More beautiful beach shots!

Hello you lovely things!

Thank you soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo so much for all the well wishes for my exam today!  You sure are just the kindest and I am pleased to say that it is OVER!  It went OK…. it was harder than I expected and it seems that for every one thing I wrote, I left two more things out due to forgetfulness or lack of time, but that’s a pretty standard feeling in an exam isn’t it!

After the frenzy of writing which get progressively messier as time went on, I was feeling quite hyped up and needed some grounding… luckily its another amazingly beautiful day here in Wellington, so KB and I went to the beach again, but this time on the other side of town, to Oriental Bay.

It was just beautiful… this is Wellington harbour.  Today the sea was incredible!  Turquoise water, blue sky, bright sun….

The perfect type of day to get my feet wet…. some people were game enough to swim, but not me!

And after a while I came back to earth!

This next shot is Wellington City, I’d love to tell you that it is naturally this tropical, but the beaches of Wellington are more like yesterday’s post, rugged and rocky…. these white sand beaches were man-made, well, not so long ago….

Wellington is awesome in that you are generally only a few streets from the waterfront, as you can see!

I’m glad you’re enjoying these posts about where I live… I must say that because I have lived in Wellington all my life apart from two years, it’s worn off and not so exciting, but as I seem to be getting great feedback, here you go!

So we’re home now, enjoying the late afternoon sun, and I’m going to present to you the FO from yesterday, that I made with the wool my Mum spun!  I bought a big pile of hand dyed knots in August from a local trader which of course I can’t spin because I’ve not yet had a go at that!  So my lovely Mum had a little job given to her! 

A few weeks ago I was heartily inspired by Kate from Dash Robin who hooked up some beautiful bunting from organic wool.  Click here and a new window will pop up so you can quickly have a peek!  I really loved the simplicity of it, and filed it in my brain for later!  Instead of hooking it, I decided to have a go at knitting it….

Using some of my “Mum-spun” wool.  Using beautiful wool is such an experience for the senses…. this one is 100% merino, so it is soooooooooooo soft and flows through my fingers like, well, pure softness!  The colours graduate so perfectly, and those colours!  My favourite after pink!

I spent all of yesterday morning finishing these…. using the green merino and the blue which is Corridale wool so a bit scratchier but still so unusually exciting.

I love these garter stitch buntings… bunts?  What’s the plural of bunting?  Garter stitch is just so unassuming… it kind of says yeah… I’m the first thing you learn, I’m simple…. but you just can’t live without me…..

Just in case any of you would like to make your own, I wrote down the pattern I took a few (more than a few) tries to achieve!  Remember, to make a lovely smooth edge you need to slip the first stitch of every single row…..  I used 4mm needles and this wool is approximately 8ply…

CO25

Row 1 knit

Rows 2-3 sl1 knit

Rows 4-5 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 6-8 sl1 knit

Rows 9-10 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 11-13 sl1 knit

Rows 14-15 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 16-18 sl1 knit

Rows 19-20 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 21-23 sl1 knit

Rows 24-25 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 26-28 sl1 knit

Rows 29-30 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 31-33 sl1 knit

Rows 34-35 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 36-38 sl1 knit

Rows 39-40 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 41-43 sl1 knit

Rows 44-45 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 46-48 sl1 knit

Rows 49-50 sl1 k2tog knit

Rows 51-53 sl1 knit

Rows 54-55 sl1 k2tog knit

Row 56 sl1 k2tog Cast off and weave in loose ends

I hope that worked out mathematically!  On the paper I wrote it down on I had missed one row so I’m hoping fingers crossed it’s all right… let me know if you try one!

I hooked them together by chaining enough length to hang them, then sc into the first stitch, ch2, skip 2 stitched sc into next stitch and so on…..

These lovelies are hanging in my kitchen window brightening the place considerably with Rick, Dick and Prick.

It’s good stuff!  We (I) love them! 

Allright!  I’m going to grab my iPod and go for a walk in this beautiful evening sunshine….  and make sure I manage to have a catch up with all of my beautiful blog friends and see what you’ve been up to.

Sending you lots of loving happiness, I hope life is beautiful wherever you are…………..

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Bunting, Knitting!, Other Ramdom Stuff, Patterns, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to More beautiful beach shots!

  1. Penelope says:

    Wow what a sensational post Alice, that yarn is to dye for (‘scuse the pun!) all those green/blue hues of Wellington and then yarn …thank you for cheering me up on this ever soooo dreary morning. I am up rather early today, didn’t sleep too great and I have a stressful couple of weeks ahead…. presentations & workshops to give, clients to sort out and a wedding outfit to plan for ! Not to mention my funky tea cosy I am furiously knitting in garter stitch funny enough as a handmade wedding gift, hope to post it soon xox Enjoy the freedom of time after your exam. xxxxxx Penelope x

    ps. I sent the parcel a week ago, hopefully something will arrive soon x

  2. Penelope says:

    Oh dear was a silly goose I am I have just seen your previous post! Yay, parcel has arrived xox

  3. Wendy says:

    Oh please let the plural of bunting be bunts! That’s what I used to call buttons when I was very small so I’ve been told! Beautiful colours…. x

  4. Planet Penny says:

    Just staggered downstairs having overslept and read your post over a cuppa! What a good start to the day it was. Love that wool, the colours are so serene, and more wonderful shots of that blue sea…..sigh….Oh woops! Porridge is boiling over! See you soon Penny xxx

  5. I’m so glad your exam went well Alice, well done after all your hard work, I’m sure you’ll pass with flying colours. How wonderful that you’re knitting with your mums hand spun yarn, there’s something magical about that, don’t you think, and the colours are gorgeous. Every time you do your washing up and you look at your bunting, you’ll think of your mum, lovely. Love Vanessa xxx

  6. sandiart says:

    Something I crave every year after winter is to go to the beach and feel the sand and salt water on my feet, I also like to take my shoes off and go stand in the dirt and grass. It wakens the soul up after the winter veil.
    Love your crayon mug and your bunts and your pictures of Wellington….AND that you did well in your exam. Does it not make you feel so very alive when the hard bit is done and the sun is shining…..life is GOOD.
    Hugs to all Sandi xx

  7. Phew the exam is over!! What a great way with the garter stitch and that yummy wool, I wish i could spin so evenly…..I’ll keep practising :-)
    Great beach day!

  8. Lovin’ the pics! Thanks for sharing, and I hope your exam results come back awesome!

  9. Tatyana says:

    Such a nice sunny weather :) and I just love seaside!
    Is it difficult to create a crocheted triangle? :)

    Best wishes,
    Tatyana

  10. Wow, what wonderful wool and the bunting looks great. I have only just found your blog and excuse the pun and hooked. I will be mandaling tonight. I have previously done pencil sketches of mandalas, drawing a circle to start then filling with all sorts of colours, shapes, sketches etc…. I am from the UK and my Reki friend and I used to spend a relaxing weekend doing these along with crystal healing. Thank you for your fab pattern. Much love Clare xox

  11. Melissa says:

    Yea! Exam is over and done with and I’m sure you did well. I think I’m going to have to break out the needles and see if I can make these bunts. I thought if I made them all in the same color way and staggered them with some of the crochet bunts, that would be really cool…great visual interest. We’ll see. Have to get my to do list whittled a little bit. Enjoy the beach! I’m so jealous!

  12. Pammy Sue says:

    I just have to say again that you live in a most beautiful place! Woweeeee! I would just love to sit with my feet in the sand and water today.

    Nice bunting too. Love the colors…same as your beautiful water and skies.

  13. marion says:

    What a beautiful post from you… and again so beautiful pictures …

    Nice to see your exam is now behind you and you’ve enjoyed the day so wonderful!
    I like your new Knitting in the kitchen very much, wonderful color and compliments to your mother for the “Mum spun Wool” !
    Have a nice day and thank you so much for your kind comment on my blog – I was very happy…
    Many Greetings,
    Marion

  14. aeonie says:

    I am loving the bunting!! I have a feeling it is going to come an addiction!! Thanks for sharing the pattern. x

  15. lovestitch says:

    Thank you so much, Alice! I am just a beginner of knitting, so your pattern is sooooooo great for me to try! Thanks again for sharing!
    Have a wonderful day!!!
    LoL, xxx

  16. Mummyinwonderland says:

    Hi,
    Love your site, need time to sit and look at all the lovely things you’ve made. Am going to try knitting the bunting as my next project. Thanks for sharing.
    Angela

  17. yarnydays says:

    I am loving the bunting! And what great, summery pictures…

  18. Tzu says:

    Hi. I love the bunting pattern!
    In the pattern of the bunting,for example, in rows 2-3, does Sl1 Knit mean Slip 1 and then Knit then Slip and Knit again? Or would that mean Slip 1 then Knit until the end? I just want to clarify before trying it out. I’m just beginning to knit. :)

Leave a Reply

