A spot of nature…

Hellooooo!!!

It has been aaaages since I’ve taken you on a wee trip around Wellington!  KB and I love native bush, as those of you who know us quite well already will know by now, and yesterday in the early evening we decided to pop down the road for a walk in Central Park.  Central Park is not New York standards by any means, it’s a small area of beautiful native bush just out of the city that works very hard to cleanse the fumes out of yucky city air.  That photo above shows it from the very top, and off in the distance you can see the harbour.

When KB and I first decided to share a dwelling, we lived right next to this park and I used to walk through it every morning into the city to work.  I love this park, because even though it is tended by the Council, it is still very raw and seemingly untouched.  We moved from that home five years ago now, and though I’ve been into the bush since, quite frequently, I was blown away by how much it had grown!  The trees have suddenly shot up, right up to the sky, and the bush around them is closing in, and it is a wonderfully cleansing and healing space to be….

Down the path we walked, admiring the beautiful trees, almost having to lie down flat to see right up to the very tops….

Punga Trees are our favourites, and as we walked down the path we were looking at them from above…

And within a few minutes we were below the exact same trees, craning our necks to look up that them….

Up the path to the top we walked, and I managed to snap a sneaky shot of KB, which shows the magnitude of the bush around us, because she is tall…… 

It was such a lovely walk, and on the way home I felt kind of sad, do you ever find that?  When you’ve been immersed in nature, it affects you right to the core, and washes everything away, then BOOM, you’re back in amongst buses and cars and people’s thoughts rushing through the ether…. sometimes I just know that I’m not cut out for city living…

Anyway, I’m off!  The sun is streaming into our lounge, Raymond is meditating in it, and I’ve got a multitude of WIP’s happening, especially one exciting WIP I’m getting ready to put into a small, local exhibition.  Oh.  And my lace scarf.  It takes stamina to knit a scarf, I’m admitting I’m a bit bored of it as I come up to the halfway mark!  Say something to motivate me please!!!

Wishing you a beautiful day,

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to A spot of nature…

  1. Maria says:

    The second half of large projects is always difficult for me. Are your Punga trees the same as our Tree Ferns? They look exactly the same from the photos

  2. Wanda says:

    What a beautiful place. Thank you for sharing with us.

  3. Karen says:

    Alice & KB this is soooo beautiful, magnificent trees and scenery and I bet the earthy scents are glorious too – I can’t wait to visit my friend up north one day in the not too distant future – I plan to come with a hook or 2 and use some of your lovely wool whilst I’m there!!! Now about the lace scarf – the sooner it’s finished the sooner you can show us all and give us happiness too…… can’t wait… keep going…. Yippeeeeeeeeeeee!!! xx

  4. zebeth says:

    It’s so lovely to share your walk with you. I live in a small town in England and, although we’ve got plenty of trees, none of them is like yours. I really enjoy being able to experience life in New Zealand, even though I’ve not even had to board a ‘plane. Thank you!
    As for your scarf… you’ll love wearing all that lovely pink once it’s finished. I often have to visualize the end product and ‘feel’ the emotion in order to get through tougher projects. Just think of the satisfaction you’ll feel in having beaten the ‘you can’t knit lace,’ demons!

  5. Heather says:

    how lovely to have such a wonderful woodland close by, it’s simply gorgeous and I LOVE your photos looking up under the trees. Trees silhouetted against the sky is one of my favourite things.

    xxxxxxxx Heather

  6. Melissa says:

    I know exactly where you are on the scarf. You’ve gotten the hang of the pattern and it’s really pretty and it should BE DONE NOW! I’m feeling that way about my sweater. I’m binding off the back and then have two fronts and two sleeves to do…..in the same boring stockinette stitch…..yawn. So I keep reminding myself how fab it will be when it’s done and I’m wearing it and I’m asked where did I get that gorgeous sweater? To which I can reply, “Oh! This old thing! I just whipped it up in front of the TV.” I won’t bother to tell them it took me AGES and they’ll be so impressed……..Have fun and thanks for the “life line.” :)

  7. Sarah says:

    Well, I suppose I will never get to NZ in person but you have given me so much information about your beautiful country. I thank you for that and I look forward to so many more “mini-travel guides”. Thank you for the picture of KB, now when you write about her I can get a picture in my mind. Love to Raymond…..
    Sarah from Texas

  8. Bianca says:

    ooho, envy. beudiful green.
    Never mind your non motivation for the scarf, don’t force it, put her on a holder and come back to her when the inspiration returns. If you’re anything like me, forcing myself to get it finished is one heck of a way towards making a collosal mistake that results in mass unravelment. Go with the flow ;)

    xB

  9. Kris says:

    What a gorgeous place!!

  10. Louise says:

    Wow!!! If i had to walk through beautiful bush like that to go to work everyday, I’d never make it to work! Lucky you…..
    Can’t wait to see your scarf!!!! Just imagine how fantastic it will be when you finish the second half! There, did that help? Feel motiviated now?
    Take care,
    Louise

  11. I can only imagine so well how you’re totally amazed every time you see this breathtaking scenery! I chose to go and live in the south of Spain because of the overwhelming beauty of nature here. It can make you feel so very, very small and humble.
    About your scarf……..you better get knitting girl! Winter is on it’s way! You don’t want to feel it’s icy wind around you neck, now do you??? You want to feel the caressing of soft possum merino!!! (good luck!) XXXX

  12. pauline says:

    What beautiful photos you take! Looking through them is nearly as good as being there. One good thing about being here, in this part of the world, is that spring is on it’s way. All the daffodils are out as are some of the other bulbs…very pretty.
    I just love the colours of your crochet work,. I only found your blog today but will be following it closely…..
    x x

  13. Hannah says:

    Thank you from my heart for the beautiful pictures you shared with us. Your trees are beyond description. I live in the desert of the USA (New Mexico). I LOVE your trees!!

    I find crocheting to be much faster than knitting. That scarf you are working on is lovely, but why force it? Give yourself a break and return to it at another time. It will still be there waiting for you.

  14. Debbs says:

    Alice – it’s simple no more chocolate (or whatever your favourite thing is – kisses, blog reading etc) until the scarf is finished – you are allowed one square(or treat) every 7 rows and a whole bar at the end of the scarf. Or you could get KB to keep telling you you’ll never finish it – if you’re anything like me, the more someone tells me I can’t do something the more determined I am to do it!!!LOL

  15. Dorothy---Nannyto4 says:

    Just beeeuuttiful! So appreciate your sharing the nature walk. Here in hot, dry Texas all we have is short trees & cactus (not that it is not beautiful, too). Love my “trip” thru part of your world. Keep on keeping on with your knitting!

  16. penelope dubois says:

    Keep thinking of your next project you are looking forward to doing, and won’t until you finish the scarf!
    Beautiful surroundings!

  17. Vicki says:

    Hi Alice

    Love those tree ferns I sew them when I drive down the coast through Kangaroo Valley just beautiful. I would also like to ask you how many Japanese flowers you put into your scarf ? I have just crocheted one from mohair – so soft I know I have caught the same bug! Thanks heaps Vicki

  18. Vicki says:

    Hi Alice

    Just love those tree ferns I have similar view when I drive down to Nowra through Kangaroo Valley – gorgeous. I also wanted to ask how many Japanese flowers you put into your scarf and if you sewed them together? Thank you Vicki

  19. Sandi says:

    Close your eyes and imagine that beautiful, warm, soft, snuggly scarf wrapped around your neck on a cold, cold day…mmmmmm. I love my forest walks every week, and appreciate it more now than when I lived there.
    x Sandi

  20. Patricia says:

    Your triangles are featured on Lucy’s 9 Mar blog over at Attic 24….that would motivate me…congrats!!

  21. Susan H. says:

    Hi Alice,
    Beautiful scenery! We can’t wait to see that scarf and your piece for the exhibition. Think about how lovely it will look when it is finished… keep hooking away!
    xx Susan

  22. Amii says:

    I just love those photos of the punga trees, especially the ones taken looking up. There’s a crochet pattern in there somewhere, I just know it.

  23. MeredithJean says:

    You’ll finish the scarf if you think of giving it to someone you love, and imagine you are visiting them within a week, or less, to deliver it. And guess what…. the someone you love is you… and it will look amazing with your long cream cardi after all xxx

  24. Pauline says:

    You will finish the scarf. You are a very talented lady and it will be another beautiful work of art. Come on you are half way, it won’t take that long….
    Cheers

  25. Cathy says:

    Wow, wow utterly wow! I can certainly see why film makers use NZ for astonishing nature scences…and Liverpool for gritty urban scenes!!

  26. Teje says:

    Hello Alice! vow – what a wonderful walk with my morning coffee! Your favorite trees are amazing, like gigant flowers! When I have reached the half of knitting (or something else), I feel there is only half left and after every row, I’m more close to finish. For me the first half is ‘more slowly’ because there is still all the work ahead!
    xxx Teje

  27. Miss V. says:

    Hello Alice ! Thanks for the beautiful pictures. I’ve made two tea-cosies thanks to your tutorials. You can see them on my blog. My cat named Patachon is fan of Raymond ! Bye.

  28. OH! I HAVE JUST FOUND YOUR BLOG AND JUST RETURNED FROM A TRIP TO YOUR BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY.Ii WILL POP INTO YOUR BLOG OFTEN AND WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK TO NEW ZEALAND ONE DAY

  29. Ange says:

    Hi,
    Sorry to disturb you with my french accent, but, er, would you like to adopt me?
    It’s my first time on your blog, already in my favorites. Your country seems to be sooooo beautiful!
    I will follow your blog.
    Courage for your work. ***sending you some vitamins from Europe***
    Cheers,
    Marie-Ange

  30. That tree is a giant! Awesome park too, that pattern on the Punga tree looks like footprints all over it :-) I always have about 5 projects on the go because I get bored doing the same colour and the same pattern……a finished project in the middle gives me renewed vigour!

  31. Hello Alice, KB and Raymond! I enjoyed very much reading this post Alice. Thank you for taking me with you through this path. Have you read Dorothy Maclean’s book “Call of the Trees”? She is one of the Findhorn founder in Scotland. I know how you feel between the nature. Me and my husband Humberto had just came back from a comunity like Findhorn here in Brazil. It is always a strange depresing feeling getting back into Sao Paulo, the big city we born, live and learn to love.
    Wishing you a inspiring day,
    Let’s crochet!
    Kisses and hugs,
    Anita

  32. Kelly says:

    I love your pictures! I can’t help but think of prehistoric days of dinosaurs when I see photos of such large trees and fern foliage. That is just so cool! I would love to be able to walk around in such a place on a regular basis. Where I live in Texas is flat and unimaginative… we have to drive quite a bit (hours) to see more beautiful surroundings. Thanks for sharing in your journey! And keep up the hard work on the knitting… you’ll get over that hump in a jiffy and will feel the finish line approaching soon!

  33. Penelope says:

    Thank you dearest Alice for sharing that bountiful green country you live in. my absolute all time nature favourite is a forest, I know what you mean about it being magical. I feel so little when mother nature is so big and defies all human efforts to control her xox I think its amazing that you go out and embrace what is on your doorstep, something a lot of people don’t bother doing.
    As for your lace scarf I think I agree with Debs … it’s all about the task and treats! On the other hand I totally understand where you are coming from…. I have been fantasising about super chunky yarn as I too desire the instant gratifucation factor! I am desperate to knit myself a waist coat / gilet of sorts and have been looking for the right pattern for months but am not very motivated by the time it will take me !!! I finished my lacey beanie last night and it’s tiny! or maybe I’ve a huge head ? so it’s going in the “presents” box for one of my friend’s young teenage girls who expressed aninterest in it! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxP can’t wait to see your WIP for the exhibition x

  34. WS says:

    That is why I never want to live in the city again! The refreshing, invigorating effect of walking through the bush, and seeing people’s reactions to being in a natural environment makes me wonder how we’ve managed to urbanise ourselves to ‘well’ when actually what most of us truly want is the exact opposite!

    As for your scarf, I know that feeling too (can you tell I’m having a similar episode with one of my projects… ;-)). The best thing to do is just grit your teeth and work through it, and suddenly, a day or two later, you wonder what the fuss was all about!

    xx.

  35. Joanna says:

    Wow – what beautiful scenery you have. I know what you mean about feeling sad when you get back to the every day stuff like cars etc. Its like you escaped from reality – just for a while and sometimes your not quite ready to be thrown back into it! Keep going with the scarf – just think you’re over half way there not long now. Jo xxxx

  36. maria joão says:

    what a beautiful place….ohh envy me!!! you are so lucky! Thank you for sharing this gorgeous pictures… **

  37. Barbara Reichard says:

    Promise yourself another walk in the forest when you finish the scarf.
    Beautiful pictures-thanks for sharing.
    Barbara

  38. Cathy says:

    Just popped in to say that I am thinking of you down there- now on tsunami alert, how much more is there to come in NZ/Australia?
    xxx
    Cathy

  39. Alyson says:

    Alice, I heard about the tsunami warning for NZ. I haven’t seen Wellington on the list of areas, and I’m hoping you won’t be affected by it. Please know that you and your family (including Raymond!) are in my thoughts.

  40. Anne says:

    Your park looks great, those trees are just amazing, especially to somebody from the other side of the world! ;-) I know what you mean about feeling sad when you leave a place like that and go back to the city – we stayed in a holiday cottage last summer, right in the middle of nowhere, 12 miles from the nearest shops! We were surrounded by green hills and looked out over a beautiful loch. Even a mundane task like hanging the washing outside suddenly became a pleasure :) I’m normally ready to go home after a fortnight, but this time I could have happily stayed on, and arriving back in “civilisation” was a bit of a culture shock. Hope we will always have places like that to escape to! :)
    All the best,
    Anne

  41. Sandra Draper says:

    Wowee, what a visual wonderland we have in NZ, the Kaitoke bush walk is very similar, outstanding, natural, spiritual healing, meandering along these ferny glades, who needs counsellors?!?!?!?! Watch out for the garden fairies, hiding in every nook and cranny:)

    Shelve the scarf for now and do more of those funky chinese flowers, they look as though they should be floating down a sparkling brook in a forest woodland.

    Love & Hugs to all,
    SandraXXXXXXXXXOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  42. Debs says:

    Hello Alice. I haven’t heard whether the Tsunami has hit NZ or not, but my thoughts are with you all.

  43. Typy says:

    I’ve come to enjoy crocheting very recently. And because of that I found your delightful blog. I’m definitely going to follow your blogging. Greetings from Finland :)

  44. Hi Diane! I visit from Venezuela, I love your blog, has been inspiring for the next job I am planing to do, I am been a crocheter for less than 1 year and what catches my attention most is the freshness of your work and the colors so radiant.
    In the city where I live the weather is hot (38 C), so we use cotton threads to compensate. A big hug from Venezuela, I will continue coming down here!!

    Hola Diane! Te visito desde Venezuela, me encanta tu blog, ha sido inspirador para los proximos trabajos que quiero hacer, yo hago crochet hace menos de 1 ano y lo que mas me llama la atencion es la frescura de tus trabajos y los colores tan radiantes.
    En la ciudad donde vivo el clima es caliente (38 C), asi que usamos hilos de algodon para compensarlo. Un abrazo desde Venezuela, seguire viniendo por aqui!!

Leave a Reply

