Karma

 Hellooooooo!!!

I’m sitting here at my laptop writing this post on Saturday night…. it’s a beautiful evening, it has just gotten dark but I can still see the outline of the hills… just….. It’s lovely actually, I have the ranch slider open and a cool breeze is blowing in and I can hear Tui’s chattering away….

As I type this, I’m noticing how knackered I am after two days of work.  So if this post suddenly stops making sense, that’s why!

I regretfully discovered that Vanessa‘s furbaby Douglas was deeply hurt by an apparent snub by Raymond last week….  So here you go Douglas, a smoochy, purry picture of Raymond-love just for you…..

Doesn’t he just look fantastic next to a bit of crochet?  If you have no idea what I was talking about before and don’t know Douglas, make sure you visit Vanessa and see what we’re going on about…  Raymond has a lot on his mind right now…. there is a big ginger cat trying to take over the front yard, plus he is in recovery from a nasty ear biting incident (could be that ginger cat again) …. KB and I were mightily concerned that the fur would not grow back and his good looks would be forever tainted…. I would even have to get a new blog-buddy perhaps…. but never fear, the fur is growing back nicely. 

So last week I went for a drive out to my Mum and Dad’s farm and had a go with my Mum’s spinning wheel!  Yes!  Spinning indeed!  Do you know what?  It’s not that easy and I imagine it takes a lot of practice!!!!  Here is my first attempt….

Now apparently that happened because the wool was quite thick, so my next try involved merino which was waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay easier for a humble beginner!  I also discovered the importance of the Scotch brake!  I tightened it after that first try and away I went!!!!

A few mild cusses later I had achieved my first spin!

Do we love those colours and textures?????  Here’s a close up…..

Unfortunately it’s not particularly useable as it is a. short and b. not properly spun so is a bit breaky, but still, I am supremely proud and looking forward to my next try!

So Karma.  I am quite fascinated by karma, and have spent in the past much time contemplating this process which we give both positive and negative connotations… I have come to the understanding within myself that karma is a beautiful process of a flow of energy which we put out and receive back, and that we choose the lessons we wish to learn with love and gratitude from a deeper level of our being.  When we put aside our egos and fears, the things that seem bad are not so bad, they just are, and the same goes for the things that seem good!  (oh why, why am I attempting to explain this when my brain is so tired it feels like I have candyfloss in my head!!??) 

Am I making any sense? 

So I’m not really into the whole “good karma, bad karma” business, to me, karma is karma and it is a beautiful process of growth!  But in SAYING that…. My ego felt like some good karma had come into my life when I checked my letter box the other day and found a parcel from Dash Robin HQ!  *joy!*

The lovely and talented Kate had sent me a parcel in honour of “blog-appreciation” and how lucky and spesh am I feeling right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Inside was the coolest hook purse made from cool flowery corduroy!

I loved it instantly as even though my favourite colour is pink, green is another favourite and I love handsewn things…. being that I can’t sew, I am deeply in awe of people who can, so this is super cool….

Opening it up…..

Cutie, joyful little heads and tails pop out….

Two completely cute little bird badges, *thankyou!!!* they are just the sweetest!!!!!!  Kate makes most of her things from upcycled happiness which you can enjoy at her blog and her etsy shop too…….

What a legend… that you Kate, you completely made my day!

OK lovelies…. it is completely dark outside now and I absolutely must go to bed pronto…. I’m so tired I can’t even pick up my knitting or even contemplate a bit of Queen Anne-ing…. that is serious tiredness I’m sure you understand!!!!!

Lots and lots and lots of love to all of you, and thank you for stopping by today!  I promise in my next post I will reveal my latest cushion, I said I would last time, but well…. It’s coming!

Have a beautiful day, love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

p.s Do I dare put in a photograph of me wearing my Dash Robin goodness????

OK then….. a rare photo of me without giant sunglasses…..

XXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Other Ramdom Stuff, Raymond Appreciation, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Karma

  1. Penny says:

    Oh dear, yes..Douglas is miffed with Higgins too, he feels very bad! I remember my first go on a spinning wheel. The moment you first think you’ve got the rhythm and ‘Yes, I can do this!’ you suddenly lose it completely. Very satisfying when you’ve got the hang of it tho’. Lovely pressie, those little birds look so cute! Penny x

  2. Leah says:

    Those robins are so sweet and look awesome on your scarf, the clutch is just as nice. Hope your feeling refreshed after a good nights sleep.

  3. Kari says:

    Ooooh, super spinning – you seem to have taken to it like a duck to water – beautiful colours and I bet you CAN use it in something!

    Adorable birdie badges and you look great sporting one.

    Raymond has a new fan (me)!

  4. Tickety-boo says:

    Karma is how we tick along in fact my favourite perfume is Karma from the shop Lush. Lol. Hope the Raymond and Douglas learn to put this behind them now. As the Budist teaching goes T.A.D. Tollerence, Acceptence, Detachment ;o)

  5. Penelope says:

    What a lovely photo of you Alice, the robin is ever s sweet. I’m also loving all of Kate’s handmade goodness xox
    Well done on your spinning efforts, much admired by me I am sure it takes great skill. Sleep tight and hope you feel happy with rainbows and sunshine and less candyfloss in the morning xxxx

  6. Mrs Twins says:

    What attracts me to your blog is your wonderful photos!
    OOh you are a pretty girl! Such lovely photos of yourself thank you for sharing.
    OOh goodness what an interesting post ‘again’,
    lovely yarn, plenty of hooky, gorgeous cat,
    it never ends!!
    Well done to you on another terrific post!
    Love Suex

  7. Gail says:

    I have just started reading your blog, i love love love Raymond and the wonderful pictures you take. The last one is beautiful x

  8. Ana says:

    Lovely first attempts at spinning! Be careful, it can become addictive. I was so inspired by how lovely your Queen Anne looked that I will be making a few of those myself in the next few weeks. From recent personal experience, I can tell you that Karma can be a wild, adventurous, and unexpectedly wonderful ride when you learn to let go.

    Does Raymond chatter angrily at the ginger cat like my Siamese used to do?

  9. lyn says:

    What a lovely post, the photo of Raymond is so gorgeous!
    the spinning looks good too!
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  10. I love your explanation of Karma. I felt very peaceful just reading it. Facing a somewhat busy day of running around, I think I will remind myself of your explanation a few times!
    Oh, I love those robins and purse – what a fantastic surprise!
    Emily

  11. kate says:

    First up- wow, check out your beautiful spinning! I am truly keen to have a go and have some friends I must pin down to teach me…or maybe they need to pin me down? Anyhow, your first attempts(!!!) already look incredible to me.
    Birdy looks great on your scarf; I am sure many people will love seeing your big beautiful smile, as I did, so thanks for, as always going above and beyond; photographing and blogging about your gift and linking back to me, it is utterly lovely of you,.
    You really truly didn’t need to (and I should have guessed you would-duh me!)-thank you. xxooxxooxxoo

  12. Clara says:

    Alice,
    I just can’t help it, but Raymond has upstaged you once again. His beautiful little face has stolen the show once more but that’s okay cause he’s made me feel just so happy. I love cats, having 3 of my own so I know you understand.

  13. Denise says:

    I’ve been told that spinners should save their first little skein. The best advice I got was to practice for 10 minutes a day. It really is better than one long session a week. With wheel being at your mom’s house I don’t know how easy that would be for you.

    That’s a very nice gift and you are very pretty. Butterscotch gives Raymond a high 7. My Butterscotch has 7 toes/fingers.

  14. tejehannah says:

    Hello Alice! How nice you had a possibility to try spinning – it must be fun and difficult also! Your first try is beautiful – a peace of art!
    Hugs for Raymond!

  15. clare o says:

    That is a beautiful picture of you, with a beautiful smile, love your blog always so upbeat and descriptive

  16. sandiart says:

    I could see a felted flower brooch or two out of your first spinning effort, thats if it didn’t split whilst your were crocheting it.
    Karma, as with life itself, is a wonderous thing is it not……and so is Raymond, such a regal boy.
    Love the surprise you received in the post, I love birds, they seem to pop up on most of the cards and journals I make.
    Have a wonderful Sunday, the sun is shining here, so am about to go out and make the most of it.
    Hugs sandi xx

  17. Melissa says:

    Karma…are you a good witch or a bad witch….it’s a matter of perception…I think. I hate trying to explain things when I’m tired. I’m so very impressed with your first attempt at spinning. Isn’t it amazing how someone who is very experienced at somthing makes it look easy and then we try to do it….not so much. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend. Good Night!

  18. Joyce says:

    Love your little clutch, oh such awesome fabric! Your little birds are too cute, I love your pic too. Have a lovely week at your place.

  19. Hello Alice, I loved this post. the Spinning, good on you for showing the good and the bad! Mine is still too tightly spun sometimes because my wheel is temperamental. Make a small thing with the first skein and date it, it is fun to look back on your progress later. Well done for giving it a go, I find it good thinking time!

    Karma…..my feelings exactly, I knew just where you were coming from but then I do yoga too so it makes sense :-)

    Your present from Kate is beautiful, I’m going to have to go and see if she has any of those cute birdies…I am in need of cheering up.

    Sorry I didn’t comment before tonight but I saw that beautiful picture of Raymondo and just burst into tears, he is such a lovely boy and we lost Hamish yesterday so I was a bit emotional over it all.

    PS Love the new photos on the blog :-) Give Ray a hug from me xx

  20. Emma says:

    It seems Raymond’s acquaintances are two of my favourite blogpets. How could I not hop over here?

    I am very very excited about the crochet apple in your header. I haven’t crocheted so much as a small, sad, tangled beard in thirty eight years. I am determined to crochet an apple before the big 4-0. Determined I tell you.

  21. On behalf of Douglas, who is out walking with his auntie Anne, he says thank you to Raymond, and I know Douglas thinks Raymond is especially handsome as cats go, he loves the closed eye calm look in the photo.
    On behalf of myself, I’m very impressed with your spinning, I’ve tried it, and it requires a certain kind of patience I don’t seem to possess. I’ve also just been salivating over your yarn purchase from your latest post, the colours are delicious! You’re going to have such fun with that lot!
    Love Vanessa xxx

Leave a Reply

