    KB’s cards are so adorable!
    That potholder has inspired me to get one done. It’s been on my list!
    Has KB ever drawn dear Raymond?

  24. Anne says:

    Hi Alice,

    Beautiful as always, I love your choice of colours. I was catching up on your blog Ive been off the computer for a while, been knitting…:)
    I love your Noro Cowl what beautiful colours. I have just knitted up a Noro short sleeve cardie it’s on my blog.
    I checked out Vintage Purls and bought some sock wool its sooooo beautiful…..
    and because the OZ $ is so high at the moment it only cost me $20 including postage.

    My 3 year old loved the Raymond pics………..:)

  25. Lovely Rainbow, and KB’s card is really cute too! Handmade gifts are the best!

  26. Julie says:

    Handmade gifts are the best present you can receive.

    Your friend is going to love these 2 very special items.

  27. Carole says:

    Oh I love the card and the potholder is great. You are going to make someone very happy!

  28. Annette says:

    No one…NO ONE, does rainbows like you do! It’s always such a delight to read your blog and drool over your yummy, “color-icious” creations! And that card is toooo cute…oh, to be that talented with a pen, pencil or paint on a paintbrush…I’ve always envied those who have that talent!

  29. Penelope says:

    Hello lovely Alice
    What a glorious (ornamental!! hee hee) pot holder. Your friend sounds pretty special and she will love that you and KB have made her something so beatiful and thoughtful. I can neve get enough of rainbows, just love ‘em xox Keep cosy and warm in that wind xxxx Penelope xox

  30. There’s nothing like handmade gifts. And that beautiful card, your friend will be happy to get these gifts. Very thoughtful I think. I really enjoy reading your posts and every now and then I have a good laugh too. Thanks a lot for all your sharing.

  31. Anki says:

    Wow! What a place You have here. So many beautiful things You’ve created, and what a beautiful cat! Lovely pictures!
    I’m not sure how I found my way here, but I’ll be back and explore more for sure!
    Maybe I’ll get inspiration to re-start my own blog again.
    Say hello to Raymond and pat him from me and my cat (pics of him at my place).

    Greetings from Sweden,
    Anki

  32. Pati from London says:

    Dear Alice, we’ve been away on hols and I am now catching up on all these lovely posts of yours that I’ve been missing… What a wonderful pair of gifts for your friend! Both you and KB are really talented! Your mate is a lucky girl.
    Enjoy the weekend! We have a very long one here in England. We got an extra day this year because of the marriage of Prince William to Kate Middleton today plus an extra bank holiday on Monday, so I’m smiling! It’s great to catch up with your blog!
    xx Pati
    x Pati

  33. Eve says:

    How very sweet of you both to make your friend something special for her birthday. Not much in this world really compares to the feeling of giving or receiving gifts made with love.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  34. Sarah says:

    Oh, if I was given a unique, one of a kind handmade card, I would treasure it forever. Lucky friend.
    Someone said thank you for sharing your life, I agree and you do it so well. I like the idea of KB drawing Raymond, would you ask her?

  35. Lauri says:

    Hello! I just landed into your blog! and I love it!! it is so colorful!
    I have a blog too, you’re invited to visit whenever you wish! I write (most) in spanish but I’m sure you’ll unsderstand!
    have a happy weekend!

  36. dutch margreet says:

    Hello, as a sock-knitter for over 50 years I have some advise for you. Schoolrules were you learned to turn a heel at age eleven, so.. well, I had learned from my mother before school arrived at that lesson. Please keep the paperbands that sit around your sockwools after you finish knitting the socks, Tie a piece of the wool around it and write on the inside how your socks turned out plus the number of stitches and of the needles you used. In time you will have a personal archive telling you what to buy for socks and what to reserve for shawls and stoles because it wears too soon too thin. Some sockwools are so lovely you forget about the big holes after a few wearings, better reserve them for something with less wear and tear. Wondering what to do with the left-overs? Maybe a sockwool blankie or cushioncover?

  37. I really like and appreciate your article.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

  38. Virginia Dickinson says:

    You are truly an inspiration for me! Colorwize, patternwize and ease of decorating. Thank you so much. This I have just come to realize: that even though I started crocheting when I was 12 and now 75 I have learned that I knew/know very little. Your colors and patterns have changed the way I live. My house is getting a complete redo with bright colors everywhere. I am now obsessed with making every pattern you have on your site. Life is beautiful. Virginia in Oklahoma

Leave a Reply

