Miss Understood.

Helloooo!!!!

I’d like to dedicate this post to all of the partners of crochet and knitting addicts.   Where would we be without them supporting us in our addiction???!!!  I hope that I have ‘captured’ accurately what it is like to be in a relationship with one of us!

 Common (daily) misinterpretations in our household:

 

When KB looks around the kitchen and says: “Its looking a bit ‘flaggy’ in here…”

I hear: “Do you know what our kitchen needs?  A lovely set of Granny Bunting across the front door.  What do you think darling?  I think it will finish the room off perfectly.  What colours would work in here….. maybe a pink, red and orange set?”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When KB says: “There are so many bloody crochet cushions on the day bed I can barely lie down on it myself…..” (imagine her saying that grumpily…)

I hear: “Wow Babe, I can’t believe how many awesome cushions you have made!  There are so many I can barely fit on the bed, I’m amazed!  Of course I’ll never lie on them, I’d be utterly devastated if I made them all tatty and stretched and pilled…”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When KB says: “God, there are so many crochet mandalas in here I got dizzy before, I had to put one in the cupboard….”

I hear: “Woah Babe, I just had a totally psychedelic experience with all of your mandalas, make more, make more!!!  Let’s wall paper the house with these!!!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When KB says: “MORE wool!!!”

I hear: “Is that ALL you bought today!  I’m marvelling at your restraint as I know how easy it would be for you to blow a mortgage sized amount at a wool shop.  You are amazing!  I really think you should pop back to that shop tomorrow and grab a few more balls of that pink, you really don’t want to run out in the middle of a project….”

 

 

 

 

 

 

When KB says: “Hmmmm.  Another tea pot.  Great.  Where are you going to put that one?”

I hear: “Score Babe!  You got that at the op shop for only $5!  When we have a massive kitchen, we can have tea pots with your awesome cozies everywhere.  For now, lets clear a space here… who needs plates?”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When KB says: “Another pot holder? Don’t you think there are already too many hanging on the wall above the stove already?  And why can’t I use them?  Whats the point in having an ornamental pot holder?”

I hear: “Loving the crochet rainbow you are creating in our kitchen darling!  The more you put up there, the better the collection looks!  And thank you for making me a special square food one that I’m allowed to use, you’re too sweet.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

When KB says: “Look, don’t ask me OK?  You never listen to me and make what you think anyway, and I don’t even LIKE crochet!”

I hear: nothing………………………………..

Love hearts to my bestie KB because she is the best, most patient crochet supporter in the world…. who is beyond pleased that I’m expanding into felting!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Miss Understood.

  1. Heather says:

    I was giggling all the way through reading this!
    I think my husband and KB have similar feelings over crochet … Andy is questioning WHY I need three blankets for the bed. Because I do! He doesn’t even like the feel of wool. If I want to make stuff for him I have to buy cotton ;-)
    xxxxxx

  2. ferabeth says:

    OMG so true! Husband doesn’t even ask what I’m hooking anymore, he just nods, smiles, and moves some yarn out of the way so he has a clear spot to eat his dinner…

    Love your sense of humor! })i({

  3. Melissa says:

    Holy Cow! This cracked me up! It sounds like KB and Car Guy need to start a support group. He keeps saying I’m going to crochet him into a corner…and some days he’s not that far off :) Thanks for the giggle!

  4. Penny says:

    Haha! Love it! I’m with you!

    Love Penny and Higgins xxxx

  5. Pammy Sue says:

    Cute post…and so true! The conversations in your house sound exactly like mine!

    Thanks for the giggles!

  6. LOL! Too funny. My husband has learned to just look the other way, although he does genuinely like all the things I make. He also tries to help me figure out how to store ALL THAT YARN. We must be lucky, I’m sure there are a few people hiding a few rolls of yarn here and there! Thumbs up to KB for her understanding. Loved the post today!

  7. Amii says:

    LOL I love it! Just last night my husband was wondering why I was randomly revisiting a conversation from 6 months ago as to which blanket pattern he would prefer. Well because I’m actually getting around to MAKING it now. Maybe. If I finish up these other 3 or 4 or dozen projects I’ve got going. ; )

  8. Ria says:

    so funny!!! also l was smiling reading this!
    When we are out together my husband is saying: go get some more yarn, are you sure you don’t need some more, go on, buy some!!! Partners can be so understanding!!!

  9. Samantha H says:

    Hehe! I didn’t realise how lucky I was until I read this, my girlfriend totally supports my crocheting and knitting and loves all the things I make! (At least that’s what she tells me!) Then again, I haven’t quite taken over the house with it yet…. :)

    Samantha x

  10. miek says:

    hahahahaaa, very funny indeed
    my husband was soooooooooooo glad i didn`t make quilts anymore and all kinds of embroidery stuff.
    if you would believed him we didn`t had wallspace anymore, so he was very glad i said, oh honey i think i`m going to crochet again.
    he thought, a few balls of wool, but they are growing and growing and what i make is going fast, faster then he imagined it could be hahahhahaha

  11. Megan says:

    No wool for me here on the beach in FL—but I do hear–MORE YARN–WHY???–yes all caps because he is not happy. I don’t even know why I need more yarn–I just do. What if I want to use that color and I can’t find anymore?

  12. Elaine says:

    ha, ha, ha , very funny post, although I have to admit even I worry sometimes about too many crochet items in the house!

  13. Terrie says:

    Oh Alice that made me chuckle! x

  14. Sherry says:

    Your so much fun. I was laughing through this post.
    My husband really does not say anything anymore. (HAHA) He is so understanding.
    Yarn keeps me sane!!!!! Yarny people rule!!!!!

  15. Kazzie says:

    Very funny Alice, good on you KB, she’s got to be a great girl! Your posts do make me laugh out loud! My dogs don’t complain which is good BUT they do get tangled up sometimes and project in progress gets unravelled – maybe that is a complain!!! xx

  16. therese says:

    Brilliant! We have a little of that going on in this house, too!

  17. Fiona says:

    So funny! My partner usually just observes for a while and, if he plucks up courage, asks “So, what is it this time?” … but I know he doesn’t want to really know! And he never comments on yarn purchases, but that could be because I’m really good at hiding them and just bringing out what I need for a project!

  18. Robin says:

    TOO FUNNY and TOO TRUE!!!!!!! xoRobin❤

  19. Jackie says:

    Great post Alice and all of it very true :O)x

  20. hayley says:

    Sooooooooooo funny! You’ve given me a great idea………….Crochet wallpaper! I think my other half *P* will love that!!!
    xxxx

  21. Wow-za… Love all the color here today. Great post. Just sooooo much goodness to take in…..

  22. penelope dubois says:

    LOL!!! It’s a good thing you both don’t crochet!!

  23. Pati from London says:

    What a hillarious post, Alice! Ooooh you make me laugh, girl! As I am quite new in the world of crochet my hubby is still thrilled about my projects, but wait until next year and then we’ll see….. xx Pati

  24. Charlene says:

    ha ha ha – I almost fell off my chair laughing :)

    My husband is ever so tolerant and loves everything I make, and also understands the need for stash – pretense or not he puts on a good performance. THOUGH yesterday whilst in the process of making a pair of crochet fingerless gloves as a part of my mums birthday gift – I tried it on modelling it and it looks awesome – I said to him – “what do you think” his response? “You are not making them for yourself are you?” me “no – why?” His response “Way too old granny-ish” Which left me thinking “HUH??” Cause I have big plans of making myself a set – and the model in the picture was all of 25!

  25. Anita Meade says:

    So funny Alice. Thanks for making me LOL this morning. Oh those poor, suffering partners!

  26. Sandi says:

    Hehe, that was so funny and too close to the truth too. I don’t have that problem as no partner here and the kids are just happy that I am happy crafting.
    I am off to do a craft class on the weekend and will be coming home with a couple of extra’s (yarn) for sure.
    Have a wonderful day and a smootch for Raymond.
    x Sandi

  27. Margaretha says:

    Now that is so funny I will have to listen to DH and see the other point!

  28. Sandra says:

    this post made me laugh out loud! The regular complaint in my house is that there are several unfinished projects on the go at any one time, and always just more yarn that can’t be resisted… I don’t see what’s wrong with that?!!

  29. Sara says:

    Ha ha ha!!! While experimenting with my little sweetheart bracelet the other night I asked my husband if he liked version B better than version A? He glanced in my direction for about a half a second and said “ya”. Pretty sure he had no idea what the difference between the two were… So funny! It did remind me to really look at my little peoples creations and engage in what they love.

  30. Kate says:

    I LOVE this post Alice!
    Too funny but oh so true. X

  31. DanielaH says:

    LOOOOOOOOOOL what a great post. Can´t stop giggling.
    Nobody around me supports my crocheting. Sometimes it makes me a bit sad. But then I pick up my crochet Hook and I´m happy again :o). And thanks God there´s the internet to find lovely people that understand and share my passion. A biiiig Hug to all my crochetin friends from all over the world. :o))))))

  32. I love this post, so funny!
    And Soooo great to see all your beautiful work!

  33. LOL…Brilliant Alice, you hit the nail on the head :-)

  34. Louise says:

    Too funny Alice!!

  35. This is one of the funniest posts I’ve read in a long time Alice! Hilarious! Especially the last KB comment! You’re a genius! Love Vanessa xxx

  36. Hahnsmum says:

    Hi Alice, Guess l am so lucky having another half who has a serious fettish for timber (AC has a woodturning hobby shed out there )) so when l go up to Qld l ALWAYS have to bring home ANOTHER piece of timber ( to make something he says)) ..So my yarn addiction is tolerated & HE only ever just ROLLS his eyes.. l havent tried the bunting yet..When l get another pair of hands l`ll have a go..
    Best Wishes Alice..
    You always make me smile..
    Pam C..
    New England, NSW, OZ

  37. Richard Rose says:

    We don’t have these problems in our home, both of us knit and crochet! :)

  38. This is a utterly recognizable post……….you’re not only great with a crochet hook, but with words too! Made me smile from the first to the last letter…. Besides a grumpy, non-understanding husband, I’m blessed with two girls who love everything I make and always inmediately SEE something new in the house (I stopped pointing out new work to my hubby…). Luckily for us, crafting is like a desease…no one can stop it (or us). So keep on hooking girl, there’s always room for an extra potholder, some bunting, a cushion…!

  39. Penelope says:

    Absolutely hit the nail on the head Alice! brilliant dialogue written with such fun and laughter, really cracked me up reading it xox

  40. MeredithJean says:

    Yes this is funny funny. Especially the selective deafness ha! And the one about buying wool = exercising restraint… can relate to that one. And my RL is wonderful too. Happy happy xxx

  41. oopsudroppedthis says:

    lol you are funny :)

  42. Tanne says:

    My cheeks hurt from laughing!!! :D

  43. hereat21 says:

    LOL! Fantastic and oooooooh so accurate!

  44. WS says:

    What a fantastic post! I’m starting early – the young man already knows that there is no such thing as too much yarn, and all knitted projects are treated with great respect. He can even tell what I’m making without me having to tell him!

  45. Tickety-boo says:

    Lmao!!! Have you got an ear in my house too Alice?
    Katharine Hepburn – “Sometimes I wonder if men and women really suit each other. Perhaps they should live next door and just visit now and then.” (although that quote doesn’t include the lovely KB but you get the idea)
    Maybe she should have changed that to be “Sometimes I wonder if Crocheters/Knitters and non-Crochet/knitters really suit each other………..”
    Love
    Tickety-boo xxxx

  46. Lucy says:

    I love your colourful creations, I can relate to this I have had dogs with selective hearing. I was working on a Woolly Doll the other day and my partner walked past and was serious when he asked ‘What you making now a Voodoo Doll?’…it gave me ideas for an Etsy store, you send the photo I’ll make the doll! I could supply pins too! :)

  47. Marjo says:

    Ohhhh I love your tea pots,your……..everything I love on your site ….I will be a follower from you…..

    Greetings from Belgium
    Marjo

  48. Ha ha ha ha, that really made me smile! I’m sure my hubby would agree with KB on most of that (just substitute ‘knit’ for ‘crochet’). But then I am equally oblivious to his interest in all things football, so what goes around comes around, I suppose…Laura x

  49. cherries! says:

    I’ll be passing this post on to my wife to let her know that she is not alone in her total disinterest in my crafting. She never actually says that but her thorough lack of interest in my current projects is the dead giveaway. I find that it works out in my favor as I can make gifts for her right under her nose and she is always surprised. And delighted too…it’s just the process that bores her, not the final result. I can live with that.

  50. torirot says:

    You made me smile there, thank you!
    (btw, just looking at all your colourful crochet makes me smile, but reading this post made me smile even wider :-) )

  51. Jillian says:

    Now THAT has made my day!!! I love your attitude! and all your crochet loveliness :)

  52. Loretta says:

    Oh, I enjoyed reading this post so much (and admiring your beautiful crochet, of course)! Love to you, and to the ever patient KB :)
    Rett
    xxx

Leave a Reply

