Sock Towers

The rainbow socks are growing!

Next comes the turning of the heel…. (gulp!)

And I have discovered the deep joy of knitting with HiyaHiya needles… at $13 per set I was dubious about buying them, but it turns out they are so amazing I’ll never knit with any other DPN’s again! 

Have a lovely day, from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in DPNs!, Knitting!, SOCKS!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Sock Towers

  1. MeredithJean says:

    SO beautiful!!!

  2. Annegret says:

    When I look at the photos, I can really feel the warmth of the socks!! Great!

  3. Bimbi says:

    What absolutely gorgeous colours! Good luck with the heel. Once you’ve done one you’ll wonder why you worried.

    Regards from sunny England
    Bimbi

  4. Robin says:

    Wow, they are really coming along! Love the rainbow colors. Good luck on the heel.
    xoRobin❤

  5. Tickety-boo says:

    Ooooo they are lush! The heel turn is the most stressy point. I would recommend not using a heel turn that asks you to wrap the stitches. Others may disagree but I found it left my with holes when I did that :(
    So have you planned the Ta-Dah outfit yet?!
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxxxxx

  6. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice,
    what lovely socks, and I love how you are taking small steps to decrease your ‘imprint’. Something we are working on at our place too. I am glad you are feeling better and look forward to seeing your new socks when they are done.

  7. Helen says:

    Wow! They look like little rainbow volcanoes, I want some!

  8. Mrs Jones says:

    Those are really beautiful. Sadly I’m having real trouble learning to knit so I don’t think I’ll be making any socks soon!

  9. Oooooooooo that yarn is scrumptious

  10. dawnsrays says:

    It’s magic time! is what I always say when it is time to turn the heel. It is amazing how the next few parts (the heel and the gusset) come together to form this little cup to nest your foot in. Happy knitting!
    ~Dawn

  11. Mar says:

    I love the yarn, so colourful happy!
    They are coming along very nicely, can’t wait to see the final product.

  12. Tas says:

    Sooo pretty. Socks scare me. One day I will try a pair :P

  13. Regula says:

    I just have to ask if they have this beautiful yarn at “my” yarn shop in Weinfelden.

  14. Carol says:

    Good luck with the heel! I do love that yarn (and rainbows!)
    Carol xx

  15. Karen says:

    I can feel the excitement and anticipation from everyone’s comments too!!! I do hope you will find time to post us your pattern, I have one sock finished and a half sock still on needles (long ones for wellies) from about 20+ years ago LOL so I might just be able to finish it off. Somehow plain navy isn’t my ‘thing’ at allllll now, can’t wait to follow in your footsteps(!!!) and I’m sure I’m not alone. We could have a sock swap! well a pair! stay happy xxxx

  16. Melissa says:

    They are looking great! Let me know how the heels go. Socks are one of the reasons why I wanted to learn to knit. You give me hope :)

  17. Margo Boult says:

    Oh my, . . . . . . . . these are lovely!!

  18. Lyn says:

    Absolutely love the yarn colours!

  19. Fiona says:

    They look gorgeous! I really, really want to knit a pair of socks but I’m too scared to start!!

  20. sara says:

    I love making socks and I use Hiya needles as well! I knit from the toe up and often do two socks at a time on one long DPN. Too much fun. Everyone got socks for Christmas!

  21. Teacup Lane says:

    I love the colors of your socks but I’m not a knitter and all the needles makes it look very complicated to knit. They will be very pretty when they are done.

  22. Hannah says:

    Beautiful socks! Knitting the heel is my favorite part!! I feel that it is “exciting”, so I always look forward to reaching that point. Can’t wait to see your completed pair.

  23. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! I wish I could sit and relax now with so beautiful yarn! xxx Teje

  24. penelope dubois says:

    So yummy looking. Hiya needles are great!

  25. They are quite lovely. I think they would fit goat legs just fine as they are. :) Sort of like those leg warmers the dancers wear.

  26. Penelope says:

    Alice you are creating a rainbow of beauty for your feet, so exciting! I am very jealous as I think to knit with DPN’s and then to knit socks is the epitomy of a good knitter! I can’t wait to see how these come out xox I wonder if there is a pattern with 2 needles for ninny’s like me who are afraid of DPN’s ! I love the fact that your mum knits you and your sisters socks each birthday xox I popped into her blog yesterday and need to leave a comment. She looks like a lovely mummy xox Keep enjoying that lovely yarn and goodluck with the heel xxxxxx Penelope xxxxxxx

  27. Catlyn says:

    Ohh they are soo pretty! : )

  28. Julia says:

    Ooooooooooooooooh *sigh* RAINBOW WOOL!! Isn’t that just beautiful?? Aren’t those socks going to be the nicest possible socks in the entire world?!

    Love to you, Julia x

  29. miek says:

    i told you so, you`ve got me buzy all the time. i have bought magic loop needles and yarn, but can`t find a good patern. i have an old book with a patern but the heel part is oldfasion made. this is maby something for you too. http://knitpurlhunter.com/blog/?cat=6&paged=2 She got great tutorial videos of making heel sections.
    but i on the other hand are still strugeling with the top, for exemple how many stitches etc.
    ill will be there sometime, ill let you know….:-)))
    greetings

  30. Siel says:

    Go girl ! You can do it !! X Siel

  31. sandiart says:

    You’re going to have happy feet in these beauties. I have knitted hearts using the wrap heel method, it is easy but I would practice first with some spare yarn, and I didn’t have any problems with holes, you just have to make sure you do the wrap correctly. If I find the link to the pattern I will send it to you. I am knitting with sock wool at the moment, it takes so much longer to knit up, must take a photo of progress so far.
    Happy knitting.
    x Sandi

  32. Lorena says:

    Hola – HI, I am Lorena and I live in England, though I am from Chile (South America). I just loved the colours of you blog. Your knitting is superb and for sure; pieces of art. There are lovely tips that I might implement in my knitting. Thanks and kind regards,
    Adios! Lorena
    ps I will be getting the site updates – that is handy indeed :D

  33. Shell says:

    That yarn is gorgeous! These will be beautiful socks.

  34. Donna Coombes says:

    I am inspired to try knitting a pair of socks.

  35. yuka says:

    Awesome!!

  36. Samantha H says:

    WOW these are sooo amazing! I really have to get some of this yarn and learn how to knit/crochet socks!! What is the difference between HiyaHiya needles and other DPNs though? I’ve never owned any since I’m new to knitting so before I make a purchase I thought I’d ask!

    Sam xx

  37. Hahnsmum says:

    They are sooohhhh pretty …l knit with dpns but am a chicken..l knit a lot of tube sox.. Will have to get motivated again & put the heels in..l used to be able to do heels way back in the dark ages.. Good work lady.. X X X

  38. jo says:

    love the colors! are you knitting the socks inside-out or did you turn them for the pic? i´m kind of confused, but it looks like you´re going counterclockwise which seems a little complicated to me. xo, jo

  39. Ooooohhhh wonderful! Rainbow Towers Alice, pure rainbows! Lovely photographs as well. You know there’s something called the sock bug? It’s where you get addicted to knitting socks! Someone at my knitting group got so addicted to knitting socks, she strained her wrists, and had to stop knitting for a week, it was torture for her! She has to ration her sock knitting now, just imagine having to ration your knitting! I’d cry if that happened to me! How about some socks for Raymond? That would be the cutest thing ever! Love Vanessa xxx

  40. Pati from London says:

    Am loving that yarn…. so beautiful for socks!!! Wish I knew how to make socks…. but it looks very complicated!! Well done Alice! x Pati

  41. Amy says:

    Such beautiful colors! Even though the calendar says it’s Spring here in Ohio, it sure looks like it’s winter outside. Thanks for bringing some color to my gray world!

  42. kiwiyarns says:

    I can’t believe you are using TWO balls just so that they match perfectly. You are funny. But they’re going to be amazing as a result! xx

  43. Erin says:

    Looky at your LOVER-LY SOCKS!!!!!! Isn’t it F.U.N. ?!?!?! Sock knitting is da bestest. =) You picked out such happy yarn … it makes me smile and I bet it will make your feet happy when you are all done. I love Hiya Hiya DPNs too. =)

    Love,

    Erin

  44. Dez says:

    So envious right now…I wish I had the tallent to knit…to knit using 4 needles to make socks…and to be able to play with that gorgeous rainbow yarn…so want to pet the yarn… @.@

Leave a Reply

