New Beginnings….

My buddy and I like winding wool together…..

It’s a dangerous place for a cat, lying underneath a swift, especially a hot cat who is flicking his tail near the spinning spokes….

But we got it into a nice, soft ball, 200gms of it, all ready to begin a new project…..

It’s a fisherman’s jersey from this book-

I highly recommend this book, it’s the best and I’ve been making a few things from it which I haven’t even had time to post yet!  I don’t know when I became a knitter, it kind of crept up on me.  Suddenly, yesterday afternoon, I found myself picking the wool from my stash and starting the jersey without even thinking “ooh, that’s too hard” about any of it… I think I’ll just try it and deal with the hard bits when I arrive at them.  I reflected on when I began knitting and all I would make was garter stitch scarves, I made about 10 of them in a row… times have changed!

This pattern has a textured yoke, the pattern is not a pattern but a chart… In two centimetres I’ll arrive at the chart and enter into unchartered (tee hee) territory… I’m a bit nervous as I’m not mad keen on frogging, but the challenge is quite exciting for me!  I’m knitting it in the charcoal wool I bought to make myself a cardigan, the charcoal wool I thought would be grey but turned out to be undyed dark natural wool.  It’s boring to blog, but surprisingly non-boring to knit!

And on the topic of new beginnings… I’m suffering from a terrible case of startitis and have about 8 projects on the go, and more in my mind.  I’m slightly concerned about this, but figure I’ll just go with the creative flow!

Realistically, I know that I am just avoiding assignment writing… my creativity peaks when I have work to do…

Sending you lots and lots of love,

from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to New Beginnings….

  1. I bet that wool is lovely to work with! Raymondo looks like he is behaving himself perfectly, if he is a typical cat it would be beneath him to want to try and play with the wool while you are doing something with it….but just walk out of the room and see what happens :-) Tulah keeps trying to mouth my knitting needles while I am knitting!
    Nice little jumper too!

  2. Bianca says:

    ooh watch him, Em was ‘helping’ me wind wool with a mechanical winder….just when I thought she wasn’t interested, she snatched at the wool and promptly got tossed into the windey windey bit. Darn near tore her arm off poor bella. (She now runs any time I bring it out)

    Long time no bloggey, I am about to pop around the rest of your place for a looksie and a gander at whatcha been up to :)

    xB

    • jacey conroy says:

      Is that beautiful blue/ green/aqua bunting I spy blocking in the background?
      I also find I’m most creative when I am supposed to be doing something else, especially if it involves housework. xx

  3. Kate says:

    Oh goodness our puppies are obsessed with my knitting, there is no way I could do that winding anywhere near them these days. And I put off knitting for ages because I was so intimidated by all the fancy stitches but some wise soul told me to just start and to google them as I came to them. Indeed I did. Now I am knitting a cardigan for myself from a chart bit by bit and loving it. You will too I promise. I can’t imagine ever going back to straight garter stitch.
    Have fun. XX

  4. Nikkole says:

    It is so adorable how Raymond is so well behaved. I am sure that he would love to have a little bit to play with though! It looks like a pretty summer day at home for you :) Perfect day to start a new project. Good luck with it! The pattern looks amazing. I can’t wait to see your progress!

    Nikkole

  5. WS says:

    Charts – the bestest invention of the knitting pattern. Once you’ve got the hang of a chart, you’ll never look back! The pattern looks adorable! I’m looking forward to seeing the finished result.

  6. MeredithJean says:

    Ah Alice you are so in the knitters’ zone, it’s so lovely to see you unthwarted by instructions – ha YES of course you are avoiding your assignments! Your pattern book looks wonderful.

  7. Sandi says:

    Any closer and you would have had some extra in your wool, a combo of wool and Raymond lol.
    That baby book looks delicious, happy knitting, I have just knitted a beanie and vest and facewasher for a friend to send to Sweden , but I didn’t have time to take a photo.
    Not sure if you read my post re http://www.bookdepository.co.uk, you can get books cheaper and don’t pay postage. I have ordered a few books, it’s worth checking out.
    x Sandi

  8. Karen says:

    I’m impressed that Raymond doesn’t “assist” more in a paws-on fashion with the process like mine do hee hee

  9. Hi Raymond and Alice,

    Travelling through blogland, I came to New Zealand and your blog and I love it. It is so colourful and creative. I was immediately drawn to the frame with flags in the first picture of today’s post, what a amazing idea! Thankfully I found a tutorial to make the flags amongst many other wonderful tutorials, thank you for posting them. I feel so inspired!
    Have a happy and creative day! X Floortje

  10. Having said, what I said in my earlier comment…….I just found out that the link to the pink granny flag garland is the only one that is not working…..please help!

  11. Robin says:

    I know what you mean about startitis! You are so creative you should probably go with it, because you will be back to work and school soon enough. Love the baby sweater and I think you will too. I have made toodler sweaters like that when my kids were small and now for my kid’s kids and their friend’s kids. Who knew!? My favorite patterns are from Yankee Knitter Designs, Mock cable & Basketweave Sweater (newborn-3 years) pattern #23. It is truly great and very easy. If you have any questions, just post on my blog. Enjoy, the sweater looks great. xo Robin❤

  12. Sara says:

    Haha! I can’t even have the merest hint of yarn around my feline lot without them attacking me from all angles!
    You’re lucky Raymond doesn’t want to have a spin ;)

    Oh, I’m a great starter too. I’ve just started a new project, the third this year so far!

    Enjoy your knitty-knitting! X

  13. Melissa says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished sweater. I’m sure it will be gorgeous!

  14. Marla says:

    Hey I have that same ailment…. startitis!! Only I have anywhere from 2-5 cats trying to help me at any time. I’m winding yarn too- recycled yarn from sweaters I’ve found.

  15. Leitadala says:

    Hahaha! I know exactly what you mean that Creativity peaks when there are assignments to do! Glad I’m not the only one!

  16. ganxetades says:

    This book looks great!!!

  17. Sandra Draper says:

    HaHa, yes I know what you mean, I have to literally FORCE myself not to start another project with one already on the go, even though I am currently knitting another raglan baby sweater in boring old cream, that the young mother wants, hoooooooooohuuuuuuuuuuuuuum, not to worry, I am sure it must be character building and good for the patience issues!!

    Can’t wait to start the purple pixie jacket knit~out, that will keep encourage me to keep going over the long weekend to finish this dull one!!

    What a fantastic view that beholds you, great working environment, in the creative sense of course, thanks for the holiday volcanic photos, awesome, reminded me of our trip out to White Island a couple of months ago, blows you away, like being on Mars, also huge thanks for stunning Pohutokawa photos, absolutely adorable and really brightened up the day, just glorious, you are extremely talented with that camera AND knitting needles and CROCHET HOOKS!!!

    Have a very groovy day,

    Sandra :):):):):)XXXXOOOOOOOXXXXXXXXXXX

  18. Thank you Alice for restoring the bunting link, can’t wait to start and will let you know how it ends up! X Floortje

  19. I’ve just got back from a freezing cold walk with unwilling dogs, and feel exhausted from an intense day of painting, and for some reason, who knows, I was feeling tearful, thought that maybe a warming glass of Sherry might help, then I thought, Alice will cheer me up immediately. And like magic, you have, Alice! And sweet Raymond with his dangerous tail, love the photo of the two of you together. Infact, I’d love to see a photo of you cuddling Raymond, because I know it’s a complicated relationship between you two, and somehow this would be rather lovely, in my strange mind! That idea might have come from the fact that I would like to give Raymond a cuddle! A friend was helping a friend of hers today, (who looks after 26 cats for the Cat’s Protection League), move the cats to a new premises, and all I could think of was how lovely to be cuddling 26 cats, I felt a bit envious, in a mild way. Our dogs are very cuddly, but there is nothing quite like the softness of a cat is there?
    Your crochet cushions look absolutely gorgeous Alice, and I love the way you’ve photographed them against the grey wood. Love Vanessa xxx

  20. Penelope says:

    I love the first photo in this post Alice, you look all summery and relaxed and at home with your yarn. Startitis is a great word, really descript too. I have loved knitting more and more lately and might even challenge myself to some lacey knitting soon xox I love to have the option of knitting and crochet so I can take on whatever I fancy xox xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxP

  21. Aunite Pam says:

    I just stumbled onto your blog and I am truly enjoying it!! I love the bunting pattern and I cannot wait to make one. And……the granny tea cozy will be my next project. I will be sure to let you know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

