Overwhelmed

Helloooooo!

Thank you, your kind messages I found here on my blog and on Ravelry brought a tear to my eye this morning when I logged on….

Yes, the Christchurch earthquake was devastating and my heart stopped for a moment when I heard yesterday, about an hour after it happened… I feel so sad for the people of Christchurch who have been living in such instability for so long, and now to be facing such a disaster clean up and rebuilding of life.  In Wellington we have been programmed from birth, knowing that one day “the big one” will hit and we will all die and Wellington, of which much is reclaimed land, will sink back into the ocean, (lovely!) as we live in fault line central, and it has been such a surprise that flat-as-a-pancake Christchurch has been so dramatically affected.

Christchurch is a long way from Wellington, so of course we, and Mum and her sheep are fine… We were supposed to have felt the earthquake here, and when I thought back to what I was doing, I remember feeling work rocking, but as I am used to living in a shaking house on the side of a hill, I thought nothing of it.  It wasn’t until I got home and processed it, and realised that there was no wind and my work is a huge two-storied old house that doesn’t rock in the wind, that I realised that I might well have felt the aftershock, but I’m not sure.  And it doesn’t matter anyway, what matters is sending love to the people of Christchurch and their families. 

I had another post planned, but I don’t really feel right, continuing with pretty things after this, so I’ll pop back in tomorrow!

Thank you again, you are all so sweet

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Overwhelmed

  1. I’ve been thinking of you all day Alice, and Raymond and KB and your mum and her sheep, and all the folks suffering, so I’m very, very glad to hear you’re o.k. I was hoping you’d post about how you are, and was slightly dreading looking at your blog incase you hadn’t posted, and that might mean something was wrong, so I’m hugely relieved you’ve done a post, thank you. Love Vanessa xxx

  2. Teacup Lane says:

    I thought of you and hoped that you were ok. We had a very minor earthquake here in SE PA last year and I felt it. We don’t expect to have earthquakes here on the east coast of USA. We also felt a little one while we were in Alaska this summer. It was a weird feeling even with the little quakes I can’t imagine what it must be like being in a big one. So glad you and your family are fine.

  3. Teje says:

    Dear Alice, I’m so happy to hear that you and your family are well! But so sorry for those who has suffert! As Vanessa said I came by also earlier … do you have your e-mail somewhere? It is so terrible to happen something like that! And all the sorrow and work after. I send strenght, energy and love to all of you to manage with this difficult time! Teje

  4. frou-frou says:

    Hi Alice

    So glad you’re ok. My thoughts are with those affected
    Fiona x

  5. Penny says:

    Alice, I’ve been thinking about what has happened in Christchurch all day today. The first thing I did this morning was to check the map to find out how close you are (my geography’s not great) I’ve just been listening to the radio all day, this evening we had your morning broadcast live here as they interviewed people. Nature is an unstoppable force. We tend to think, it’s the 21st century, we are are in control but when something like this happens it brings it home that we are not.
    Glad you are ok, Alice, love to you both,
    Penny xxx

  6. Nancy Grams says:

    I love love love your posts!! You are a breath of fresh air! I also love yoga, crochet, knitting, and my dogs :) If you lived near Cleveland, OH, USA we would so be best buddies! What do you think of this crochet cardigan from the Territory Ahead? Maybe you could sell your wares to them? I am astonished at what they charge for something like this? What do you think? Crochet cardigan:

    http://www.territoryahead.com/jump.jsp?itemID=9678&itemType=PRODUCT&path

  7. Samantha H says:

    Oh good! I was so relieved to see that I had a message in my inbox to say you had updated your blog. I didn’t know exactly where you were from so didn’t know if you were close! My thoughts are with the people who were affected, I hope all your family and friends are safe.

    Samantha xx

  8. Megan says:

    Glad to hear that you and yours are okay. Here we hold our breath and pray during Hurricane season.

  9. miek says:

    i wish you all the best, it must affected you to.
    glad to hear that your family is safe
    my thoughts are with all the new zealanders and the hurt ones in particular

  10. hayley says:

    Terrible news. I’m glad you and your family are ok. My thoughts go out to everyone affected.
    xxx

  11. Sarah says:

    Whew……..I am so glad that you posted because I was very worried about you and your family, including the furred one. May God be with all those other people and thank God for sparing you and yours. We don’t have quakes here in Texas.

    Sarah in San Antonio, Texas

  12. debby says:

    Sending you love and a big hug from England-stay safe. I can’t begin to imagine just how horrific it must be to be caught up in something like this terrible earthquake,the news pictures give me goosebumps at the horror of it all and all those poor people-it makes me feel so helpless so all I can do is send as much love as possible to all the people of New Zealand.Take care.Debby.Xx

  13. Fiona says:

    It’s truly horrible to watch the news at the moment. I have friends in the Christchurch area and have only just heard that they’re safe.

  14. Linda says:

    Sending my best thoughts! <3

  15. Loretta says:

    Devastating news from Christchurch, one of the most beautiful cities I have ever been to. My thoughts are will all those affected xxx

  16. lyn says:

    The whole of the earth is in such a bad way with floods and fires and earthquakes, I feel very sorry for those people who have lost loved one’s and homes.
    I am glad you and your family are safe though.
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  17. Tracy Marie says:

    Sending hugs and prayers your way and to the folks in Christchurch – my heart is hurting for all of them. I pray the worst is over and now the healing can begin …

  18. Tickety-boo says:

    Thank goodness you are all ok. I left you a message on Ravelry to see if you and yours were fine. Our thoughts and prayers are with those who are far from okay.
    Such a beautiful country you live in.
    Love Tickety-boo. xxxx

  19. natalie says:

    Sending big hugs and love to all kiwis…from your Aussie mates…xx

  20. Alyson says:

    Yes, the news is most definately tragic, and my heart goes out to everyone in Christchurch. I am thankful you and your loved ones (including sweet Raymond!) are safe. My husband was watching the news with me this morning before work, and he said, “I hope Raymond’s okay”. I told him you were in Wellington, and were most likely unharmed. Take care!

  21. marti johnson says:

    Oh Alice….soooo very glad to know you, and Raymond are okay. I follow your blog and have come to feel as though you two are part of the family. My thoughts and prayers are with the people of Christchurch. Stay safe, and keep us all posted. Hugs to all from Pennsylvania, USA.

  22. Terrie says:

    I’ve just heard on the news Alice and logged on sharpish to check in on you. I’m pleased that you are all okay – although my heart goes out to those who are affected.

  23. Baa me Kniits says:

    Alice such a tragedy, we are sending all our love and healing thoughts to the people in Christchurch. So many natural disasters at the moment, it’s pretty overwhelming isn’t it. It does seem to be uniting us all though and putting into perspective shat is really important and what is not. xx

  24. Shelly says:

    Sending love to you and your fellow Kiwis at this difficult time.

  25. Kazzie says:

    So glad you’re OK, but thinking of those who aren’t so fortunate right now. I love the picture is it a KB original looking at the initials in the corner? xxxx

  26. Lee says:

    My condolences coming to our Kiwi family. Like you couldn’t settle to anything yesterday and did lots of unravelling of mistakes as I watched the disaster unfolding.
    Our son is sitting in the middle of a Category 2 cyclone in Western Australia as I write.
    With luck he will be safe and it could be much worse. What is going on??????
    Beautiful Christchurch – what can I say. But New Zealanders are renowned for their pluck and courage and determination.
    They will rebuild and move on.
    Lee

  27. Robin says:

    Alice, I thought of you immediately after I hear the news on the TV. Soooooooo thankful you and your loved one weren’t effected. Will say prayers for those hurt and their families. xoRobin❤

  28. Leitadala says:

    Glad to hear you and your mom and sheep are okay. Thank you for posting an update to let us know that! My heart goes out to all those affected by such a tragedy

  29. lbmask says:

    When I saw what happened I immediatly thought of you! I read your blog everyday. So glad you and your loved ones are okay. My thoughts go out to all those affected.

  30. Birgit says:

    So glad to hear you and Raymond and the family is ok.. Its all over the news even in germany which I watch daily through my german internet tv. Stay safe ,,,gotta get back to packing…hugs Birgit

  31. MeredithJean says:

    Compassionate and loving thoughts for all in Christchurch and all who love them, from Adelaide, Australia xxxxxx

  32. Joyce says:

    Alice, good to hear you are ok. Our love and prayers go to those in Christchurch still missing, still trapped, still separated from their family and friends. Our love goes also to those that have lost their loved ones. Such a heartbreaking time. Its such a worry what is happening to this beautiful planet we live on.

  33. Hahnsmum says:

    Words just fail me …l am just so sorry for all our cousins over the big ditch..l have family in Ch-Ch..l rang family & found out they are fine..One cousin works at the airport, they were evactuated for a while.. Dont know whats going on today..AND l am so very sorry but the FULL ON Media is just overwhelming.. To see that Poor Man there waiting to find out if his wife will come out of that work building & NOT to know whats happening- just unimaginable.. We do care over here & .l just wish l personally could help.. Best Wishes, Pam Clarke.
    New England, NSW, OZ

  34. reeban says:

    I heard the news and I have to admit too that you were the first thing that appeared to my mind, but as I had some clue about the distance between Wellington and Christchurch I wasn’t too worry as all the horrible news came from the Christchurch. I feel so sad about all the lost and have light my candle for the memories of those people. I hope that the future prediction doesn’t come true, although there has been lot of earthquakes all around in different countries. Feels that Mother nature have something to say, but hopefully nothing massive happens. My best wishes for you all from freezing Finland!

  35. renee says:

    dear alice and raymond i pray for the people there going through this and for you and your family also careing so renee

  36. Sucrette says:

    Hello Alice,
    So glad you are OK you and your loved ones…
    Prayers for all those who are suffering…
    Angie

  37. Tanne says:

    Also I am very happy to hear you and yours are fine. My thoughts are with the people in Christchurch. Sending love to you all.

    xxxTanne

  38. carol says:

    Glad you and yours are fine, but thinking of all those in Christchurch whose lives will be changed forever.

  39. Jane says:

    So glad you, KB and Raymond are ok, i couldn’t quite recall where you lived, so was glad to hear from you. thought go out to those in the middle of this catastrophe

  40. wendy says:

    awsome you are okay and my partners dad too, he is closer to auckland so
    other island of course and a lot further away from you. we are going to visit him
    in may for his 80th then over to christchurch flightwise to stay 4hrs from there
    for a week, wanaka. so sorry for all who have lost their lives : (
    my thoughts are with them and families

  41. Mia Gutierrez says:

    I’ve only recently come across your website and am rightly impressed by your beautiful work, and very glad to know that you and your family and animals are all safe and sound.
    Mia

  42. kate says:

    Just been watching the news again, hearing the good stuff about people being rescued, hearing the bad stuff about how many estimated fatalities – I feel like saying ‘if there is anything I can do to help – please ask’ only I am here in the uk and can only send positive thoughts to Christchurch and everyone who has been affected by this natural disaster.
    x

  43. Penelope says:

    Oh dearest Alice, I was really worried about you yeserday when I had a chance to listen to the radio broadcasting about the devastation in Christchurch. It’s just unbelievable that you are always living and adjusting to the threat of such huge natural disasters. My prayers go out to all the people of Christchurch and the families of those who have had loved ones killed. May they all have a strong inner peace and resilience to cope with this awful situation. Keep well an safe and take special are, it’s such a relief to know you are OK. lots of love, Penelope xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  44. 'me' says:

    I thought of you when i heard it at the news.
    Big hug !

  45. inkberryblue says:

    My heart goes out to the people of Christchurch. I’m glad you’re OK. Sending love from Australia. x

  46. Pati from London says:

    hi lovely Alice, When I heard the news yesterday my heart sank and thought of you. I knew you were in Wellington but still felt terrible for your neighbours in Christchurch.
    I hope they rescue as many as possible (all of them!) and things go back to normal soon. The world seems really crazy at the moment and I pray for things to do get better. Love to you and your fellow NZelanders. x Pati

  47. Carol says:

    So sad for those who have lost their lives and for their loved ones. Thinking of those who are trapped and praying they will be found safe.
    Very pleased to read you are ok.
    Sending love to all affected.
    Carol xx

  48. Betsy says:

    I’ve been thinking of you and your family all day yesterday and was SO relieved to log on this morning and find this post from you and know you are okay. My prayers go out to the people of Christchurch and their losses. Such devastation-but glad you’re fine.

  49. Maria Julia says:

    My preyers are with you and with all people to have affected by the earthquaker.

  50. Debs says:

    So glad to hear from you Alice. I’m sending healing thoughts to those in Christchurch. I didn’t know Wellington was on a fault line, although I guess much of NZ is, being that it was made from volcanic action (if I learnt anything whilst at school!). The opening picture done by KB hits the spot. Good choice. Love to you adn yours, Debs. xx

  51. Barbara Reichard says:

    So glad you and yours are ok. Prayers to all affected.
    Barbara

  52. Nanita says:

    So happy you and your loved ones are ok, when I heard the news I quickly checked where Wellington was on the map! Sending love and strength to the people in Christchurch…
    xxx
    Nanita

  53. Thoughts are with all Kiwis.

  54. Great to hear that you and Raymond are fine! Me and my siamese cats follow your blog from Sweden.

Leave a Reply

