A birthday and a brand new jag….

Hellooooo!!!

It’s Sunday morning right now, here in Wellington… KB and I got up bright and early in order to beat the crowds to the vege markets, we’re home now, with a lovely long day off stretching ahead of us…. I’ve got crafty plans, readings to read for class tomorrow, a bit of essay writing to attend to, and looooots of cooking to do.  I like to have my freezer full of ready cooked meals and frozen chick peas and kidney beans so that when I get busy during the week it’s all done for me.  When I went away last week, I left the freezer full of “meals for one” so that KB wouldn’t live on rice noodles and hot chips… I got home and found that the freezer was empty!  I felt a bit smushy inside at that moment, I have to admit….

We’re a bit tired this morning because we went out to celebrate my dear friend’s 30th birthday.  Louise is one of my old college friends who I met up with again via *whispers* facebook (ahem) and when she moved back to Wellington last year I was thrilled to have a catch up with her.

Oooh!  I think!  A birthday!  It’s my first opportunity to put my resolution number 3 into action!  I was very excited and spent a lot of time deciding what to make her.  My first thought was some arm warmers in gorgeous possum merino wool, as the colours of the particular brand are just lush, beautiful jeweled hues which would create a colour punch when teamed with Louise’s gorgeous red-blonde hair…. So off I went to the wool shop, but that particular branch of wool shop didn’t sell the wool I wanted, I’d need to go into town for the specialty yarns, so it was back to the drawing board.

I gave it some more thought, and decided that as Louise is a knitter, I should crochet her something instead.  I dug through my stash and found what I hoped would be the perfect colour Perendale wool to match her hair, (the colour is called amethyst, so I took it as a jewel inspired sign!) and hooked up a Queen Anne’s Lace scarf.

Queen Anne’s Lace scarves are turning into my “go-to guy,” well, to be more appropriate, my “go-to dyke”… they’re beautiful, simple and hopefully well-liked!  Remember I made my Aunty one for her birthday last year?  Well, I saw her wearing it at a party I said I wasn’t coming to, which proves that she likes it and wasn’t just wearing it for me!  I get the feeling the Queen Anne’s is going to be gifted to quite a few people throughout this handmade challenge!

Do you know, I didn’t even think of cards when I started this, there are lots of lovely NZ made cards out there, but I thought I’d put my darling to work, and asked her to make a beautiful card for Louise… KB is a wonderful artist, she does some amazing paintings- one of which is hanging in my office, but my favourites have to be her little water-colour cartoons which make me smile at their sweetness and amaze at how clever she is!

Isn’t that the sweetest little picture of Louise?! 

I got quite excited about showing you some of KB’s art, so I dug through my box of special things and found another little painting she did for me….

I found some more too, but I’m a bit cautious about putting them on the www… it’s so easy to just save any pictures off here and then use them, I’d hate for her most beautiful ones to show up on greeting cards somewhere!

I think I’d love to see some of her gorgeous water colours being sold as prints…. They’d be so sweet on a child’s bedroom wall, or flag the child, anyone’s really, what do you think?

OK then Darlings, I’m off to cook my magic lentil pie filling, then get hooking, or knitting… I finished two projects last night so have a lovely clean slate this morning!  Weeeheeeee!!!

Wishing you a beautiful day wherever you are, whatever you’re up to, whoever you’re with!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Queen Anne's Lace Scarf. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A birthday and a brand new jag….

  1. Louisa says:

    ohhhh such a gorgeous colour scarf! I am desperate to try the Queen Anne’s Lace, but I think I will leave it till later in the year to try!
    And KB is so incredibly talented! I am jealous!! I wish I was that talented!!

  2. Tickety-boo says:

    I hope you and KB hve a lovely day together you talented pair you. I made so many Queen Anne scarves for Christmas that I swear it’s going to be a weird moment that one night in one room we are all going to turn up wearing one in different colours (including the men lol). xxxx

  3. hawthorn says:

    Oh lucky friend – the card and the scarf are beautiful :)

  4. tracey says:

    I love love love the watercolours, can’t you persuade her to have her own inspirational blog!? Tx

  5. Andrea says:

    Beautiful scarf…beautiful little water colours. KB really is talented. You are a talented pair! Loved the previous blog by the way….reminded me of a moonscape. xx

  6. Elaine says:

    wow alice, your energy is mindblowing…just sitting down to watch a movie, as it’s Saturday night here – still can’t get my head around the time difference and the fact your sunday has already started! have a great week x

  7. Adore the scarf. You are indeed right- KB is an amazing artist. My girlies would adore those paintings

  8. Rachael says:

    It’s such a pretty scarf. I really want to make one too but I’ve promised myself that January and February will both be ‘finish off all wip’s’ months :)

  9. Kerry says:

    Scarf..tick. Watercolours…tick. Watercolour paintings for sale…no brainer. You are one creative couple :)

  10. Terrie says:

    KB is truly talented! I LOVE little cartoons and hers are fabulous! Oh and yes! I would certainly pay for a print if the cards are anything to go by.

  11. Amanda C says:

    I love the colour you chose for the Queen Anne’s lace. I quite like the pattern of that scarf, I made one for myself out of a nice wool/alpaca blend and it was wonderful. I love the detailed look of the finished product.

    good luck with your handmade challenge!

  12. 'me' says:

    KB’s paintings are gorgious !

  13. Meredith says:

    Alice,
    I love the Queen Anne’s Lace scarf. I have to laugh because I just finished my 13 th yesterday and I am wearing one in soft beige to brown in a yummy yarn. Love KB’s artwork and love your blog.
    Meredith

  14. Karen says:

    I love making Queen Anne lace scarves and they are always welcome gifts. The painting of Louise is sooo cute, love the cat and the curly incense stick. I think KB should definitely sell some prints :-)

  15. Really, KB should think seriously about having prints made and sold. She’s very good. Not to mention, your craftiness, as well. :)

    Renee

  16. iamteocalli says:

    How much you warm my heart….what you share most definitely inspire!!!! You, KB and of course Raymond are ‘gifts par excellance’….I am so happy knowing you through your fabulous blog space!!!!! Much LOVE to you all!!!!

  17. Penelope says:

    Hello Alice
    Oh wow for your Queen Anne scarf, I simply love the colour. K’s art work is so gorgeous, thanks for sharing with us, really special xox Enjoy your crafty sunny sunday xxxxx P

  18. Hahnsmum . says:

    Hi There, Well l received a Queen Anne scarf also from a close girlfriend at Christmas.. Mine is croched in a nice dark coffee shade.
    RL was very surprised to hear they are very trendy at the mo.. l will have to have go at crocheting one.
    l agree, yr KB is really clever & l do agree re putting yr lovely pics on the web.. Keep up the great blog, Best Wishes, Pam Clarke.
    New England, NSW, OZ..

  19. Dorothy says:

    Alice .. your QA scarf is lovely. Can you tell me what ply yarn you used please? I made one in Noro Taiyo last year and love it but that yarn is a bit pricey to be using for charity or for a stall. I’m in Aus so our yarns will be similar. Love KB’s cards – she is very talented.

  20. Amii says:

    I love those little cartoons, KB is quite talented. I’m also thinking I may really need to work up one of those scarves. It keeps popping up all over the place – that’s gotta mean *something* right? I want to find just the right yarn, though. Wouldn’t it look just lovely in a gradual rainbow?!

  21. Leah Maxwell says:

    Hi Alice, I was also up early and at the vege market – but it ended badly with a $40 parking ticket, grr, in my regular spot that I hadn’t noticed had become residents parking. Oh well … Anyway, just wanted to thank you so much for the wonderful potholder tutorial. I am two rows away from finishing my first effort and it looks beautiful so far! I am totally in love with the African Flower design and can see a lot more of these in my future! I guess I could keep adding more rows to make it into a cushion? Thanks again hon – you’re a star.

  22. Nicole says:

    I love the Queen Anne’s Lace pattern too! I’m on my 5th one of those suckers :) I figure I’ll stock up on them and then I have a great go-to gift stash!

    KB’s cards are just lovely too :)

  23. Hello lovely Alice, how are you? Have been reading your posts via email but been very slack in actually visiting! So here I am – love that scarf, after your urging me to give it a go last year, I am going to give it a go. KB’s art is wonderful – too much talent in one couple methinks! xxx

  24. Pearlin J says:

    The Queen Anne lace scarf is beautiful! And also KB’s cards they are so cute and heart warming.

  25. WS says:

    So very beautiful – both the scarf and the card! Your friend will love your gift, I’m sure!

  26. Hahnsmum . says:

    Just a thought.. l have noticed thru my wanderings around the blogspots on here , that one can put a brand name right across ones own very precious photos or paintings..To deter the nasty folk pinching same or saving. . Does yr KB sehh her gorgeous sketchs online..l am interested in buying same.. Just curious..Take care, Best Wishes,
    Pam Clarke
    New England
    NSW., OZ..

  27. Dorothy says:

    Hi Alice …. Wasn’t sure how to reply to you from my blog so thought I’d post another msg here. The yarn in my scarf is Noro Kureyon Sock #180 (Red/Orange/Purple/Teal Multicolour. I love the colours too but not fussed about the yarn as its so thin. Mind you the scarf will drape lovely when (if) its finished.

  28. Debs says:

    Hello Alice. What a talented pair you and KB are?! Her art is gorgeous and she should definitely sell it if she doesn’t already. I would love for there to be a blog or website of her work – can you persuade her? As previoulsy mentioned you can put a copyright mark or blog name across the photos so if anyone should crib a copy there will always be the onwers details. Don’t know how to do it though – must be some instuctions on the net, try googling. Love the scarf too. I still haven’t mastered this pattern yet, but I’m ever hopeful, especially as your photo shows it laid out flat so I can see how each ‘fan’ joins the next. I’ll let you know if I ever acheive it. Love to you, KB and Raymond.

  29. Vicky says:

    I love the Queen Anne’s Lace scarf..very beautiful..and KB’s water colors are awesome..It def looks like a card line to me..or even note cards..she def needs to market them..they are very creatve..I can just feel the creative vibe runnin through your home:)

  30. Melissa says:

    I love the Queen Anne pattern. It’s so easy and quick and always looks gorgeous! KB is quite talented! Love those! She really out to make and sell them so those of us around the world can share them!

  31. Oh Alice that scarf is perfect and I agree the best colour! I am going to have to invest in some of that lovely NZ wool I can see :-)

    KB is keeping secrets isn’t she…..what an amazing artist she is! I LOVE watercolour and yes she should sell her prints they would sell like hot cakes!

    Lentil pie sounds delicious, don’t know why I havn’t thought of freezing beans before, just assumed you couldn’t??

    Hope you had a fab day off you two :-)

  32. Nanita says:

    Hi Alice, I’m really tempted now to try the Queen Anne’s scarf myself! And I’m definitely with the lovely people here who want to see more of those brilliant watercolours, maybe KB could check out the copyright mark option?? :)
    A wonderful day to both of you, and to Raymond!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

