How many pot holders is too many?

Hellooooooo!!!

I hope you’ve all had a fantastic week!  It’s a grey and windy Friday night here and I’m feeling relief that it’s the weekend… almost… one more day of work for me tomorrow, then a day of freedom!

I am so completely thrilled at the joyful response to the granny tea cozy over the last few days!  It’s just great…. has anyone started to make one yet!  Tell me!

Today’s post is not about tea pots, but the next one will be, and I can’t wait to do THAT post!  I just need some decent daylight to get those perfect photographs, so watch this space!  Today I thought I’d post about one of the pot holders I’ve made during the pot holder frenzy that has been taking place at my house!  I’ve been giving them as gifts, getting them ready for Christmas presents, hanging the ornamental ones above my stove and even *gasp* USING one for it’s intended purpose!

The one I’m posting today is a granny mandala pot holder… I must give 100% full credit for the inspiration for this to the gorgeous Casey from http://plus3crochet.blogspot.com ! Oh dear, WordPress is making is very difficult to insert a link tonight, so I’m linking the ugly way!  I must say, I’m getting a bit sour on WordPress and wondering how to change my blog to blogspot and if it is difficult to do that……….

Back to Casey…. Casey was the first person to use the Granny Mandala for something other than… er… a mandala!  I loved her pot holder and have been meaning to make one for soooo long, but have never been a pot holdery type of person!  And now that I am, I’m getting a bit too excited by this!  (Make sure you pop over to visit Casey as she has a large collection of lovely pot holders happening!)

I like photographing the process of creation… it’s fun to watch something emerge!  I made a small mandala…… (click on the pattern in the side bar if you need to check it out!  No linky’s happening tonight!) then made a plain backing circle in white!  Yes!  White!  Me!  I know… unusual…..

Make a magic ring,  ch3, 11dc into the ring, join with a slst to the 3rd chain of original 3ch, pull magic ring closed.  Ch3, dc into same stitch, 2dc into each stitch in the round, join with a slst to 3rd chain of original 3ch.  Ch3, dc into same stitch, 1dc into next stitch, 2dc into next, repeat sequence until end of round.  Repeat this sequence, each round adding 1dc between the 2dc as you increase.  e.g next round 1dc, 1dc, 2dc, 1dc, 1dc, 2dc… next round 1dc, 1dc, 1dc, 2dc…….. until it is the desired size!

Then I hooked them together in single crochet and made a mini shell stitch edging by making 1sc, 1hdc, 1sc into same stitch, slst into next 2 stitches… repeating the sequence until the end of the round!

I noticed that both of the GM pot holders I made needed a good blocking… the African Flowers pot holder (pattern in the side bar) didn’t and I wonder if that’s because it has a nice solid centre so it keeps it’s shape better….

Never mind, this one looked smashing after a good dose of being pinned in the sunshine!

And it is now hanging ornamentally above my stove, bringing some rainbow happiness into my cooking zone!

OK… This is just a short and sweet one because I am literally falling asleep at my laptop….

Have a beautiful day everyone, wishing you much happiness and indulgent yarnplay!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Colour Therapy!, Crochet Goodness, Granny Mandala, Pot Holders!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to How many pot holders is too many?

  1. marigold jam says:

    Looks lovely – I came across to you from Louise at Gephart36 and have added you to my list of blogs to follow – I am intending to make the tea-cosy so will let you know how it turns out if/when I finish it!

    Jane

  2. marion says:

    Dear Alice,

    this Potholder looks so beautiful!!!
    Love the Colours and i think “Pot holders can never have enough in life … and so beautiful, is never enough”.
    Enjoy your Day and have a nice Weekend – send you many Greetings and give a very big Hug to Raymond!!!

  3. Penelope says:

    How beautiful and colourful, no burnt fingers in your household! I’ve been making a circular cushion using the same pattern at you do for the back of your pot holders and it’s been great fun, soon to be revealed before my friend’s birthday next week. Hope she appreciates all the hours these hooky projects take. Have a wonderful sunny weekend Alice xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxP

  4. Hahnsmum . says:

    This potholder of yrs is lovely..I like the colours a lot. Yr blog is now one of my favorites.. l`ve made quite a few teacosies as l got the bug again last May when l went to Nundle Woollen Mill , to a Teacosy workshop run by Grandpurlbaa.( One very lovely Loani Pryor from Noosa ) .. So l think at last count l had about 20 cosies out there gathering dust in sideboard in livingroom.. l am always on lookout in opshops for teapots..And l use a couple as favorites..l am also starting to make one of yr mandalas .. They look so colourful & very cool..
    Regards,
    Hahnsmum,
    New England,
    NSW, Oz..

  5. Alice I really like the white background peeking thru! The rainbow is lovely too. I have been going thru my stash looking for some inspiration for the tea cosy, I’ve found some nice green single spun variegated wool but it is probably a 12ply so I will have to play around with hook size and the pattern to make it work….I’ll keep you posted ;-)

  6. Brianna says:

    You can never have too many pot holders. And if you do, then you give some away!

  7. RJ says:

    Wow, love the potholders! And what an inspiration plus3crochet is. Darn, now I’ll have to spend time there every day, too. How am I to get my crocheting done??

    I’m not sure you will like blogspot better than wordpress. A good friend has used both extensively and much prefers wordpress. I have only used blogspot and absolutely hate posting photos there, it’s SUCH a hassle. Good luck, whatever you decide. Just let us know how to find you if you leave wordpress!

  8. Erica says:

    Love it!! You manage to make potholders sexy somehow. No mean feat.

  9. Amanda C says:

    Hi Alice, So nice as always. Maybe I missed it but I’m wondering what type of yarn you are using for the potholders? Are you using 100% cotton or would it be fine to use wool or something else? I never know with things that are potentially for the kitchen, whether you can stray from cotton. Thanks for your splash of color :)

  10. Victoria says:

    No such thing as too much crochet!
    I’ve missed a few of your recent posts for some reason. I think your tea cosies are fantastic, think I might have a go at one of those.

  11. Melissa says:

    There are a few things in life you can never have too much of – love, chocolate, shoes, beauty and color (depending on the day, not necessarily in that order). Since your pot holders are 3 out of 5 you should keep on hooking! Happy weekend!

  12. Casey says:

    Ooh! I love it, it looks great! and I don’t think you can ever have too many potholders! My wall is covered and I have a drawer almost full of them :) thanks so much for the shout out!

  13. Maaike says:

    Hi Alice, how nice to meet you and your blog! I love the colours you use, and yes, the teacozy is my absolute favorite! How fast you crochet… make it and write the pattern in 2 hourse, wow… let’s see how long it will take me for just the cozy :-). Enjoy your weekend!
    Love, Maaike

  14. Marla says:

    The white is very pretty with the colors, Alice! It almost matches Raymond’s fur LOL Seriously, very pretty combination.

  15. Maaike says:

    Hi there again, thank you for visiting creJJtion and leaving such a nice comment!! I signed up for your e-mail notice :-)

  16. penelope dubois says:

    Totally love it. Going to make one for my daughter and I! Thankyou!

  17. wendy says:

    Hey Alice, gorgeous potholder and agree with the comments of how neat the white
    looks poking through the colours. Also the crochet hanger covers are excellent and
    must get a few to cover for little pressies.
    wendy xo

  18. Alice, you can never be too rich or have too many potholders. :-)

    Love the colors in this one! I need to make some of these in big sizes as I never have enough hot pads to put on the table to put my hot dishes on for family dinners. I have to resort to using a folded up towel which doesn’t look too good with the china and crystal! :-)

    I’ll follow your design and make some for Thanksgiving dinner!

    Hugs, Teresa from Corbett, Oregon USA

  19. DELIGHTFUL and HEAVENLY…AS ALWAYS!!!! MUCH LOVE TO YOU and RAYMOND and KB!!!!!!

  20. Whoa, stand back! That teapot cosy is pure delight! Beautiful! I am envious of you that you can crochet and knit! Such talent!

  21. Karisma says:

    Beautiful, if you don’t mind me asking what wool do you use. The colours are outstanding!

  22. Sherry Buenrostro says:

    Never enough potholders, that is so true!! They make fabulous gifts!!

  23. i absolutely love your pattern! i made one for myself using the scallop edging and am so addicted! i’m going to make them and pair them with some scrubbies for christmas gifts. thanks so much!

  24. Pingback: Make a Granny Square Circle (courtesy of Crochet with Raymond) | Mimi Bambino

  25. Major just article post.Thanks Again. Fantastic.

  26. Pingback: Crochet, Jewllery, Bags, Craft | Pearltrees

  27. Very good article.Many thanks again. Awesome.

  28. I love your page and I’m so happy to find it. You are very talented! I love the socks and teapot covers! Beautiful! I am going to attempt to crochet socks soon. I hope they are as nice as yours!

  29. Jane says:

    Such an inspiration. I just learned how to crochet last week. Working on my first 4sided granny squares. Can’t find a good tutorial on how to join the center square, how to join a new color and how to weave in ends. I’m a righty. Please help. Your work is beautiful. Also, any advise for sore wrists and thumbs

  30. mozelle says:

    I have only been crocheting for a few years. But of all the web sites that i have visited and tutorials I have watched yours is the greatest and the most easy with out ripping out and redoing. Thank you so much

  31. Pingback: Pinworthy Thursday | Jackatessa's Blog

Leave a Reply

