My Chair

Helloooo!!!

Happy Tuesday to you! I’ve got the day off today and KB does too which makes us both very happy!  I had a couple of lovely, lovely people leave me comments on the last post with links to photos they had posted of Pimpernel Pugh!  How sweet are they?!  Thank you Andrea for posting the pictues you flickrd!!  And thank you Ginny for the pictures you popped on your blog!  I loved them so much and am so glad I don’t need to go hunting through the children’s part of the bookstore to satisfy my curiosity!  There is a stunning resemblance, and if you have never seen PP, click on the links and go and visit these lovely ladies!  KB can’t believe how much PP looks like our PP when he is playing with his mouse.

I’ve shown you my chair once before, but the other day the sun was shining and it looked so cozy and lovely I decided to devote an entire post to what truly is my favourite part of my home.

I love my corner, it is decorated and arranged with so much love and care… Next to my rocker sits my table which I upcycled in this post,  all of my crochet project wool is colour-coordinated and stashed next to my chair, my pattern books live in an old beer crate upon which sits my lovely healthy green plant, and my beautiful chunk of rose quartz sits on the floor sending out loving, healing vibes.  (If you’re wondering where KB sits, you met her chair in this post!)

 KB’s chair is pink, which makes me jealous, but my chair is better for me because a. it is a rocking chair and b. it is a BIG rocking chair which means I can curl up in it and crochet, and I can knit, even with 35cm needles without having them hitting the arms annoyingly.  It is the best chair in the world.  I’m not the only one who thinks so…..

Raymond loves my chair.  Seriously loves it.  It’s in a very sunny part of my lounge, so he enjoys the morning sun and the afternoon and evening sun in it too…. I love that picture above, look at those back legs, they’re sooooo ridiculously cute.

Raymond loves to sit in my chair any chance he gets, because it is the best chair around.  He doesn’t like sitting in my lap when I’m knitting because he doesn’t like being tickled by the wool tail, but thats fine by me because I don’t like his fur getting into my knitting.  So when I get out of my chair to do something else, he’s in!

I’m a bit nervous that I’m going to be spending the next few days in my chair… last night I got hit with the beginning of a head cold, gosh it’s been about two years since I’ve had a cold, so I’m gamely trying to fight it off by gargling disprin (the best thing to do ever when you have a tickly throat!) and hoping it’s just allergies!  KB reminded me that last week I was complaining about going to work in the shop and wanted to get a cold so I could have a weekend off without using holiday pay….  It was just a joke…..!

At least I’ll have good company if that’s the case!!  So, if I AM stuck at home for a few days, I’m going to need some entertaining.  Remember a while ago I asked you to leave links to blogs you love to visit so we could all go and visit them and love them too?  I had so much fun finding new and lovely bloggers and would love to do it again!  I’ll kick us off by sending you to L is for Love to visit the gorgeous Penelope who has been participating in mutual blog appreciation with me for a long time now!  So once you’ve left a link for us, pop over and say hello to her!

Wishing you a beautiful day,

from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to My Chair

  1. Esther says:

    I really like the red cushion, such warm colours. No wonder the pootie cat likes it :-)
    Esther.

  2. Tickety-boo says:

    My Mum used to swear by gargaling with dispirin!! I hope you don’t get poorly.
    Thank you so much for your lovely comments about my Tea Cozy it means a great deal to me especially coming from you :o)
    Off to check out L is for Love.
    Love Tickety-boo
    xxxxx

  3. Claire says:

    My cat Lola always dives into my sofa space the second I get up from it, only takes her a couple of seconds. Sometimes I don’t even see her in the room beforehand. She’s in my bad books today as she killed a lizard and left it on my kitchen floor!

    Hope the cold comes to nothing. I’ve not been so lucky, spent the weekend sniffling and coughing. I’m done being ill!

  4. Teacup Lane says:

    I like the last photo of Raymond! What a cutie!

  5. Jules says:

    I’ve only just found your blog, and I love it! Raymond is such a cutie, and your crochet is so inspiring – I’m only just learning but loving it already!

  6. Karisma says:

    Well, I LOVE your chair and its surroundings too! BUT the best thing for a tickly throat IS NOT aspirin my lovely (that is bad for you and it merely masks your symptoms rather than curing them), try some nice hot chamomile tea laced with honey. It is very soothing and also a natural anti-biotic. If you don’t like the taste you can gargle it and it will still work. I make a mix of equal parts yarrow, elder flower and chamomile with honey tea at the first signs of flu. Works a treat. Please excuse me for speaking up but I hate to see any one suffer unnecessarily, get better quick!

    I LOVE that last picture, most tolerant fellow he is! LOL

    Most of the crafty type blogs I used to follow have gone a bit dormant, I did so love this knitting one though….Elli could churn out delightful projects in no time ( http://www.elliphantom.com/ )

    Hope you feel better lovely, hugs xoxox

  7. Betsy says:

    Alice – your corner is just lovely and cosy! I love your blog – your posts always cheer me up and make me want to get busy on whatever project I have going. (Or makes me long to try whatever you are working on at the time!). This post makes me want to make an African Flower pillow!!

    Hugs!

  8. Michelle says:

    Hello! I haven’t commented before, but I just wanted to say I love reading your blog – it’s such a splash of colour, from the photos to the text! And as far as I’m concerned, any cat lover (or should that be, anyone who is ‘owned’ by a cat?) is a friend of mine! In that last photo, it looks like you got a bit too close with the camera, and he woke up long enough from his snooze to give you an “oh go on then, take my picture” kind of look, before nodding off again! My cats like to steal our spots too, and each others – one will get out of a chair, and a minute later the other one is sitting there! Talk about ‘me and my shadow’!
    Hope the cold fizzles out before it gets too bad, take care xx

  9. It’s good to have such a lovely space in which to create. Raymond thinks so, too!

    Renee :)

  10. Mousy Brown says:

    I LOVE discovering great new blogs to read – I only just discovered yours a few weeks ago and now it’s a firm favourite! I find it so hard to mention just one other but I do enjoy getting my knitting fix here http://a-friend-to-knit-with.blogspot.com/ – I’m off to check out that link but I’ll be back – I’m stuck at home with a sick little one all week so a few new blogs to check out is just what I need! :D

  11. Hi Alice….I checked the link that you attributed to Andrea (moi?) and it is from Corrin! Anyway, that aside, Raymond is a better looking and slightly less energetic PP! Your corner looks fantastically cosy….if I was there I would be fighting both you and Raymond for that chair!!! Enjoy your day off xxx

  12. Hi Alice,
    Lovvvee your cushion. : ) The colours are very pretty.
    Just wondered.. how do you back your cushions? Do you put a fastening in so that the cover can be washed? I’m just crocheting a back for my cushion and can’t decide what to do… xxx

  13. Catherine says:

    What a sweet place to sit and crochet! I have my favorite spot as well. I love reading your blog each day to see what you’ve created!

  14. I am terribly jealous of Raymond. The goatmother will not allow me to sit in any of her chairs.

  15. Ilse says:

    What a beautiful corner you have ! Its the perfect spot to do crafting, the spot is as sunny and colourful as your work ! So nice.
    I’m truly enjoying reading your stories and admiring your work. What an inspiration! thank you.
    Sunny spring wishes from Belgium

  16. Casey says:

    WHAT is disprin???!? I have a tickly throat too and was up all night because of it :( I’ve been sipping tea and taking Buckleys but it’s not doing much good so far.

    I love your crocheting area, I wish I had one specific spot to sit in. Someday I will get my own chair! I just grab whatever corner of the couch isn’t being occupied or my bed.

  17. Joanna says:

    What a cutie Raymond is – they always know the best seats in the house don’t they? One of our cats, Fred, always jumps on my husband’s seat the second he stands up and then if he (the cat) does share with hubby he tries to steal most of the sofa. I’m sure he would prefer if hubby sat on the floor and let him have the whole sofa. Love the link to the page from the book with the little kitties all sitting in a row – how sweet. Hope you are feeling better and the head cold doesn’t get any worse. xxx

  18. penelope dubois says:

    Oh Raymond, you know where the best seat in the house is!!
    Lovely corner, with the sun shining in and all the colour.
    Enjoy your weather, because as I look outside in my little corner of the world on this 1st Day Of Spring – I see a blanket of snow covering the pine trees and about 5″ on the ground which was predicted to be a “little” dusting!
    I missed the Big Moon, now 2 days gone by. Moonless here!

  19. Bree says:

    I’d love for you to come and visit me: http://www.meandmy2guys.blogspot.com
    no cats here, allergic, but 2 big dogs :) very friendly I assure you.
    Love the crochet tea cosies, wish I could crochet, but I taught myself to Purl last week so am pretty excited about that.

    Bree

  20. Kelly says:

    Your chair and your corner is simply wonderful, but I do hope you are not getting a cold. I am recovering from a horrendous cold. I taught today with a stuffed head, runaway nose, and scratchy throat – nearly on the mend. The cold, however, is how I spent my Spring Break – that is wrong I tell you! Stay warm and cuddly safe. ~Kelly – (un)Deniably Domestic.

  21. Pammy Sue says:

    I laughed out loud at that last picture of Raymond. Too funny.

  22. Tracy Marie says:

    What a lovely corner you have for relaxing and enjoying your crafty pursuits! Raymond does look very cozy in your corner, too. Thank you so much for sharing a slice of your life with all of us! :D

  23. Hannah says:

    I have never heard of “disprin”. Please tell us what it is. I hope that you will recover quickly. Raymond looks so content in your beautiful corner.

  24. WS says:

    Oh dear! I hope you’re feeling better tomorrow for our LYS exploration day!! Lots of Vit C and a ginger and lemon drink will hopefully help. I always find taking a bit of Aconite if I’m feeling I’m coming down with something helps too.

    On the blog note… check out this very cool blog I discovered on the weekend http://compositionsofwool.wordpress.com/. A fellow yarnaholic!

    xx.

  25. MeredithJean says:

    Lovely shot of Raymond’s lips and chin, he’d so much rather be left to sleep on his mumma’s chair. I wonder if Raymond pretends to by P Pugh as he romances your neighbourhood, his alter ego bizarro life.

  26. Love your blog, it is what inspired me to start my blog, been hooked on crocheting and knitting for a long time but the crocheting has really taken off for me this year, I have been madly crocheting tea cosies, they give me much pleasure, like making each one unique.

  27. MeMeRose says:

    I love your big rose quartz, I’ve never seen a piece that big before… bizarely just thinking about doing a post on rocking chairs… yours looks wonderful x

  28. Jane says:

    I wish I had a big rocking chair to sit in to crochet! One of the blogs I love to look at is Rachael’s at http://clevercheshirecats.blogspot.com/ – do have a look, I’m sure you’ll love the beautiful cushions and pin cushions she makes. Hope you feel better soon, Alice :)

  29. Pati from London says:

    Hello lovely Alice!! What a nice post! I love KB’s pink chair, the colour is luxurious and very glam!. I do have to admit that I’ve always had a soft spot for rocking chairs…., though!. My granny used to have one in her house and I sat in there for hours rocking myself…. We need to get a nice armchair for our house and have my eye on a brown leather one (very expensive, though!), however, your rocking chair may have just inspired me to search for something else… Last night I finished my last essay of the term (hurray!) so I feel less guilty to be on blogland this morning….:-). I hope you get better: drink loads of liquid, have a nice warm lemon juice with honey and rest. I’ve never heard of disprin… is it some type of aspirin? In Spain they sell something called Gelocatil, it is basically paracetamol but it comes as a liquid in sachets of 1 gr (yes 1gr!) and it does wonders…. I don’t think I would have survived this pregnancy and winter without them. Take care, darling, Pati xx

  30. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice, take care of you, I hope the gargling works. Your scarf is stunning, I love that gradual rainbow-y shimmer grow up the scarf. Thanks for sharing.

  31. Pati from London says:

    Alice, I forgot, have a look at this blog: http://gipsybazar.blogspot.com/. I discovered this lady’s creations on flickr a few months ago, she appears under the name of Eclectic gipsyland and she is very creative. She makes the most wonderful handbags, mittens etc…. I think her blog is relatively new. Enjoy!! xx Pati
    NB: By the way, I’ve had a look at L is for Love and I really like it, so I’ve added her to my favourites!!

  32. Melissa says:

    That truly is a lovely spot. I sit in the corner of the love seat. It works great when I’m crocheting because I have a place to lay out my yarn next to me. It doesn’t work so well for knitting because my needles keep hitting the arm rest. Enjoy your day off and I hope you avoid the cold. Be sure to clean your sinuses out if you have a netty pot. That should help.

  33. Penelope says:

    Awww Alice you are such a sweetheart. Thank you for mentioning me and putting my link in this post. I was quite taken aback when I saw my blog name, it was a very nice surprise xox I love your corner, I NEED a corner… I do tend to migrate towards a space in our front room and then slowly but surely I spread like a bad disease that will not go away (hee hee) Then I sort myself out and begin again !
    Raymond you are such a pretttttttyyyyy kitttttttty katttttt x He is a little minx for hopping into your chair when you leave it…. I have a little person who does that in our house too! Hope you manage to nip your headcold in the bud, It really made me smile to see Disprin in your post, such childhood memories of gargling soluble disprin at the first sign of a sore throat when I lived in South Africa. It’s always lovely to see a familiar brand name when you live in a different country xox love and rainbows to you this week xox

  34. Rita says:

    Hallo Alice
    I love your Blog and Raymond!! Your Chair-planket is so beautifull and my favorit is the red cushion!!
    All the best for you! Rita

  35. José says:

    Hi Raymond,
    Your blog was recomended to me by one of my followers and I’m glad she did. I love your work!
    Best regards,
    José

  36. Sonya says:

    Hi Alice

    I came across your lovely blog while looking for crochet classes in Wellington. I’ve found a few mentions of classes in your posts but no details… how can I sign up (assuming you cater for beginners)? Thanks!

  37. Amanda says:

    Oh I do hope you feel better soon xx

    I haven’t been by for so very long and I have missed catching up on all your news (but I did “steal” your photo of Raymond having the flea powder rubbed in for my desktop… it was too cute and I needed cheering up, I hope you don’t mind?!)

    As for blogs I love to visit… hmmm I haven’t done much blogging in the past 2 months but let me think… my friend Jen (http://justforfun2291.blogspot.com/) is my “crochet guru” and she has recently done all sorts of cool things like a spiderman cape, a coral reef, and an R2D2 beanie hat. I think that will be the best blog I could suggest right now and will have a think some more.

  38. Karen, UK says:

    You’ve inspired me to share my chair too, i’ve always had an idea that the world is populated with these little chair havens where much womanly crafty magic happens (and probably mens too, but somehow think it’s more of a womanly nest situation) http://mylittlekaleidoscopelight.blogspot.com/2011/03/my-chair.html

    K x

  39. Mom Wald says:

    So sorry about your cold. True you will have a wonderful furry hot water bottle to curl up with.

    I would be delighted if you stopped by my blog. It doesn’t have much of my crocheting yet, as I am “relearning” it. There is lots of lovely vintage eye candy if your eyes get too tired to read with your cold. momwaldsplace.blogspot.com

  40. Jude says:

    Loving your blog..I’ve just mixed my blog list up and you are def there, ready for my daily read …
    Great photos..
    Take care
    Jude

  41. Karen says:

    Hiya Alice! You are such a lovely inspiration… and that crystal WOOOO, where on earth did you find that!!! Quick question – where is your arm warmer ‘recipe'(!) pleeeease, am I being particularly thick ‘cos I can’t find it!!! Have probs with wrists and have to wear splints sometimes so thought I’d make some pretty arm warmers to cover up the ugly splint thingies! thanks, big hugs to each of you Karen xxx

  42. Claudia says:

    It´s a charming, cosy corner in fact! (the colours of your giant square are gorgeous!!)
    Claudia, from Brazil

  43. I so wished Catalpa didn’t like being tickled by yarn tails; he ends up being knitted/crocheted into whatever I’m working on and it takes hours to remove his fur from it afterwards!

    I do love the quirks of the internet where I can be reading the blog of someone from the other side of the world and you suggest I check out the blog of someone who lives half an hour from me!

    Hope you’ve avoided cold germs, or we can expect to see patterns for granny square handkerchiefs from you soon ;)

  44. Teje says:

    Hello Alice! I hope you didn’t catch a cold even it means you can’t stay at home and crochet all day long! Raymond is so beautiful…they love always OUR chair even they had their own! Oh – there is just too many wonderful blogs and I’ a little bit lost in blogland trying to follow as many as possible! … how can you add a link here … I would like to remind you of these great blogs: http://snoopydogknits.com/ and http://bunnymummy-jacquie.blogspot.com/
    Sunny wishes from Crete! Teje
    So much still to learn about blogging…

  45. Teje says:

    …I just have to say … they came ‘links’ by them selves … so I learnt something today! Teje

  46. Carol says:

    What a cosy chair, no wonder beautiful Raymond claims it when it becomes vacant.
    Try Echinacea for your cold, it works for me (liquid form).
    There are lots of lovely blogs, I’m sure you have visited many of them. Ones I particularly like are Melissa’s lovely gentle blog http://tinyhappy.typepad.com/tiny_happy/ , the creative crochet at the colourful http://gipsybazar.blogspot.com/ , a long time favourite is http://henhousehomemade.blogspot.com/ and on Sunday I met Wendy from http://tickingstripes.blogspot.com/ at a Julie Arkell workshop (back of my head intrudes on the last photograph of the workshop post!!!!)
    Hope you get better soon.
    Carol xx

  47. hayley says:

    I love your crochet area, very cosy and snuggly! Hope you feel better soon.
    xxx

  48. Alice, you say it’s your chair?!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s most definitely Raymond’s chair! This is what Raymond’s e-mailed me to tell you, I mean I’m neutral, but you know how it is, one has to do as one’s told by a cat. Cards of Raymond? Hugo and I both think he’s a very handsome chap, model looks, should be on the Paris catwalks, so if you do cards of him, he should be dressed up, make him extra special! If Raymond was mine, I would be kissing him all the time, just have to admit that Alice! Love Vanessa xxx

  49. Truly appreciate you sharing this web site post.Truly looking forward to find out more. Really Great.

Leave a Reply

