Shading Part 2: Adding new colours…..

Hellooooo!!!!!

It has been another stunningly beautiful day here in Wellington, all week has been pretty perfect in fact!  I’ve had a rare day off today and spent it getting my hair cut…. a picture may follow soon if I dare!  As well as being pampered by the lovely hairdresser, I whipped up another tissue box cover, this time for my own office as you remember that I am suffering from extreme tissue box envy at my work now.

So for my new one I wanted to add colours which don’t really flow into each other on the colour spectrum, which is a wee bit more difficult than shading in just one or two colours which match like pink and purple do.  Also, I wanted to use 15 different colours instead of shading from pink to purple then back to pink.  If you have no idea what I’m banging on about, have a quick read of my last post and you’ll get the idea!

I wanted the tissue box cover to match the mandala on my table (blue, purple and green) and also match the big Buddha batik I have on the wall behind it which has lots of red and pink in it.  Thus, needed the colours to flow: pink-red-green-blue-purple.

Easy!

I made a line of the wool I was going to use and tried varying combinations of colours until I had the 15 I wanted to use.  This involved adding some, taking some others away, trying different orders of the colours, just getting them into an order that looked like it flowed.  Then I arranged the colours so that the lightest pink was at one end and shaded the pinks so that the closest colour to red was next to the red, then the darker red….. the greenest blue went next to the green, then the blues were shaded from greenest blue to the most purpley blue…. am I making sense? 

I’m telling you what’s happening in my head here…. let me show you the wool after I’ve arranged the colours in the order I want them and have shaded them.  maybe have a look at the way the blues are ordered between the green and purple for the best example….

I loved working with these colours…. so much in fact, that I think I’m going to have to make a matching mandala…..

They might look nice together on the table!  (Or possibly overkill!)

Raymond is feeling much better and his eyes are no longer so sore…. KB is visiting her family again next week which means that I’ll be administering eye drops…. eek!  Poor Raymond!  I took the sweetest picture yesterday of him curled up into the tiiiiiiiiiiniest little ball, so tight and determinedly asleep!  I love seeing him like this!

I love it more when he’s not in my chair… next to my stash…. hogging the evening sun…. but I suppose that’s just a cat thing….

OK then!  I hope you had fun with that burst of colour!  I’m off… My lentil and chickpea pie is ready, then my latest knitting project is calling me…. looking forward to showing you that soon!

Have a beautiful day wherever you are,

Lot of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Granny Stripe, Granny Tissue Box!, Other Ramdom Stuff, Rainbows!, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shading Part 2: Adding new colours…..

  1. Maaike says:

    Hi there Alice, it is indeed a beautiful, warm and calming colourcombination you are working with in your latest projects… Love them!
    Maaike

  2. Ann Van Gampelaere (Belgium) says:

    oh Raymond looks sooooooo cute. I’m so glad he’s better. Here in Belgium it’s raining, raining and raining. So these happy colours are very welcome.
    Ann

  3. That’s so colourful and lovely!

  4. WordPress lost my comment ;-( Raymondo is thinking if he can’t see you, you can’t see him!! Especially as he IS in your chair LOL

    No Such Thing As Overkill :-)

  5. Penelope says:

    Oh WOW Alice you are the fastest hooker(he he) around!!! Such gorgeous colours as usual and I think it’s almost worth getting a cold so you can use your tissuebox more than usual! As for Raymond, aaawww so sweet al wrapped up like a little kitty kat, I just love that pose in cats, yes, determined sleep is a good word to use for it. We humans can learn lot from our furry friends. Thanks for all your colourful happiness, always a treat to visit your blog xox P xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  6. wendy says:

    That looks so lovely and bright and very uplifting to the soul…..
    Got to love when cats curl up like that ☺
    keep improving Raymond xo

  7. Dear Alice and Raymond,
    I happen to stumble across your blog through another blog. I just wanted to tell you, that the colors that you use, are nice. I love the way you combine them. You put the regular ole hot pad to shame. I bet Raymond loves sitting on top of every new granny circle made. I will be back for ideas and instruction…..I love crochet, but am fairly new at this wicked Yarn Game

  8. Lisa says:

    Cheerful and charming colors!

  9. Andrea says:

    The colours are beautiful….and so is Raymond :)

  10. Emma says:

    Raymond has very special skills. He has clearly trained as a contortionist.

Leave a Reply

