The Great Mother-Daughter Knit Off…. It’s finished!

Helloooo!!!!!

How EXCITING is today’s post!!! I’m going to have to be careful that I don’t wear out my exclamation mark button today, because I am sooooooooooooooo thrilled to be finally posting the final post about the Great Mother-Daughter Knit Off… it has taken a lot longer to complete than I expected I must say, but that was due to a few things!  But firstly, if you’ve only just become my blog friend, and have nooooo idea what this post is about, click HERE and a new window will pop up with the history of this event!

I have to admit…. Mum “won” by a country mile!  She has been waiting to sell hers in her shop for weeks now, while mine has been stuffed in a bag down the side of one of my stash baskets (!) as I take a breather from a project that I deeply enjoyed, but just could not see the end of!  It’s funny how quickly it came together…. for so long it was five pieces of curling up, shapeless knitting and I was thinking the end result would look terrible, but as soon as I started to sew it together it looked, well, like a little cardigan!!!!!!

Then crocheting around the edge, well, that just made it!  Some of you noticed that my Mum did a picot edging on hers as the pattern said…. I considered it, but was concerned that doing that would leave too much room for error for a beginner like me, so decided I would hook around the edge later…..

And I’m super pleased I did!  It drew in the edges nicely AND I got to do it in a different colour… you know me… that’s vital!  That bit in the picture above is my favourite bit, the picot right around the edge….

Oh and the little buttons!

Just LOOK at those CUTIE little pink buttons!  I marvel at them…. it’s ridiculous….

I must admit, I had a little help from my Mum!!!  She was the one to pick up the stitches around the neck line for me and er… she also put the sleeves on using the three needle bind off, but I did three needle bind off on the shoulders!  I promise I didn’t make her do allllllll the hard parts!!!!!   She said she discovered my little secret when doing the sleeves, that one was 48 stitches at the top and one was 49… he he he!!!  Isn’t she the best!

THANK YOU MUM….. THIS WAS FUN!!!!!!

Did you just hear my squeal of excitement then???  I am so excited that I made a garment, just over the moon.  As soon as KB saw it she said “I bet you wish you could fit that” (after lengthy praise and pointing out that she’d like one in natural!) and she is SO RIGHT!  I really wish it was my size because I would love it!  I have it hanging in my lounge and I sit and look at it, willing it to grow…. sadly, no such luck!

Ready to see Mum’s?

Beautiful!!!  And naturally… flawless perfection in knitting form!!!!  And doesn’t it look stunning on my crochet hangers…. they FINALLY make an appearance on my blog as props!

And a big TA-DAAA moment from the two of us….

It turned out so much better than I could have imagined and I’m now looking around for my next challenge, although I think I feel confident to go this alone….. (with supervision!!!)

Quick edit!!!!!  You may notice that mine is longer than Mum’s…. I made a mistake and made mine 2cms longer, hers is correct, it’s just a short kimono!!!!!!  XXXX

OK then!  I hope you enjoyed that process!  It took 1 month and 1 day from beginning post to end… it felt so much longer!  Thank you for all of your lovely comments in the update posts, and my lesson to you from this experience is…. if I can do it, you can too!!!!!!!!!!!

Have a beautiful day everyone, may your thoughts and hearts be full of peace,

Lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Flowers, Knitting Baby Clothes!, Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to The Great Mother-Daughter Knit Off…. It’s finished!

  1. Louisa says:

    Yay well done!!! It’s beautiful!!! :-)

  2. clare o says:

    It is just gorgeous, I love love love the flower, do you have a pattern for it? You and your mum are so clever xx

  3. Claire says:

    They are both completely adorable! Though may I say without any discredit to your mum that I like yours a teeny-tiny bit more.

    I have a baby cardigan to finish tonight. My friend is due on the 23rd but is having niggles and I think I may run out of time if I don’t get it finished soon!

  4. MiA says:

    Stunningly gorgeous both of them! But I like your colour choice better.
    Well done!

  5. Terrie says:

    I soooo want one of these, they are stunning Alice! Aren’t you and your mum a clever pair! (My exclamation mark is the most used button on my keyboard! =D ) x

  6. Kat says:

    No offense to Mum….but I like yours better. I love the color, I like the longer length and I absolutely LOVE your flower!!! Sorry Mum…… :o) xoxox

  7. Tickety-boo says:

    So gorgeous! Well done you two. They are both beautiful, I just love the colours. xxx

  8. Alice, bravo! Love the color of yours and I’m just so proud of you challenging yourself to do a garment like that. Now I expect to see one for you and KB too! BTW, I got some gorgeous Full o’ Sheep wool in Aquamarine and Passionfruit on sale at Michael’s yesterday!! YUM!

  9. Siobhan says:

    So beautiful!!! I seriously do want one and in the pink please. They are both absolutely gorgeous. I do really love the richness of your colours and if I had to choose…..but it does look very pretty in the natural grey doesn’t it? Love your edging and flower – I love woolly flowers! One thing I have noticed, are you left handed and your Mum right handed? I ask as they both cross over on different sides. I would be proud too – you have done a fantastic job. The only garments I ever made were a little cardigan and a couple of other things for my daughter when she was a baby. You are getting seriously good at this knitting lark – you really could make yourself something to wear if you wanted. Don’t you think both knitting AND crochet are fab? – no winner in my book, just different and both fun.

  10. Penelope says:

    Oh my goodness Alice, it’s stunning and boy I too wish it would grow into a grown up pattern. I can completely appreciate your jubilation at completing a garment, you need to just allow and in it…. aaaahhhh. Your mum’s looks superbly done and together with your crochet hanger, well I’m speechless!!! (thats a first :0)
    Thanks for your comment on my bunting, it all helps to move me towards the finishing line of my blanket (careful here comes the blood, sweat and tears !!) xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx have a great weekend

  11. Emma Angel says:

    Absolutely stunning! Well done!!
    x

  12. Ria says:

    again such a beautifullll creation from your hands!! They both are so sweet but yours is the winner for me!!

  13. Debi Y. says:

    Beautiful work. :)

  14. Melissa says:

    It turned out beautiful! I know exactly how you feel about actually finishing a *gasp* garment. I felt the same way. Congratulations!

  15. Marla says:

    Beautiful Alice!! No offense to Mom but I like yours better anyway!! You did a great job…. I’ve never finished a knitted garment before (other than a baby bootie). Have a great day!

  16. sandiart says:

    Oh so cuteeeee!!!!!!!!, I love them both. Where did you get the pattern and what size do they go up to, I would love to knit my granddaughter one. The little flower and edging just make them look so special.
    Hugs sandi xx

  17. natalie says:

    Just beautiful Alice., well done!! Have a happy happy weekend dear ♥

  18. wendy says:

    Alice, what a fantastic job of making that beautiful pink kimono(is that right spelling lol). Love the edging and the little buttons too. Clever girl you are and now you can
    make one for yourself and KB and show us the pics ☺
    xo wendy

  19. Well done to you both, how much fun to do it together! I love them both! I can see your mums over a sweet little girls pretty dress and yours with a tshirt and jeans :-) I love the crochet edging and the fact that it is a different colour! Hooray for a finished project!

    PS do your wrist warmers have any increases in them or are they just a straight tube??

    PPS My new kitty is gorgeous, she is so tiny…no wonder the breeder didn’t want to breed from her she is like a 5mth old kitten!!! We have just realised that as Hamish was the same colour as the carpet in the house the new girl “Tulah” is the same colour as the lino in the kitchen LOL , the boys have called her “camo kitty”. Will do a post probably tomorrow with photos….she has been sleeping all day today after her big day of travelling and airoplanes!

  20. marion says:

    Alice, that is abolutly beautiful – love the Hanger and love so much the Flower!!!
    You do a great Work, it is a pleasure and fun to visit your blog and thank you for your comment to my blog on my little island.
    Have a funny Weekend and send you a lot of greetings,
    Marion

  21. Denise says:

    Very nice the both of them. Like everyone else I like yours a little more. I love the edging on yours and extra length. The flowers on both are adorable. What are going to do with yours? Besides stuff it down the side of your stash bag.

    Wonderful job to the both of you.

  22. Planet Penny says:

    Oh you clever girl! It beautiful, and so professionally finished. And PINK! I LOVE the pink!!! (and the hangers! ) Penny and Higgins xxx

  23. 'me' says:

    sooooo beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    And you’re next challenge : one for yourself ? ;-)

  24. bernardette says:

    Ola! Alice, descobri seu blog por esses dias e amei seus trabalhos, lindos lindos, moro no Brasil e gostei muito das paisagens que voce postou e esses casaquinhos estão um doce, parabens a voce e sua mãe, beijos e bom fim de semana com muito crochet……

  25. Jorunn says:

    What a lovely cardigan! Well done! I like all of it, the colour, the flower and the edging :) And this is your first knittingproduct? I’m impressed! Your work is just as nice as your experienced mums knitting.

  26. Maria says:

    Congrats Alice, the kimono is so sweet, just needs a little cherub to fill it up and make it perfect

  27. Lizette says:

    Alice,

    it’s gorgeous.
    and i love that flower. it would make a great addition to a headband or hair ties for one/ or all of my daughters. do you have a link foe the pattern please?

  28. Mona says:

    Absolutely love them both! Could not pick a favorite, love them equally well. Would love to know the patterns you used for kimono and flower. I need to make a newborn gift and I think this would be lovely! Thank you, Mona

  29. Terrie says:

    Hi Alice – Just to let you know I have passed on my beautiful blogger award to you x

  30. Samantha H says:

    Wow they are both beautiful! Well done :) I’ve never tried a garment either, but your post has inspired me!

    Samantha xx

  31. Ava Burnell says:

    A round of applause for your blog article.Really getting excited about read more. Great.

Leave a Reply

