Another stunning day….

Helloooo!!!!!

It has been another stunning day in Wellington, I just can’t believe the perfection of the weather of late!  Blue, blue skies, hardly any wind, hot shining sun…. every morning feels like a summer holiday and life is good!!!

KB and I had the day off, so went for a mission around and about…. we drove up Mount Victoria to enjoy the views of the harbour….

The water was so turquoise today, it took my breath away….

This is a shot of pretty much the whole of Wellington CBD, along the waterfront where all of the tall buildings are lined up is where the “suits” hang out and where parliament lives, and the rest off to the left is the more fun part of the City!  (where I work and study… and spend far too much time in cafes drinking coffee and eating cake!)

We found a funny information board up Mt Vic about the wind in Wellington…. Wellington is known for it’s wind, I never believed it until I moved up North for two years.  When I came back I realised that yes, it’s a very windy city!

KB points to the wind she thinks is “normal” here!  Meaning, don’t bother with the umbrella because it’s just going to get blown inside out, if it’s raining, just get wet!  (She is exaggerating, normal gusts are two spots above her estimate!)

After zooming around, having some fun we had to stop at our fave cafe for coffee…

Before cruising home to enjoy the afternoon sun filling our lovely little home….

Right now, my rocker gets the most sunlight in our house, lovely in the morning, then from about 2 in the afternoon until 7.30pm when it goes down.  Consequently, Raymond has decided that my rocker is his new spot and is quite persistent about this…. I get up for a second and he’s in!  Lucky for me I’m not too soft hearted and don’t have a problem moving him to another spot ha ha…. I can’t sit anywhere else, I start to twitch if I’m away from my stash for too long!  He has not had the best day today, after a minor claw de-sharpening this morning (a very necessary one trust me!) he took off for a few hours probably to sharpen them elsewhere!  All was forgiven by the time we got home….

Speaking of my stash before…. it was suggested by the lovely Kate that I might need to indulge in some new wool to get over this creative slump…. Great suggestion!

And five lovely soft bouncy balls of beautiful Ashford wool are getting me in the mood for a bit of hook-a-rama for sure!

Goodnight Sun!  Hopefully we’ll see you again tomorrow!

I hope your day has been beautiful no matter what the weather,

Lots and lots of LOVE and happy thoughts from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Fibre P0rn!, Granny Mandala, Other Ramdom Stuff, Raymond Appreciation, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Another stunning day….

  1. Louise says:

    Ha ha any excuse!! I like your style. Yearning for a visit to NZ, the tourist board should be paying you.

  2. Terrie says:

    Extremely jealous sitting here in freezing/rainy/windy Blighty!

  3. tejehannah says:

    Hello Alice! How nice tour you gave us! Beautiful photos! And also so lovely new yarn…waiting to see what you are going to do with those lovely colours!
    Best wishes Teje
    Ps. From sunny and hot Crete!

  4. Penelope says:

    Now, that’s enough boasting about your sunshine! Only joking I know you have had your 6 months of grey wet days, so just soak it up and ENJOY….
    Does Raymond get excited about a ball of yarn moving as you hook away? I babysat for a friend a couple of weeks ago and her cat Lily went frantic with excitement when my ball of yarn moved… needless to say I thought of you and mr. raymondo. Maybe he just prefers wallowing in the sunshine and just takes it as daily routine to see moving yarn ;0) lots of love, P xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  5. Penelope says:

    ps. Loving the yarn happiness, I have just googled ashford yarn and there is only 1 UK distributor based in Dorset and the cost is £5.60 per ball!!! Eeek, I’m going to have to stick to Debbie Bliss for my special treat yarn xox

  6. Tickety-boo says:

    Oh sunshine so wish I was looking out the window at sunshine. Today everything is a shade of grey known as blllleeeuuugh! Your photos cheered me up no end. Love the notice board! x

  7. Yummy wool!!! Do you do Raymonds claw de-sharpening or KB??? He looks very cosy in YOUR chair :-)

  8. Mar says:

    I sitting here @ work thinking “where did my summer go?” We are here in the middle of autumn which I absolutely love but thinking that I did not take enough pictures of my summer gone.
    That is going to be a new resolution, take pictures of each season to come.
    Thanks for sharing, XOXO from Canada

  9. Planet Penny says:

    Thanks for sharing your gorgeous weather, and that wool! What fabulous colours. Can’t wait to see what you are going to do with them. Penny x (and Higgins!)

  10. Melissa says:

    I personally don’t blame Raymond. I’d be sitting in your rocker too! I hope the yarn inspires much happiness!

  11. Amanda C says:

    Beautiful pictures and delightful wool! I’m in a bit of a slump myself and I think I need to take a trip to the craft store to shake my slump too!

  12. becca says:

    i’m so jealous of your city and especially your new yarn! i’ve wanted to go to nz for soooo long, and your pictures are just intensifying the want! i’m excited to see what you create with your blissful new yarn =]

  13. Mrs Twins says:

    Always a pleasure to pop over all these miles to see whats new in your part of the world!
    Love Suex

  14. Denise says:

    I just love those pictures of that blue water. The water used to blue in the US, I’m told. All I have ever seen is brownish green ick.

    I finally got a picture of Butterscotch’s catcher’s mitts without injury to myself, if you would like to come look.

    I hope your stitching slump ends for you soon.

  15. Louise says:

    Fantastic views! And Raymond looks quite amazing too :-)

  16. Katie says:

    Lovely photos of Wellington, I’ve never been up Mt Victoria but will have to make the effort next time I’m down in Welly :-)

  17. I felt I was there with you just by reading your wonderful post!!! Thank you for sharing your beautiful day!!! Mine was the same…lots of sight seeing in the afternoon with family and friends….FALL colors everywhere here in the Ozarks! Are you at all on Facebook?

    Well do take care…and will look forward to hearing from you again!!!

    Much love from,

    Marianne

  18. Renee, spear401 says:

    What is it about cats and rocking chairs? And cats and yarn…
    I used to have a cat who would sit on my chest when I crocheted (sitting on the couch). Or the calico who would literally eat the yarn as it came off the skein.

    Ahh, babies, what would we do without them?

    Renee, spear401

  19. shininglikeadiamond says:

    Gorgeous photos Alice! Made me look forward even more to landing back home soon :)

  20. Elaine says:

    Never mind the blue sky – just look at those perfect coffees!!! V. jealous of your beautiful scenary and weather, daylight hours are shrinking rapidly up here in Northern Scotland, I can feel the Vitamin D getting sucked away as we speak….!!!!

  21. kate says:

    Hee, hee, it didn’t take much encouragement, which is just the way we like it!
    Thanks for the tour of Wellington. The coffee towards the end really hit the spot.
    I do like the “lady blowing away’ symbolic representation of wind measurement. Its v funny and quirky, don’t you think?? I can imagine someone graffiti-ing a whole series of symbols now-wigs blowing off bald fellas just for starters. Balloons attached to string being held by children, first balloon is upright, til eventually, whoosh, off goes junior! Not that I would ever encourage humourous additions to important informative signs, no siree, ahem.
    Have a spesh weekend, xo Kate

  22. What lovely pictures, especially the yarn :). I can’t wait to click through your tutorials!

  23. Clara says:

    Beautiful photos and wool!

  24. Hello sweet Alice,

    I am very happy yestarday I got to know your blog and beautiful crochet handmade work. My name is Anita and I live in Brazil. It is so nice to meet you! It is amazing how many similar ways of life and likes crocheters all around the world can have. Besides being a crochet lover, I am also a cat lover, color lover, vegetarian, Iyengar Yoga student.

    I will be following your blog and get inspired by your work.

    Have a nice weekend Alice,

    Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

