Reflecting

Helloooooo!!!

We’re taking a break from socks today…

Only, and I repeat, only because it is April 1st and I need to post my March mosaic!

Because trust me, I’m all about my socks right now…. had you noticed?  Right now I’m sitting at my laptop with Raymond purring on my lap, and my feet are quite cold.  I’m using the discomfort as a way to excite myself, in a few days I’m going to have some cozy socks to wear!

March has been a looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong month.  Looking at the photos, I’m remembering buying that gorgeous spiral of colour and it feels like months ago… the Noro Pixie jacket?  Could have been months as well!  It has been a month of re-starting study, noticing autumn, overwhelming tragedy and disasters and wonderful new ideas for change and it feels like it has taken forever!  I’m not complaining though, life has sped up a lot in the last few years so it has been nice to slow down for a bit. 

Thank you for your overwhelming comments on my last post.  They all meant a lot and I’m going to go back and read them again, thank you thank you thank you!  Some of you absolutely said it, Raymond would not like his blog to be interfered with, so for now, Crochet with Raymond it is.  Speaking of Raymond… he has been a bit down lately, a few nights ago he must have had a major cat fight because he looked miserable for a couple of days and I’ve been finding huge healing wounds on him when I give him his daily combs…. poor bugger, I guess that’s cat life though, he’s the boss of the street and needs to keep it that way!  I find his life away from our lounge quite fascinating, he has a huge social circle and a lot of cat business to attend to.

Allright, I’m off, I have assignments to write and…. you guessed it…. socks to continue with!  Ooh… when I was hanging out with Mum yesterday we had a look at the Vintage Purls website…. Vintage Purls is a NZ business, gorgeous hand dyed sock yarn etc, it is enormously popular and her yarn sells out pretty much as soon as she puts it in her online shop!  While on the website we found this!  “Let’s buy one each!” I whispered reverently…. “OK” says Mum, and we did.  Hurry up postie!!!!!

Wishing you a wonderful start to you weekend!

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Reflecting

  1. Heather says:

    By my calendar there are still three hours and six minutes left of March! Oh yes that’s right, we live in different hemispheres hehe.
    xxxxx

  2. Hannah says:

    Ah yes, April will arrive here in 10 hours! Love all of your posts, Alice. Please keep them coming.

  3. Teje says:

    Hello Alice! I hope Raymond is well! I feel bad for Nelli if she comes home with a scratch – but that’s cat’s life …
    Your mosaic is beautiful! Still 50 min till April. 1 st of April is for tricks!
    Good night! Teje

  4. Terrie says:

    Ha – that made me smile – Raymond strutting his stuff down the street! Hope he heals up fast though =] I can not believe you get so much done in a month Alice! Your hook/needles must be on fire!

  5. Yvette M. says:

    Love the reference to Vintage Purls website…I had to download some of their patterns just because they are so nostalgic….however, I really prefer crochet…find more sites like that :).

  6. white lavender says:

    Hi Alice, I so enjoy reading your beautiful colourful blog. Wonderful ideas and generous giveaway patterns.In fact your blog has inspired me so much I am now quite woolley, crochey. knitty obsessed.I have bought some “Opal” yarn and have just completed one beaut sock. Now onto the 2nd one ( which of course one needs!) Also need handwarmers and a cowl and — Oh my goodness will I get sleep at night. I am an avid embroiderer so this is going to be a lovely change and dare I say it a good Winter! I know Wellington and love the city. I was brought up in Island Bay. My daughter lives in Titahi Bay.Don’t live there now though. Raymond sounds like he’s very independant and perhaps Lord Of The Manor, which might get him into a scrape or 2. Kind Regards S.

  7. penelope dubois says:

    Helllooooooo – While you are contemplating putting on those gorgeous socks, and anticipating Winter, I am here still in the depths of Winter. And what a wonderful surprise for April Fools Day!!!! We are expecting a “Foot”, yes, 12″ of SNOW !!
    But I do enjoy the excitement of it all, all wrapped up in crochet blankets and woolly sweaters and of course socks. My pink Spring socks are in process!!

  8. Cara says:

    Love the mosaic! It’s so hot in AZ right now I can’t even think about socks, but I love what you have done. So bright and happy! It makes me smile even while I perspire.

  9. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice and Raymond, I love your March mosaic and your socks are getting closer and closer to completion. I am currently on a study break so am off to check out Vintage Purls website. Have a wonderful weekend at your place.

  10. WS says:

    What a lovely mosaic. That’s a great flavour of what you’ve been up to. xx

  11. Baa me Kniits says:

    Oh my Alice that wool is divine!! I just bought some lushious stuff from Dragonfly.com I know it’s not local but it is yummy!

  12. Lorena says:

    Thanks so much! You inspired me to do my own version of a Floral Tea Cosy stravaganza. It was great fun and I really loved the result. You could have a look at : http://lorybeat.blog.com/2011/04/01/crochet-tea-cosy-spring-stravaganza/
    Regards, Lorena from UK.
    Ps, I do write in Spanish, but pictures are multilingual :D

  13. Pati from London says:

    Gorgeous sampler!!! To me the year seems to be flying by…. I can’t believe it! Enjoy the weekend, Alice!!! x Pati

  14. Penelope says:

    Alice, you have been ever so busy making, seeing, creating. You are right March has felt extra long for me too. I have had changes in my job (for the better :0) and being super busy whizzy this month, April is full of school hols and bank holidays so it’s going to be a fun month.
    Look forward to seeing your very soon to be cosy toes xox P xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  15. Lovely march mosaic! And yes please keep knitting, I love your socks!

  16. Robin says:

    Hi Alice, Can you check out my cosy?!!??! Hope you like it, you inspired me to even think of making a tea cosy! thank you, xoRobin❤

  17. Melissa says:

    Love the look back. Hope you have a wonderful week-end!

  18. Susan Wright says:

    Hello Alice and Raymond,

    Hope Raymond is ok just check him for bite marks as my cat lucy was awfully ill a couple of years ago after a cat bite. A quick visit to the vets and she was as good as new.
    Love all your projects you put me to shame.
    Susan

  19. March has been waaaaay too long here as well – and waaaaay too rainy. Now it is April 1st and it is STILL raining. All your rainbows of colorful projects help to dispel the gloom around here. Thank you! Maybe the sun might actually come out and shine some time soon. Who knows?

  20. scottishfairynuff says:

    Just wanted to let you you how inspiring you are.
    Not only am I crocheting again, but I can’t get enough! I find it hard to understand crochrt patterns tho knitting patterns are a doddle.
    Have some much needed holidays now so will spend some time working through some of your tutorials- I am so desperate to make the flowery tea cosy.

    Oh and 2 of my non crochet friends are now reading with interest and are off to buy wool and a hook this weekend.

    Keep up the good work :)

  21. Ariane says:

    hello Alice,
    I love your page, especially the crochet work. By the way “Zauberball” whool comes from Germany. I have not tried, but it looks very nice.
    A lot of strokes for Raymond – arrhhg, my English ;D
    Greetings
    Ariane, Julchen and Maja

  22. Pinkie Cupcake says:

    Loving your Japanese flowers….funny, I did mine in the same colour for a scarf for my daughter!

  23. Amanda says:

    Ooops, I am behind on commenting yet again!

    Firstly… I LOVE your rainbow socks. Makes me wish I were a bit better with the knitting needles! I did actually knit a rather simple stripy baby sock last year, so maybe I should dig out that pattern again and get cracking on those… not quite as complicated (or large) as socks for me! I must say though that I am jealous that you will have such bright socks to keep your feet warm this winter!!

    As for the blog, well I just love Crochet with Raymond and would hate to see it change just because you feel you have to. I still sometimes miss my very first blog, although I love my current one too… I truly think your first blog will always be a special place and with so many people loving coming and visiting you here, why change it?

    Hope you’re having a lovely weekend xx

  24. lyn says:

    Poor Raymond, hope he feels better soon. The March mosaic is very bright and cheerful!
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  25. Olubunmi says:

    I so loved your March mosaic. Hmmm maybe I should take pictures and have one. It not only would keep me in touch with stuff that I had been working on, but also would allow me to scroll and smile at works in the past.

    Raymond is a cutie (but of course you know this hee hee hee). I love the most that you are using such bright and cheerful colors. It just lets me know that Spring is here!

Leave a Reply

