A Sunset in Garter

Hellooooo!!!!!

It is getting soooooooo close to Christmas!  Do you love this tree?  It belongs to my fabulous colleague.  Last night we had our volunteers christmas party which was so much fun, and this awesome tree was there at the entrance to greet everyone as they arrived!

It was such a great evening, and despite the fact that I don’t smoke or drink, I feel like I smoked a packet of cigarettes and drank a bottle of wine last night…. I’m empathing what everyone else is feeling today possibly!  Either that, or I talked and laughed so much I’ve given myself a sore throat!  (More likely explanation!)  I’ve got this morning off and am not due anywhere until 2pm today, so have plans to relax on the day bed, sift through the huge amount of hilarious photos on my camera, and finish my knitting too!

Ah the knitting…. I’ve been telling you about my one piece garter stitch cardigan for a few posts now, and I finally got around to taking pictures of the book it came from!  It’s Debbie Bliss of course, because she makes the loveliest simple knit patterns, and I have loved knitting this wee one!

It has taken almost a week to make and I haven’t finished yet!  I’m sooo close to the end, but I’ve enjoyed it so much I’m not sick of it yet which is unusual for me!  I’m going to knit another in green to put in my Mum’s shop in my Summer holidays which are so close right now I can smell the sunscreen and hear the cicadas!

I lay it out on the floor and took a terrible picture to show you…. I’m sorry about the quality of the shot!

Aren’t these colours just beautiful!  It’s called Sunset and really does look like a beautiful sunset, I can see it!

The only problem with this cardigan is…. This colourway is discontinued and I’ve almost run out of wool!  Oooooooooooooooooooooooh!  So cross your fingers for me that I’ll finish these last 20 rows!

I’m planning to finish it today, but will have to put it aside for a week or so, as I have been comissioned (!) yes… commissioned by my LOVELY friend to make a tea cozy for her daughter for her birthday in January…. this lovely friend loved my spring explosion tea cozy so much I sold it to her, and her daughter loved it so much she needed one too…. so I have a deadline for next monday and am feeling creatively inspired!  In fact, I am frighteningly inspired right now…. for the last 6 weeks or so I’ve been struggling with deciding what to make etc etc, but now… and this coincides curiously with me being very busy with writing assignments (!) I have so many ideas running around my mind and through my veins, all I can think of is creating beauty in wool!

So on that note, I’m off to finish this knitting so I can get on with my cozy!  Wishing you a lovely day wherever you are!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting Baby Clothes!, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Sunset in Garter

  1. Casey says:

    ooh, I hope you have enough yarn!!

    I love that tree, maybe next year I’ll feel more in the decorating spirit and I’ll track one down.

  2. Anne says:

    Beautiful colours I hope there is enough wool to finish it.
    Im working on a jumper at the monent just finished two arms. Now I have the back to knitt up and finish the front and figure out how to knit the neck which is a cowl neck line.
    Happy Knitting…:)

  3. Louise says:

    Love the colours of the cardigan, I think I might like one for myself! I’ve been searching for a really simple one to make for myself. It’s a shame this pattern isn’t in a large size :-)
    Have a lovely day.

  4. Sherry Buenrostro says:

    Wonderful post!! Soooo newsy….

  5. moleymakes says:

    Oooh that’s a lovely colour. I’m sure the lucky little girl will look really sweet in it :)

    Fingers crossed you have enough. There’s nothing worse than finding you’re a ball too short …. especially if it’s been discontinued.

  6. Hahnsmum . says:

    Hi There Alice, That BEAUTIFUL child model in that pic ..What a cutie..l have knitted almost that same exact cardi for a friends bub..So easy, eh !! Actually its very similiar to the Aids BAbies jumper patterns we used for our dear little South African babies.. Really truly like your wool colour..Bright & great for a little child.. l am ”flat out” too making yr gorgeous mandala poyholders for friends Chrissy presents..They are really addictive. Keep up the good work..Lots luv, Hahnsmum. New England, NSW, OZ..

  7. Deanne says:

    Hi Alice,
    I know what you mean regarding feeling hung over after a party when you don’t drink or smoke. Had the same problem on Sunday morning after the hubby’s work party. I felt TERRIBLE, but had nothing but water all night!

    Hope you don’t run out of wool before you finish the cardigan (which is gorgeous, by the way)! I’m impressed with how easy garments are for you to make – mine never seem to come out quite right!

    I’ve made a christmassy african flower mandala potholder using your pattern – it’s turned out well – I shall get a photo posted soon! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Deanne

  8. Sara says:

    So happy you liked it! There was no way to chose just one so I just had to. Sounds like a lovely time at the party! Excited to see what you create when you are frighteningly inspired. :) Sara…

  9. Sara says:

    I have my fingers crossed for you! That is an adorable little cardigan and it would be such a shame to run out before you are done. Good luck!

  10. lovestitch says:

    Wow, awesome!!! Just love all your goodness! Really be inspired by you! :)

    • Sandra Draper says:

      Hi Alice,

      What a stunning tree, whoever owns that must have such wonderful taste!!!!!!! Love the garter stitch jumper, you are soooooooooo very clever, might have to make one two (copy~cat!!) Yep, summer is definitely closing in, yeehah, time soon to blob, knit and sew, now thats what I call good self~care and life~balance!!!!
      Thanks for your oh~so~interesting and gorgeous blogs, they really brighten up the days!!
      Love & Hugs to you and KB :) SandraXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  11. Melissa says:

    The sweater is adorable. I hope you have enough yarn! The tree is too cute!

  12. Penelope says:

    Hi Alice, just LOVE the sunset hues of you yarn, really hope you have enough for those last rows! Eeeek nothing worse than being a few meters short! That is such brill news about you tea cosy, I hope you ae not under charging for it. Enjoy you beautiful, warm balmy days…I think we ae duesom more snow at the end of the week!!!! xxxxxP

Leave a Reply

