Cuba St!

Helloooooooooooo!!!

What a fantastic week it has been….

Don’t you just LOVE being in that short space of time after a whole lot of pressure has been taken off and you have nothing to do but indulge yourself for a wee while?  I’ve been waking up in the morning and the first thought that pops into my brain is “what essay do I have to write before….” and then I think *JOY!* They’re all written, what am I going to do this morning guilt-free!!!!  I’m sure it comes as no surprise to you that I’ve been doing quite a bit of crochet, but more about that later…. I have a new FO to show you but that will have to wait until tomorrow because it’s raining here and I need to take it into natural light to photograph it effectively!

But first, let me not forget about the giveaway which was just a short little giveaway!  Only 2 days, but I’m sure that everyone who visits comes within 48 hours, and instant gratification is way more fun than delayed!!!

Do you know, the best bit for me was getting so many comments from lovely, lovely people who say they read about me and Raymond and they have left their URL’s and there are so many blogs I’ve never heard of!  So I’m going to thoroughly enjoy visiting all of these people because I have nothing else to do right now, so this is great!!!  Thank you for all of your lovely comments and it was a deep struggle for me not not make 68 sets of bunting and send one to everyone….

So I drew the winner this morning… my heart was beating madly, madly I tell you, I was getting strangely nervous!  And yay for you Mrs Twins, karma decreed that it was you who should win this bunting, so I’ll pop that in the post thisarvo for you!  XXXXX

Time for some photographs I think….

The other day KB and I went into the city to get KB a new haircut.  I thought I’d take my camera in and snap some shots of Cuba St which is without a doubt, the best bit of Wellington.  It’s where I work and have worked pretty much since I was a student the first time around, where all the hippies and alternatives hang out, where you can get a tattoo, a kickin’ coffee and join in a silent protest against the Chinese persecution of Falun Dafa all within a five metre radius!

If you’re not a “suit” then this is the place to be in Wellington.  We went to our fave cafe first for gluten free carrot cake and the best coffee in Wellington…. and of course a spot of Queen Anne-ing!

Then, KB cruised to the hairdresser and I went for a burn around Cuba St with my camera and the aim to show you lovelies the most important parts of this part of town (in my esteemed opinion!).

First past the Theosophical Society…

Then up one block and to the right we find….

The bookshop we try to avoid!  Then I cruise back down Cuba St to a part of town that, let’s face it, is a bit grunge….

Down this alley is some amazing tagging and yarn bombing…

Why am I taking you here, you ask?

Well, I’m showing you a place where ladies (young, middle aged, old, very old) are drawn in droves….

A bit (lot) of graffiti and broken glass isn’t going to keep us away from our local…

Good old Knitworld….

Despite the dreadful location and dubious exterior, it does have a fab selection of woolly goodness and it’s where I tend to go on my lunchbreaks on Saturday, just for a look and a stroke and a think!!! 

So there is my wee tour of “places of interest” for textile lovers!

I hope you enjoyed your visit around my fave part of Wellington City!  One day I’ll take you down the “golden mile” to visit the business people and the government!  I don’t go down there much, tie-dye and knitting needles are not the norm down that end of town!!!

OK, enough blogging!  I have some frogging to do and some more Queen Anne’s lace to create!  Thank you so much for stopping by today!  Sending you all much love and happy thoughts,

From Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Other Ramdom Stuff, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Cuba St!

  1. Ms C says:

    Oh my goodness, that is a lot of graffiti! If I were the owner of that yarn shop I’d feel a bit disheartened at people doing that. It does look very lovely inside.

    That carrot cake looks delicious!

  2. Ana says:

    OOh, gluten free cake! Knit world seems like it is in a secret hidden corner. I kinda like it.

  3. Denise says:

    Congrats to Mrs. Twins. That cake and coffee looks divine. I love that yarn your using for your Queen Anne.

    The graffiti here in the US is a sign of gang activity, marking out their territories. I’m afraid US tourists would be terrified to make their way to that wonderful looking yarn store.

  4. Penelope says:

    Hey Alice, what a cool post! I am partial to a bit of grunge and imperfection, so Cuba street looks fascinating. I don’t like living in perfect “right on” places, one of the reasons why I love that we moved out of Brighton a few years ago. It’s a gorgeous city and full of bo-ho chic but I prefer a bit of the real myself, glossy exteriors don’t impress me much. My lYS is poorly at th emoment suffering from a roof leak so I am waiting with great anticipation for it to re-open and hope to post the joy of it on my blog sometime soon.
    I NEED to get to Minerva please please please, fancy that a whole book store dedicated to textiles ! Hold me down!
    xxxxoooooxxxxxx

  5. Great picture of the coffee and cake. The swirls look cool in the cups. Amazing colors in the graffiti. Some of the people who do that are such amazing artists in my book.

  6. Pammy Sue says:

    Congrats to Sue for winning the pretty bunting! You do deserve it, girlie!

  7. Trekky says:

    This post makes me want to save up for a holiday to NZ! :)

  8. Annette says:

    Morning Alice :0) Thanks for the tour around the streets. I must say I am a lover of graffiti/street art done in the right places of course, (it is a shame its all over the front of that beautiful wool store), we have an alley up here in Cairns that is all tagged (by the owners choice where there is a coffee shop that sits out in the alley so you can look at it. Its amazing really. I love walking down it and looking at all the detail that has gone in to it – not everyones cup of tea, but definately mine ;0). That wool store looks absolutely amazing, there is nothing like that up here :0(. Congratulations to Mrs Twins a well deserved recipient of your giveaway. Enjoy your free time drinking coffee, eating cake and crocheting that beautiful scarf – have a great day. Annette :0) x

  9. Bianca says:

    That alleyway looks GREAT!!! the colour medley is magnifique! You should totally do a graffiti inspired granny mandala range.
    I am totally serious, its like an alley way out of ‘what dreams may come’ if they had alleyways that is instead of fields of flowers.

    Thanks xxx for your blog. I was having a really shitful morning. -not as shitful as the cyclist whom I saw get hit by a bus but shitful in the gut wrenching had to see it and HEAR it way. Its been 2 hours now, and my hands have only just started to stop shaking now after reading the happy words you write. A bit of crystal therapy, your blog, and 6 more cups of coffee and I should be ok, pity words can’t put people back together (physically).

    xB

  10. Erin says:

    I think the colorful graffiti is wonderful. And the knitting store…Nothing like that around here *sigh*

  11. Sandi says:

    The jewel at the end of the graffiti trail, what a wonderful shop full of yarn. I found a beautiful yarn shop on Wednesday up in the ‘hills’ at a place called Sassafrass. I bought one ball of Noro, wool, silk, Kid Mohair and a little Nylon (pity about the Nylon) and a couple of patterns, will post on my blog soon. When I go back I am going to take my camera and ask if I could take a couple of photo’s.
    Congrats to Mrs Twins :)
    Thank you for the little tour of the more crafty end of Wellington, it is always great to see a little of where people call home.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Hugs Sandi xx

  12. Congratulations to Mrs Twins, a perfect match for your bunting :-)
    That side of town looks like my kind of paradise, esp the wool shop….all those colours lined up along the wall!! MMMMmmmmmm :-) Cool yarn bombing too!

  13. carol says:

    That cake just looks soooooooooooooo moist yummy

    You have inspired me to get hooking with the Queen Anne’s scarf, but mine looks so different! do you use English or USA stitches, I am doing USA as most pattern’s on Ravelry have a USA base, just just be that I really am not very good at crochet lol

  14. Kate says:

    Yay for mrs twins! :0) Damn, but wellington looks funky! Those cakes look delicious and are they really cut so generously? Is that standard practice in nz? A land of lush wools and huge cakes seems wonderful!
    Have a gorgeous weekend xx

  15. Kari says:

    Fabulous photos – I love the graffiti, it is so colourful and I so want to visit that shop, sigh…

    Hurry up and show us pics of the FO you tease us with!

  16. Tracy Marie says:

    Your day sounds and looks so yummy ~Love the tour of your favorite streets and shops! Thank you so much for sharing a part of your world with all of us. :D

    I was looking thru patterns on line and came across this one for a cool cloche and scarf set at Berroco and thought of how cool you would make it with your wonderful sense of style not to mention your awesome color combinations:

    http://www.berroco.com/exclusives/firenze/firenze_lg.html

    Big Hugs,
    Tracy Marie

  17. Melissa says:

    Cuba Street looks so great! I love looking at graffiti. So many interesting things to see in it….there’s someone’s portrait! Knitworld looks like absolute heaven. I could spend all day in there!

  18. Melissa says:

    P.S. Have a great weekend!!

  19. Debi Y. says:

    Congrats to Ms. Sue (Mrs. Twins). :)

    I love your Queen Anne scarf – I’m thinking about crocheting one for myself.

  20. Louise says:

    Wow! Cuba St. certainly seems like an interesting place to hang out. Do the little old grannies really go down that alley to the yarn shop? I think without reading your post you wouldn’t catch me going down it! Unless, of course I knew there was a yarn shop at the end :-)
    Hope you, KB and Sir Raymond have a lovely weekend.

  21. MiA says:

    Wow! That is some true yarnbombing allright :))

  22. Mrs Twins says:

    …..and here I am late in the day getting to you! I am so sorry.
    Wow! this is a terrific surprise!
    I never win anything……. OOh I’m absolutely over the moon thank you so much Alice.
    I agree with your previous comments about the graffiti, but its that yarn shop that I had to look twice at! Gosh all those shelves of wonderful yarn! OOh I wish I was there now having a good look at it all.
    Just think what you could make with all that!
    Nice to visit you again, and you’ve certainly made nmy day!
    Many thanks Love Suex

  23. pip says:

    great photos… I really must visit New Zealand one of these days :)

  24. ruth says:

    Now that graffiti doesn’t look all that bad really. It’s just as colourful as the interior of that lovely yarnshop and after all, it’s still art!!

    Ruth
    x

  25. Meredith says:

    I just found your blog and I love it. New Zealand sounds lovely and I would love to visit your yarn shop. I am new to crochet but am an avid knittier, you have inspired me. Have a lovely day.
    Meredith

  26. tejehannah says:

    Hello Alice! Thank you for lovely visit in Wellington, I wish I could visit one day!
    I’m just now in that kind of short space – las week I didn’t have 1 minute to stop and now I have again all the time I want to do my works (lots of them). This morning my 16 friends left back home – they stayed one week at our home! See you soon!
    Best wishes Teje

  27. Loretta says:

    We spent a day in Wellington last year (too short!), and I spent most of it in Cuba Street! Amazing street art, and I loved the grunginess of the place. Hoping to get back there in 2011.
    Always love catching up with your colourful projects :)

Leave a Reply

