Fight, Flight or Knit

Hellooo!!!

Greetings from FREEZING COLD WELLINGTON!!!!!!  Oh my goodness it is cold!  For the first time today, I had to go out wearing a hat and jacket, I haven’t done that since September and I have to say, I didn’t like it and I’ve changed my mind about looking forward to winter!  Noooo!!!  Give Summer back!  We were warned about a cold snap this weekend, and cold snap it is!  I’m a wee bit bummed because I have finished something I wanted to show you, but the rain means I can’t take it outside for pictures, so it will have to wait until next time!

We dropped KB’s Mum off at the station to catch the bus home after a week stay with us this-morning, then headed to the Newtown Fair, nice and early, in the rain!  It’s a huuuuuuuuuuge fair held yearly, and I said to KB on the way, “I really really wish there could be a stall there of someone selling their hand-dyed wool or something…”  KB laughed, but we found a stall with hand-spun wool!  Weeeeeeheeeeee!!!

Gorgeously perfect hand-spun wool in fact and it was hard to stop myself spending my life savings on that whole stall…. I came away with renewed determination to learn to spin, it’s time!  Mum has been trying to get me to take a spinning wheel off her hands for ages now, so I’m going to take her up on that offer and have a bash at it again.  Oh to be able to create works of art like that!  I have no idea what I’m going to do with the coloured one on the left, some people were asking me for ideas about what to do with a 50gm ball of something special (and too expensive to turn into 100gms!) and now that I have 50gms of something special (and too expensive to turn into 100gms!!!) I’m going to have to get my creative cap on!  The lush turquoise on the right, oh my, there was no way I was going to leave that behind!  I have plans for a big baggy hat, the pattern is creating itself in my mind, so I’ll try it out with a baby hat to see if it works, then if it does, I’ll try it with some cheaper wool in my size, and if THAT works, I’ll (nervously) try it with this!  If you want to check out the works of these two veeeeery talented ladies, click HERE and HERE

Speaking of works of art, I’ve been trying to knit lace.  It’s hard!  I found a pattern from Mum’s newest book “Sock Yarn One-Skein Wonders” (poor Mum had it for about a week before I took it off her) called “Easy” Lace Scarf.  EASY!  It took four tries with 4ply wool on 5mm needles before I threw a whacking great tantrum and admitted defeat, and decided to have a try with 8ply wool on 5mm needles, just to see what it’s like to knit lace….

Aaahhh, lovely 8ply Perendale, you are so much more manageable than that 4ply merino/angora/silk yarn which is now back in my wardrobe, hopefully feeling ashamed of itself for being so difficult to work with!

I ripped that piece of pink and began the ‘real’ scarf in beautiful, soft possum merino.  So far, so good!  I haven’t given up and I still like it!

I’ve had to updo a few rows… always precarious when faced with multiple yarn overs and ssk’s, every time I think “hey, I haven’t made a mistake in ages” (2 or 3 rows) I’ll end up with 45 or 41 stitches and have to go back a row… I’m learning that if I think I’ve made a mistake, I’ve made a mistake and best to unpick that row than finish it, finish the reverse row and have to go back anyway!  I took it to our favourite cafe this morning for a coffee… there was rap music playing quite loudly, cool rap, not gangsta rap, (although if you are a fan of gangsta rap I’m not dissing it) and I discovered that rap is not a good soundtrack for lace knitting, I ended up with 45 stitches after that…. (grrrrrr)

I love…. LOVE the way the bottom scalloped itself….

The pattern said to knit 6 rows of garter at the bottom before beginning the lace, but I just did 4 to make it extra scallopy and I love the result!  The freezing-ness this morning is making me want to get knitting, as well as the fact that I’m obsessively envisioning how perfectly it will match my long cream cardigan… OK… possum merino hand-knits are making the idea of winter more bearable again….

 I’m off, I need to get back to my scarf.

Wishing you a beautiful day,

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Fibre P0rn!, Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Fight, Flight or Knit

  1. Hi Alice, love how your lace scarf is turning out! It’s still a stange thing for me, we’re leaving winter more and more behind us every day and you’re heading towards it. But I’m sure this lovely scarf will pull you through it! The handspun wool is amazingly beautiful, my favorite is the aqua coloured one. That must be indeed a magic feeling, being able to create that kind of wool….. Have a nice knitting day, kind regards, Floortje

  2. Mary in FL says:

    I love that raspberry pink yarn! The knit lace is really pretty!

  3. penelope dubois says:

    Your lace scarf is beautiful. I’ve shied away from lace, because of the losing track factor, but it turns out so pretty. Some yarns are just made for lace!!

  4. Margaretha says:

    The Lace knitting is gorgeous dont give up it with will be worth it in the end. I am doing an Arsenic and Lace Afghan and the first block I frogged back about a half dozen times or so. I finally threaded a piece of yarn through every row repeat which meant I only had to rip out a few rows much more easier, love the yarn that you bought, nice colours.

  5. Scribe says:

    I just want to be you.

    That is all.

  6. Marg says:

    Hey Alice
    It’s looking lovely! Nicer than the pattern I’m using I think. We’ll have to have a scarf off in 2037 when I finally finish mine.
    Ciao for now, Marg :)

  7. Rita says:

    Hallo Alice
    I love your Blog, so many Inspirations!!! Your Yarn are so beautifull and the Lace sooo great!! The Book must be super!!
    I have linked your Blog on mine! So I see your beautifull things!
    Have a nice sunday and sorry my english, is not so good!;) Rita

  8. That is beautiful Alice! Who knows where this will lead!!! xx

  9. Tickety-boo says:

    Ooooooo so in love with the turquoise. Lush!! Can’t wait to see what genius idea you have come up with. Ahhhh the infamous possum yarn. It looks lovely as a lace pattern. Complicated patterns in knitting don’t have the same rythmn to them you get with crochet (imho). I have to keep one eye on my sititches and one on the pattern where as crochet the pattern seems to stick in my bonce a bit more for some reason.
    It’s looking fabeedooo even with 45 stitches :o)
    Love Tickety-boo
    xxxxxx

  10. MeredithJean says:

    You scored some lovely yarns this morning you lucky girl! And re knitting lace, have had exactly the same experiences… ended up knitting with thicker wool on larger needles and STILL made mistakes. It was a vintage pattern for lacey under-shorts. There’s no equivalent in today’s undergarmentry, but I loved the pattern and thought my daughter might wear them as ‘evening shorts’. Was it me, or was there a mistake in the pattern…I’ll never know. Keep at it with your warmalicious possum merino and your scarf will SING with your long cream cardigan – you’ll have to show us the completed ensemble. Raymond needs to be in shot also :)

  11. That handspun is lovely, I have just seen a delicious hat on Ravelry that is stripes so little bits would work well for that, next time I’m on I will send you the link :-)
    Thanks for your comment on my blog, so many wonderful comments and I am feeling much better (almost back to my bloggy self!) :-) Whats Raymond up to these days??

  12. Penelope says:

    Hello sweet Alice, I think you are most brave tackling lace, well done! Your scarf is very pretty indeed and I smiled when I recognised the tea towel :0)
    It’s funny as I have been attempting lace knitting too with 4 ply Alpaca and it’s a rather basic lace beanie but I can appreciate about loosing and gaining too many stitches… such concentration needed! I’m not sure if I will reveal on my blog as so far it’s certainly not looking as impressive as yours ! I LOVE the hand spun yarn, the turquoise is worth diving into…..
    We are having rather sunny days here in the north at the moment and I am cliniging onto anything spring related and the promise of summer eventually arriving. I can’t wait to not wear layers anymore ! Look forward to seeing your spinning creations xox Have a good week filled with heart skippy, rainbow rays xox Penelope xox

  13. Lisa Coull says:

    Very pretty scarf – it’s finally warming up a little here and we actually have some very welcome sunshine today!

  14. Melissa says:

    Your lace scarf will be beautiful! I spent yesterday morning at a coffee shop knitting and found out that I’m a lefty when I knit. How funny is that? And I taught myself as a lefty.

  15. Robin says:

    Love your new yarns! They are all so gorgeous. Do you really make so many samples before the real thing? That’s so great but I don’t have the patience for that or time. I realize that is the right thing to do though. Love the lace scarf, it is turning out beautifully. Happy knitting, xoRobin❤

  16. Samantha H says:

    Being from England it is strange to hear you say you are about to enter winter, just as here is looking springy! It was still very very cold today though, so I’m not putting away my scarves and gloves just yet! Hope your winter isn’t too harsh :)

    Samantha xx

  17. WS says:

    Well done you to attempt lace! The possum will be wonderfully warm. Tracee’s handspun is soooo lovely isn’t it!

  18. You remind me of myself Alice, when I was new to knitting, and couldn’t get enough of all the different challenges, but in the process of learning, got very infuriated! That first photo of the Noro yarn in your last post is fantastic, I Loooove Noro yarn, it’s delicious isn’t it! And the jacket with its hood is just adorable. I’ve never tried spinning my own yarn, I’ll be very impressed when you do that, and can’t wait to see the results. I wonder if Raymond will be fascinated watching you spin! Love Vanessa xxx

  19. Pati from London says:

    It looks very feminine and lovely! Nice color too! Sun is shinning here in London today, which makes a change….. xx Pati

  20. Nikki says:

    Have you tried using life lines in your lace knitting? Basically, you thread a piece of different coloured yarn through the stitches on the needle, so that if you make a mistake, you cap rip back to the lifeline, and just thread the stitches back on to the needle – a bit like this: http://www.hookedonneedles.com/uploaded_images/lifeline4-727396.JPG

  21. Nelia says:

    Parabéns pelo seu blog que é lindo e com um colorido fantástico!!!!
    Adorei!Fiz uma “Granny Mandala” e também levei inspiração daqui, deixando um link no meu blog para o seu tutorial. Agradecida por publicar a explicação
    Uma ótima semana

    bjs
    Nélia

  22. Louise says:

    Oh the scarf is beautiful! I wish I could master undoing one row of knitting. With me its either a case of continue with the mistake or undo the whole lot! I can’t even imagine undoing something with such an complex pattern, I’d lose count. I can’t even count plain garter stitches, let alone something with a pattern! My mind wanders to quickly or I count ahead of myself.
    How’s Raymond? We haven’t seen him for a while.

Leave a Reply

