A love affair with Noro…

Helloooo!!!

Did you notice?  I’ve had a change around….. de-cluttering my blog if you like… new background, new header, NO PINK!!!!!

It feels all fresh and new when it pops up on my laptop, quite summery in fact, and I think I like it, but it’s so different to what it has always been, I’m still trying it on for size!

I’m having a love affair with Noro right now…. this is not the first time, you’ll remember if you have been following my blog right from the very, very start… I fell IN love with Noro, then out of love with it, then we had another brief affair which ended in tears and a feeling of being ripped off…

It’s all because of those random colour changes, where you’re knitting along, happily creating with the most expensive yarn you’ve ever bought, then BANG!  Neon yellow right in the middle of all your browns.  Or in my latest case, yuckyellow and a revolting orange mixed in with my teals and magentas.

I decided to “stash bust” last night for the first time ever… I don’t believe in stash busting as a rule, stashes should grow to gigantic proportions in my mind… but I pulled out the two balls of Noro Kureyon I purchased in August as a birthday present for self, and then tried to make into something beautiful until I discovered the ugly colours hidden deep inside the ball.

Well… I made flowers with them and they are so amazing I went to my LYS and bought the ball of Noro silk garden I’ve been lusting after for months….

The affair is back on!

While I heart pink and it’s no secret, these are my other favourite colours… I want to dive right into that colour and soak it all up… my goodness!  And crocheting with it is a multi-sensory experience…. I can’t wait to show you the results!

KB texted me before asking how my day was going… I replied “gd!  Finishd my transcript yay, hving a lve affair with Noro.  C u latr.”

I haven’t heard back from her which means she has heard quite enough about Noro for this week….

Have a beautiful day!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Fibre P0rn!. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A love affair with Noro…

  1. Jane says:

    Well I for one like it, It’s very you-nique lol. Can’t wait to see the Noro flowers

  2. Maria says:

    I have yet to try Noro, but have been eyeing off Silk Garden. The colours you see in the projects are amazing and I am entranced. Unfortunately my LYS does not stock it and I feel I really must see the colours to choose the one, or two, I want. So I live in hope of one day bumping into it

  3. Melissa says:

    I haven’t taken the Noro plunge yet. I haven’t found THE item I want to make. I can’t wait to see the flowers. I hope you enjoyed your visit with Alice :)

  4. frou-frou says:

    Hello I love the new look!!

    I have 2 balls of Noro that I am yet to crack open. I actually like the idea of random colours popping up here and there. I shall look forward to that when I use them,
    Fiona xx

  5. I miss your crystals but I do love the rainbow colours :-) Noro…I have yet to buy any as I am yet to find a project worthy of getting it for? I like to see it in person as well :-) One day I will find the right one I am sure. I have seen the Rowan Colourscape chunky in the Jungle colours and I really love that but it is very very expensive!!!

  6. Andrea says:

    Haven’t tried Noro myself but those luscious sea colours are very, very tempting.

  7. WS says:

    I love Noro too. It’s soooo beautiful. The unexpected colour changes are such a Japanese trait of their masterly use of colours – combining the unexpected with exquisite beauty. You grow to love it. :-) I’m still only using it for small things – gloves, hats, etc. I’m not sure I could take a whole garmentful of it. But one day, maybe. (Better do lots of saving in the meantime!) Looking forward to seeing what you do with your Noro. xx

  8. I love Noro! I made a huge single gs (5 feet in diameter) with Noro last winter. This year I have purchased a bunch of different solid colors, inspired to make one of your grandala square blankets. But I am now jonesing for Noro…

    I am addicted to your blog. Thanks for the daily color therapy. :)

  9. Penelope says:

    Oh Alice Noro-licious, it looks like the sea in my South African photo, I love Noro but have neve purchasd any, just drool over it when I see it. It feels heavenly and I’m sure it’s divine to knit/hook with, enjoy! I am liking your new look, it’s summery and happy and I am sure whatever you do it will be thoughtfull and beautiful xox Have a fabulous weekend and thanks so much for your suggestions for my pics on the grey days, unfortunately i don’t have that programme on my laptop so will have to consider a plan of action xxxxxPenelope

  10. Rachel says:

    I adore Noro Silk Garden and this colour combination especially. My first item was a knit sideways vest with a curly fringe on the bottom. It looked ghastly on me so was frogged. I then made a proper vest. It looked ghastly on me so was frogged. So I made a shawl and discovered that the wool in it made me itch. What to do with it, besides sit and pat it lovingly? I ended up giving it to a friend who adores it and uses it often. Lovely Noro Silk Garden. I still purchase a skein now and then, one skein makes one pull-on cloche type hat.

  11. Joyce says:

    Happy New Year Alice and Raymond. Oh gosh that yarn looks just like the beach meeting up with the sky at our place lately. Just beautiful. Enjoy your hooking and flowers.

  12. Hahnsmum . says:

    l love Noro too..Made sox with Noro,(( blues & the purply reds,)) till the cows came home a couple of yrs ago.. But find it a bit expensive..Pretty though.. Yep like yr new blob header..Nothing like a change for the New Year, eh.. Best Wishes, Keep up the great crochet.. Regards,
    Pam Clarke,
    New England, NSW, OZ..

  13. Hahnsmum . says:

    What does ”FROGGED ” mean ?? Does it mean- pull the whole thing apart whilst tearing out ones hair & start all over again..
    Regards, P.C..
    New England, NSW, OZ

    • Barbie says:

      Frog it means… ribbbit….. ribbbit… rippppit… ripit out…

    • Rachel says:

      That’s exactly what it means. Only I usually accompany the activity with a long drawn-out sigh rather than hair-pulling as I seem to have infinite amounts of patience when it comes to ‘deconstructing’ things.

  14. Hahnsmum . says:

    Blimey l`m getting worser & worser as my little girl used to say- MEANT to say – YOUR NEW BLOG HEADER..Sorry Alice..Old age does strange things to some old grannys who live over the big ditch.. P.C..

  15. There is no such thing as too much noro! I’ve had my guilty love affairs with Noro as well! :)

    I’m loving the new blog colors, it makes me smile :)

    Hope you’re having a lovely day! And I cannot wait to see what you make with that gorgeous wool.

  16. Maria says:

    hello beautiful, kindred spirit! i just stumbled upon your blog and it was love at first sight! wonderful wonderful work!! I can’t wait to explore some more and get to know you and yours thru cyberspace! happy hooking!

Leave a Reply

