Silk Garden 301- Dye Lot C and… errrr… E

Happy Easter!

I’m not really one for celebrating Easter as I’m not religious, so it is not particularly relevent in my little life bubble, however, I’m always happy to partake in hot cross buns, and this year seem to have acquired a ridiculous amount of creme eggs… Wow, I haven’t had one of those in years, well, I’ve eaten the white chocolate ones, but haven’t had one of the original ones in forever, and I had forgotten how great they are!  but let’s be real, whats not to like about refined sugar, coated in chocolate?  Yum!

I was going to show you some crochet goodness today, but haven’t quite got it photographed right, the wind was blowing a gale down in my photo taking spot, and its raining on and off, so I thought I’d show you some Noro deliciousness, a cowl that took me a whole week to knit, and I am so deeply in love with it I never want to take it off!  Ages ago, I bought two balls of silk garden (10 ply) and popped it into it’s moth-proof plastic zip-lock bag and into my stash in my wardrobe.  I had no plans for it, like most of my stash, but a couple of weeks ago, decided to buy three more balls and make a huge cuddly cowl.  So I missioned off down to Nancy’s Embroidery, the only place I have found that stocks a large amount of the Noro range (but, after looking on Noro selling websites, it seems there are endless amounts of types to buy!  It’s overwhelming!) and bought the last three balls of that colourway.  I got them home and sat and stroked them for a while, and admired their colours, then discovered I had three balls of dye lot E and two of dye lot C… whoops, but it didn’t seem to matter, as the two from C and one of the E lot were identical and the other two from E looked very different as they had no pink, so I turned a couple of the balls inside out with my wool winder, shared the pink around from one of the balls that had two repeats of pink, and ended up with a reasonably well ordered striped cowl!

Colourful fabulousness.  I’ve never knitted with Silk Garden, I’m usually loving the Kureyon because I’m not partial to the white bits in the silk, it can detract (in my opinion) from the lovely colours by adding more texture.  However, I don’t see it in this lot, more in the sock yarn, and knitting with this was a luxurious experience, with big chunky soft runs of silky goodness happening… I think I may just be a Silk Garden convert!

It is made with (errr…) five balls, knitted in the round… Ooh, I didn’t even tell you I can knit on circulars now!  Such a tiny achievement, but so huge, I’ll tell you more about it in another post!  I ribbed for half a ball, knitted stocking stitch until the last half ball and ribbed until I ran out of yarn.  Actually, that’s a lie, I saved a bit of purple and blue that was at the end of the ball to make a lovely flower badge, just because.

And one last gratuitous shot of the cowl that I am so in love with, I never want to take it off!  It is so snuggly and cuddly and big… I wanted a huge one as I’m quite sensitive and need a bit of armor when out int he world around lots of other people!

Have you visited Compositions of Wool yet?  It’s a great blog for yarn addicts, and she has just finished a beautiful cowl too, I’m quite glad she showed it, as I didn’t want to do a garter stitch edge to stop them curling up and needed a bit of inspiration in the edging department… such a simple thing, but remember I’m a relatively new knitter (!) and seeing hers ribbed, well, that’s much more my taste than a garter stitch border, so yay once again for the inspiration we get from each other here in the blogworld!  Make sure you pop over for a visit, her stash will make you green with envy!

OK then lovelies!  I’m off, I’m baking gluten-free bread and need to go and sort it out… I’ve never baked bread before, but KB’s gluten-free loaves are, like everything right now, being hiked up in price to $8 or more per loaf, so it’s time I learn how to do it!  One of her lovely patients at the hospital gave her a big bag of gluten-free flour for bread making, so I’m having my first try… so far it looks like globby wallpaper paste, so fingers crossed it will turn out edible!  I’ll let you know!  Meanwhile, do any of you out there have an easy gluten-free bread recipe you use that is not white bread!  I’d love it if you could let me know!

….15 minutes later after proof reading this post and chatting on the phone, the bread has risen remarkably so my hopes are high that it will be edible!….

Wishing you a wonderful week,

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Silk Garden 301- Dye Lot C and… errrr… E

  1. colette says:

    Happy Easter. I should really be in be but have been making one of your Granny Square Cowls and wanted to get it finished before I went to bed. Nearly, so al I ave to do in the morning is to edge it. Thank you for the inspiration!!

    Colette

  2. Eve says:

    That cowl looks like so much smushy, cuddly goodness!
    As for GF bread.. I have been fighting an uphill battle with it for close to 4 years.
    My hubby is a celiac, so gluten free baking is a necessity in our house.
    Bob’s Red Mill and Pamela’s Products have wonderful pre-mixed breads. Our favorite is the Bob’s Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread. It has a lot of Buckwheat in it, so it tastes much like a rye bread and is true to it’s name of “hearty”!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Ana says:

    All four of us in my household have celiac, as well as my mom and brother. We weren’t satisfied with the terrifically expensive and not so tasty GF bread, so we have quite a few recipes: Flax seed bread, french loaves, realistic pumpernickel, pizza crusts. If you want some recipes, just say and they’re yours. Most have eggs, but if you are egg-free, I can recommend some subs.

    Yay for the baking, and I hope it turned out well!

  4. Rachelle says:

    My favourite Gluten Free Breadmaker Bread so far…..
    This is from the New Zealand Food Allergy Cookbook

    2 cups gluten free flour
    (I premix 1 cup buckwheat, 1 cup cornflour, 1 cup chickpea, 1 cup tapioca flour which makes 2 loaves.)
    2 tbsp sugar (I use raw sugar)
    2 tsp guar gum
    1 tsp salt
    1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
    1 cup lukewarm milk alternative (I’ve been doing 1 cup water with milk powder as we’re not casien free)
    2 tbsp oil (I use rice bran oil)
    2 eggs
    1 tsp cider vinegar

    Combine ingredients as recommended by your breadmaker, or sift dry ingredients and add yeast. Blend milk, oil, eggs and vinegar. Add to dry ingredients and mix to combine. Put into bread pan. Close lid and bake following the breadmaker instructions for a white loaf, about 3 hours. Cut when cold.

    This makes a nice light and reasonably open loaf. It’s quite short, but that works really well in lunchboxes. I’ve tried premixing and also bunging it in the machine. You get a bit of caked flour around the edge if the machine does all the work, but tbh so far it’s not enough to stop me doing it. With the flours I’m using it’s more of a brown loaf and today I added a tbsp of LSA as well so it’s got rather more nutrients than the original which was a white loaf.

  5. Annette says:

    I’m in love with that cowl! I don’t knit (yet)…but this makes me want to conquer it! The colors are scrumptious…almost as yummy as the hot cross buns and easter eggs. And waaaaaay less calories. That’s it…I definitely prefer the cowl! LOL

  6. I LOVE that cowl! I have exactly 1 skein of Noro in the ol’ stash (Kureyon) but I’m going to have to fix that and find a LYS that sells Silk Garden. Hopefully in the next few weeks… :)

    Thanks for the shout-out by the way, you are so nice!

  7. penelope dubois says:

    oooooh – I can smell the bread from here!!
    The cowl is luscious! Like the way you have it draped.
    I really like Silk Garden. I’ve done a scarf and I have 6 balls of lovliness waiting to be cast on.

  8. Robin says:

    Hi Alice, Love your cowl, the colors are luxurious. It really looks like wonderful yarn. I have worked with noro but not that one. Smart idea to mix the lots!! Hope you have a great weekend and have a chance to eat some more chocolate. xoRobin❤

  9. A lovely, lovely cowl! The Hot Cross Buns look yummy too. Did you bake them? I am so jealous you figured out how to knit on circular needles. Believe it or not, the goatfather can, but the goatmother is quite afraid. So far she is sticking with the needles. Happy Easter!

  10. Pammy Sue says:

    WOW…beautiful. I love Noro too. But I also love your granny cowl.

  11. Michelle says:

    You have come such a long way since I first started watching your site! I love how pretty your site is. I love the changes! Your work is so pretty. I am just learning how to knit, and I chose a baby blanket. I think I’ll choose a cowl next. They are so pretty, especially yours. Keep up the good work. If you lived near by and we were friends I would steal that granny tea pot cover! It is so pretty!

  12. Dori says:

    What a gorgeous cowl! It’s so very large and stripey and amazing, I want to reach through the screen and cuddle it. I have some Noro silk garden myself, but haven’t dont anything with it yet. I might have to get it out sooner than I was thinking.

  13. Heather says:

    Hi, have you seen this blog with gf recipes? http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com.
    Gluten intolerance is vile- I have a very limited diet and wish I could still eat delicious White fluffy bread. It’s also a pain when trying to eat out as so many meals have gluten. KB has my total sympathy x

  14. Alice that cowl is gorgeous, such yummy colours….I am not normally a stripey type of gal but that looks lovely once it is wrapped around your neck doesn’t it, no wonder you don’t want to take it off!

    Did you see my post about Lucy? Can she come and stay at your house?? I’m organising her itinerary at the moment and she is going to start out with Kate in Brisbane and then hopefully a few others in Oz, maybe she could come to NZ after that before she goes to the USA and the UK :-)

    Here is a challenge for you for the lovely sock yarn….check out the headband I am making. It is just plain knitting/purling but I am hoping it will give me a better heads up of short rows for making socks. Its called the Quant headband – http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter07/PATTquant.html
    I have a good tutorial to follow if you want me to email it to you :-)

  15. PS Have a Happy Easter, and no chocolate for Raymondo it makes cats and dogs very sick :-) xx

  16. Sarah says:

    That is STUNNING, Alice. It looks so cuddly. I have tried three types of Noro so far and am definitely a fan too. Have a lovely weekend :)

  17. The cowl is lovely, the colours of the Noro yarn are just beautiful. I think I’m going to have to splash out on some Noro soon as nothing else is quite as delicious.

  18. Amanda says:

    The cowl is gorgeous!

    As for the bread… if you figure out a decent recipe, do let us all know! Tim and I have tried several using different flours, different recipes etc, but they all come out really stodgy :( and I often end up going without bread because the stuff in the shops is just so expensive!

  19. Carole says:

    I love the cowl and knitted in the round too!!!! I have yet to try Noro yarn, I think I’ve been put off because everybody raves about it but I might just have to jump on the bandwagon and give it a go.

    I can’t help you with the bread recipe but I hope yours turned out okay.

  20. Heather says:

    *eeep* your cowl is so beautiful! Look … look how STRIPY it is! oh wow. It’s funny you should post about Noro (well not really hehe!) because I was just on my way over to send you this link: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/spring-socks I think you need to make these pronto. And then send them to me. And then make yourself some more. Just kidding about the sending to me part ;-)

    Also I’m not sure how much it costs to ship to NZ but BlackSheepWools have got Noro on offer at the moment: http://www.blacksheepwools.com/acatalog/Noro_Silk_Garden_lite.html
    xxxxxxxx Heather

  21. Jane says:

    Gorgeous! I love those blues and pinks together, and it drapes beautifully. Because of the silk? I bought two skeins of the most beautiful silk/wool blend a while ago, and haven’t got round to doing anything with them, because I’ve never sorted skeins into balls… :/ Maybe something for the long winter evenings? Have to wait till October then! At the moment it’s spring and so I’m using more cotton – though the seashore cushion I’m working on now is in a lovely silk/cotton Debbie Bliss yarn :)

  22. Jane says:

    PS I meant my silk yarn is in a hank, not a skein :P – it’s how to wind a hank into a ball that’s putting me off!

  23. Kim Sonksen says:

    Thank you so much for the inspiration – your colourful designs make me happy every time I look at them and your amazing potholders inspired me to create my own.
    I have back-linked to your blog on my post http://kimsonksen.blogspot.com/2011/04/easter-fun.html

    I am looking forward to so much more inspo from you (and Raymond, of course!)

  24. Patti says:

    Hi Alice , i just LOVE your cowl, the colors are so enchanting !!!! and i love your blog !!!
    Just found your blog yesterday and this morning i have read it to the end !!! You’ve made some gorgeous stuff ….. i recently took up knitting and chrochet again , and i added your blog to favo’s .
    Patti xx

  25. Penelope says:

    Hi Alice
    You knit soooooo fast! Your noro stripes have turned out rather beautiful, it looks cuddly and safe with your armour on :0) A cowl is on my list for next autumn/winter, for sure! I have found a lacy 2 needle sock pattern that I am attempting to get my Knit Factor from… learning new skills via Youtube! I’ve been ++busy these past few days and with all the sunshine we are having, have been cycling and swimming in the sea! Happy Easter to you and KB too, we do celebrate Easter and enjoy catching up with family over this break.
    Hope you gf bread turned out yummy, good for you baking from scratch, Allergy is not my area of expertise but I do know that Allergy UK and the UK Coeliac Society are pretty good websites to visit for recipes xox Have fun eatng your creme eggs xxxxxPenelope

  26. MeredithJean says:

    Snap on hot cross buns! mmmm LOTS of butter and cups of tea and the whole lot is gone just like that. And the house smells so good. Both cats up on the bench licking the knife.

  27. juniperjune says:

    beautiful cowl! i don’t know how useful this will be with bread per se, but if gluten-free eating is a regular part of your life, you might want to check out http://xgfx.org, a vegan gluten-free site that just launched a week or so ago. it looks like they have tons of recipes and resources!

  28. Lisa says:

    Hi Alice:
    Just wondering if you could tell me how many stitches you cast on? And I am assuming you are wearing it doubled?

    Thanks for your time,

    Lisa

  29. Julie says:

    Hot cross bun fan here, i like mine toasted hot too with lashings of lovely butter …. YUMMY

    The noro cowl is gorgeous

  30. Meredith says:

    Happy Easter Alice, the cowl is beautiful. I am a bit of a Noro freak, love it. Hope you are staying warm.
    Meredith

  31. Sarah says:

    You always use such beautiful colour combinations. I love the cowls you have made.
    Both the crocheted and knitted versions.
    I fancy knitting in the round and will have plenty of time as we are really having some wonderful weather here in England. Bit worried that it might be short lived by the end of April. Lets hope we won’t need to keep our necks warm until at least October 2011.

  32. Sarah says:

    Wow, your cowl is beautiful – you must be such a quick knitter!! I’ve always found it so slow to work up and I am way too impatient!!

    S x

  33. Lisa says:

    Hi Alice. I love your cowls, they are beautiful. I am going to try to make some too.

    Lisa

  34. 'Joyce' says:

    Hullo Alice and happy hot cross buns to you. I love your new cowl, those colours are so rainbow-ey. Have a wonderful week at your place.

  35. Debbie says:

    OHHHH!! Love your cowls! I’m not much of a knitter, and knitting in the round? LOL…I will give it a try! Will do the granny square for me and my daughter! Thanks for sharing!

  36. Jillian_R says:

    HI Alice, I always love your color choices, they always make your projects turn out so well!
    Here is a US site – KAF (King Arthur Flour) that has some GF recipes and they show pictures of the steps for a lot of their recipes and there is a help line for questions! http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/gluten-free-sandwich-bread-recipe

  37. Lynne in MI says:

    King Arthur Flour’s website has lots of Gluten Free recipes & ingredients. Also, ifyou have trouble with one of their recipes, they have experts to walk you through it & solve problems. Good Luck.

  38. Sandra says:

    Loving the cowl, gorgeous colours and looks so soft and snuggly! Regarding gluten free…my eldest son has been a coeliac for 20 years and doesn’t let it limit his life in anyway – he’s just good at either finding alternatives or being upfront enough to ask about ingredients when out. I still think you’re right about bread though – although they have got way better in the last few years the stuff you can buy in the UK in the shops is not great and tends to dry out pretty quickly. I don’t know what flour you can get – here he finds that the best is made by Juvela (which can only be got on prescription in the UK) but there are various other blends in the shops. The main thing I think is not to try to use it as you would for a standard bread recipe – its much better if you beat it up like a batter, let it rise for a bit then bake. Much quicker than all that kneading and proving! Also works well in a breadmaker providing you just keep scraping down the stuff round the edges as it starts to mix. Good luck! x

  39. Brenda says:

    Love the cowl, how many stitches did you cast on?
    I missed the post on Raymond posing, LOL, siamese have always been supermodels! I have 2, a chocolate like Raymond and a seal, love them it bits, they are the most amazing animals.
    Hope the bread turned out well.
    xx

  40. wendy says:

    The cowl looks great, so strange to think of you needing it as we’re at the other end of the year. But anyway, the reason I was compelled to comment – white creme eggs? White? What? Cadbury’s is English and we don’t get white ones! what’s going on? Have you got any left? Can you take a photo??

  41. Melissa says:

    The cowl looks lovely and because it’s Noro, I know that it feels amazing. Hope your bread turned out well!

  42. Hello there, i want to make a link to your wonderful site on my Woolblog and used a Photo. Would that be ok for you?
    You can look at my blog: http://wollerausch.wordpress.com/

    Greetings from Germany

  43. The Noro Silk garden is another one I’ve knitted with, and it’s lovely to wear isn’t it? Your cowl looks really, really fab Alice! I think your cowls are the new scarves! they drape so beautifully and look so elegant. So glad your bread rose to the occasion! Love Vanessa xxx

  44. Tickety-boo says:

    What a beauty that is Alice! I spent my whole winter sporting cowls and loving them. Have you tried the Martha cowl pattern on Rav? I made some of them for presents last year, Very quick and easy to make.
    Having a lovely time catching up on your posts I missed whilst I was on my holibobs. Thank you for you lovely comment on my socks. Sorry your Mad Hatter socks didn’t work out Alice size :o(
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxxx

  45. faeryfay says:

    Silk Garden Noro looks divine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:-)

  46. MargieBrown Posey says:

    Just ran across your blog–Love it. I’m trying to make some crocheted flowers and saw the one you put atop your cowl in July’s post. Is there a pattern or simple off the top of your head?

Leave a Reply

