Saturday Morning…

Good Morning!!!!!

It’s Saturday morning here, bright and early and I’m up!  I spent the night dreaming the strangest dreams that I couldn’t rouse myself out of, so when I woke up early this morning I made myself wake up properly in fear of falling back into one of these silly, long dreams!

I loved, no, LOVED reading all of your comments on my last post, it was so awesome to hear how you feel about the environment, about sustainability and what you do to make a difference!  It was great to read the things about you that make you proud to be you, build your self-esteem and make you happy about living your lives!  It’s so vital for our own personal satisfaction isn’t it?  Doing things that make us proud I mean…. when we create happiness for ourselves because we LIKE who we are and what we stand for, we are much less likely to stand in judgement of others which is a wonderful thing.  I feel so lucky to have attracted a group of such kind and caring souls into my life and I feel truly blessed when I see more lovely comments coming through my e-mail, I treasure every single one and love getting to know you all.

Some asked where I bought the hemp….. well, as you can see I have aquired a bit more!!!  I bought it from Trade Aid which is the most amazing shop in the whole wide world!  Their home page is here and their shop link is here…. I was under the impression that these were a worldwide business, but I’m not sure.  They’re all over NZ and are incredibly popular because, well, it’s fair trade and that’s a great thing!  The hemp is not expensive either, $3.99 for a plain coloured ball and $4.99 for a mixed colour ball.  I made a couple last night from the coloured ones in crochet which is actually nicer but have not photographed them yet, so watch this space!

Some were interested to hear of the looferage and well….. according to KB the one I gave her offered her the best loofa action she’s ever had!  She came out of the shower announcing she felt like a new woman and could have loofered herself into oblivion!

Well…. I had to try this to believe it!  And as she wouldn’t share hers (fair enough) I quickly hooked myself a small circle and off to the shower I went!  She was right…. this hemp DOES provide some happy shower moments!  Especially on the shoulders and back, there were excited squeals coming from the shower that night!  I could have loofered myself down the plughole I tell you, and I am hooked on these things now!

So good luck finding yourselves some decent hemp, I hope you find some good organic/ fair trade hempy goodness and get to have some fun too!!!

As you know, I’m in the process of mastering the skill of knitting in the round.  I have to say, I’m loving it, it’s fun and exciting to try something new and be able to do it after so long thinking I’d never be able to!  As I don’t need a million billion pair of arm warmers, I’ve been practicing with baby hats and the lovely Debbie Stoller wool I bought a few weeks ago.  I borrowed a book from the library by Amanda Keeys called Baby Beanies and oh my goodness!  There are the CUTIEST babies modelling these hats!!!!!  Just edible little sweeties I was melting into a puddle as I looked through the pages!!!!!!

***WARNING- CUTE BABY ALERT***

The first one I made was the long tail hat….

Like I said, I used the Debbie Stoller wool and it is so much nicer than I was expecting!!!  Colourful magnificence and it’s so soft and doesn’t split easily, so was perfect for learning new things with!

I even managed to follow the pattern right to the end! This is so unlike me, you would not believe!  I find it quite daunting to learn lots of new skills at once, but here I’ve managed to change colours frequently, knitted my very first i-cord AND made a tassle!  now I just need to find a 1 year old boy to wear it!

The next hat I made was the Euro Bebe hat which looked a bit more difficult and it was!!!!  In this one I practiced changing colour and carrying the colours up, then twisting them before knitting the next stripe which worked pretty well after the first go!  Also… the dreaded purling in the round which I struggled with when Mum first tried to teach me a couple of months ago.  But I did it!  And am now purling in the round like a….. beginner purler in the round!

I made the euro Bebe with bigger needles and bigger wool than the pattern recommended and needless to say, it turned out quite big!

Big enough to fit me in fact…. ha ha ha ha ha very funny considering it was the 6-12 months old pattern!

I reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeally wanted KB to model it because she looks so cool in it!  But being that she named it “the fuggliest hat in the world” she was unwilling to be broadcast worldwide via my blog wearing it!

I disagree with her!  I think she’s being a bit of a meanie calling it the fuggliest hat in the world!  It’s CUTE!  So it was up to me to model it….. here I am…. oh yes, I am Euro Bebe

Fugly?

I know the perfect head for this hat and it will be deeply appreciated!

Or maybe I should wrap it up and put it under the Christmas tree for her?

I thought I’d keep making little hats, but the Euro Bebe took it out of me a bit!  So I’ve moved on…. it’s funny, I’m in a bit of a creative slump right now, I’m not sure why, but I’ve been feeling quite uninspired and have been making some terrible colour shoices with things I do start!  Maybe it’s the beautiful weather we’ve been having… I’m finding myself sitting in my rocker staring out the door watching the beautiful blue sky….

And it’s lovely!

Oh, before I go…. yesterday we heard a terrible racket outside, Raymond meowing his loud Siamese meow, so we go onto the deck and there he is, stuck on his downstairs family’s deck which is quite high up too!

No-one was home… he had managed to get in through their cat door, then out the tiny gap in their ranch slider, then thought he was stuck!  He managed to get himself sorted though and was home in plenty of time for dinner!

OK then…. I’m off, I’m starting work soon, so had better get a move on… even though blogging is so much more fun!

Have a fantastic weekend everyone!  I hope it is filled with much fun, and be careful with those fireworks!

Sending you many beautiful thoughts,

Love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Baby Hats, Eco-Friendly Musings, Knitting!, Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Saturday Morning…

  1. aeonie says:

    I love your hats!!!! The Euro Babe is definitely not fugly!!! JR comes up with some odd descriptions for some of my projects too. And after your vivid descriptions of loofering in the shower, I am off to buy some fair trade hemp! Have a great weekend!

  2. Melissa says:

    I definitely think you must wrap that hat up for KB for Christmas…fugly, indeed. I think it’s lovely! I’d wear it in a skinny minute! Have a wonderful week-end!

  3. Louise says:

    Lovely hats! Your knitting is so very neat and it seems like you learn super fast. Glad to hear Raymond made it home in time for dinner. :-)
    Have a lovely weekend! (It’s still Friday afternoon here (4pm) and I’m sneaking this comment in while I’m at work!)

  4. natalie says:

    oh gosh you do look cute in that beanie!!!! love it…x

  5. Ria says:

    Just keep that beautifullll hat!! It looks wonderful on you!

  6. Thanks for all the info on the hemp. I’m definitely intrigued. Your hats are cute and I would call the second one “amusing” – not fugly! :-)

  7. Gabrielle says:

    Tried finding the hemp yarn on Trade Aid website, but no luck – maybe it is an in-store only thing. :(

  8. Terrie says:

    Not fugly at all! So cute and I do enjoy seeing the view from your decking. You’re braver than me knitting! x

  9. A creative slump…..you had better have a go at some more spinning! ;-) I have just washed, carded and spun some fleece to make a pot holder from your pattern for my
    Dad for xmas! My spinnning is still way overspun but it was fun to do it all from scratch!! Love those hats…your knitting and pearling in the round is beautiful!

    Thanks for the Anniversary wishes…I didn’t mind! It is actually next month…10yrs, I can’t believe it! You will like this, in two years we will have ours on the 12/12/2012 and it will be our 12th anniversary!!! Secret to a long relationship is I think to take each day as it comes and don’t sweat the small stuff, lots of yoga breathing and thinking this moment will pass LOL!!! I still get really pissed that Billy never takes out the rubbish, especially as the bin is always crammed to bursting point and his car is parked next to the bin and he has to walk that way every morning to go to work???
    I don’t let it really annoy me tho as I know he gets annoyed at all my craft clutter everywhere! Neither of us are perfect and we can live with that now. I wasn’t as tolerant years ago but they say wisdom comes with age???? Or maybe we just don’t have the energy to argue anymore :-)

  10. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice and Raymond. What lovely hats, they are awesome. Yes, I LOVE my hemp scrub. I am so glad you and KB love yours too. I do love the colours you have. I just have plain and simple boring hemp, but oh gosh, my skin has never been better.

  11. clare o says:

    gosh what gorgeous hats, I have been hesitating at knitting in the round but you have inspired me to try, now the kids are back at school I may find the time!

  12. Louise says:

    Thanks so much for your latest message wanted to p.m. you but couldn’t work out how. Anyway special thoughts to you all my lovelies.xx Now you, I’m trying to be all serious here while siffling giggles at the thought of you dissappearing down the plughole having worn yourself way with a loofa!!! Alice you are a one!! In a similar creative hole. I need some inspiration. Much love, Lou

  13. Emma Angel says:

    I love your hat! It’s fabulous and certainly not fugly!
    x

  14. Penelope says:

    Hi Alice, thanks for sharing the hemp love, i need to get my mitts on some for quick, easy and dare I say rather impressive christmas gifts. Alice and I usually make soaps for all loved ones so a little hemp hookiness will add to the love.
    That Debbie Stoller yarn looks scrumptious and Alice and I had a aaaaawwww moment over the baby and as for your knitting in the round well done you! I think KB needs a little pressie under the tree tee hee xox have a superb weekend xxxxxxxxxx

  15. lovestitch says:

    What a beautiful post, so lovely! The hat is so cute, and how talented you are! Just love love love it!!!
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    LoL,
    xxx

  16. Barb says:

    Hi!
    I was wondering if I could use your pictures of your cool bunting . The Ravelry pincushion group would like to do a swap with the bunting theme. We will be linking your pattern in our group. Just wanted to ask permission first.
    Thank you,
    Barb

  17. Heather says:

    Dear Dear Alice
    I have not posted on your wall for far tooooo long. Each and every post I read that you put on.
    Each and every post you do makes me smile…..Your blog has to be the most fav of mine …..ever!
    You have soooo much energy and give your time up so freely to share that I feel it is very wrong of me not to comment! You are an inspiration to me…I have done Mandalas I have done your buntings too!
    Love everything you do…..
    Sending you a big hug from a chilly Cheshire in the Uk Heather xxxxxx

  18. Katie says:

    I love that hat – it’s gorgeous!

  19. Planet Penny says:

    Just love that cute hat with the tail! Maybe Raymond needs one! Penny x

Leave a Reply

