Fooooooooooooooooood!!!!

Hellooooo!!!

I seem to be doing an awful lot of posting at the moment, my creativity is at a peak and the fact that I’m making little things, so churning them out a lot faster, than say…. a giant cushion (!) means I have a lot to say for myself!  Plus, I’m not going to classes right now as we are on holiday, so am spending much more time at home writing essays and taking nice long craft breaks!

Do you know, I’ve been getting a lot of lovely, sweet messages over at Ravelry from some total darlings who tell me they love my blog… it’s always a bit of a surprise to me that people are interested enough to come back to visit, but then I suppose I can understand that, because I love to visit my favourite blogs and catch up on my blog friend’s news….. I think I get surprised that anyone and everyone can see what I’m putting out there, I forget that as I sit here in my rocker in my flat, that I’m broadcasting my life um, to the whole population!  When I started this blog, I was a bit freaked out about that, so I decided that I wouldn’t put anything personal on it, no pictures of myself, none of my family or anything, just crochet, and of course, Raymond!  But then things started to change, and I think that’s natural as we start to develop very impersonal long distance friendships with each other!  It’s nice to see the odd picture of a blog friend and hear what made them happy today, or what inspired them, or what their kids (or cats) have been up to.  So because I enjoy that in others, I think I’m more relaxed about the sharing side of things now too…. although I still don’t like putting pictures of myself on unless absolutely necessary!!!

Last week, the lovely Louise from Lally Lou-Lou did a great curry post and said that she had heard on the news that the average family has about seven meals they swap around each night.  That was funny, I thought, and indeed commented to Louise… I think I have gotten so lazy over winter, that I have about four recipes I’ve been using!  I think I need to shake up my skills in the kitchen! 

I love cooking…. being a strict vegetarian, it’s totally vital to make sure that KB and I are getting all the proteins, nutrients and fats to keep us healthy, so every meal involves some kind of chick-pea or lentil goodness.  As spring is happening, new season potatoes are just coming into the vege market and the other night I made a to-die-for potato salad and I’m going to share my recipe with you right now!  I hope you try it… it’s the best ever…..

This recipe should feed a whole family as the main part of the meal, but adjust it to fit yours!  Leftovers are always welcome in our house, so I make heaps.

So take some new season potatoes… or if not, agria are my favourite… do you have agria potatoes where you live?

Chop them into nice big chunks, skins on people!  That’s where all the vitamin C is….

And boil them up until they’re nice and cooked.  While you’re doing this, get your frying pan and fry up some mushrooms for an iron hit!  I’m into really healthy food, I like to flavour things with natural goodness, and one of my favourite things to sweeten food with is onion and garlic, I use heaps, don’t be shy!  So pop in a frying pan about 5 chopped mushrooms, one chopped red onion, a nice big teaspoon (or two or three!) of crushed garlic and a slosh of olive/ rice bran oil.

These smelled amazing today… when cooked, add to the cooked potato.

Add some chickpeas… maybe a can if you use a can, I boiled some up this morning and put in two cups of them.  Also, finely chop whatever you have handy, I’m putting in celery, spinach and a nice big handful of chopped corriander, but would usually put in capsicum, cucumber, tomato… anything really!

I also added to this one, some lentils I had in my sprouter to add an extra healthy punch… then stir it all up!

Now for the dressing, I use unsweetened yoghurt- make sure you read the label and make sure there is no gelatin in it!  I have noticed lately gelatin sneaking into my usual yoghurt and that is just wrong!  Why do companies make food non-vegetarian and then not advertise it?

So if you look in this little bowl, you’ll see how much yoghurt I’ve put in, then a big tablespoon of wholegrain mustard, yum!  I actually added another teaspoon afterwards to this….

And stir it all up!  Oh yeah… it’s a good time to season the salad with salt and pepper here too!

Pour it in and stir!

And serve beautifully on a nice plate!  I garnished this with toasted sesame and sunflower seeds and some avocado.  Serve with green salad and feel a virtuous glow spread through you!!!!!

Wow, just looking at that is making me hungry… how about you?

As well as food, I finished off a set of bunting to sell at my exhibition which I’m planning for November!  I had to make it in the colours of my favourite cushion just in case someone wanted to buy the cushion… maybe they will be diverted by the bunting as I love the cushion too much to let go of it!!!

And I’ve been working on a new bunting pattern which I happen to love very deeply!  I made a set all in white believe it or not and it’s stunning… just heavenly and angelic… I can’t wait to show you and share the pattern which I’m just loving.

OK lovelies!  I hope you enjoyed your visit today and are inspired to go and eat something delicious!

have a beautiful day wherever you are,

Love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Bunting, Crochet Goodness, Fooooooooood!, Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Fooooooooooooooooood!!!!

  1. Leah says:

    Looks very yummy. I made some of you health muffins and I’m happy to report my kids love them too! Very nice to know that they are eating something that’s not full of sugar. Oh and vie started a bunting too.

  2. Denise says:

    It looks pretty yummy. When I was little, oh I still am, when I was very young, my grandmother made the same 7 meals, we knew what day it was by dinner, or we would know to avoid or dread dinner by what day it was.

    I’ve always been aware that any one in the world can pop on my blog and read. I used to write short stories for a website back in 2000 and probably used to it from that. I don’t post pictures of myself because I don’t care for how I look in past few years, I’ve really aged. I do like to look at pictures of where people live, it’s like traveling for the price of an internet connection.

  3. Denise says:

    Oh, I forgot to add. Did you know that rice and beans together in the same dish equal a protein same as a meat protein? I learned that back in nursing school.

  4. clare o says:

    ooooh that looks yummy, definately one to try, love the bunting such gorgeous colours

  5. jarlov says:

    Yum! I love potato salad – it’s so annoying about gelatin in yoghurt huh?! I noticed that fresh and fruity has “halal gelatin”, you think if they go to the effort to do halal they could use some kind of vege version… I always have Cyclops, yum :)
    Sophia

  6. Planet Penny says:

    That Potato Salad is making my mouth water, and I haven’t even had breakfast yet!
    White bunting sounds lovely and Christmassy, I might try some as I am going into colour overload a bit over on Planet Penny. Your pinks and purply hues are gorgeous, like a sunset.
    Love Penny and Higgins x

  7. Dorothy says:

    Hi Alice (and Raymond) .. just want to let you know that I enjoy your blog and visit whenever you post. That potato salad looks so yummy and I also love your cushion. Will look forward to seeing the white bunting and also the pattern (of course) :) By the way, your photography is beautiful – may I ask what camera you use as I’m thinking of upgrading from my little Canon Ixus 80 ?

  8. Ruth says:

    Delicious! I read somewhere (but can’t for the life of me remember where) that it’s better to cook your potatoes whole not cut them up before boiling as you lose the vitamin content in the cooking water as they are boiling. Keeping them whole and cutting them after retains much more vitamin content in your potatoes. Ruth xx

  9. Louise says:

    Yum very lovely, cheers for the mention, you are lovely to!! I am a confirmed meat eater but eat veggie about twice a week and love it. Up in the North east of England I was brought up on pulses. Most vegetarians I meet never eat pulses as protein only cheese. Theyre missing a treat aren’t they Alice?

  10. Patz says:

    O.M.G!! It’s not been that long since my last visit!!! But as usual, Alice and Raymond, WOW!!! Have been catching up, and loving the colours, the making, the frenzy… the PASSION!!! Can’t wait for that white bunting!! (Since I am ‘slightly’ obsessed with buntings at the moment…)
    Oh, and: “Bon appetit!” :-D
    XOX

  11. I found your blog through Ravelry and love it and now I know you are a fellow veggie I like you even more! I used to have a very limited menu of meals until my oven broke. It’s forced me into trying some new things. I have the problem of cooking for mushroom-phobic children too, which is frustrating as I love ‘em! I even offered my son £20 to eat a mushroom and it was a no-go.

  12. 'me' says:

    ok, those pictures… made me want to eat that right now and that’s impossible because i’m sitting on my desk at work :(

  13. Tatyana says:

    It looks so yummy! All stages of process :)

    Best wishes,
    Tatyana

  14. Erica says:

    I very much LOVE that cushion!!!!!

  15. Linda says:

    yummmmm… i are hungry :D

  16. Melissa says:

    It’s almost 10:00 am here and I’m having thoughts of potato salad for lunch….which is a couple of hours off. It’s caused a grumbly in my tumbly…I just love Winnie the Pooh.

  17. Louise says:

    YUM! I am absolutely starving now! Will definitely give this recipe a try.

  18. Jeanne says:

    I just want to eat up the gorgeous cushion and bunting!

  19. Penelope says:

    Thanks for such a sumptuous mouth watering post! I think I will have to give this one a go when I am trying to impress my non-veggie friends… look forward to your white wonderland bunting xox

  20. Trekky says:

    Looks delicious! (Though would have to take out the shrooms for the phobic me!).

  21. Sharon says:

    Hi Alice

    Your potato salad looks yummy – I am going to make some this weekend! Thanks for sharing. x

  22. sandiart says:

    Garlic and onion, a girl after my own heart, I throw it in just about everything, we had potato, sweet potato and pumpkin mashed together last night with garlic in it, of course, I will be making that potato salad for sure, my kids love all the ingredients.
    Love the sound of the white bunting. I am making myself a cover for the bed and it is in cream, or more off white, knitted, crochet and sewn squares.
    Your coloured bunting looks great with your cushion.
    xx Sandi (snuggles to Raymond)

  23. renee says:

    mmm that does look delicious! As does your pink squares cushion! I have finally finished my crochet bunting, just have to find some time to blog it!

  24. Nice potato salad! Yes now I am hungry ;-) Can’t wait to see the white bunting!! BTW what do you feed Raymond?? My friend in the UK from way back vet nursing together is a vegan and she gives her cats and dogs vegetarian pet food……doesn’t seem to worry them at all??

  25. Casey says:

    yum, that looks so good!

  26. Siobhan says:

    Once, many years ago I made something different every day for a year. I’m also vegetarian. I never ran out of ideas and was – along with my many cook books still going strong. But you know, if you like something you want to eat it again – and soon! Real veggie food is the best kind – the kind ‘they’ tell you is boring and old fashioned! (yucky ready made veggie burgers – not that I don’t have them sometimes though). Nut roasts and lentils are great, like you say they keep you healthy too. You won’t do too well on a plate of potatoes and a lump of cheese! Your food looks scrummy. Have loved your regular posts and your crochet – am definitely going to get going on that bunting.

Leave a Reply

