New Day, New Yarn….

 

Hellooooo!!

It’s lovely to have you pop by today!  I was wondering if I’d have the Pixie Jacket in its completion to ‘voila’ today, but it’s taking a lot longer and a lot more Noro than expected, and a small hood malfunction slowed the process down considerably!  I’m nearly there, but it is going to be a sleeveless jacket because otherwise it will need 7-8 balls of Noro…. Noro Kureyon is $16.95/50gm ball here, how much does it cost where you live?  I’m quite fascinated by the difference in prices of wool in different countries, so might one day do a post on how much it costs here and then translate it into UK and Aussie prices.  Not for any reason really, just because it will be interesting….!

Another thing that slowed me down on the knitting front was the beginning of my third year at polytech… yes… mixed feelings about that one from pretty much everyone in my class, it’s lovely to see each other and be together again, but we’re all in agreeance that we are veeeeeeeery sick of assessments, of which there are many in third year, and a lot harder!  I’ve only got four days of class for the next 6 weeks (yay, summer school has given me a break!) as well as my practical work which never ends (!) so I’m easing into it nicely, and this year working hard on managing my time effectively.  Goal for the year.  Make life easier than it was last year.

I think that’s achievable!

So being that I only JUST finished summer school, and only officially began my summer holiday on Thursday at lunchtime, then worked on Friday and Saturday, Sunday was the day that I officially had no commitments or anything to do/read/write and it was lovely!  KB was at work, so I rang my Mum and asked her if she wanted to go and check out our new LYS which opened last week in Petone called the Holland Road Yarn Company.  Because lets face it, the only thing to do on your single day of true summer holiday is go yarn shopping.

The Holland Road Yarn Company is a boutique yarn/wool shop owned by a lovely, lovely lady named Tash, aka Knitsch who among many other things creates beautifully dyed sock wool… be careful clicking on that link there, their online shop is lovely and you may end up poorer!!  The shop is full of gorgeous things and beautiful bright colours which of course I have problems not buying because I looooooooooooooove bright colours…. so ended up buying…..

Some Knitch 4ply merino sock wool, which I’m not going to knit socks with of course, I’m going to knit something else from it when I decide what that is!

Also, as she stocks yarn from other New Zealand dyers, I couldn’t leave behind this beautiful 100gm superwash 4ply in colourway “Jack in the Beanstalk” (how cute is that!?)

This is dyed by Red Riding Hood Yarns, which you can read about and visit here at her blog!  Once again it’s 4ply sock wool, so I’m going to have a read of Mum’s new book, something or other “one skein sock wool wonder” I’ve had a brief look at it, but it is suddenly quite relevent!

And you can’t have missed the spiral of unspun loveliness at the beginning of this post….

She has swirls and swirls of this in the most incredible colours and I couldn’t resist getting this one calles Carnival….. Remember the only problem is that I don’t YET spin (please don’t tell me to learn to spin, it’s on the agenda, I promise!!!!!) and I can tell that my Mum is getting a liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiittle bit pissed off with me buying unspun wool for her to spin for me.  (What?  You mean you have your OWN projects to work on Mum?!)  I picked that up when she said “Well, as long as you’re not in a hurry for it” and “well that’s going to take twice as long as the 50gm balls for me to spin” Oh Mum.  The thing is, your spinning is so amazing I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE putting it on my blog!!!  I can’t help and am addicted to your lovely wool!  *****THANK YOU MUM!!!!********  He he he he he he. 

So there we have it, a successful trip for both Tash and myself, and yay for yet another LYS!  Would you like me to take you to visit my other LYS’s and introduce you to them with photos?  Let me know!

So it has been one week today since the Christchurch earthquake and for the first time since it happened, I haven’t googled it before I check my e-mails.  I heard a happy story last night of someone’s father being found alive after 6 days missing, and was once again blown away by how much this has affected us and continues to.  I was asked if there was anywhere to send granny squares and am currently negotiating with a lovely Wellington crafter who is keen to do something along those lines, so once I have set it all up with her I will be putting out the word!  I’m bundling up all of my knitted items to send down with the Red Cross (hats, mitts, arm warmers that I made and haven’t even worn) because it is freezing in Christchurch in winter and so many people have lost so much, and of course there is the financial side of giving too… I know that there is a worldwide appeal out there to donate to the Red Cross, and what an amazing job they are doing, they are just incredible.  You can click here to donate to them.  KB and I have donated to the Red Cross but are also hunting down a way to donate to other amazing organisations such as the Women’s Refuge which will be stretched to bursting point right now, with Domestic Violence increasing since the quake by ridiculous, sickening amounts.  The Refuge’s in New Zealand are always on a ridiculously tight budget despite the amazing, life-changing, selfless work they do in society, so I can imagine they could do with a cash injection to help them through this time… I’m hunting down how to donate to that specific refuge, even though they would all benefit from donations of course, so if anyone would like to know where to go to do that, please let me know.

Alright then… I’m off to finish the Pixie Hood and then graft those shoulders and I’m done!  I’m going to the Tawa Spin-In tomorrow, which is set to be a fun day and I’ll take my camera to show you what goes on at one of these events!

Wishing you a beautiful day!

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Fibre P0rn!, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to New Day, New Yarn….

  1. Whauw I love your new yarn! the colors, the softness, Realy wonderful!

  2. Linda says:

    Gorgeous colors…. :)
    Noro Kureyon is not available in Latvia, but other Noros (Kasumi, Flower Bed) are about 10 USD/50 gr.

  3. kate says:

    Great to have a quiet moment to catch up on your lovely blog-I am studying permaculture one day a week this year and after not doing any formal studies for a few years its taking me awhile to work out a good schedule…good luck with your studies this year! My heart also goes out to you-it really has been a dramatic beginning to the year for New Zealanders/Australians. The forces of nature are really powerful, we forgot, we remember now. Anyway, glad you enjoyed some downtime yarn shopping with your mum, enjoy working with those lush new fibres, xo

  4. Penelope says:

    How delicious your new yarns are Alice, and it’s always exciting to go to a new yarn store and discover the treasures in their chest! I go into an internal frenzy when I am in a new store and have to breathe slowly but surely till I can focus and begin the selection of what I NEED to buy x Amazing how the justification for yarn purchase superceeds anything else (hee hee). I would dearly love to contribute to the granny square projectso look forward to hearing from you about what / where / when to send / make etc.
    It’s interesting that domestic violence escalates with a quake something I never really thought of to be honest but can see where the ripple effect comes from something like a quake. It is always a good cause, a Women’s Refuge that is and I thank God for the amazing, unconditional and selfless love that the people who work in them give to this very challenging job. It would be good to have the details of how to donate to the Christchurch refuge please x Thank you for your fabulous and always insightful posts xox xox xox

  5. Tracy Marie says:

    What a lovely LYS – it’s so fun to see what other cities and countries have – would love to see more of them! And you did manage to bring home some lovely yarns, too.

    I am still so saddened by the tragedy in Christchurch and would love to send some granny squares or whatever you might need – please let us know what is needed. And what a tragedy to have domestic violence on the rise after such a horrible natural disaster – it’s always sad to hear about domestic violence under any circumstances.

    As for the Noro Kureyon Yarn, yarnmarket.com has 50g for $8.95 (US prices) – see link here: http://www.yarnmarket.com/yarn/Noro_Yarn-Kureyon_Yarn-568.html

    Big Hugs!

  6. moleymakes says:

    Ooooh I’m just drooling over those lovely colours.

    Still saddened about the quake in Christchurch. Such a tragedy and whole parts need to be bulldozed ……. :(

    Noro Kureyon is about £6.95 for 50g here in the UK. Not the cheapest of yarns.

  7. Amy says:

    If you want to donate specifically to the Christchurch Women’s Refuge, http://www.womensrefuge.org.nz/ says:
    “To give cash/donations please go to donation page and click on our donations page. In the comments section write ‘this is for the quake’ or ‘Christchurch quake’ and your money will be diverted to this cause. ”
    Thanks so much for highlighting this worthy cause.
    I am a crocheter currently in Christchurch, so if you would like anyone here to liaise with regarding granny squares then please send me an email.

  8. MeredithJean says:

    omg I just googled to see the cost of Noro Kureyon in Australia and spent about 25 minutes looking at yarns on ebay and various other eshops. SNAP me out of it! And now my daughter has ‘asked’ for a navy cardigan with the fronts entirely covered in many pinks, orange, peach and coral flowers…. haahahaa the mothers’ lot – we love it btw xxx doing things for our girls xxx

  9. MeredithJean says:

    Oh and do you think because the only wool available on the Red Riding Hood site is called ‘Van’ and my friend’s new grandson is called Van, means I need to acquire it???

  10. Bianca says:

    loving your choices in colour ways ;) I myself have been discovering the underbelly of Brisbane’s knitting scene of late. I’ve found two really good knitting/fiber art shops reasonably close by which is great!!… I’ve also discovered Addi knitting needles and have a new found appreciation for knitting. I call them my terminator needles…cause they’re metal and shiny like terminator fingers (when he sticks his knife hands through the milk carton and pins the guys head? -yeah, like that) plus they’re super fast and slippery so its astalavista if you drop a stitch….bygones. I am also knitting with Noro Kureyon at the moment, and (sssssshhhhhhh) call me a dissident, but I don’t know that I am a fan…. I did mention something along those lines to the lady at the knitting store and nearly got frowned out the door….. don’t get me wrong, the colour transitions are deVINE….but its horribly scratchy and rough and not really that pleasant on the hands…..but I have 4 balls in different lots that have been calling to me, so as I knit, I am imbuing each stitch with a secret wish that it softens up after the first wash…. and well….if not, it looks so good the kid can darn well itch and too bad so sad!

    Show us your balls? (Your Noro balls that is) …I’ll show you mine ;)

    xB

  11. penelope dubois says:

    Suc!h beautiful colours!! Dyeing to know what you plan on knitting with the sock yarn.

  12. Melissa says:

    The new wool is lovely. I’m feeling adventurous, so I think you need to have a sit down with your Mum and learn how to spin. It’s a good time to learn new things

  13. Nikkole says:

    Oh my goodness! I feel like I am in a sea of yarn beauty! Each yarn that you have shown has it’s own distinct love and feel to it! The jack in the beanstalk yarn immediately made me think of the earthen colors to add to it like bamboo, warm creams, and cherry wood. I love the other yarns too with all the bright loveliness! I can not wait to see the unspun wool turn into a work of art by your lovely mum! :D
    Have a good week!
    P.S. I enjoyed the mosaic for February! :D

  14. Ali says:

    Haha! I wonder if we were at Holland Road Yarns at the same time? I was there on Sunday as well – and had a very hard time only choosing 3 skeins! I love your choices, especially when it’s so hard to choose as I could have quite happily walked out of there with most of the shop, lol!

  15. Teje says:

    Hello Alice, what a beautiful yarn and wool! I love the colours!
    Perhaps it’s better we don’t have here much yarn shops – I couldn’t resist those beauties either!
    Sunny wishes! Teje

  16. Hahnsmum says:

    OMG that Yarn..Yummy yummy..The colours- to die for..
    Best Wishes, Pam Clarke..
    New England,
    NSW, Oz..

  17. Emma says:

    Just heard on the news about an earthquake in Wellington. I hope that you, KB and Raymond are all ok and your families too.
    Much love, Emma x

  18. Fabulous. I think the colors and new yarn are truly splendid. I so adore when I awake and remember to stop by for a peek into your world.

  19. What can I say except WoWWWWWWWWWWWWW

  20. Penny says:

    Just spotted your link re the quake in Wellington. So scary for you after what happened in Christchurch.
    Those colours are just GORGEOUS, your mum will LOVE spinning them!
    thinking about you, Love Penny and Higgins xxx

  21. Anne says:

    I heard on ABC radio last night there was a Earth Quake in Wellington.
    I hope you , Raymond and KB are OK….
    I haven’t been on the computer much for the last couple of weeks, been catching up on your blog. Wow you have been a busy bee. I wish I could get that much knitting done.
    It all looks beautiful. I love the photo of Raymond getting his tummy tickled.

  22. Cathy says:

    Just come on to check you are ok- you were my first thought when I heard about the Wellington quake. love you you, KB and Raymondxxx

  23. Sandi says:

    I hope your little home survived the ‘quake’ that you had today, most of all I hope you and yours are ok. xx Sandi

  24. HeatherB says:

    I didn’t know about Holland Road. I’ll have to pay a visit – can never have too many wool shops in the area! And thank-you for your blog, it’s nice to see the work of a local crocheter.

    I’m also willing to donate (crocheted) granny squares to Chch, so yes please, let us know the details when you have them.

  25. planetcoops says:

    That is a beautiful yarn, and a great pattern. Might be too expensive for me to make for a three year old, though!

  26. Hi Alice! What fantastic photos of that Carnival braid – I’m so glad it’s gone to a good home :) Be sure to show off the spun yarn and whatever the yarn eventually becomes on your blog (and in the Wabi Sabi Fibres Ravelry group if you can), I’ve never held on to a braid in that colourway for myself so I’ve never seen it spun up – what a terrible fibre papa I am! haha. Matt

  27. Hesian says:

    I would love to make a queen annes lace scarf out of that jack and the beanstalk colorway.

  28. Dez says:

    Gah just typed a reply and it hasn’t shown up. please let me know if you did get one talking about scarves before I re-type it…don’t want to drive you crazy with yet another double post. Curses to you internet gremlins.

Leave a Reply

