10 things…..

Hellooooo!!!

How are you all doing this weekend?!  I hope you’re all well…. I make a point of banishing all media from my home, but when I was at work yesterday I heard on the radio that Scotland is having terribly cold weather and it is snowing like crazy over there…. Is this true Scottish bloggers?  Gosh that’s early…. however, Summer seems to have come early on this end of the planet and *WOW* winter has disappeared from my consciousness!  It’s like we never had it and are living in an eternal summer… it’s fascinating to watch the rhythms of the earth change over time.

Lucky meeeeeeeeee…. (again)….. I was awarded for the THIRD time this week, the “beautiful blog” award, this time by Robin from My nest of yarn and buttons  (thank you! And thank you to the darlings who awarded it to me who I mentioned in the last post too!)  Ooh… make sure you pop over to Robins as I just saw that she has made a Granny Tea Cozy.  And it’s gorgeous!  I’ve been dying for someone to make one, so thank you Robin!  Great work!

So back to the award… I don’t know how to put the picture up on mine, so I’ll have to skip to the second bit.  10 things about me….. this is the scary bit…..  But I quite like reading little bits about my blog friends, so I’m sure my blog friends would like to read a little bit about me, so here goes!!! 

1.  I’m quite shy.  I can already hear the few friends of mine who read this snort loudly with laughter and say “you are not!”  But it’s true…. quite shy and have been probably since I was a teenager……  I hide it quite well though….

Ummmmmmmmmm….. this is ridiculous…. I’m getting writer’s block….

2.  My favourite foods are anything involving chick peas and pretty much any type of cake except the lemony or orangey ones… but if they have icing I’ll eat them too…..

3.  I have two younger sisters, Sarah aged 28 and Ruth aged 25 and I boss them around chronically.

4.  I’m passionate about natural healing and practice crystal healing and Reiki… I’m a Reiki Master which means I’m qualified to teach and attune people through the four levels of Reiki… I love it and the changes it has brought into my life since I had my first attunement in 2004 are beyond imagining….

5.  Some of you may know this, but I am just finishing my second year of a degree in Counselling…. I decided to do this degree to complement my natural healing in a mind body spirit way, but now that I am immersed in working in Mental Health, I’m loving it and have lost all direction and purpose in life!

6.  I went skinny dipping in the Ocean at the very very tip of the North Island at a beach called Spirits Bay two years ago…. Spirits Bay is where the spirits of people who have passed over leave the Earth for Heaven… and is an amazingly beautiful  and sacred spot.

7.  In order to entice my beloved KB out on a first date with me, I rang her up and asked her if she would like to go tree hugging at the Botanical Gardens.  How could you say no to an invite like that?!

8.  I suffered from a nasty bout of depression from age 17-24…. If only I had discovered crochet back then, my life would probably be quite different!

9.  At age 20 I realised that I was a lesbian. When I told my Mum she said “well, I had three daughters, I expected one of you to be…”  *THANK YOU* Mum….. that one statement made you the best Mum ever and I am so grateful to you for being so accepting.  There are so many people in the world who are against gay people, which can make society an uncomfortable place for us to live in and I’m lucky to have such an accepting family…. I have learned over the last 10 years what discrimination can look like, so now never take for granted the beautiful accepting people in the world.  *Love* to you, accepting peoples!

10.  I love New Zealand, oh how I love the country I was born in, it is the most amazing place ever and I hope that many of my blog friends make it here to enjoy to perfection that is this place!  I’m passionate about preserving the land…. I pulled a picture from the archives of me at a protest this year which occured when our new Prime Minister declared it was time to start mining our national parks….. Yes, because that’s a great idea……

The Government said “mine” and New Zealand said “ours” and from this small protest in Wellington came New Zealand’s biggest protest ever in Auckland a few weeks later… since then, not a peep from the Government.  Good stuff New Zealand! (Papatuanuku means Earth BTW)

OK then, well that’s me…. I hope you enjoyed getting to know me a bit better…. A big part of me wants to delete this draft but I’m going to close my eyes and hit publish!

Now I’m meant to pass this on, but as I couldn’t get the picture off other blogs, I’m going to pass it on in spirit and tell you about three blogs I love!  Make sure you go and visit them!  And for these three bloggers, if you can work out how to get the picture from Robin’s blog onto yours, do it!!!!!

OK.  Louise at Gephart836 you are a lovely soul and I love that you were one of my first two blog friends, you’re the best XXXX

Jenni from Baame Kniits you are my other first blog friend, thank you for the lovely support and kind words you write on every single post, I love and appreciate it heaps XXX

Lastly but not leastly, my new friend Wei Siew who is not only my friend but also a fellow Wellingtonian blogger at Kiwiyarns Knits…. Wei Siew is a master hat knitter and posts many amazing patterns for free on her lovely blog, plus, she is an expert on New Zealand wool and her blog is just fascinating.  Jenni, you’ll love it, make sure you go and introduce yourself!  Wei Siew is the lovely lady who sold me the Perendale wool a few weeks ago and is a terrible enabler… I’m concerned that I may need to set up an AP into her account as she has the best taste in wool and sells it at such great prices!  Thank you Wei Siew!!!

OK, I’m off, I have knitting to do and chocolate to eat… plus a terribly grumpy mood to sleep off!  Pop in tomorrow won’t you!  I’m posting my finished Raglan Sweater knitted with some of the Perendale I just mentioned!  It’s very cute!  See you then….

Lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxx

p.s All photos except the protest pic were taken from the same spot at our last home in the Far North pictured below.  It was pure magic as you can see.   I’m feeling a bit homesick posting these pics!  XXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Eco-Friendly Musings, Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 10 things…..

  1. Planet Penny says:

    Thanks for sharing so much with us, Alice. It’s sometimes scary to hit the publish button isn’t it? Congratulations on being such a beautiful blogger! Those photos are beautiful. The cold and snow is gradually working it’s way down the UK from Scotland and we’re all freezing here! Hope you are having a great weekend, Penny and Higgins xx

  2. Andrea says:

    Fantastic post and gorgeous pics. I am looking out of my window at snow…vry pretty but I prefer the sun! You sound like a passionate and commited person and the kind of gal I would love to natter with over a pot of tea! Love your blog xx

  3. marigold jam says:

    Can’t speak for Scotland but we have a covering of snow here in the south west today and it’s sooo cold! Love the photos of NZ and thanks for sharing your 10 things with us. It’s quite scary opening oneself up isn’t it? Hope your mood will be better today after a sleep.

    Jane

  4. Thank you very much for sharing such a great post. Personally i love the snow and feel much more comfortable and calm in the cold environment rather than summer times.

  5. Chris says:

    Great post Alice!!
    Thanks for sharing so much of yourself with us here in blog land, it’s great to get to know you better.
    I love your blog and all the stuff you make.
    Have a great weekend

    Best Wishes

    Chris

  6. Hahnsmum . says:

    Well l still think yr blog is the bestest by far..l come in every day now- and truly enjoy it all.. l too absolutely love crochet- prob said that b4.. Keep up the great blogging..Yr photos of yr last home are just lovely.. Best Wishes, Hahnsmum..

  7. Penelope says:

    Oh Alice, well done in going for it, It’s so good to know you better and I am really impressed with your honesty, that really shines through especially when you are a little shy x The photos are heavenly and one day I might make it down south, NZ generally appeals more to me than Australia if I had the cash to flit off somewhere.
    As for us it started snowing this morning !!!!!!!!!!! heeee haaaaaa check out my blog for some photos, and congrats on all your awards, if any blogger deserves them it should be YOU xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxlove and hugs P xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  8. Casey says:

    I loved reading this post :) The pictures are beautiful too!

  9. Debra George says:

    Alice, I think if you right click over the blog award picture on Robin’s blog, it will then open up in a new window where you can click on it again and choose ‘save picture as’ and save it on your system. Then you can insert it into your blog as usual. Hope this works! Debs. xx

  10. Trekky says:

    Brrrr. Yep, we have snow in Scotland! Thankfully not too much in Glasgow, but the east side of the country has lots.

  11. Pammy Sue says:

    Just lovely. I’m glad you didn’t delete it. I enjoyed reading it and seeing all of the great pictures!

  12. marlene bullen says:

    Hi alice,
    just spoken to pauls mum and she says it is like a winter wonderland, this is the second year that the UK has had bad snow looks very beautiful though, had to rub it in that it is 20 odd degrees and we sat out on the deck until 8pm drinking southern comfort best way to finish a day I say….

  13. lyn says:

    Yes Scotland and the North East of England has it bad but only a prinkling here in West Yorkshire!
    love this post
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  14. lyn says:

    that was suppose to say SPRINKLING!
    x

  15. Monica Huete says:

    Well, I am not sure about Scotland but here in Spain we are having a very rainy and cold weekend … what else can I say – Winter is here … :S

    Alice, your photos are lovely, congrats !!!

  16. penelope dubois says:

    I admire you for being so honest! Good for you. Been admiring your colourful blog for a while and one of my Christmas presents to make is the Potholder in my daughter’s colours for her kitchen.

  17. frou-frou says:

    Hi Alice

    Yup lots of snow in Scotland now and more to come overnight / tomorrow. Problem Is I’m meant to be driving from here back to Manchester tomorrow and thinking that may not be wise now!!

    I shall decide tomorrow when I see what the road reports and weather say tomorrow

    Fiona x

  18. Denise says:

    It was nice to learn 10 things about you. I just don’t understand why some people have to judgmental about how others live. You’re a beautiful person and that’s all that matters.

  19. Lauranne says:

    hi from one of your french fans!! loving soooo much your website! I come here everyday and enjoy it so much! thank you for your colours and crocheting wonders!
    wish you the best (and also for you cat!)

  20. Linda says:

    Thanks for this wonderful post!
    I can report from Latvia (not so far from Scottland) – yes, it is snowing all week. Now it is -8 C. Winter is finally here :)

  21. kiwiyarns says:

    *Blush* That was very sweet of you to mention me. I’m touched and happy to have you as a friend. Your award as beautiful blogger is well deserved. Thanks for sharing 10 things – it’s great to know more about you!

  22. Jennifer says:

    Yip, can confirm lots of snow in Scotland, though not so much in the Clyde Valley here (3 inches perhaps?).

    Collie dog wants to play “Kick Snow At Me” game again ………. after being out playing and walking in snow for around two hours today already. She just loves the snow. (The plus point is that her furry paws are nice and clean when she comes into the house).

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful sense of colour and design with us. Hopefully this will shorten our long dark winter months, up here in the North!

  23. Amareke says:

    Hi Alice- what a great post! Well deserved award- I love the joy and colour of your blog.
    I must be in the only place in the UK without snow( Liverpool)! Frosty yes, but blue cloudless skies here.
    Thank you for sharing- what an interesting life path you are on…mine is different but also never was straight and dull. I always said I would rather my life be a rollercoaster than a roundabout.
    x

    Cathy

  24. Elaine says:

    yup, been snowed in for a few days here in NE Scotland, it’s getting ridiculous now, my car is stuck in the drive and we are walking everywhere in the deep snow (no bad thing I guess) lots of opportunities for staying inside and doing cosy things. Wouldn’t mind a bit of crocheting in a hot sunny garden though!

  25. Beautiful Post….just right for the Beautiful Blog Award, which thankyou by the way for passing it onto me…I hope I can be as brave as you and hit the publish button :-) Great to learn more about you and see all those lovely photos :-) PS Just posted about your Tea Cosie Tutorial :-) Now to see if I can get the award picture to my blog??

  26. kate says:

    I apologise if I commented twice on this post?? My silly old computer is freezing up and being well…computery! Anyhoo-congrats-you deserve all these awards. I love your ten things, a great read and totally beautiful photos too. Did you take all these!? They are gorgeous-what a multi talented creative woman you are. Glad you survived your depression and are here this day, proud and generous and blogging for all enjoy, xxooKate

Leave a Reply

