Just a plain old granny square cushion.

Hellooooo!!!

And thank you for popping in today!  I have been peeping into other people’s blogs today and seeing all of the fabulous Christmas celebrations and reading about all of the great times you are all having with your families…. It’s been lovely and I’m glad to see so many people enjoying themselves…. For you non-bloggers who like to visit Raymond and me, I hope your holiday season is going great and you have fun plans for New Years!  I was wondering what I’d be doing on New Years Eve in my last post…. will I be partying or knitting…. For those who left comments with their opinions on what I should be doing, it seemed to be a tie…. Some said “you’re young, go and party” and some said “stay at home and knit”…. one suggested take my knitting to a party…. (sounds like my kind of suggestion!)  I have decided what my plans are… I’m going to a party, then another party and will probably be home around 10ish to knit…. that sounds like a plan to me, being that I haven’t been up past 11 in YEARS and don’t know if I can do it anymore!

It has been a crazy 24 hours in Wellington… Last night we had a storm and it was big, it was shaking our house like mad and the rain!  Bucketing down!  This continued until about 1.00pm thisafternoon, when the rain stopped, then the wind stopped, then the sun came out and it became a beautiful day, all within a couple of hours!  I spent the morning worrying that our house was going to blow off the side of the hill, watching KB put down towels to soak up the leaks on our windowsills (the rain was so crazy I think a submarine’s windows would have leaked) and crocheting. 

It was so lovely to pick up my hook again!  I finished the dreaded garter stitch cardigan yesterday, it seems that all I needed was a good bitch to the world about what a pain it was, because after I posted, I picked it up and knitted right to the end, cast off and threw it onto Wool Mountain where it is still lying in a heap waiting to be finished.  I’ll look into it tomorrow, but I’ll see… no hurry!

Being that it is my holiday time right now, and it is raining, I’ve been indulging in a lot of yarnplay and it’s FUN!  Oh my, I had forgotten the joy of not having something to do!  I have a few assignments due between now and February which I need to make a start on reasonably soon, but for this week, I’m chilling.  I got my neglected 4mm hook out of its case this morning, gave it a loving stroke as I glared at my knitting needles, and began to make some grannies.  I found some cushion inners the other day and as it has been ages since I’ve made a cushion, I decided to make a start on one.  If you click on the “cushions” category in my side bar it should bring up all of the posts featuring cushions I’ve made.  I think I’ve done 9 in total and I was asked a while ago about a photo with all of them together.  Totally!  I just need to remember to bring the two in my office home for the night, and your wish is my command!  So I was looking at these cushions and noticed that I’ve made them from grandala squares, summer garden grannies, babettes…. everything except for a plain old granny.  So I made one.

I really like it!  It’s groovy…. and when I say groovy, I mean, “groovy man, I just opened a time capsule from 1971 and this cushion was inside.”  I didn’t mean for it to be so…. retro!  I dig retro, but I was hoping for contemporary retro instead of seventies flashbacks!  Sadly, it just doesn’t work with our decor which is very much Indian, ethnic, hippy styles instead of psychedelic, combi-van hippy styles… although…. I’d love a psychedelic combi-van and this cushion would be awesome in one……

I know this cushion will find its spiritual home, so it is in the present bag and I’m feeling virtuous because I’ve made a start on my next years birthday making. 

As I was taking the pictures of the cushion…..

Memphis, our downstairs neighbour turned up to get involved in the action…. Memphis’ mothers are away at the moment so she must have been a bit lonely as she is quite a shy Miss…. Raymond is a bit selfish when it comes to attention and doesn’t care for her much…..

Let the “cute-off” begin!

“I’m so cute!  Look at meeeeeeeeeeee!!!”

“But look at me!  I’m so smoochy on this seat…. I’m the smoochiest…..”

“ooh, oooh, but look at my soft little tummy!  I’m soooooo cute!”

Lucky for Raymond, Memphis soon went off on bug chasing business in the front yard, so he came back upstairs to watch the finch eating the gluten-free bread off our deck, wishing that we would open the ranch slider, just a little…..

Wishing you a beautiful day!  Enjoy the last few days of 2010!

Lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Cushions, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Just a plain old granny square cushion.

  1. Oh Memphis is cute but Raymondo wins hands down :-) Nice granny cushion!

  2. Robin says:

    The cushion is just lovely, so nice to have a gift already for someone special. That is my goal this coming year to make more gifts all year long. Let’s see how that goes. So nice you have this time off. Enjoy and Happy New Year!!!! xo Robin

  3. Sarah says:

    How do you secure your yarn ends? I’ve crocheted for years but whether I crochet them in as I go or sew them in later (aargh I hate doing that part!) stray ends insist on poking through! Helllpppp!

  4. Hahnsmum . says:

    Looking at the pictures of yr cats, makes me think l`d like another nice puddy cat.. Memphis is certainly a pretty cat.. Raymond of course is handsome.. l had a gorgeous putty cat but he sadly dissapeared ( under suspicious circs ) so l try not to dwell on his fate.. l swear the next cat will be an inside cat..But not sure of my rat bag Jack-Russell.. Shes NEVER ever seen a cat..
    Yr new pillow is rather nice. Colours are nice.. l`d like to go out too on New Yrs Eve as we have great musical (( country Rock )) neighbours who are playing at local club, but as the old man is still having probs with his ear , looks like we`ll be here, with Granny crochetinng, listening to radio, TV,etc. Have a good time anyway, whatever you decide to do New Yrs Eve.. All the Best..
    Pam Clarke.
    New England,
    NSW, OZ..

  5. Oh my goodness, what a wonderful cute-off!! Memphis is a little doll – and Raymond, as always, is uber-handsome. I’d say it’s a toss up.
    I really love that cushion! Total 70′s flashback. I made a granny square blanket (when I was feeling in quite a retro mood) in orange-y colours. It’s very 70′s. I threw it on a chair in our living room and I just call the look ‘eclectic’. ;)
    Em

  6. Beautiful. Good job. Kisses

  7. Amanda C says:

    Wonderful as always, Alice!
    I love the cushion, even if it is a bit of a flashback- it’s beautiful! This is one of the reasons I’ve added you as one of my favorite blogs of 2010! (http://crazymamacav.blogspot.com/2010/12/mondays-featured-blogs-best-of-2010_27.html)

  8. Mrs Twins says:

    Hello Alice,
    Thanks for your comments over on Flickr.
    I wish we could see more of you over there!
    I have had the Bunting up since you sent it to me.
    If you pop over to SIBOL http://www.sunshineinternationalblanketsoflove.blogspot.com
    y ou will see a larger photo of it.
    I’m so pleased you are enjoying your crocheting, your cushion is beautiful.
    Happy new Year to you, enjoy yourself
    Love Suex

  9. Siobhan says:

    All cats are just beautiful; no matter how pretty or handsome, their ‘catness’ is what makes them so irresistible to me and I love them all! I’m glad you had a good Christmas, things are slowly getting back to normal – have finally stopped scoffing too many chocolates and am craving nice clear vegetable soup. Has been very cold but no white Christmas – snow dried up a few days before. I am all excited about one of my presents, I got everything I need to start knitting my first pair of socks. A bit of a challenge but the book I got looks brilliant at telling me how to do it so I have high hopes. Got to finish crocheting my cat blanket first though! Love your new cushion, I especially like the purple. I’ve never made a crochet cushion cover and love them – one for the new year maybe? I used to get all excited about New Years Eve but nothing much ever happened! Now, I just enjoy the thought of a new beginnings and stay in with my cocoa and this year probably my knitting too. By the way your Mum’s fruit cake looked wonderful a few posts back – I could have eaten it off the page!

  10. Carol says:

    Oh dear Raymond you have cuteness competition, that Memphis is one pretty little cat!
    I’ve been making so many of Lucy’s baubles I couldn’t get my crochet hook to start anything else (funnily enough I didn’t enjoy making the first couple but then they turned into an addiction http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/bauble-decoration.html) but, thanks to you, I am off to make a granny square cushion right this minute.
    Happy New Year to you, hope you enjoy the parties.
    Carol xx

  11. Caroline says:

    Love your ‘groovy’ cushion!! Your crochet is always so beautifully neat – which method do you use to join your squares?

  12. Linda says:

    Awww… cuties….!
    What would Raymond say about something like that?
    http://elainecroche.blogspot.com/2010/12/saudades-da-gueby.html
    (found in some blog and this reminded me of Raymond)

  13. Penelope says:

    Mephis is very sweet but I agree that Raymondo wins hands down! I am really impressed at your swift ability to make a beautiful cushion cover again Alice, I have been knitting more than hooking lately and my crochet hooks are not best pleased with the neglect I have been giving them. I’ve knitted myself a bag which I need to put an inner lining on before revealing, I’m also half way through making a tea cosy for a friend for the end of January once her new kitchen is installed.
    We will no doubt have an indian takeout on new years eve, watch dvd or 2 and I am usually in bed before midnight, we then wake up to Andy’s birthday on new years day {which he really wishes was another day} and then off to a party of snacks and drinks on new years day which should be fun and Alice can come too xox Enjoy the last few days of 2010, thank you for all our lovely colour and happiness as always xxxxxP

  14. Erica says:

    Man… nothing finer than a soft, fuzzy cat lolling in the sunshine. Except perhaps TWO of them. Lucky lady :-)

    I very much dig your groovy 1971 cushion! I’m a 1971 relic myself, so it sort of spoke to me, man, you dig? :-)

    Belated Merry Christmas to you!

  15. Alice,
    The Palace has been following your blog for about a month now. Good news! We are adding you to the favs list. We like your style and your funky color choices. Your Raymond is a cutey. It was those crazy pot holders of yours that captured my eye.
    Queen of Whatever

  16. lulu says:

    beautiful and so are the kitties..
    have a great day/night..

  17. lyn says:

    They are both so so cute, and I love your groovy cushion too!
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  18. Sandi says:

    I think they make a very cute couple together, and she was so making a pass at him!!!!
    Oh yes flash back to the seventies ‘hey man’
    I have decided to make some pot holders for my mums birthday which is almost 2 weeks away, so best get crocheting.
    Oh extreme weather, it’s everywhere, times are a changing (you know what I mean)
    x Sandi

  19. WS says:

    You caught the perfect “Don’t you DARE” moment by Raymond, answered by “I will so!” by Memphis. So funny! Your cardigan looks adorable, even if you are sick of it. Hooray for the stash! :-) And the cushion cover looks amazing. I’m in awe at how quickly you can make them!

  20. Barbara Reichard says:

    I love the cats. Raymond has noting to be jealous about. He is beautiful.

  21. Dorien says:

    I was a bit worried, when I saw the title; but there isn’t a plain cushion to find on your blog! It is indeed very retro, but it looks fantastic. Enjoy your parties and have a wonderful new year!

  22. Alyson says:

    Loved the “cute-off”, but it must be a tie! I love kitties so much- no such thing as an uncute cat! The granny cushion is lovely- lucky person who’ll get that as a gift! As for New Year’s- I think it’s a good choice to go out for a while and finish off the evening with your yarn. I will probably be home doing the same after my little one goes down for the night.

    My knitting is getting SO much better! I actually finished my first project yesterday- a pair of purple (my favorite color!) mitts. I’m working on a pair of navy and gold ones for my mother-in-law. Wish me luck!

  23. MeredithJean says:

    Love how you understand and share your catworld with us, thank you Alice. xxx

Leave a Reply

