African Flowers

Hellooooo!!!

Welcome to my bright and lovely corner of the internet… today it is a direct contrast to real life!  We are having a grey and rainy week, so it’s blissful for me to escape into my colourful happy place for a wee bit!  And of course, after this, escape into YOUR colourful and happy places too!  Oh how I love to visit my blog friends and see all the amazing talent we all have… I’ve seen some fantastic things lately, including the best ever needle felting tutorial by Jenni (make sure you pop in and see the COOL things she is creating!), I’m also enjoying seeing how many different ways Sue can use up her quinces … she’s shown us four so far!  And I luuuuuuuurve Penelope’s tea cozy, I mean, I love it, and she shared where she got the pattern too…. so I hunted it down and am wondering if it may be too advanced for my knitting “skills” at this point, but WOW I want to make one!  And that’s just a few of the things that have excited me this week… I enjoy so much the diversity of our blogging community and the inspiration I am given daily.

I’ve been wanting to have a play with the african flower pattern I have loved so much, for AGES!  And I had a hook break between the knitting of the Harvey Kimono (which is still in progress!) and had a play with some of these beauties.

I have made quite a few, but have been struggling with the colour combinations…. struggling with infusing these flowers with my personality.  Maybe some of you know that I practice energy healing and crystal healing.  My beliefs involve the idea that everything in and out of this world is made up of one energy (call it what you will) and that everything is vibrating at a different frequency.  This is what makes a rock a rock and a tree a tree.  (and wool, wool of course!!!)  So this energy flows through us always, and as it flows through our hands, our own energetic vibrations influence everything that we create.  This is why two people, using the same pattern can make two completely different looking objects!  So, when I have a look at the flickr pool of african flowers, they are all as different as the hookers who hooked them! 

So I have been experimenting with colour, with blending, with contrast…. looking at how others have used colour in theirs, seeing what I think works, and applying these ideas to my own… dipping into this beautiful pool of inspiration I am a part of!

I’ve learned so far, that my usual love of blending shades of the same colour only works in the centre, but that it needs a contrasting colour around the edge to really get that beautiful effect the petals create…..

But it’s a work in progress!  And fun no matter what the outcome!

Written pattern is here and there are links to other useful info to do with creating amazing things from this lovely motif!!! 

So no FO today…. more like an insight into my crafty journey!  I hope you enjoyed your visit today and have fun checking out the links of my favourite things for the week! 

I’m off to finish my last essay… yes, you heard me… the last one due until January.  *phew!*

Have a beautiful day, lovely people and thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such kind words of encouragement and praise, you make my day!

Lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

P.S.  I just remembered… something exciting is happening this week so stay tuned! XXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in African Flowers, Crochet Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to African Flowers

  1. Annette says:

    Aren’t they just lovely :0) All the colour combinations look great and really make the petals pop out. I came across this pattern the other day and thought how lovely it was and as you say everyones version in their own colours look so different. Good luck with your last essay for the year Alice. Off to check out your links, happy weekend to you & of course Raymond :0)

  2. Denise says:

    I’ve been wanting to make those for a couple months. I love the single blue best, it’s my very favorite color. They are all just lovely.

  3. Dear Alice, may I tell you that I believe your color combos are the most vibrant and ispirational of any that I’ve seen? I am dying to do one of your mandalas for a pillow cover, I have 3 round pillow forms begging to be covered in eye-popping colors! And now you’ve done some African flowers using your magical colors! I’ve been wanting also to do an African flower and now I must do it now now now. I am 3/4 done with a rainbow Granny Stripe blanket and I need to do something else for a change! It’s taking months and forever to do it! :-) I check your blog every single day and thank you so much for posting often. Some of my favorite blogs haven’t been updated for months! So, THANK YOU! Hugs, Teresa from Corbett, Oregon

  4. Casey says:

    I always love to see how you’ve put colors together, you always do it so beautifully, you’ve got a great eye!

  5. Hello Alice I hope you are having a lovely Sunday :-) Thanks for the link and the lovely compliment, I have been really enjoying my little stint of needle felting and had forgotten how fun it can be. I checked out your other links……I was drooling over the quinces and that tea cosy is so sweet, I love the little blue bird! Will pop back and post comments later as Sunday here seems very busy in Blogland and comment pages take forever to load!!

    I really like your RED African flower, the one with the yellow centre….I have had that pattern on the to-do -list for a while :-) Hope the knitting is going well!

  6. Ria says:

    really like the way your flowers are!! Now let’s see what you will make out of it and surprise us again!! You are a big inspiration to many people! Thank you!!

  7. Karen says:

    Hi
    I love your crocheting hun!
    Such wonderful colours….how fab!
    I think I may have to just borrow your pattern…
    ((hugs))
    Karen x

  8. Louise says:

    Cool, I have these queued on ravelry too. There are some great pictures on flickr too.

  9. Ooooh, African Flowers, very addictive I found! I’ll need to count how many I’ve done. I just loved playing with all the different colour combinations which I think is why I ended up surprising myself by making a blanket! Have fun…

  10. Siobhan says:

    Hi, I love your colours for the African flowers. I think they are my favourites – the colours are so rich and juicy without being overwhelmingly in your face bright! I love how you have done the centres and the colour combo’s. This is a pattern I have had ear-marked for a while but well, there are just so many beautiful things to do aren’t there – what to choose? Lovely to be reminded about why I love it!

  11. I absolutely love those flowers! When I opened up your blog this morning and caught sight of those beauties, I let out a silent squeal of delight!
    They’re so happy and I think all your colour combinations are lovely.
    Em

  12. Debi Y. says:

    They’re all so pretty – like a beautiful little flower garden. I crocheted an african flower lapghan a little while ago and I love it. :)

  13. Penelope says:

    Hello Alice
    Thanks so much for the mention regarding my tea cosy. So many people have popped in to take a look. I promise it’s the easiest pattern ever, go on give it a go ;o)
    Your african flowers are stunning as usual, you truly are the Queen Bee of colour combining xox Take care, enjoy the freedom of being ‘essay-less’ till the new year. Hae a great week xox

  14. Tickety-boo says:

    I just love your African flowers they are so you. I really enjoyed making them and made a Fantasy Flower bag ala Morrewens fantastic pattern out of mine (which you can see on my blog). It is so very true about the energy we all have and how we all make something individual from the same pattern. I believe that is why you can feel at home somewhere you have visited for the first time but also why you never really settle in another place you have visited lotes of times. Anyway I love reading your blog it’s such a splash of colour on a dull Autumn day. x

  15. Siel says:

    I want to make these flowers myself for a long time, they are so beautiful!! “MOOI”. in Dutch. Just a matter of time I think. X Siel

  16. kate says:

    Wow. So beautiful. I love the philosophy or call it what you will of energy healing…it a way of viewing the world, ourselves which resonates with me too. When I recently worked with some (war) refugees the transformation of crocheting with the coloured yarns was amazing.

  17. Kat says:

    Hi Alice! Love the color combinations of African Violets. Thank you for the comment on the bookmarks…I love them all and I’m in awe at how easy they are. I just took another pic this morning…I finished a frog (my own pattern) and a flower bookmark (another Drops Design pattern). I’ll probably post them later on today when I get a bit of time.
    Kat

  18. Melissa says:

    So pretty! Can’t wait to see what you do with them!

  19. ramya says:

    hi there

    i just love your website and your creations. i love crochet and knitting and am also studying to bea counsellor!!
    i just saw apic of the african flower cushion cover and would love to know how to do th e sides straight despite it beinga hexagon. dont know if that makes any sense.

    please do get bck when time permits.

    hugs
    ramya

  20. mary cook says:

    these are very lovely but this is not an african violet flower in no way

  21. Bertha says:

    I am so addicted to this pattern, love making them already have two afghans started with them

Leave a Reply

