Change

Helloooo!!!

And Happy Sunday to you!  I hope your weekend is as stunning as ours, that cold snap I was complaining about has definitely gone and we are back to summery clothes and sunshine- that cold snap was a bit of a scare and I’m blessing the sunshine again, having forgotten what winter felt like!

Thanks for all of your motivating comments in my last post!  You lot should be life coaches!  (Apart from a few commenters that made me giggle, telling me to shelve the scarf!!!  Oooh noooo!!!! I’ll never start it again!)  Being reminded about wintery wind blowing freezingly around my naked neck was enough to make me get the needles clacking, and I’m glad to say that I’m into my last 50gm ball, so officially into the last third of my scarf.  Joy!  Unfortunately, do you remember MONTHS ago I had that accident with a car when I was out running?  And the lady opened her car door right onto the footpath without even thinking that someone might be walking (or in my case running at full speed) on the footpath and I ended up with the corner of her car door slamming into my right shoulder?  (Ooh, just typing this is making me a bit angry!)  Well, it’s taking forever to heal, and the other morning I was doing yoga and I felt, in adho mukha svanasana those muscles rip just a little bit and now it’s all sore again which means I need to go easy on the knitting.  *sigh* that does not make me happy! So I’m taking it slow, but keeping the scarf on my side table so if I’m tempted to do a few rows of SOMETHING, it’ll be the scarf that gets knitted!  Anyway, enough about sore arms, I don’t like complaining on my blog, not when there are far too many fun things to concentrate on instead!

Liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiike, the trip KB and I took to the Botanics today!  And guess what we found?  I know you Northern Hemispherers will like it……..

Signs of Autumn!

It’s only just beginning to change, but change it is!  We popped in there with the plan to photograph the scarf I finished last week, that has been sitting on my wool pile next to my chair since!  Before I tried the Japanese Flower scarf, I wanted to try a motif that was smaller and more flexible in order to make it into a scarfey scarf instead of a shawl, so hunted through one of my favourite books by Edie Eckman “Beyond the Square” and decided on Motif 36.  I made it as multi-coloured as I could (!) and halfway through, decided to turn it into a present for the lovely Sally, my supervisor (it’s a counselling thing) who is having a special birthday this month…. I’m hoping she likes it…. I’m not 100% sold on it, so you’ll have to let me know, crap present or awesome present?

While the motif is not as beautiful as the japanese flower motif, it has a nice drape and the colours are wintery and should go with anything!  Want to know a secret?  KB got so frustrated with me pulling stupid self-conscious faces while she took these photos, she actually stamped her foot!  oooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! ha ha ha ha ha!!!!!

How terribly sad is this business with the earthquake and tsunami in Japan?  Oh my goodness, it is just too much… There is so much change happening in the world right now, politically, geologically, personally… I really feel like there is so much new energy coming into the world, and despite all of the terrible things that are happening, I am also seeing us working together, and feeling compassion for each other.  I know that the love, positive thoughts, care and abundance that flowed into New Zealand after the Christchurch earthquake has affected me deeply and definitely made me more compassionate towards the rest of the world…. I cared before, but now I care on a much deeper heart level and less on a ‘thought’ level and I wonder if anyone ‘gets’ what I’m saying?  Much love goes out from me to the people of Japan and families of visitors to Japan, I wonder how they will rebuild, what will stay the same?  What will they do differently?

OK then, I’m off… it’s coming towards late afternoon and I’m managing to do some pain-free hooking that is thrilling me!  It’s all blocking in the sunshine, so I had to save it for a post during the week, and can’t wait to show you what I’ve been finding much enjoyment in.

Wishing you a beautiful and safe rest of your weekend,

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Flowers, Crochet Goodness, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Change

  1. Jan Miraglio says:

    I understand about the caring. Instead of caring on an intellectual level, your heart actually aches for them! Mine too.

  2. I know exactly how you are feeling Alice, this year is challenging all of us but also bringing us closer together as a community but it seems to be rocking our foundations, literally to do it.
    I hurt my shoulder last week by lifting too much shopping out of the esky in the back of the car with my left arm, pulled that muscle right under the shoulder blade. Felt like I couldn’t breath properly for a few days after that. I did yoga and found Downward Dog too much as well, too weight bearing but my body was wanting to stretch down thru my shoulders in that way. I found stretching in the child pose with my arms right out in front of me and chest on the floor really helped and this week my shoulder is almost better (if I don’t lift anything!!)
    I love that scarf and yes a perfect present, so pretty. I also hope it is the Japanese Flowers that you have just finished, seems right doesn’t it. Hugs Jen xx

  3. sandiart says:

    The Universe, it seems, has had to step in and do some ‘drastic’ work for us to make a change. I have been on my soap box for many a year telling all and sundry that things have to change, we are so off balance, gone too far with the greedy, self centred, materialistic, less compassionate etc.etc. you know where I am coming from, we need to find our way back to our essence and hearts, as they say ‘love heals all’ I am looked on by most people as weird, oh well so be it.
    Now enough of that, I love your scarf for Sally I am sure she will be tickled pink with it. Your hair looks a bit different??? We had a sunny and humid day now it is much cooler and raining and thunder, my garden is loving it!!
    xx Sandi

  4. ws says:

    The scarf looks really pretty Alice! I think it will make a beautiful gift. It does seem like we’re entering some kind of period of change. It’s interesting to see how we’ll all come out of it. I certainly hope the world becomes a better place too. Heal well! xx

  5. Penny says:

    It’s hard to take in the enormity of what has happened to Japan, and to have so many images of it actually happening, and to know that you are watching people dying is hard to take in. It makes so many things seem so trivial. People in the UK are grumbling about cuts and price rises all the time, but at least the earth stays firm beneath our feet and we haven’t got to face that immense wall of water coming to sweep us away. We think we are in control of everything. Nature knows better.

    The scarf is beautiful, your friend Sally is very lucky!
    Hope your shoulder heals up soon, these things take ages don’t they? It’s been lovely catching up having been away, your photos, as always, are fabulous!
    Love to the three of you from Higgins and me!
    Penny xxx

  6. hayley says:

    I think the scarf will make an great gift!
    I also hope that with all the horrible things going on in the world, that we learn to work together, and become less greedy.
    xxx

  7. Teje says:

    Hello Alice! Thank you for a sunny post even we all are thinking Japan and all the people who that earth quake effected! It’s scary and makes us think what is going on and where the planet ‘is going’!
    Your colourful scarf is beutiful and makes lovely present!
    Have lovely week! xxx Teje
    Ps. This week I was also trying some flowers to make a scarf. I love your ‘Queen Elisabeth’ scarf but once I tried, I didn’t get it right. Perhaps I need to try harder…

  8. Bine says:

    Hi Alice,

    I know want you mean about the World changing and wishfully to a better place. I think we need to slow down and find pleasure and healing in the smaller things.

    Your scarf will make a totally awesome present! :)

    xxxBine

  9. Tickety-boo says:

    Beautiful photos Alice! The light was perfect for photographing your scarf. It is an awesome present. In fact it suits you so much I am surprised you can part with it. Very pretty indeed your feiend is a lucky girl.
    Lol at KB….. Mr TB doesn’t get it when “I say try not to get me face in it!”
    Have a great week.
    Love
    Tickety-boo xxxxxxxxxx

  10. Karen says:

    Alice you have such a wonderful way with words going straight to our hearts out here. I agree with everything the lovely posters before have written and appreciate what we have so much, especially in this online wonderful crafty arty community. My son is 18 and travelling alone for 8 months(!) and meeting some lovely people, but just had an incident with a rift current in a remote bay with a few others he met along the way where he got swept out, struggled swimming nowhere had final thoughts in his mind as was exhausted eventually made it to rocks, got literally lacerated by the coral, nearly sucked under the rocks with the strength and force of freak waves, absolutely terrifying BUT (apart from going to have life long scars as there were no medical facilities anywhere near only a couple of nurses in the ‘group’ who used everyones first aid supplies to dress his wounds regularly for a few days) He is ALIVE and somehow I feel very very blessed but after first hand hearing how powerful the water is and how helpless and terrifying it was, I am feeling even more deeply the inner crisis and desperation for the people in Japan. I hope you can understand what I’m trying to say. As Penny said in the UK, I hate the way so many people thrive on complaining, Sandi (above) puts it perfectly, wise and clever girl.
    NOW the scarf it’s gorgeous, lovely present! I’m really inspired now, before even seeing yours! so I am going to make a japanese flower something in memory and honour of all those lost and traumatised in Japan, I will think loving and positive thoughts for them as I make it, it might help someone a teeny bit. I’m starting to waffle, thanks for listening! big hugs and love to all the lovely posters too Kazzie xxxxx

  11. Virtual Lintu says:

    Awesome present! As awesome as your blog …… xx

  12. Penelope says:

    Good morning Alice, I do look forward to seeng your Sunday posts. Firstly, can I say how gorgeous you are and I love your wavy hair x I do understand that photographs can sometimes make you feel self conscious and it can be odd to see how you perceive yourself vs. what a photo looks like…. believe me on that one! It’s even more scary when you see yourself aging and still feel 18 inside! Your autumnal / wintery flower scarf is a real treat and I am sure Sally will l*o*v*e* it … lucky her!

    Japan has broken another part of my heart, the devastation and destruction is mind blowng especially with all the images we have been getting here in the UK. It feels like the earth is groaning as if in child birth with all the pain of human greed and self centredness. I pray that healing and peace come to all those affected by this tragedy. Events like this, Christchurch, Australia in the past few months make me feel more humble and grateful for what really matters in life :0)

    Wishing you a blessed week ahead and thank you for all your lovely mindful words on your blog xox Penelope xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  13. Cuckoo says:

    Mother nature creates beauty and havoc in equal measure. It’s ying and yang I guess. We celebrate the golden trees, blue skies, tranquil waters and weep over destructive winds, shifting land and great tidal waves. It’s easy to get all philosophical but oh, those poor poor people who have to deal with the loss of their homes, their lively hoods and often all with broken hearts having lost the loved ones they held dear.

    Loving the scarf! You’re too close to it to see how lovely it is. You’ll no doubt see your collegue wearing it and then decide you love it too!

    I am very, very happy to see your autumnal signs, maybe the weather will perk up a bit here in good old blighty and I may get to take some photo’s for my blog posts that are slowly stacking up. I’ve almost completed my teacozy which is a poor version of your spring explosion one that I love. Maybe given a bit of time and space from it I’ll decide I do like mine…it’s just yours is perfect.

  14. I think that scarf would make a wonderful gift. Not only is it really, really lovely, but it’s made by you, which in my view is very special. Your botanic gardens are glorious! It’s amazing to see plants growing outdoors that are grown as house plants here, and they look so much happier and more natural in their natural habitat. That first photo is just wow! Love Vanessa xxx

  15. The Wellington Botanical garden is beautiful and definitely a place where i’m thinking of placing my son’s memorial bench, he passed away 18 months ago, but he also loved Brooklyn Windmill and Red Rocks …..

    On the scarf – definitely beautiful present.

    Love
    Karen

  16. Debs says:

    I so totally get what you are saying and agree with the other commenters. A friend of mine who is really into communing with Angels tells me that 2012 is a significant year; that humanity will change dramatically and this year is the run-up to it, with things happening to start to change the way we live, think, work. I am a little scared by all this, but trust that it is all for the good.
    Your scarf is fabulous and I would love to receive it as a gift. Lucky Sally! Can’t wait to see what other hooky goodness you have lined up for us this coming week. Sorry to hear your shoulder is playing up again. Have you tried placing crystals on it? Sending you healing thoughts. xx

  17. penelope dubois says:

    Your friend Sally, is very lucky! Looks great.
    I think one comment that was made on TV about the devastation that really got to me, was that alot of the people felt they had done something wrong and it was their fault. It just broke my heart. Of course not all feel that way, but alot of healing needs to take place and prayers. It’s so heartbreaking.

  18. Shell says:

    That scarf with the small motifs is gorgeous! I love how it can be worn as a scarf or small shawl (like you have in the one picture above). Absolutely beautiful.

  19. Dori says:

    I’ve just found your blog, and am really enjoying what I’ve seen so far. Your “Motif 36″ scarf is lovely! I think it will make an amazing gift. I’m a beginning crocheter, and can’t wait to try out some of your tutorials and patterns.

  20. Carol says:

    I think the scarf is an “awesome” present – who wouldn’t want to recieve such a lovely gift?
    I get exactly what you mean about the caring and a wider caring. For me the internet has played a major part. I can read blogs charting the lives of people all over the world which provide more understanding of other people’s lives. (Particularly felt it when reading Elizabeth’s blog post yesterday about how her family was affected by Chernobyl http://byelizabethcat.blogspot.com/) Something happens and you immediately think “I wonder if ‘so-and so from blog A” is ok and their community too?” It brings things so much closer, which is a good thing.
    Thinking about the Japanese people at this this time.
    Carol xx

  21. Sarah says:

    Lovely scarf, beautiful trees, excellent photography and a very pretty you. I like your hair pulled back, for a minute I thought you had cut it. Give her the scarf, she will be thrilled. Love to Raymond

    Sarah from Texas

  22. Pati from London says:

    Dear Alice, it’s lovely to read your blog as usual…. I stopped by before going back to my research (this is the last essay of the term- yippiee!!). I feel so bad for the Japanese people, my heart goes to them. The footage I’ve seen on TV and the BBC website is absolutely horrendous and I do agree with you; there’s something really odd going on in the world at the moment, disasters, wars, political conflicts, unfairness, greed… or do you think it’s always been like this and the difference is that we are now more aware/informed about it… ??
    I don’t know but yes, changes are needed and working together will be the best solution, really. The internet is fantastic as it makes people feel closer together and blogs are amazing global microcosms that add to that unity. However, loads of work and co-operation among nations is required and the cynic in me feels that we all have a very difficult challenge ahead of us if we want things to improve.

    On a lighter note, I love your starry scarf/shawl. If I was the receiver, I would love it!! I really like the colours that you have used.
    By the way, how are your crochet classes going?
    Big kiss to you and KB from London. By the way, the pictures are stunning: that butterfly is amazing… x Pati

  23. Hello! I just found your blog and it is wonderful! I bet you never thought a goat in America would be reading your blog. :) However, the goatmother loves to crochet and knit and finds your patterns awesome. And I find your philosophies right up my alley, as they say. Our hearts go out to Japan as well – sending them healing vibrations!

  24. I love that scarf Alice! And the gift for your supervisor is just gorgeous.

    I agree about change. Change, like childbirth, is often painful and sometimes dangerous and bloody, but it brings forth new hope and life and love.

    It is heartbreaking what is happening around the world with all the natural and man-made disasters. We have to pray (for me that means sending loving, healing energy)for strength, fortitude and hope for all of those affected. x

  25. Cathy says:

    Ah leaves on trees…starting to forget what they look like!
    I can never quite get the idea that somewhere that seems so close on the ether can feel so different…I am always cold so I guess I live in the wrong place!
    Can’t wait to see some more signs of spring here in the UK- only a very few very brave buds!

  26. Robin says:

    It’s definitely a beautiful gift. Anyone would adore it and be very lucky. Can’t wait to see your next project. xoRobin❤

  27. es says:

    Hi Alice,
    I’ve been enjoying your fun chatting and, of course, the lovely works f0r the last several months. I’m a Japanese and live in California. Today I decided to leave a note for your kindness and caring to Japan.
    We’re really in deep depth right now. I’m so fortunate that I can enjoy your beautiful shawl today: many people even can’t open their PC in the area. Your thoughtfulness just makes me cry. Thank you, Alice. Please forgive my bad English.

  28. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice, I love your crochet its fabulous. Yes, I know what you mean about feeling for our neighbours. Ever since Australia was hit earlier this year, the love that poured in from across the waters has just been so wonderful, and not just the financial assistance either. The hooking, the sewing the volunteers – it’s very humbling. Then when it was New Zealands turn, it was only the right thing to do to pick up the hooks again and send some love across the ocean. Now in Japan, to see the horrific destruction that has occurred there is also heartbreaking. Everyone that I speak to just feels so helpless and in our own small way, by making blankets, or hopping on a plane to lend a hand, perhaps will give some hope that no matter where a person lives, they are still a person, they are still being prayed for and still being thought about.
    Have a lovely day.

  29. Mom Wald says:

    Wow, you covered a lot in this post! Poor shoulder, good present, bad tsunami, and I’m jealous of your greenery. Yep, I think I got it all.

  30. marge says:

    I feel for you with the injury/knitting thing. I have had a frozen shoulder for 6 months now, hence no knitting – I don’t know what’s worse, the pain or the not being able to knit. Hope it heals soon m xxx

  31. Betsy says:

    I had to join in with the comments today. First of all, your scarf is beautiful and the recipient is one lucky person!

    Secondly, thank you for your comments about Japan. I live in the USA but have a 22 year old son who teaches just north of Sendai, one of the hardest his areas. We have just received word that he is fine and so are all of our “adopted children” who are Japanese but have lived with us off and on over the years while attending school here. Our son has described the devastation to us and it’s hard to figure out the best way to help. Food and water is scarce and now the survivors have to figure out how to survive with nothing left at all.

    One of the things that really touched me on the news, was the story of the search and rescue group from New Zealand arriving in Japan. With the problems still plaguing their own country from the Christchurch earthquake, they were still willing to help the Japanese people. There are indeed wonderful people in this world.

    Thank you for your caring heart and love for people all over the world. We need more bits of sunshine like you give to us in your postings. It does seem as though there are many more disasters, conflicts etc. going on all over the world. The bit that we can each do, one at a time will make a difference though.

    Blessings,

    Betsy

  32. Kay Guest says:

    I would vote for “awesome present”.

  33. Sarah says:

    I’ll keep it short: awesome present! Really, the scarf looks gorgeous! If I were you, I would be selfish and keep it to myself. Hope your shoulder gets better soon.
    (P.S.: You look beautiful on the pictures)

  34. Claudia says:

    An awesome gift, I think!! The colours are great and I love your photos mosaic!! They´re so vibrant!
    (* Unfortunately, the climate changes have been huge here in Brazil!
    Terrible storms, floodings, warmer seasons. It´s terrifying and it seems the Earth wants to say something, doesn´t it?)

Leave a Reply

