Blue Stuff. And some pink stuff too.

Blue stuff:

1.  The sky.

Thank Goodness!  It warmed up again!  I was beyond nervous about the state of the temperatures on the weekend, I had completely changed my mind about looking forward to winter, and had decided that I was not quite ready to let the warmth of the summer season go just yet!  Despite the pink sunrise this morning, we had a gorgeously perfect day with beautiful blue skies…..

2.  Raymond’s cat tunnel.

Yes, we know he is very, very cute, especially when he falls asleep in his cat tunnel with his little cute feet up against the walls, he is in fact, cutest when he is asleep….  Some of you asked how he was doing because you hadn’t seen him in a while, he is good!  We haven’t been seeing much of him lately either!  Raymond is an extremely high-needs cat and goes through stages of finding new homes and families. During these times we see him quite infrequently and often smelling of another woman’s perfume, then once he has outstayed his welcome there, he starts coming home a lot more.  We don’t mind this in the slightest, as long as these new families don’t start feeding him… although that would be pointless even if they did because he is so fussy he wouldn’t eat it anyway….

3.  Skull Tea Cozy

A colleague needed one of these for her skull-loving daughter’s birthday present and of course I was happy to provide!  Being that the recipient is a vegan, environmentalist, I made this as vegan-friendly as possible (even though wool is not vegan friendly!) by using gorgeous New Zealand wool from Ashford that does not practice mulesing on their sheep  (go Ashford!) I kept it local and ethical, and finished it off with a vintage button from my stash inherited from KB’s Mum.

Pink Stuff.

1.  My possum merino lace scarf.

One of the great things about blogging is that there are millions (OK, maybe hundreds) of very skilled people out there reading and offering advice.  Nikki, oh my, THANK YOU for leaving me a comment about life lines, I followed your instructions and immediately made a life line in my scarf… then another as I knitted my way through a very slow morning at work… then another…. then at approximately 12.06pm I was soooooooooooooooooo grateful to you when I dropped a few stitches trying to unpick a row, ripped it back to the life line, put it back on the needles and proceeded immediately to knit the front into the back and needed to rip it back once again!  It’s not my usual style to listen to someone and follow advice, I tend to just do whatever and make mistakes, but I am sooooooooooo glad I did it!  If you squint, you’ll be able to see the life line in my photos and they truly are!

3.  Japanese flowers.

I tried so hard to resist this trend!!!  But ooooh how I love these flowers!  I’m loving seeing them pop up all over the blog world, on ravelry and lately, in my lounge!  Inspired by lovely Lucy, most of us have fallen for these lovelies and I’m no exception… I held back because I can’t read graphs because of my leftiness, it’s just too confusing translating graph to written pattern and doing it the opposite way to how I crochet,  but then the divine Elizabeth Cat, who is my crochet icon, whose crochet is such perfection that I want to wrap myself in it and have a wonderful techicolour sleep, kindly put up a tutorial for these flowers and I was a goner, they had to be made.

I just made a short scarf that I can pin at the front, as these flowers are quite a size, and these lovely colours might be a bit overwhelming en masse… I’m in love with the result.  Thank you Elizabeth, for the pattern!  (And a resulting addiction to japanese flowers!) I have the colour scheme for another scarf burning a hole in my stash as I type…

Well, I’m off to bed, my eyeballs are falling out of my eyes and I don’t dare try to knit another few rows of lace before I go! 

Have a lovely day wherever you are!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting!, Raymond Appreciation, Tea Cozies!. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Blue Stuff. And some pink stuff too.

  1. hayley says:

    Raymond looks super cute there! I tried to resist the Japanese flowers too, and failed!
    Have a great day. xxx

  2. What a beautiful colour coordinated post you made…. Love the blues, adore sleeping Raymond and totally understand your addiction to the Japanes flowers. I am working on a simular scarf, just used different colours and cotton since we’re heading towards summer here. Posted it on my blog yesterday….
    Hope you slept well! X Floortje

  3. MeredithJean says:

    Wonderful Raymond, lovely colours all around, even a life-line! and a big well earnt sleep. Night night xxx

  4. What a gorgeous, colourful post! Raymond is so cute…but sounds like a bit of a ladies man! I love the idea of the lifeline!!! I am pretty good at knitting back and my mum taught me how to actually knit back down through the work on just the relevant stitches rather than un-knitting the whole row! But the lifeline seems like a much quicker solution….I will definately give that a go! x

  5. Helen says:

    Such beautiful work. Can you tell me what mulesing is? I have never heard of it before.

  6. moleymakes says:

    Such wonderful colours Alice. I must admit I’ve so far resisted the temptation of the Japanese flowers. But as I see more and more people in blogland doing them I’m getting the urge :)

    Raymond looks sweet in his tunnel. My cat wouldn’t want to stray like him , oh no, she knows what side her bread is buttered on …. he he he

  7. Robin says:

    Alice what loveliness you had to show us this morning. The sky, cozy Raymond, the skully cosy, lace scarf and japanese flowers. Oh my!!! How do you do it? Do you sleep? All I can say is all your projects are so beautiful and I want one of each. xoRobin❤

  8. Tickety-boo says:

    Wow you have been a busy girl! I am off to find out about this life line caper. It could save a lot of profanities in my houe when I sock knitting.
    Love Tickety-boo
    xxxxx

  9. Jen says:

    Mmmmmm, gorgeous colours, I have been busy setting up a blog and making things to sell and have tried not to be suckered into yet another project, but I do love those flowers, Lucy and many others of you out there have a lot to answer for! I might have to check out that tutorial.

    Jen ; )

  10. Blue and Pink deliciousness!!! Did you make Raymonds tunnel? It looks like a lot of fun :-) Those Japanese flowers….I’ve missed those posts…and look at what goodness I have missed!!! I love those, just like cherry blossoms, my favourite! Will have to make some of those for sure.

    A lifeline, I saw that comment and thought what a great idea :-)

  11. dawnsrays says:

    My you have been a busy girl! you deserve some blue skies and some cat time. It all looks scrumptious! Your colorful blog just puts a big fat smile on my face.
    ~Dawn
    p.s wish I had a tunnel like Raymond. What a place to lounge!!

  12. marlene says:

    wauu! your pink crochet scarf is so beautiful!! I love the colors your chose.
    congrats!

  13. Karen, UK says:

    I know! (said excitedly) I know exactly about the lure of those flowers, i fought of the urge myself but eventually gave in as you can see here lol

    http://mylittlekaleidoscopelight.blogspot.com/2011/03/flowers-of-crochet-variety.html

  14. penelope dubois says:

    Your Japanese flowers are beautiful. I use Elizabeth Cat’s pattern too, and absolutely love her colour choices so much for her scarf, that I am making one also, and started a Granny Ripple in those same colours!

    Raymond looks so content, sweet dreams!

  15. Oh a tunnel for your cat, that is so cute! I’ll have to show it here.
    Love the pink flowers!

  16. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! Vow – Raymonds cat tunnel is great, I haven’t seen before! I’m sure he loves it and he is so qute! I love those red-pink flowers on your scarf!
    Have a great Woman’s Day! Teje

  17. Sarah says:

    Oh how I love your photos of Raymond, I want to give him a kiss right on the top of his head. Speaking of being lefthanded, I have been crocheting for years and normally don’t have a problem but……………..I have started the Queen Ann’s lace scarf at least 10 times and after about 4 motifs, I end up on the wrong side and cannot connect to another motif. I am so frustrated, but I will not give up! I printed out the picture of Raymond taken when you were dusting him with for fleas, I put it above my computer so I can look at him everyday. I have never seen a cat smile like Raymond did in that picture. One last thing, what is mulesing, is it a bad thing?

  18. Terrie says:

    Lovely colours Alice! Both scarves are gorgeous!

  19. elizabeth says:

    Hi Alice,
    I love your blog! Your Raymond and your crochet are so inspiring that I’ve made my own teapot cozy pattern for my lonely little teapot! It’s only a beginning and it’s crocheted in cotton, but You inspired me and that’s no easy thing! Oh, and I also started my own blog to sort our my thoughts on things. Once I figure how to add photos, I will . I’ve not sorted that part out yet, but I will! And when I get really brave, I’ll try out your mandala teapot cozy, too! I just wanted to thank you for the inspiration. (Now, I think I will go before I start sounding like some crazy woman)
    Cheers from Central Florida, USA!

  20. Pati from London says:

    lovely colours, Alice! They’ve just brightened my day! I love Elizabeth Cat’s creations, she’s very talented! Glad the sun is shinning again for you over there. It’s a lovely day in London too so can’t complain. Soon, I’ll be off to Uni. Have a nice day, darling! x Pati

  21. Casey says:

    I’ve been avoiding the flowers, I just have too much on my plate. But, yours are really making me want to just go for it! They’re beautiful

    I love the skull! Still want to make something from one of them sometime!!

  22. zebeth says:

    Wow – what a beautiful place you live in – all that space! Loving the flowers. I’ve just had a go too, courtesy of Elizabeth’s tutorial. I am so grateful to you and all the other generous bloggers out there who share their skills, ideas and inspiration. Thank you so much!

  23. Penelope says:

    Love your japanese flower scarf Alice, looks pink-a-licious and so neat and tidy xox They are sooooooo addictiveand look more complicated than what they are.
    We are having the most gorgeous blue sky days here too, it’s been warm the past 2 days and I can defnitely feel a sense of spring appearing. Better not talk too soon as it could turn nasty again x I love that photo of Raymond, he’s a little scamp finding new famlies here there and every where ! xox Penelope xxxxxxxxxxxx

  24. Myriam says:

    Oh the poor cat!!!!!!!!!!

  25. Carol says:

    Hi…………really enjoy your site……..love your pix of the Japanese flowers…..more inspiration for me to get busy!
    Best wishes,
    Carol

  26. ripplestitchkin says:

    Seems to me there ought to be a way to scan a charted crochet pattern and then flip it so it reads lefty. We have all these nifty computer tools–one of them ought to be able to give you the necessary mirror image. I’m a tech Neanderthal myself (strange glowing rock make pictures!), but someone should know.

  27. Meredith says:

    Raymond looks so cozy I just want to reach in that picture and pet his soft paws. I am obsessed with the flowers, mine differ a bit but I am now on flower 30 and have about 20 to go for my shawl to be finished.
    Have a beautiful day,
    Meredith

  28. Chris says:

    Hi Alice,
    I love your flower scarf, great colours.
    I’ve got the bug too (I’m making a blanket/bed cover), I joined a CAL (crochet-a-long) group where we are all working on japanese flower projects, it’s great!!
    If your interested pop over and take a look.
    here’s the link http://theflowerbed-shr.blogspot.com/
    I love all the stuff you have been making you are such an inspiration.

  29. Hi, my dear Twinkle Twin! :-)
    Thank you so much for mentioning me in your blog! You are a great inspiration to me too!
    Those Japanese flowers are dangerously addictive and I’m up for another scarf!:)
    Love your colour choices for your JF scarf! The skull pot is so cool!
    Naughty Raymond smelling of other women perfume, that could make even a stone jealous! His tunnel house looks great, I think my cats might want one like this!
    xxx

    • Nancy says:

      Hi,
      I have been trying to find a pattern for flowers, can I get an invite to your blog? My email is sevensistersgifts@gmail.com. Thanks!
      Nancy

    • Amy says:

      First, Alice I just found your blog and I’m definitely a fan! :)

      Second… The elusive Elizabeth Cat! I am an avid crocheter, I’ve seen your name mentioned before but couldn’t find your work… Like Nancy, I would LOVE an invitation to your blog. I’m always looking for more crochet inspiration and new things to learn. You can find me at creatingamy @ gmail.com. Thanks!
      Amy

    • Bharathy says:

      Hi,
      I have only just started to learn to crochet,and already in love with it,The next project i want to work on is flowers, can I get an invite to your blog? My email address is bharathy.rajan@gmail,com.It is always an inspiration to see and learn from experts.

  30. Melissa says:

    Your lace is looking beautiful! My sister told me about the life line. I haven’t used it yet, but if I do anything more complicated that stockinette, I probably will. Have a lovely day!

  31. Hi Alice,
    Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog! The flower brooch is my own pattern indeed and I am planning to write it down and post it, but I can’t say when…I’m new at posting tutorials, so it might take a while. XXX

  32. Hahnsmum says:

    Yr crochet & knitting as always-lovely And that cat-He is SO cute..Yes they are all so godamned cute when they are asleep..My other half & self go all mushy & laugh between ourselves at our little housemates whilst the little monsters are asleep.. Awwhhhh.. Yes we are going more & more senile with age.. l havent been bwave enough as yet , to try making the Japenese flowers but will eventually..When my UFO`s are all finito.. Best Wishes as always..Stay safe..
    Pam Clarke..
    New England, NSW, OZ..

  33. I must admit, I was wondering how Raymond was too! I love the way you talk about him, and your love with a little frustration relationship going on! I love cats paws, and I love their sitting down bottoms, all spread out if you know what I mean! Raymond’s cat tunnel is hilarious! Blue, but with the snazzy fluff trim! Very cool tea cosy, I must say. I wonder what mulesing is. And the life-line, excellent idea for lace, so glad it was suggested to you. Love Vanessa xxx

  34. Clare says:

    Hi! I happened upon your blog from Lucy’s blog at Attic24, how wonderful it is!! I too am having a go at the Japanese Flowers, and have just signed up to your updates, too! Lovely to have found your blog!

  35. Sara says:

    Hello Alice. I saw your beautiful bunting featured at Attic24 today. Your work is so beautiful and inspiring. But you already know I love all of your projects. Thanks for sharing the link to the japanese flower tutorial. I haven’t tried them yet but I think I must! :)

  36. Denise says:

    I just love how you mix knit and crochet!

  37. Jan Quigley says:

    Ooooh my heart did a little happy dance when I saw the link to ‘the’ flowers. Can’t wait to make some.
    I’m planning to make your gorgeous Granny Tea Cosy for my mum for Mother’s Day. She’s 81 & has been a tea-aholic forever. :-) I managed to pick up a cute crockery teapot at a charity shop the other day which I will use as the model for the tea cosy. Mum lives north of Sydney & I’m in Melbourne so I can’t secretly measure her teapot. Of course I will then make one for me. Thank you for sharing your beautiful work. :-)

  38. liset says:

    I love the pink flowers. Raymond is so sweet.

  39. Michelle says:

    I haven’t been to visit for ages probably because I avoid wool crafts in the warmer weather. You are inspiring and motivating. Have you tried scanning the graph patterns into the computer and flipping the image. I’m not sure whether this would work but might be worth a try. Keep up the great work.

  40. Sandra Draper says:

    Everybody needs at least one life~line in this journey called life;

    Every nice word, every act of kindness, every pat on the shoulder, every hug, every smile, every vision of beauty,
    act as life~lines in our often traumatic world,
    if we were all like you, dearAlice, the world would be a far happier place,
    THANKS for being YOU:)

    Love & Hugs to all
    SandraXXXXXXXXXOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  41. Pingback: Mandala Monday: Crochet Flower « Girl Unwinding

  42. You have a Gorgeous blog with Beautiful photos & Inspiration!

    I think I am Hooked on these flowers before I even begin:) Thank you for the info!

  43. Beth Bastick says:

    Hi Alice. I came to your blog from Attic 24 which I discovered while travelling for 7 months in a caravan. The evenings can be long so I crochet wherever we go. I live in the beautiful Tasmania and am a semiretired nurse who loves a little bit of whimsy. Also love cats. I have a cat called Charlie that we found after he had been thrown out of a car as a kitten. He is now 4 years old and rules my sisters house. She is his adopted mother now as we cant take him caravaning with us so now I have visiting privledges.
    I have just finished the teapot cozy and a mandala. I love your blog and the step by step patterns. Thankyou for making them available to us..
    I have been to NZ twice and we were all devasted by what has happened to Christchurch. Also so glad that the NZ cricket team is doing so well in the World cup.
    Bye from Tassie
    Beth

  44. Dez says:

    I’d adore to have a shot at making those flowers but I can’t read charts either… I tried following the link to the tutorial but apparently you have to be invited to view so that counted me out. Any other place I can look at for a written pattern for them?

    Thanks for sharing the other glorious items you’ve made cheered my day up!

  45. I value you sharing this article post. Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

