Getting there…..

Hello Everyone….

Here I am, back a few days later than I said I would be!  Thank you so much for your loving and kind messages that I have been flooded with here, on Ravelry and in my e-mail, I feel so blessed to have so many wonderful and caring people in my life, you really are so sweet.  It has been one enormously sad week here in New Zealand, well, actually, only five days, and I haven’t really felt like bouncing back onto my blog, full of excitement and rainbow happiness, rescue and recovery is still in process in Christchurch, and the whole country is feeling it…

I wanted to share some of the comments I got on my last post, I reeeeeeeally hope the commenters don’t mind!  But I wanted to share with you some of the love that was sent my way… The comments I’m cutting and pasting, by the way, are not more special in any way than other comments of course, and some of them echo lots of other comments, so please know, all of you, how much I appreciated each and every one of them.

Lovely Sarah (and many others too) wrote:  “Whew……..I am so glad that you posted because I was very worried about you and your family, including the furred one”   WOW, I was bowled over by how many people thought of me and were glad to hear that we were OK….  ********THANK YOU********

Alyson’s comment made me smile, because how could it not….  “Yes, the news is most definitely tragic, and my heart goes out to everyone in Christchurch. I am thankful you and your loved ones (including sweet Raymond!) are safe. My husband was watching the news with me this morning before work, and he said, “I hope Raymond’s okay”. I told him you were in Wellington, and were most likely unharmed. Take care!”  Awwwww…. Everybody loves Raymond!  I can guarantee people, he is indestructible!

And Penelope’s comment made me think…. “It’s just unbelievable that you are always living and adjusting to the threat of such huge natural disasters.”  And do you know what? I don’t think about it hugely, because that’s what I’ve been raised with, but often I have thought over my life, what it would be like to live in a country without volcanic activity and know that it would never shake, I think it would be nice!!!!! 

The damage is unbelievable, I’ve been obsessively googling “Christchurch Earthquake latest updates” and found some before and after pictures here….  the last I read, the death toll had risen to 145 and there are still so many people missing and bodies being recovered, it’s so desperately sad.

So like I said, I’m not quite ready to blog about much right now because all of this is on my mind, and I don’t want to put it out of my mind and act like life is full of sunshine until the emergency side of things has passed, maybe.  However, I will tell you about my knitting.  That I almost finished knitting my first ever garment… Oh yes, a weeks worth of solid knitting….. I got to the shoulders and messed it up so horrendously by executing a dodgy three-needle bind-off then weaving in the ends (far too many of them, don’t ask) then trying to unpick it and I just couldn’t!  I got veeeeeeeeeeery upset and do you know what I did?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I cut it apart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes.

 

 

I did.

 

 

 

 

My Mum was horrified, she was on the phone to me saying “no, don’t cut it!  Bring it over and I’ll help you” as the scissors sliced through 30-something stitches and made me feel a lot better.  (insert evil snigger here)

So I’m quite “off” knitting right now, and have been hooking some lovely things which brighten my day considerably which I’ll share soon.  However, despite saying I’m off knitting, I am knitting. 

With this….

Your eyes do not deceive you.  That is indeed Noro Kureyon, colour 254, dye lot E to be precise….  Five lovely balls of it.  This stash doesn’t belong to me, it belongs to my dear friend Sandra who you met in this post  who is expecting her first two grand-babies  *yaaaaaaaaay* She bought this wool to knit a hooded Pixie Jacket which we were both going to knit together but I got side-tracked with tea cozies and granny square cushions and a me-sized jumper (grrrr).  However, Sandra became disillusioned with the Pixie jacket when she discovered that sometimes Noro is not what it seems and it got a bit ‘breaky’ on her, and I noticed that the five balls of Noro and 10% completed Pixie jacket were staying in her knitting bag and not being knitted.  I noticed as well that she had started on another project which meant one thing…. that the Noro Pixie Jacket was being “forgotten” and I could not let that happen.

At work one day I casually said to her: “Sooooo… you know the Pixie Jacket…. well…. I don’t mind knitting it for you if you’re not enjoying that Noro….(!)”  (Imagine me saying that like I’m doing her a favour, not desperately wanting to knit the jacket on her behalf….!!!)

“YYYOOOOOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUUUUU ARE AMMMMMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAZZZZZZZZZZINGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!””””  She cries!  “I would sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo appreciate that!!!!!  What a WONDERFUL friend you are!!!”

My dear friend, I love how she appreciates me knitting it for her and I love that she is letting me knit her gorgeously delicious amazing wool, how lucky am I???!!!!  ***Thank you Sandra!!!!*****

It’s not often we get the opportunity to knit a garment with Noro, so I’m savouring the experience!  And do you know what…. I have knit Noro in stocking stitch before, but never in garter and I think that I will only ever knit Noro Kureyon in garter from now on, it suits it perfectly and enhances all that chunky goodness… I’m envisioning knitting myself this hat out of it, after seeing it on Yarn Harlot’s blog, because it would be delish in Noro goodness.

So I’m only at the very beginning, and in no hurry, because the baby is only five months along, and who wants to rush a lovely knitting experience!

Well, there we have it, I was just going to pop in and say hello, but I feel like I’ve had a catch up with friends now, I’d love to her what you’ve been up to, and what are you hooking/knitting at the moment?

I’m off, back to the Noro and a nice pile of red wool in lots of different shades that I have big plans for….

Wishing you a beautiful day,

Love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting Baby Clothes!, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Getting there…..

  1. MeredithJean says:

    Oh Alice the before and after pics tell the story too well.
    I thought your post was finishing and then… you went …. PSYCHO and cut up your knitting hhahhahahahhahahaaaaaaa yes yes damn damn – a cathartic destruction on a different scale, minus before and after.
    The Noros is gartering beautifully – I love it xxx

  2. Amy says:

    Your knitting is so pretty :) I am from Christchurch and right now and it is absolutely horrible… I am so lucky that my flat is ok (apart from a leaking hot water cylinder) and we now have power, water and all of my friends and family are safe and sound. We have all lost a lot but there are so many people much worse off. I live very near the city centre as do many people I know.. it’s just sheer luck that none of them were hurt. I can’t believe how fortunate we are but I have shed a lot of tears for those that haven’t been, and for the city I have grown up in.
    xo

    • Gnomeshoes says:

      To Amy in Christchurch-
      We are all thinking of you down there (I’m in Welly)- hang in there! Glad to hear your family and friends are safe and you have power and water.

      For folks wondering what you can do- the best way to help is to donate to the Red Cross or Salvation Army- logistics are really difficult getting things down there so this is the fastest and best way to help out.

      http://www.redcross.org.nz/donate

      Alice- I completely understand how you feel. All the same, it is so nice to come to come to your blog just to check out something (anything) with beautiful rainbow colours!!

  3. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice, yes, not really into the whole happy blog thing myself either. However, like you, I haven’t stopped yarning either. Hooking my scarves to donate and granny squares for charity – it seems it’s the least I can do. Here’s a question for you, I know many places that are taking money donations for Christchurch, however, do you know of a hooky group that perhaps are making blankets? I would love to know as I would like to make some squares to post out? Take care. xx

  4. Penny says:

    This may seem a bit weird. Or maybe it’s the same for everyone, but I’ll share it anyway. I feels things get knitted (crocheted, felted whatever) into the work. I’ll pick up something I was working on while watching TV, listening to the radio or having a conversation and I’ll get a flashback to whatever it was. So I can’t do a project when something awful is happening because all the sadness is embedded into the work. I’m sure that’s why it was essential you took those scissors to your knitting, you could never have worn it without being enveloped by the sadness of this time. Those ‘before and after’ photos and the casualty figures are heart breaking.
    So knit that gorgeous Noro wool with some uplifting music in your ears and it’ll be good for your soul! I do agree, garter stitch shows it off so much better.
    Love to you and Raymond,
    Penny xxx

  5. Good to see your post Alice. I think everyone has been horrified by the tragic happenings on your side of the world…the mine tragedy, the Australian floods, and now this in Christchurch. We Brits are famed for complaining about the weather here but I really appreciate that it is very rarely extreme. It is just so very sad. Good that you have your beautiful yarn to bring some joy at such a sad time xx

  6. Teje says:

    Hello Alice! When something so tragical happens around us, it’s difficult to be creative and concentrate to something else. Your Noro knitting looks really wonderful and garter stitch is perfect for it. I hope you can still save your knitting who met the scissors. xxx Teje

  7. Alice I know exactly what you mean! So sad.

    I did a post on Wed but no-one else got what I meant although I think you probably did. I just couldn’t write anything, it seemed so wrong when there was such a tragedy unfolding. I am still very flat and can’t seem to get my bloggy mojo back just yet. I can’t look at any before and after just yet and still have only seen a little on the news but I will check your link out as I want to be able to show my boys what happened.

    I bought a Debbie Bliss baby book but it didn’t have the garter stitch cardi in it (had lots of other nice things tho) but I had ordered it from the library and it also arrived this week so looks like a bit of photocopying will going on :-) Love that Noro and I have to admit I have never knit any of it, garter stitch looks great doesn’t it!!

    Take care and lots of love Jen xx

  8. I just read Penny’s comment and that makes a lot of sense doesn’t it….maybe I should go find some scissors!

  9. Claire says:

    Oooh that Noro is beautiful in garter stitch! Can’t wait to see how it turns out. I had lots of knitting planned for this week as I’m recovering from an op. All I have managed to do is sit next to my knitting and surf the internet so it’s a bit of a fail!

  10. Penelope says:

    Hey Alice, nice to see you back again. It’s so difficult to completely comprehend the after effect of such a disastrous tragedy. We as humans are brought back down to basics when such horror occurs and it makes us remember what life is all about. I can completely understand where you are at with blogging at the moment and am on your side for sure xox I too agree with Penny about the scissors and how our creations take on our emotions. I think your friend Sandra and her sitting Noro project is just the boost you need right now, such healing colours and hand therapy for new little life. Enjoy each beautiful love filled stitch xox Keep safe with Mr. Raymond and KB, treasure and embrace all the little things xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxPenelope x

  11. eve Beckman says:

    I’d always thought I was the only one ever to reach for the scissors on a knitted garment! But I wasn’t brave enough to tell my mother—-I just buried the whole mess in the back of the wardrobe.

    The baby jacket looks lovely.

  12. Sandi says:

    I knew you and your family were safe physically, which is something to be grateful for. There is much sadness in the world , and a lot of anger building too, lets hope that we can all pull together to support one another to work towards a much more balanced world. I am waiting to hear from one of my blog friends, she is originally from NZ but lives in the UK now, flew out the day before the quake to visit family and friends in NZ, hope she is ok along with the ones she loves.
    Loving your Noro, I still haven’t knitted up the ball that I have. I ordered some (and received) some Raspberry

  13. Sandi says:

    …oops!! Utiku Baby 4 ply Merino, it is beautiful and soft and the color is amazing. I frogged a nearly finished baby cardigan, when I joined in the sleeves I missed a stitch which I didn’t see for quite a few rows, so in frustration I just pulled it all apart :(
    Take care x Sandi

  14. Gail says:

    Glad to hear that you are ok. Your knitting is looking nice, nice colors.

  15. penelope dubois says:

    I have scissors in my knitting bag, and they are there for a reason!
    When your Mom shows you the 3 needle bind off, you’ll see how easy it is in person.
    At first it’s like you have all thumbs!
    The pictures of the disaster are just beyond words, so sad.
    The Noro yarn, beautiful! I have some in a bag, maybe time to pull that colour out!
    I am starting a baby jacket in Dream in Colour, from the Deb Bliss book.
    The best to you, Raymond and KB.

  16. Susan H. says:

    Hello Alice, glad to see you are back. The photos and video of the disaster are so sad. I am glad to hear you are OK.
    Your noro is looking great, I am glad you are able to find some peace during such a difficult time in NZ.
    XOXO Susan

  17. Meredith says:

    So glad you are okay Alice. We got an email from family in Christchursch and they are all okay. It is so sad. NZ has been through so much lately. Love the Noro and the scissor story. When I am mad at my knitting I throw it on top of my closet where it has a good time out. Sometimes for years…..
    Better days are coming for your country.
    Have a beautiful day,
    Meredith

  18. Hahnsmum says:

    Hi Alice, l have family in CH-CH. (thankfully ALL well & safe…)) So sad every time one turns telly on theres more people found deceased..Just so sorry.. l am going to ”put it to” my knitting-crochet group next wk to send rugs over the Ditch to CH-Ch..
    KNOW exactly how you felt re the DREADED SCISSORS… l have CUT my strippy rug in half TWICE since l started it last November..Edges WONT stay straight.. Have a feeling l have told you this..l didnt waste the half cut off..- Made a knitting bag firstly & then last wk made a really cute cushion.. Am onto the strippy rug once again- this time Granny is counting…l have knitted that Noro wool into Sox on 4 needles..NEVER seen it knitted in garter…That looks SO good..
    Take Care-Stay Safe.. .. Best Wishes, Pam Clarke.
    New England, NSW, OZ..

  19. Tickety-boo says:

    OMG you cut it………………I am scared of starting a me sized item. I don’t mind hats gloves socks etc but the time invoved in a sweater or cardigan is meaga frightening. Love the colours in the Noro but I haven’t tried it myself yet. I think I will have to try it once my new socks are done

  20. Faye says:

    Hi, Alice. I am in Austin, Texas, and just stumbled on to your delightful blog and work at the beginning of February through Ravelry. Although I am foremost a knitter and have limited crochet experience, thanks to your wonderful instructions I have been working on a granny mandala baby blanket. I’m taking the rainbows that you have thrown joyfully out into cyberspace and making a huge sunshine to go to a baby that will be born in Hawaii next month. From New Zealand, to Texas, to Hawaii. Isn’t that neat? This baby comes after a very tragic loss for the family last year, so a joyful blanket is much in order.

    When I heard about the Christchurch disaster, of course you and Raymond came immediately to mind, but I was fairly certain, having read your post from last year, that you were north of that area and were safe. I was so relieved when I went to the computer to double check. You are adorable and bringing happiness to so many people! I hope you can keep your chin up as much as possible in the weeks to come. Hugs!
    faye
    redrockerknits on ravelry

  21. Louise says:

    Lovely to see your post, I have been thinking about you and of course the people of Christchurch over the last week and saying little prayers for those who have been affected by the tragedy.
    Take care,
    Louise

  22. Loani Prior says:

    Hey Alice
    Ta for comment at GPB.
    And yes, people are just lovely, wanting so desperately that the people they know are well and happy in a crisis. We had messages and inquiries from all over during the Queensland floods. People need people and people care about people. I have been so heartened watching at the way people jump straight in to help others, often putting themselves at risk. The best of humanity has a chance to shine in the worst of times. And it does.
    Loani

  23. Melissa says:

    Hey stranger! So glad you and yours are safe and sound. Thought about you often and Car Guy even asked if you were safe when he heard about the earthquake. I apologize for not visiting sooner. Been a little busy, but guess what?!? I’m knitting!!!! I’ll show you soon. Take care! Oh! By the way, love the Noro.

  24. Cathy says:

    It seems to me that rescuing a project from the realms of the unfinished, to create something for a new born( to be) seems the very best way of using your energy at a disasterous and destructively sad time.
    x
    C

  25. I’ve found it quite painful looking at the Christchurch photos, I can’t bear the thought that there might be people alive and trapped, ordinary people who were just going about their lives, and then the earthquake happened, it seems very unfair.

    You are a lovely friend! Knitting another’s garment! I do agree with you about the Noro looking fab in garter stitch, doesn’t it! That’s a bit of a revelation to me! And don’t give up on the knitted jumper, knitting can be a demon sent to test our will power, and you just have to get the better of it. It can be a small battle, but one you have to win!!!!!!!!!! Love Vanessa xxx

  26. Robin says:

    Hi Alice, so sorry to hear about your sweater cut-up! I can’t imagine doing that, but I can imagine how frustrated you must have been. I finished my baby cocoons and working on the caps now. Will post later this week. Hope the babies don’t come first because I have to mail them off too. I love your noro yarn. I have some too, but am scared to start a project with them, cos it is so beautiful. I love the garter st. also. Really shows the variegation well. You are all still in my prayers and thinking about all of New Zealand. Blessings to you, xoRobin❤

  27. Pati from London says:

    Hello Alice, I thought that your comment on how you are used to living with the idea of the possibility of an earthquake was very interesing. It made me think…. how fortunate we are those of us who live in places where that eventuality doesn’t really exist… I had never thought about it, how can we take so many things for granted? I suppose that one gets used to their own environment…. I do fear going on the London underground or being at a London airport and fear the possibility of a terrorist attack, though… All places have their pros and cons, I guess…. I hope things go back to normal in Christchurch soon. On a lighter note, what a wonderful yarn, that Noro Kureyon is! x Pati

  28. Maria says:

    I just completed a small project in Noro Garden Silk and I am very, very disappointed in the quality of the yarn – Never again for me. My one and only try with Noro. Colours are gorgeous though – pity

  29. lancek1 says:

    Hi Alice

    As nice as the Noro is… the pricing around here( south africa) is LUDICROUS… Kureyon 286 is some mad price like R659/ball……. Looks fabulous though.

Leave a Reply

