Christmas Shopping on Lambton Quay….

Hellooooo!!!

We survived our trip into the city shopping yesterday!  I don’t know how we did it, but we left home at 9.30am and didn’t arrive back home until 4.45!!!  What a day!  The above photo shows you the weather conditions of yesterday, not so beautiful and sunny, the bus even has it’s lights on…. that is one of the yellow busses I regularly catch around town, the bus company is having a bit of a problem at the moment, as they changed all the routes and made one-way streets into two way streets a few weeks ago, and since that happened they have been running people over… three of them the last I heard!

So Lambton Quay is the posh part of town where all of the business people do their business….

It is also the home of many, many jeans shops, and the jeans shopping mission was successful!  I would like to state here, that I HATE jeans shopping…. changing rooms of jeans shops are like self-esteem suction chambers where you walk in feeling good about yourself and within minutes feel like everything is wrong with you.  I don’t know a single person who enjoys the process of finding the perfect pair of jeans and am constantly amazed at how many gorgeous women have the same feelings around this!  What’s it like for you?  Do you persevere?  Or do you flag the whole process and wear different styles?!  This jeans shopping experience however rocked as it was over so fast, and off we went to Kirkaldie & Stains to visit their christmas shop….

So many lights and baubles….

Christmassy, sparkly, baubley goodness…

After about 20 minutes I announced to KB “right, I’ve had enough Christmas, we’re off!” and we headed back out into the drizzle to wander right up to the other end of town….

I did stop into Minerva, the gorgeous textile bookshop I showed you in my Cuba St post, and was delighted when the lovely lady behind the counter snuck up to me and said…”Crochet with Raymond?!”

“YEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”  I replied!  Thank you for the lovely things you said about my blog!  I love that a Wellingtonian reads this, and the book I want (and everyone who loves my knitted baby clothes wants it too!) is The Baby Knits Book by Debbie Bliss!

One lovely lady asked me to show pictures of our shopping!  I have to admit, I didn’t buy much, well, actually anything apart from jeans as I am so hyper-organised I made most of my gifts and have them wrapped already, but I couldn’t resist buying this stunning pair of earrings on our last stop as we headed to the bus stop!  We found an awesome market happening for the week in the community hall and I couldn’t leave these lightening strike studs behind… they’re made by Genivieve packer who is a highly talented artist and I love them so much! 

We ended up at the bus stop just in time to see the annual bad Santa convention heading into town….

Every year a bunch of idiot boys get together, dress up as Santa, get pissed and head into town to do naughty things… although I’m not sure what they plan on getting up to on Sunday afternoon…. this was but a few of them, I wish I got a picture of them all together!

Would you like to sit on their laps and tell them what you want for Christmas?

No, me neither!

5 more sleeps to go!!!!

Have a lovely day everyone and thank you for stopping by!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Other Ramdom Stuff, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Christmas Shopping on Lambton Quay….

  1. Joyce says:

    oh wow, how funny are those ‘santa’s’. Cheeky boys! I am glad you managed to get your jeans shopping out of the way. ‘iew’.

  2. Colette says:

    You blog really is fantastic. Fully enjoyed over her in Bridport, England. Your instructions are pretty fab too. How about a book, knitting and Crochet for beginners??????………….. You already have more then half………..

  3. Kate says:

    I am checking on blogs for some light relief after struggling and eventually resorting to frogging a ravelry pattern cloche for the past hour…I will work it out- but oh boy learning new stuff on my holidays seems wrong! ;o)
    It’s so sweet to think of people approaching you because of your blog-how cool is that?!
    It’s been a grey day here, I am loving it! I hope you can avoid christmas shopping experiences for the rest of the season :o)

  4. marigold jam says:

    Glad you had a successful shopping trip. How great to be recognised in the shop! Love the photos of the Christmas decorations and those bad Santas too! No I wouldn’t want to sit on their laps though I dare say they wouldn’t think much of it either!

    Have a wonderful Christmas.

    Jane

  5. Siobhan says:

    Nice baubles – the little flower lights are very pretty. Was going to say something about those bad Santa’s – realised just in time how rude it sounded! But no, I wouldn’t like to sit on their lap! Jeans are a pain aren’t they? Once I find somewhere where the fit is good I stay with them while I can. Sometimes they are cheap, other times more expensive. While in the changing room I avert eyes from mirror until jeans are on – the lighting is terrible and just gives you an unnecessary fright! I have a problem if between sizes. If I go thinner, the jeans fit no problem in a standard size from most places. If I go fatter to fit next size, the jeans fit but I don’t like how they look so much. I would like the in-between size best though! I tend to go shopping for jeans when at smaller size as it is just easier; my weight is quite static but as Christmas is coming, I dare say this goose will be getting a little bit fatter over the next couple of weeks!

  6. Robin says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely day and lots of excitement, too. The xmas baubles were so pretty. By the way I am so jealous you made so many gifts…..that is my goal next year starting on Jan. 2011.. I will start a stash of gifts for family and friends. I love making gifts, I just never start early enough. Have a wonderful day. AND yes I don’t enjoy buying jeans either, just wearing them!!!!!! xo Robin❤

  7. Casey says:

    yay for successful shopping trips! I still have a couple gifts to buy but I’ve been avoiding going out like the plague! as long as I have them bought & wrapped by Thursday, I’m good.

    From the pictures of the boys, I don’t think I’d want to sit on their laps… unless there’s a hottie buried in there somewhere! hehe

  8. When people recognize …….while your out and about….Well ….Your famous..lol

  9. Mar says:

    It looks like after all you had a very good day!!!
    Greetings from Canada!!

  10. Melissa says:

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend! Love the tea cozy and am so happy your jean shopping went well. I HATE shopping for clothes. It truly is an exercise in frustration.

    I think if one of those Santas asked me to sit on their laps, I’d run in the other directions!

    Have a wonderful day!

  11. Marla says:

    Merry Christmas to you all Alice, KB and Raymond too!! Your pictures are lovely. Looking forward to hearing more from you in the new year!

  12. Elaine says:

    sounds like a great day Alice – but those Santa – yuck!

  13. Penelope says:

    It’s about time you had some real recognition Alice ! As for the Santa’s … not really my cup of tea either , looks like they are about to get up to some cheeky business ;0)
    I also really hate shopping for jeans, I usually only find a pair that appeals to me when I am shopping for anything but jeans!!! Well done for enduring the agony and now you can enjoy the ecstasy of having them xox xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxP

  14. Cuckoo says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond,
    I have just spent a good few hours over the past couple of days spinning through your blog, feeling all gee’d up to create but just needing to click on the next post, and the next and the next. So I’ve done nothing! But now I’m raring to go. On my list of Raymond inspired things to do are: a mandala (of course), apple coaster, shell cluster purse, tea cozy and a boy beanie hat for my new son who is due in late Feb. All crocheted as I don’t knit well.
    Your lotus mandala prayer flag, if turned upside down would be a lovely Christmas decoration.
    As for the Gay thing you spoke of recently, I have been told that there is a definate possibilty of one of my boys being gay. I say “Fabulous” as long as he is comfortable with himself and has a smile on his face then I’m all for it. Gay Schmay, who cares. Why is it such a big deal? Besides, and I reveal a secret here as I am anonymous on my blog, my name is Gayna! And my iPhone likes to change it to Gayness all the time and I let it.
    xx
    ps what’s am “FO”? I must have missed that.
    pps I came to you through Sandiart and tangled happy, incase you wondered!

  15. Alyson says:

    Glad to hear your shopping trip was a success, and congrats on your recognition! As for those cheeky Santas, well idiocy is a universal problem. We have them in the States, too!

    I am about to start my Christmas vacation, and I’m planning to practice my knitting a bit more. My mother-in-law taught me the basics, and I caught on quickly, but my work is rather ugly. Crochet is so much easier for me! Have a joyous holiday! Lots of love to Raymond!

  16. Josie says:

    ROFLMAO on those Santas! My teenage boys told me what ‘roflmao’ is and I use this expression sparingly, but so heartily here. Speaking of expression, you have a wonderful ‘voice’ and it’s a joy to read your posts.

Leave a Reply

