Rosy Tea Cozy!

Good Morning to you!!!!!!

It’s very early on Sunday morning as I type this, I had to get up early as I have such a fun day off planned!  As usual I’ve been to the vege market, and very soon, KB and I are heading into the city to do some Christmas shopping.  We’re heading to a part of town I rarely visit, called Lambton Quay which is the “Golden Mile” in Wellington, where all the business people hang out and spend their money…. It’s not usually our scene but we’re going jeans shopping and all of the good jeans shops are down there, plus, the Kirkaldie & Stains Christmas shop which we are going to visit too!  Remember how I showed you Cuba St in this post?  Well, I’m going to take my camera and will hopefully get some good pictures of this part of town for you too!  Watch this space!  Oooh I’m soooo excited about our trip into town!

I’m going to show you my latest tea cozy today, but first, some Raymond news…. It’s been a while since I’ve told you about his antics, and yesterday he was pretty funny…. funny enough to get my camera out in fact…. I was wrapping presents for my family and had an empty small brown paper bag at the end…. I know Raymond likes bags because the last time I wrapped presents, he got in a bag and fell asleep, but I wondered about this bag, after all, he wouldn’t be able to fit in it completely, so I put it on the floor and put one of his mouse toys in it.  Game on…. he is now obsessed with his brown paper bag and from anywhere in the house you can hear woosh as he dives into it!

Simple minds, simple pleasures….

OK, enough about Raymond, lets enjoy some crochet!  So as you know, this tea cozy was ordered by my lovely friend to send to her lovely daughter who is currently living in the UK for her birthday.  She bought the spring explosion tea cozy and apparently has been admiring it in her kitchen since, which makes me soooooo happy!  I love how my crochet brings pleasure into people’s lives, it makes it even more worthwhile.  So I wanted to make her daughter’s one extra special as I know how much my friend loves her daughter, so I got super creative, and ended up with a tea cozy that I want for myself!!!!!  Noooooo!!!

I didn’t want to make the exact same one as before, so made this one in blue, with different types of crochet roses on top in pinks and reds…. with added sparkly beads, can you see them in the centre of some of the flowers?  They’re just discrete, this is a tea cozy, not a stripper, and I think it looks fantabulous.

Tea pot love.

I braved the dreaded mall the other day on my lunchbreak, and went into one of those homeware stores that sells all these fun kitcheny things that are absolutely unnecessary, but make kitchens soooooooo much prettier and more fun to cook in!  I was on a hunt for a new tea pot because the one that the granny tea cozy fits was just too squat, and I found the loveliest shaped pot (see picture above) and can you believe, it was two for the price of one????  KB was not amused, apparently we have far too many tea pots now, and nowhere to store them in our wee kitchen.  These new tea pots are fantastic and as I was making this cozy, I had about three new designs for cozies pop into my mind’s eye, so I hope you like tea cozies because you’ll be seeing a few in the coming months!

Tea from a pot with a cozy like this is sure to be a deeply healing brew!

Now, a few people asked where I put the button on my last cozies…. I tried to explain in words but obviously confused people instead!  So I took a picture of this one’s button…. KB looked over my shoulder as I was cropping these and said: “It looks like you’ve taken a picture of the tea-pot’s arse.”  She’s right I think, I feel like I have violated my tea pot a bit, but these are the lengths I go to for you people….

Remember that if you would like a tutorial for how to make one of these, it is here!

I’ve had a few comments from lovely people saying that they have been inspired to learn how to knit after seeing my little knitted clothes!  Thank you!  What a lovely thing to say!  Please remember that I am NOT a talented knitter… I am comfortable with recognising my talents, so am not being coy here!  Crochet is definitely the one I am better at out of the two disciplines, so anything I knit is either very easy and something a beginner is capable of, or I get my Mum to do the hard bits ha ha ha.  However, it’s interesting… as I continue along my knitting journey, I’m noticing that I’m understanding gauge, I’m reading patterns without closing the book, trembling with anxiety over terms like skpo and psso and I’m feeling more confident on the whole!  My advice to any beginner knitter is:  Don’t make a garter stitch scarf as your first project, they are boring and will put you off knitting for good!  Make something like a basic baby hat where you go knit, knit, knit, then knit two stitches together until you have none left then sew up the seam.  It is much more gratifying and will not take you a year!!!!!  Have fun!  I’m excited to see and hear what you make!

OK then, that’s me for today… I’m off to nag poor KB about getting dressed so we can go on our trip into town!

Have yourselves a lovely day!  Wishing you many wonderful things!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Flowers, Raymond Appreciation, Tea Cozies!, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Rosy Tea Cozy!

  1. marigold jam says:

    I was just wishing there was a pattern for this stunning tea cosy and then as I read on down I see there is! Thanks for that I must have a go as it is such a lovely piece of art not to mention useful too. Hope you had a good time at the shops – not much shopping getting done here with all the snow we are almost at a standstill!

    Jane

  2. Joya Roy says:

    there is something a bit lurid about how the teapot peaks out of it’s cozy, but i’m sure it’ll recover from your indecent exposures. :) lol!

  3. Pati from London says:

    That is ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!!!!! I just love it!! I also love coming here to your blog for a bit of sunshine! The snow is thick in London and even though it is beautiful to look at, it’s not practical….
    Thanks Alice for your great inspirational work! Pati x

  4. Pammy Sue says:

    “It’s a tea cozy, not a stripper.” Ha-ha-ha! I loved that.

  5. Pammy Sue says:

    Oh, and I love the tea cozy too!

  6. Josie says:

    Your blog is such a great place to visit…stopped dead in my tracks when I saw your tea cozy. Truly beautiful knit and crochet work here :-)

  7. Deanne says:

    Loving the tea cozy – too bad we don’t drink tea here in the States! I don’t even own a tea pot! May have to make one for my sister-in-law who lives in England – after I finish all my other projects, that is! :)

    Thanks for all your wonderful inspiration!
    Deanne

  8. Anne says:

    I had a good laugh at the pictures of Raymond he is so cute. My little Lou who 3& 1/2 loves seeing his pictures, he a cat lover too like his Mummy. My Mums and Dad next door neighbour has a siamese cat called Buster he such a funny cat he usually hanging out the front Lou and I our cat fix Buster loves cuddles and kids (we don’t have any pets because we renting most landlords don’t like pets I had to give up my chook a few moves ago it broke my heart.) Our land Lord where we are now is a vet he said we could have a cat. I would love to get a Blue Burmese. I still don’t feel settled enough to have another pet but when I see pictures Raymond and other cats on blogs I start getting clucky LOL…………:) To get a cat.

    Now for your Tea Cozy it’s BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!…………………….I can see how hard it would be not to keep it. You should check out an lady on my blog roll called “Grand Purl Baa” her blog is about tea cozys and she makes beautiful Tea Cozy as well.
    I hope you had a great day out shoping. I got some Beautiful red Jo sharp Wool yesterday. I have all these project to do next year. Luckly it seem to be always cold up here in the upper Mountians. I seem to be wearing Jumper and Cardigans all year round………..LOL

    Hope you have a lovely day too ….:)

  9. Andrea says:

    Gorgeous! Gorgeous, funny cat. Gorgeous funky teapot dress. xx

  10. Sandra Draper says:

    WOOOOOOOW!!! Each cozy is even more delightful than the last, your eye for beauty and your endless inspiration and imagination is astounding, with all else that you cram into your hectic life!!! You have motivation to the max, your mum must be extremely proud of such a talented daughter, who obviously takes after her mum in that way.

    The Debblie Bliss book that we use is titled, “the baby knits book”, would highly recommend it to anyone knitting for babies and young children, $50:00 at Nancys Embroidery in Wellington.

    Have an extra~exciting day at the Xmas Grotto @ Kirkcaldies, I can just imagine you two causing havoc in there like two naughty kids!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Toodleloo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Sandra XOXOXOXOXOXO:)

  11. Louise says:

    What a silly cat that sweet Raymond is! Is bag antics made me smile. LOVE your latest tea cosy! How on earth do you give these wonderful creations away?
    Hope you had a fab shopping trip and a lovely Sunday :-)

  12. Robin says:

    ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    YOU HAVE OUTDONE YOURSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    LUCKY PERSON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    XOXO ROBIN ❤❉❤

  13. Hahnsmum . says:

    Yr cosy is just lovely..l personally louve teacosys..l dont know if you all know or not but there is a fantastic teacosy & some freebie patterns on http://www.grandpurlbaa.com. l went to one of Loanis workshops last May at Nundle Woollen Mill..Was to die for, trust me.. l am only a very plain knitter ( havent the patience for fiddly bits, etc ) So one can find easy peesey patterns on that site..BUT hey this blog of Alices is definately my favorite. We used to have a Mother Puss who loved paper bags also.. Makes me sad a little thinking of our dearest old puss.. luv,
    Pam Clarke.
    New England, NSW, OZ..

  14. Hahnsmum . says:

    AND let all of us know in yr next blog what you bought in Wellington.
    Regards, P.C..
    New England, NSW

  15. Vicki says:

    Thank you so much for all your posts I can’t wait to get started on those flowers you are truly an inspiration!

  16. Sara says:

    You made me laugh with your “it’s a tea cozy, not a stripper” comment :) It really is adorable and I love the little gems in the flowers. Nice touch :)

  17. Lee says:

    Just gorgeous!!! Love my visits with you. You brighten my day and inspire me too.
    Loads of Chrissie cheer from downunder. Best wishes for 2011.
    Cheers
    Lee

  18. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice, oh this tea cosy is fabulous. What lovely colours you have here. Your knitting is just beautiful and perfectly gauged (is that the right ‘speak’?). All the best with your jeans shopping (ugg) I dislike jeans shopping and avoid it where possible. I do love my jeans, however, struggle to get a pair that are comfy enough to wear and enjoy for the whole day. I am a bit of a tights and skirty girl myself. As for not being a talented knitter, ummmm, well I must disagree here, I think your knitting skills are five star! Your stitches are so lovely and neat, there are no ‘bulgy’ bits at all. I love your creations. Have a wonderful week at your place.

  19. MonikaRose says:

    Hello and thank you for visiting my finished granny mandala. The colors worked great, love them too. Thinking of another, hmmm, what colors to choose, love the purples, oranges and the greens. Love the blue tea cozy, love to try and make one, just do not have a tea pot…anyways, great shot of the fog over the mountain. Have a happy christmas and ur puddy cat is just so beautiful :)

  20. Louise says:

    Lovely cosy. I am on with Mary poppins one, its a bit involved though. I wish i’d done yours instead.

  21. Oh, Raymond, you’re so adorable! I love the paper bag story. And I looove that tea cozy! It’s so beautiful. Great suggestion with the knitting too. I have only attempted the most basic stitches once – and, admittedly, got a little bored. Next time, I will definitely make something a little more fun like a baby hat!
    Have fun shopping!
    Em

  22. Kelly says:

    Your tea cozy is so sweet and so is your other. What size teapot do they fit? 2 cup? 6 cup? I would love to make one for my daughter who has a new fondness for tea. ~Kelly

    unDeniably Domestic

  23. kiwiyarns says:

    Gorgeous! Your tea cosies are beautiful works of art. Just been catching up on your last few posts – I love how sunset has come out! That cardigan is so pretty!

  24. Handysandy says:

    Hello Alice, looking for a granny ‘around’ I found your granny mandalas! Thank you for sharring the pattern. I will use it to cover our music stool. I also like the tea cosy very much. Won’t be the last time I visit your blog! Kind regards from Holland, Sandra

  25. jalilah says:

    i love your work
    what kind of yarn you used
    …..
    by the way
    am from middle east and i always watch your blog
    love it sooo much

  26. Siobhan says:

    Silly Raymond! But so very cute, lovely to see him having some fun. Your cosy is gorgeous – love those flowers and those colours, it looks so colourful and vibrant. The lucky person who is getting this will just love it I know! I know what you mean about knitting – I just find crochet easier to understand in terms of how it works, but I really do love how knitting looks and I enjoy doing it too as it gives me a bit of a challenge. However, your stuff looks pretty good so I think you are a bit too modest! – I was in Greenwich Market a couple of days ago (a craft/handmade/vintage market) and there was a beautiful stall full of little knitted cardies and dresses and I did think that the little kimono, cardigan and hats you made would have felt very happy there and been snapped up pronto. Hope you really enjoy your hard earned break when it gets here – just a few days now until you can put your feet up. It’s always lovely to come and read your blog and see what you have been doing; thanks for all the lovely things you show us and for being such an entertaining and interesting read!

  27. Gail says:

    The tea cosy is really lovely, I shall have to add it to my growing list of things to make, a few are from your blog. I love the colors you use. Gail

  28. Marla says:

    Pretty funny for an 11 year old cat! I wish my 8 year old Angel waws that active but she seems to be on her last legs possibly with kidney/bladder problems. I enjoy hearing about Raymond as I’m a cat lover.

    Your teapot cozys have made me want a teapot if only for decoration so I can make cozys for it too!

  29. sumea says:

    i love your blog, it’s fabulous!
    your creations are lovely
    and raymond is beautiful too xxx

  30. Loani Prior says:

    Dear Alice and Raymond
    Fabuloso gorgeous beautiful tea cosy. Woo hoo. Alice you do tea cosies proud. Just loving loving the colours you use.

    Thank you for saying hello over at QOTCT. Being a fellow tea cosy aficionado perhaps you would like to join our community blog http://www.wildforteacosies.blogspot.com
    Have a look, see what you think.

    Have a lovely Christmas
    Loani and Wes (The Cat)

  31. Pingback: Learning to knit again « Sweet Mabel

Leave a Reply

