Merry Christmas to Me!

Hellooooo!!!

Thank you all so much for the lovely comments you left on my last post, it was so nice reading through them knowing you got some enjoyment from my tea cozy!  I thought I had “tea-cozied” myself out, after making three on a row, but now I have a naked tea pot and a craving to make one for me!  So we’ll see…..

I bought myself a Christmas present and it arrived the other day…. Do you do that?  Really, Christmas is just an excuse to splurge on wool… if it was June I’d make up another excuse along the lines of “It’s a half-year celebration” but it would be winter then, so I guess no excuse is necessary in the middle on winter…..

Speaking of Winter…. Are you Northern Hemispherers FREEZING!!!!!  I feel deeply for you, living in temperatures so cold you are in the minuses, I’ve never been that cold ever, ever, ever.  I wish you a safe and merry holiday season and hope that any airport closures, or railway shutdowns don’t affect your families too negatively and that you have a wonderful, snuggly Christmas. 

So I ordered a stash of wool from the Wool Company, which was obtained for me by my friend over at Kiwiyarns Knits and delived a couple of days ago.  Apart from taking it out of it’s bag to stroke it and photograph it, I haven’t decided what I’m going to make with all of this loveliness, but I am so excited about the potential!  So many beautiful colours!

That first lot is actually not mine, but is my friend Sandra’s who ordered some with me… Beautiful hues of pink and purple of course!

Mine has pleanty of pink and purple of course, but I also ordered some teal which was so much nicer in real life than on the website, so I’m thrilled I ordered it!

It turns out ordering from a website is a bit harder because the colours are vastly different, I find they are brighter which is great for me!

The only one that wasn’t what I expected was the wool I had ordered to make my cardigan from- I changed my mind on the cherry and decided to go for dark grey to reduce the potential for me hating it when I’ve finished and never wearing it!  I ordered what I thought was charcoal but it ended up being undyed dark natural brown…. Not to worry though!  it’s KB’s fave colour of wool and I promised to knit her a raglan jersey for next winter, so here’s the stash for it!  Plus some extra to knit a garment for someone littler too.  I’m heading past the Wool company in a few weeks, so will pop in there (with camera hopefully!) and get some dark grey for me then!

Ooh and the other thing I ordered was some needles.

The needles were described on the website as:

The solution to tired aching hands. Manufactured from casein, these provide static free soundless knitting. They have a wonderful warm feel. Once you have tried them, you won’t use any other needles. Length 30 cms.

They sound too good to be true!  SOLD!  I get terribly achey hands in the winter, so I thought I’d give them a go and I’ve knitted a few rows with them and they are quite lovely.

So back to the wool.  I constantly talk about Perendale wool because I love it, and as I become a more advanced beginner knitter, I am beginning to understand the difference in wool and the breeds of sheep, and have come to the conclsusion that perendale is my favourite.  I notice that the finished knitting is much smoother and it has no hairy pulley bits on it that create friction as I’m knitting.  I didn’t realise this until I had finished my garter stitch cardigan, then began knitting in Ashford wool which is a lot harsher to knit with.

 

I had a look on the Perendale Sheep Society’s website to get some info for you about this breed, and they state that the Perendale sheep was first bred by Sir Geoffery Peren, an agriculture professor at Massey University in 1956 and are a cross between a cheviot and a romney.

 

OK well thank you for popping in today!  Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a blessed  holiday season!  It’s been terrible here in Wellington in terms of weather, but apparently tomorrow (Christmas day) will be sunny with no wind, so cross your fingers for us!

It still hasn’t sunk in yet, for me… although the presents KB has wrapped beautifully for me are sitting under the potplant taunting me with their mystery…. I have one more shift of work to go until my holidays….. I think I’ve gone into emotional shutdown over work this month, so have no feelings about going to work all day, just bring on the holidays!  I can’t WAIT!

Lots and lots and lots and lots of love and Christmas blessings to you!

From Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Merry Christmas to Me!

  1. sara says:

    Merry Christmas to you both..its what we call “brass monkeys” outside..its currently -6 here where i am..i just want to thank you for your blog..its lovely and very inspirational to us begginner crocheters..that maybe one day we will be as good as you..
    thank you
    sara

  2. Debi Y. says:

    Have a Merry Christmas! :)

  3. marigold jam says:

    That wool looks stunning – wish I had some although I suspect I’d just keep it and stroke it and drool over it but not actually knit anything. Those sheep too are great – I have never heard of that breed but then maybe we don’t have them here. Yes it is cold – very, very cold and the snow is still lying about and beginning to look rather grey in town and alongside the roads. Still at least we are able to get out with the car now – I was beginning to get cabin fever!

    Hope you will have a lovely Christmas and that all those mystery packages will contain wonderful surprises for you. Give Raymond a stroke and wish him Happy Christmas – ours usually have a pot of fish past as their gift!

    Jane

  4. Penelope says:

    Wishing you and KB a very merry Christmas with wonder and joy, how I wish we could have some of your warm weather, it’s freeeeeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzzzing here, but we have a lovely log fire and hot chocolate to keep us going xox
    I love all of the wool in your pictures and think the natural brown is really lovely too, I tend to buy myself a birthday present, strange but true!
    Happy happy , enjoy xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxPenelope xox

  5. Joyce says:

    Dear Alice, oh those sheep have the cutest faces. I love your new wool stash. I have never knitted/crocheted with Perendale wool, but I love the sound of it and those colours are beautiful. Looking forward to seeing some lovely projects from them.
    Back to the kitchen for me. Have a wonderful holiday.

  6. Fiona says:

    Alice, have a lovely Christmas down there in my favourite part of the world. Yes – it’s totally cold and horrible in the northern hemisphere. We’ve got probably another 2-3 months before the temperature heads back above zero here in Canada… it doesn’t bear thinking about.

    Those sheep are just adorable!!!

  7. Dawn Marie says:

    Have a lovely Christmas. It’s -11 here in Scotland! Think I should have been born over on your continent lol. Merry Christmas!

  8. penelope dubois says:

    Oh the pictures of the sheep are suitable for framing! When you knit with gorgeous stuff, one becomes addicted! Love the colours!
    Have a wonderful Christmas and New years to you and KB!

  9. Vicki says:

    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a very Happy New Year. I am longing to crochet but have so much work sewing to attend to. Never mind must not complain. Thank you for your wonderful blog you are very clever and I LOVE those tea cosies. Best wishes Vicki

  10. Lee says:

    Hi Alice & KB.
    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and best wishes for 2011. It seems with all that beautiful wool there will be no time wasted in wondering what to make next.I just think those sheep are so cute. Glad they are bred for their wool and not the plate!!!!!
    Thanks for all your wise words and beautiful inspiring craft, as well as an insight into the delightful NZ.
    Enjoy your well-earned break.
    Love from Aus Lee

  11. Terrie says:

    It sure is cold here – still with sludgy snow and ‘ice bergs’ (my daughters name for icicles!)

    Ooooo love your new yarn – although the brown looks grey to me! Plus those sheepies are gorgeous – such pretty faces! x

  12. Kate says:

    Merry Christmas to you and Kb and Raymond! Thanks for sharing these adorable sheep with us-how bloody cute! I hope your new needles do the trick and that with ALL that wool you are gentle on yourself over the holidays,
    xxooKate

  13. Melissa says:

    The wool is lovely! I hope you, KB and the rest of your family have a wonderful holiday season. Blessed be!

  14. Hahnsmum . says:

    l`ve always loved sheep & actually have 6 living with us on our block here in downtown New England. Mine all have names, ”Elsie” & ”Agnes” ( named after my grandmother & her identical twin sister ), then theres Wobby, & Cedric, & the latest 2 bought in past yr ( the coloured pair )) are called Wam Wam, & Black Pearl.. My son was home & went with me to collect the last black wether, so Craig suggested we call him Wam Wam, as Craig lives at Wamuran..How droll !!!!!!! They were bought for grass munchers as we are on 2 acres.
    l go all gaa gaa when l see freshly bought yummy yarn..Oh & those colours.. To die for..
    Happy Christmas..
    Best Wishes,
    Pam C..
    New England,
    NSW, OZ..

  15. Hahnsmum . says:

    And that dear little face on that perendale sheep..So godamned cute..Kissable..Yes l cuddle my sheep & give them great big hugs..
    P.C.. New England, OZ

  16. Yes Alice Merry Christmas to you!! I hope you and KB have a lovely time and enjoy the festive holidays :-)

    Your wool is divine and that sheep is too cute…..I want One!!!

    I will have to try some of that yummy wool now that it is so cute inside its jumper :-)

  17. Alyson says:

    Beautiful photos of your stash, and such sweet little sheep! Yes, the weather is very cold in the Midwest region of the US, but we have been having a heat wave for the past week- temperatures above freezing! It’s looking like we’ll have a white Christmas. Merry Christmas wishes to you, KB, and Raymond!

  18. sandiart says:

    Beautiful wool and the carriers/makers of said wool, they have very cute faces.
    Have a wonderful Christmas Alice, KB and Raymond.
    xx Sandi

  19. marion says:

    Dear Alice,

    have a wonderful Christmas and Enjoy…
    Many Greetings,

    Marion

  20. Greetings from Wales in the UK. Very snowy here. Just commenting on the beauty of the wool and the cuteness of those sheep. Found your blog yesterday and it’s full of inspiration- thank you for sharing.
    Nadolig Llawen a Blwyddyn Newydd DDa. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
    Heather
    x

  21. Andrea says:

    There is nothing like a stash of new yarn! Gorgeous! Wishing you and your lady the happiest of Christmases! xx

  22. Ann Van Gampelaere (Belgium) says:

    Merry Christmas to you too and to cute little Raymond an KB too of course.
    And Thankyou so much for a year full of crochet joy and fabuleous patterns. XXX
    We are having a white Christmas here in Belgium which is quite exceptionel.
    Love, Ann

  23. Sandra Draper says:

    Your MOST delightful insights into the world of knitting, crocheting, crytals, sheep, the world and people in general, is so blessedly uplifting, inspirational, happy and healing; What a GREAT JOY you bring to all of us, who are lucky enough to connect with you and those within your realm.

    May peace and harmony, joy, love, light & laughter, forever surround you and yours on your journey through life…………………….
    you and KB and Raymond have a most meaningful & magical Xmas,

    LOVE & HUGS,
    Sandra XOXOXOXO

  24. I think that brown/grey wool would be perfect for tea cosies – forget that raglan jumper!!!

    Have a wonderful Christmas! I’m off to London to spend mine with my son, but I think all the woolshops will be closed (sob)…

  25. Emma Angel says:

    Such beautiful wool! Those sheep are very pretty.
    Wishing you, KB and Raymond a wonderful Christmas!
    x

  26. Louise says:

    Christmas blessings to you all.
    We may be freezing in the UK but that just means a greater need for a full range of tea cosies doesn’t it?!
    Love the colours of the wool, makes me want to march down to the wool shop and treat myself :-)

  27. Siobhan says:

    In my Christmas stocking I would like both yours and your friend’s new stashes of wool – I know it’s greedy but I couldn’t choose as I love all those gorgeous colours. Maybe one of those cute little sheep too – or perhaps it’s best to leave him with his friends! I think you will have finished work by now, and hopefully your holiday will have started, hurray! Thanks so much for your lovely blog, it’s lovely to visit as it’s colourful and happy and very cheering, as well as being such a good read too. Wishing you and yours including lovely Raymond a relaxing and wonderful Christmas. Hope you have a magical and happy 2011. Merry Christmas! xx

  28. lovestitch says:

    Alice, you always make me smile with your lovely posts! Thank you!
    Wishing you and yours a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year!!!

  29. Robin says:

    Thank you Alice and a very Merry Christmas to you and KB. I love all your yarn and I think the sheep are the cutiest ever. I have sheep down the road and I talk to them every time I go walking. My dog loves them too. Have a blessed Christmas, holiday and New Year too. xo Robin❤❉❤

  30. Linda says:

    You are so lucky living in a yarn producing country… I would love it, too… :) We are having some 3 local (Latvian) companies that produce yarn… and there is not much to choose from… The most popular one is Ogre Yarn (yeah – I know, nice name :D )

    Happy holiday to you and Raymond, and those around you! :)

Leave a Reply

