Pike River

I am deeply saddened by todays news, that after a five day rescue attempt, the 29 trapped miners at Pike River mine on the West Coast of New Zealand have died after a second underground explosion at 2.37pm thisafternoon.

Despite the great danger they were in, it did not occur to me that the rescue attempt would not be successful after the recent and not so recent rescues of miners elsewhere….

Please take a moment to send some love and compassion to the families who are suffering such a deep loss

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pike River

  1. tejehannah says:

    Dear Alice, that is terrible and so sad! We have been following this also here in the news. We send our condolence for their families in this difficult time.
    Teje

  2. Sue says:

    Sad, sad news. I too assumed they’d be rescued after what happened in Chile.

  3. Planet Penny says:

    It’s so sad. Sometimes we think we have a solution for everything, but we don’t. I too was naively expecting a happy outcome, those poor families. Penny

  4. I hadn’t heard yet that they died. I’m so sorry to hear it, and sad for their loved ones, too.
    Mining continues to be a terribly dangerous occupation, despite all of our notions of modernity.
    I will send loving thoughts to their families in the days and weeks to come.

  5. natalie says:

    Yes Alice we in Australia were hopeful. I send to you our deepest condolences we are heartbroken for all New Zealanders…we are so very very sorry for your loss.

  6. Andrea says:

    Tragic, heartbreaking news.

  7. There are no words Alice, such tragic news.
    I think we all thought that they would get a rescue team in.
    They are in my thoughts and have been all along. So sad for everyone involved.

  8. marigold jam says:

    It is indeed sad and must be made worse for their relatives who presumably were living in hope after the Chile mine rescue. My thoughts and prayers are with them all.

    Jane

  9. Tickety-boo says:

    So very sad. The poor families and friends who have had such a long hard wait. My heart goes out to them. x

  10. Hahnsmum . says:

    We are just so sad to hear the news..So very sorry..Our sincerest sympathy to all the families & friends of the miners..Our thoughts are with you all…
    Pam, Allan Clarke & family.
    Bingara, NSW, Australia.

  11. Carole Williamson says:

    I live in the UK and our family send our sympathies to all involved in this tragedy.
    Carole xx

  12. Amanda C says:

    Such sad news. My thoughts are with the family and friends of the fallen miners. It is such a dangerous occupation :(

  13. Robin says:

    Oh, Alice that is so sad to hear….I had not heard that news update. I can’t imagine the loss and the sorrow to the family. I definitely send them all strength, love and blessings to endure. Thankyou for posting. xo Robin

  14. jo bleaden says:

    I am truly sorry the hear about the miners what a tragedy for your country.

  15. Penelope says:

    I have just heard on the news about this very tragic ending to something I thought would have a rescued and happy ending, I think the whole world will hopefully stop and remember this awful ending. Those poor families and friends of the miners…. sending very big love and hugs down south xxxP

  16. Melissa says:

    How very sad. I had such high hopes, as I’m sure everyone else did, that everything would work out. Thoughts and prayers are with all the families.

  17. wendy says:

    so tragic and so sad, was always hopeful…..
    sending loving thoughts to all the families and nz
    xo

Leave a Reply

