“Fancy a cuppa, Granny?”

Hellooooooo!!!!!!

And welcome to this particularly colourful, crochet-licious post!  I’ve been doing a lot of knitting lately, as you have seen, and for those hookers who do not knit, I recognise that this may be a bit boring for you, and that you may have felt quite joyful when you saw the above picture!  It made me feel VERY joyful when I cropped it in and discovered that it was indeed in perfect focus and the light was just right!   Inspired to go and make more beautiful colourful crochet in fact!

I’ve knitted myself out for a while, after the Harvey Kimono and the multiple pairs of arm warmers I’ve been feeling like some hook-tastic-ness needed to be happening in my life, so out came my favourite colours of wool and my trusty 4mm hook!  I finally managed to find myself the perfect plain white tea pot the other weekend, and it has been sitting NAKED on my bench since!

This tea pot will be the best dressed tea pot in Wellington within a few months… mark my words!  Possibly the best dressed in New Zealand… we shall see!

So I had plans to knit one, using my new skills which include putting some stitches on big safety pins and then knitting them again later… sounds so basic to experienced knitters, but totally blows my mind right now!  However, being that I don’t want to do any knitting for a week or so, a crochet tea cozy it had to be!

OK, less talk, more reveal…. here it is…. the thing that is causing me DEEP excitement right now!

Tea pot love is happening in my life right now, I hope you are feeling it too….

This was a process which took quite a while!  I wanted to make the Granny Mandala into a cozy, but I wanted the three-dc-clusters to be facing upwards, so needed to start from the bottom, which meant that I needed to learn to do the Granny Mandala pattern BACKWARDS!  After a few tries, I finally got it to fit the bottom, then worked my way up to the top, and after a few frustrating attempts to decrease, I prayed to the goddess Minerva to inspire me, ate my dinner, picked it back up and viola!  Inspiration!  *thank you Minerva!*

I’m extremely keen to organise a tutorial for this, however have a few stumbling blocks regarding this… I’m concerned that this cozy will not fit all tea pots and that people will go to the effort of making it, but then be disappointed…. I’m concerned that I improvised too much and skipped stitches and bunged stitches in to make it work, and that it won’t be a very professional pattern that might be confusing for people…. but then I really want to share the tea pot love!

What do you all think?

Meanwhile, I’m loving having such a colourful, happy cozy to infuse my brews of magical herbal teas…. gunpowder green, chamomile, roobios…. happy herbs and green goodness! 

One last gratuitous shot of tea pot and crochet love before I run away for today…..

 

Oh and one more last thing!!!  I was the LUCKY recipient of not one, but TWO beautiful blog awards (I just typed beautiful blogger… I don’t think it’s about me as much as the blog!  How VAIN!) today, from two beautiful bloggers and I’m feeling pretty spesh!  So thank you Nancy and Terrie, you made my afternoon!  I have to run for now as I’m off to pick up KB after a long day at work…. plus I’m trying to think of 10 things to tell about myself, so I’m going to have a think about this, so watch this space!  (eek… 10 things!  Number 1 is: I’m a tad shy….)

Thank you so much for stopping by today to share my excitement and creative happiness!  It is so wonderful to have such a great group of crafters sharing the joy of making beautiful things and finding joy in the smaller things in life!  I love reading your feedback and visting all of you to share your joy too…

Raymond thinks you’re all just great as well….

Have a beautiful day, we hope something really special happens to you today!

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Colour Therapy!, Crochet Cushions, Crochet Goodness, Granny Stripe, Granny Tea Cozy, Tea Cozies!. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to “Fancy a cuppa, Granny?”

  1. Louisa says:

    Wow I love the cosy!! So colourful and beautiful!
    Congrats on the awards too!

  2. Nicole says:

    Lovely cozy!! It looks great!

    Congrats on your awards too! :)

  3. tejehannah says:

    Congratulation Alice! Vow – this is the best dressed teapot! Fantastic!
    Have a lovely day! Teje

  4. clare o says:

    loving the teapot cosy, such bright cheerfull colours, enough to make you smile just looking at it. Congrats on the awards x

  5. lovestitch says:

    Congratulations for your award, enjoy it!
    Your teapot cosy looks really really cute, and beautiful!
    Enjoy your lovely day!
    LoL, xxx

  6. aeonie says:

    Your tea pot cosy is fantastic! Great colours. It would be very soul refreshing to pour a cup of herbal tea from it! Looking at your great photos put a smile on my face … thank you!

  7. kate says:

    Thanks, an earl grey would do nicely. Hee, hee. I love this, its soooo pretty. I will never tire of the granny square-so many variations, so many ways to use it. Beautiful! And congratulations on the awards-YAY! Enjoy the rest of your week, xoKate

  8. Ailish says:

    Hello there – I’ve been reading your blog for a while now but haven’t commented until now – please please do a tutorial! It is just the happiest looking teapot I have ever seen :)

  9. michelle says:

    Oh my granny goodness…
    It’s just gorgeous!!!
    Love the granny stitch and the fab colours too…

  10. I’ve missed so many fantastic things on your blog while I’ve been away Alice! Gosh, where to start? Yours and your mum’s Kimono tops are just gorgeous, and they do look fab on your crochet hangers. So interesting to see your different colour choices, both gorgeous of course! I didn’t know Raymond is lacking in the teeth department, Douglas has no top front teeth, he has very dodgy teeth despite his daily chewy stick. Your arm warmers are wonderful Alice, you look like you’re going to be a master knitter before very long. It’s so satisfying to be able to switch between knitting and crochet isn’t it? And your tea cosy! Love it! Doing patterns is very time consuming isn’t it? But people do appreciate them. It’s really, really lovely to be back with you on your blog Alice. Love Vanessa xxx

  11. Joyce says:

    Alice I do love your tea cosy. All the best for the tutorial. I am sure it will work out just fine. You have a lovely way of explaining so that we can understand so easily.

  12. Terrie says:

    Beautiful blogger or blog they both apply here =] I’m pleased it made you smile – I love popping over to your lovely blog. Plus wow! I want a funky granny tea cosy!

  13. That is a really cool tea cosie…..looks like a little crown on top! I love it and now I will have to give it a go.
    I think if you just give the basics for starting and finishing the tea cosie it will help, like you said all teapots are different but improvisation is a good word
    :-)
    So glad KB thought my pot holder rocked, and I have that book 100 flowers to knit and crochet….working my way thru it….its brilliant!

  14. Siobhan says:

    Your tea pot looks brilliant – it looks like it’s wearing a little crown! (Have just seen Jenni thinks that too). Well done you for crocheting backwards (how DID you do that) from the outside in? I’ve been trying to use my stitch pattern book to put a chosen stitch into a triangle scarf but I can’t do it (needed to work out from the point as I’ve got only 1 skein). Had to give up – and am now using a knitted pattern when I wanted to crochet. It nearly drove me mad! So I think you are especially clever for kitting your teapot out in a nifty and perfectly fitting little outfit. Enjoy all your special brews!

  15. Pam Emerson Clarke says:

    Just LOVE that teacosy..LOOOVVVE it.. The colours are just great.. Keep up the great blog..
    Regards,
    Hahnsmum…
    New England,
    NSW, OZ.

  16. Nancy says:

    WOW! That is a gorgeous tea pot cozy! I love your colors! Makes me wish I had a tea pot still….we use an electric water heater now to heat our coffee and tea water. Only takes a minute to heat.
    Congrats on BOTH Beautiful Blogger awards!! You deserve them! :)
    Nancy

  17. Mrs Twins says:

    Wow! thats all I can say, absolutely superb.!
    Love your work,
    hugs Suex

  18. Mar says:

    AWWWWW, I would love to have one of those!!!
    Are you having an exchange in mind lately? giggles!!!
    Beautiful!
    Hugs for Raymond

  19. Debi Y. says:

    Alice – I just love looking at all of your beautiful, colorful crochet. Makes me smile. :)

  20. Penelope says:

    Wonderful tea cosy Alice! Sooooo yooooooo with all those colours of sheer joy. I love the yarn you bought at your market too, I’ve been in London this weekend and hope to post about it soon, not enough yarn involved though! Oh well, I guess the needles need a break now and again xox
    happy hooking time xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxP

  21. frou-frou says:

    YAY welcome back to crochet!!!

    I LOVE the teacosy. Tea and crochet are the tho loves of my life (after family and my chap of course) so the combination of them makes my heart skippity!!!

    Thanks for sharing

    Fiona xx

  22. Monique says:

    I love the teapot cosy. I can’t wait for the turtorial. Could you measure the diameter of that teapot? I think I have just one like you.

  23. Debra George says:

    Alice, I LOVE the tea cosy. Please do a tutorial. If you give the measurements of your tea pot I’m sure the instructions will be clear enough for all to know what size the end result will be. And, talking of tutorials I am trying to make a Queen Anne scarf but cannot fathom the instructions from the link you gave. I know I am probably being particualrly thick, but do you have a tutorial written?

    I look forward to reading your blog every day as it makes me smile and feel happy; you deserve the awards, congratulations.

  24. tickety-boo says:

    Cogratulations on your awards! YAY! Well done.
    Loving the tea cosy. I have a real soft spot for tea cosies so vintagey and memory enducing and yours is unique and so jazzy.

    xxx

  25. Tracey says:

    I have only recently discovered your blog and I love it! I really look forward to seeing if you have written a new post and you always make me smile, it is full of Sunshine and inspiration. I have adaped your Mandala pattern into a funky toilet roll cover! Not as lovely and glamorous as your teapot cosy but I like it!

  26. Casey says:

    LOVE ♥ I have always wanted a tea pot but never had any real reason for it, if you do a tutorial, I’ll probably buy one just so I can make this!

    ps. I was totally LMAO reading your comment at my blog this morning (a laugh that was most needed!).

  27. Ana says:

    I wonder what your favorite tea is – mine is Lapsang Souchong. I can just imagine a nice pot of tea kept warm in your fabulous tea cozy. Warm, comfy, and full of colorful joy.

  28. Melissa says:

    I can’t wait for the tutorial. I think I have that exact teapot and your cozy cheers it right up. It has to make the tea taste better. Congrats on the award!

  29. Erica says:

    You clever thing :-)
    That is an absolutely lovely tea cozy! I do not drink tea (except iced tea) but I am in love with tea pots and the cozies adorning them. I’ve been inspired by your knitting lately, and am growing ever more tempted to take up the needles and give it a try. I have a lady in my office who knits, and I’m pretty sure she’d walk me through it… do I need another obsession? I already have more crochet to do than hours to do it…

  30. Barbara says:

    The teapot cozy is over the top wonderful. Yes, I’m with the rest on wanting a tutorial. Thanks for sharing every day. Just opening the thread in my email brings a dose of happy color therapy.

  31. ej says:

    love your tea cozy and hope to see tutorial soon….wish my teapot was white too…but my pot looks a lot like yours….can i print the picture to put on the wall by my computer….need some thing joyful to look at…..i am in the usa…..enjoyed your posting……ejaz

  32. Renee, spear401 says:

    The cosy is a cutie! And the colors are great. Is it easy to take on and off? I don’t drink hot tea much.

    Anyway, good job. I know you will have something else with which to astound us next time!

    Renee

  33. Denise says:

    Very pretty tea cozy. Congrats on your award.

  34. Alice, I just love the tea cozy! Wahoo! And congrats on your beautiful blogger awards, you deserve them. Your color combos are still my all-time favorite even after looking at 100 blogs, yours are still my faves. Teresa in Corbett, Oregon

  35. Emma says:

    Oh! Your teapot must be in heaven. My eyes are in heaven just looking at Mrs Pot’s granny outfit. Truly brilliant.

  36. Adriane says:

    Amei seu blog e seus crochets maravilhosos!
    Parabéns!

  37. Robin says:

    I love the cosy!!!!! I would love the pattern, even if it is a little iffy! Also really love your blog. Thanks for sharing it all. xo Robin

  38. Jennifer says:

    I am in love with that tea cozy!! It’s just so adorable and you are very clever!

  39. iamteocalli says:

    Incredibly BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Brimming with LIFE and GOOD CHEER!!!! So INSPIRING!!!! TOTALLY ONE of a KIND…Your beautiful spirit is showing through!!!! Your JOY and EXCITEMENT fills the air!!!!! Raymond, your Mum rocks!!!!!!

  40. Het Kabinet says:

    That just has to be the coolest tea cozy EVER!
    Makes me wish I drank tea so I could buy me a teapot just to put a cozy like yours on it…

  41. Jacquie says:

    Wow , well done . I LOVE your cozy :0) Know what you mean about improvising patterns , doesn’t matter untill you want to share or make more :0)
    Your last picture with all your gorgeous blankets and cushions in the background is my fave .
    Jacquie x

  42. Ann Van Gampelaere (Belgium) says:

    Would LOVE a tutorial. never mind the fitting. We can buy a teapot that fits!!

  43. faeryfay says:

    I love, love, love the tea cosy! The colours are fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!

  44. marta says:

    i love your work and colors.. i love your cat in the middle of colors : D

    check mine too… **** greetings from portugal

  45. Leah Maxwell says:

    I have just discovered your fabulous blog and am in love with all your beautiful creations. As a fellow Welly girl, I was hunkered down last night in the storm with my no. 4 hook and granny squares. Bliss. Thank you for such lovely inspiration.

  46. Publish and be damned!
    Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington

  47. Jen Bianchi says:

    Your site is so beautiful. Your photography on your website is just so clear and colorful. Andy your patterns are simply YUMMY! Thank you so much for posting these, I will be making them for birthday gifts this year. I plan on making a smaller round pot holder picture on your site and putting a flower on it for a tea cup mat too :)

  48. june gower says:

    raymond u r an angel,i have been looking for teapot cozies patterns for ages.W hen u do a tutorial on these cozies would u please let me know.Thank u.
    Curly

  49. purple princess says:

    thank you so much for putting all your gorgeous patterns up :o) Your blog has really inspired me to get hooking granny square gorgeousness :oD have flickered my version of this fabulous cosy and added it to your group on there.

    thank you again :o) x

  50. ZebAlex says:

    PLEASE do a tutorial for this tealicious cosy!! My best friend, Caroline Cake (who of course drinks significant quantities of tea to wash down the baked goods) would LOVE this for her birthday in August. It is SO gorgeous I will buy her teapot to fit the cosy! I’m going to sign up for email notifications so that I don’t miss it when you do.

  51. Feena says:

    hi I love this pattern. I have a 0.7L teapot but the handle is on top of it do you have any patterns for tea pots like this: http://www.griffinsbakery.com/index.php?cPath=45&osCsid=6cd0588f4f85da456ad1b0dbdb6c7bce?

  52. sue says:

    very very pretty resembles a rainbow

  53. Praty Taylor says:

    Love your work so pretty with all the colors. Hope you will be posting pattern, looking forward to it.have ??on how it’s made, is it open on the bottom or open on top also love that red pillow with the flowers. thanks so much for sharing

Leave a Reply

