Breaking the rules

Happy Sunday morning to you!!!

Or maybe it’s Saturday night where you are… I love reading comments from people who are reading my Sunday morning posts on a Saturday night before going to bed, I’ve said before how much I love making new friends all over the world and how connected it makes me feel to the rest of the planet!  I love watching your Summer turn to Autumn, the lovely orange and red colours, as I see Winter becoming Spring here…

Now, I must APOLOGISE!!!!!  In my last post on Friday, I uploaded a few photos and suddenly the post just posted itself before I had even finished what I was doing!  Oh the horror I felt!  Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!  I know all of my darling e-mail subscribers got a strange post from me with about 5 pictures and no words, such a terrible thing!!!  WordPress seemed to be in the process of making some “FABULOUS” changes behind the scenes that day and my laptop was trying to process that, and bang.  Half finished post posted as I’m trying to get ready for work!  If you did just get pictures, click here and a new window will pop up with the entire post, including pictures of the finished cushion!

Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments about my giant cushion, and in fact, all of your lovely comments about everything, it totally makes my day.  Mornings are my special “obligation free” time, so I like to get up super early and hook, knit, drink coffee and most especially, check my blog and spend some time visiting my favourite blogs and enjoying your creations too, so it brightens my morning so much to read such lovely things.

I remember when I was young, my awesome Mum said that pink and red do not go together.  They’re too close a colour match.  Kind of like black and navy…. She may have changed her perspective on this by now, I’m not sure, I haven’t asked!  I totally agree about the black and navy, it reminds me of my old school uniform…. but as far as pink and red… well, that’s a rule I love to break!

Beautiful heavenly pink…. these lilies are my absolute favourite flower…

I wonder why KB is so allergic to my favourite ever flower that if she enters a room with them in it, her eyes start to itch, her throat gets all scratchy and her sinuses play up immediately?

Do you remember how I made a few sets of bunting and put them in the window of my Mum’s flower shop?  Well, I took them down a few weeks ago and gifted all three sets (they were so well received, I was quite surprised at how partial to bunting people are!) and since then, two people have come in and asked my Mum where the crochet has gone!  It seems people love a bit of colourful hooky happiness to brighten their mornings on their way to work….

So I’m making some more sets to put in for my “eat your heart out Grandma” cushion exhibition… the cushions are most definitely NFS but people can buy the bunting and my badges….

Are any of you coming to this???  (tee hee)

However, I really like this pink and red bunting… I don’t know if I want to sell it!  It’s hanging on the back of my front door right now and I quite like it there… although it’s possibly a bit bright for my kitchen, so maybe I’ll be over it in a couple of days….

Don’t you think it brightens this scuzzy old door up beautifully?  This is the door to under the house, not my front door…. although, KB was wondering whether it’s actually nicer than our front door….

Someone (I’m sorry I can’t remember who!!!) said how she liked that I take my crochet on location for its photoshoots!  I liked that comment,

 because I do too… it’s so fun!  I like making a big fuss of my creations….

My bunting pattern is here, although I’ve revised it now that I have my fun magic ring knowledge and learned how to do dc2tog!  So watch this space for a new and improved set of instructions!

Do you know… I work in a shop which sells lots of fun things like clothes, body piercing jewellery, jewellery, cool imported things from all over the world, and it’s quite popular with the teenagers who like to stretch their ears… do you know what that is?  Let me know if not and I’ll tell you next time!  I worked my 8 hour Saturday shift yesterday and by the end of it I was just shocked at the fashion the teenagers are wearing!  It’s pure 1980’s reebok, raybans, stonewash, mullety nightmare inducing stuff!  I was telling KB about it last night and she said to me: “Oh wow Babe, like you’re the first person of an older generation to be shocked at what teenagers are wearing….”

Oh dear, good point… it seems I’ve made the final transition into adulthood….

OK lovelies, I’m signing off now, I’ve GOT to go and do some study!

Lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of love to all of you wonderful people,

From Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

 

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Bunting, Crochet Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Breaking the rules

  1. Het Kabinet says:

    I love your crochet, as always. And I totally agree on the pink-and-red thing, in fact I made a scarf that’s all shades of red, pink and purlple (the horror!). It’s on my blog if yout to see it.
    And about the teenagers, I think it’s just so weird to see them in the exact clothes that we saw around in our errrrr teens? That’s the shocking bit I think, the deja-vu kinda thing you know?
    Anyway, have a nice day! I’m going off to bed now :)

  2. Nicole says:

    Love the bunting! I’m looking forward to seeing those new instructions :) Oh yeah, it’s 2:00 Saturday afternoon here ;0)

  3. Greetings from Saturday night :-D. I’ve found myself muttering about teenagers wearing exactly the things I wore when I was a teenager – makes me feel so old! The only difference is the hair, as all the kids here seem to have a really low side-parting. It looks like a lot of effort though. Even as a teen I was too lazy to faff around with my hair that much!

  4. I love the way that bunting lifts the old door :-) Good luck with the cushion expo, when is it? I am afraid I am with the dejavu comment about the fashion of our teens….scary to think I used to go around like that but with the BIG hair!!! LOL Have a great Sunday!

  5. Debi Y. says:

    That bunting is just beautiful. I’ll have to crochet one one day. :)

  6. sandiart says:

    Yes it is funny how fashion keeps on ‘coming back’ so to speak, but with a few little changes. I do like the pink and red together, I was always told ‘Blue and Green should never been seen’ and yet I love them together and my favourite winter skirt (from a life time ago) was blue and green.
    AND I love your name for your cushion exhibit!!
    Lillies are one of my favs too, poor KB I know how she feels, as a fellow ‘heyfever’ sufferer.
    Have a wonderful Sunday, the sun is shining here today and all the doors and windows are wide open.
    Sandi xxx

  7. sandiart says:

    PS. can you/would you do a tutorial for your flowers, I would love to do a couple for Christmas pressy’s.
    Thank you in anticipation (please)

  8. Anne says:

    I love red pink and orange together…..:)

  9. sandiart says:

    Thank you Alice, just ordered it, and it was on sale, so I am very grateful. :)

  10. Well, it is Saturday night here and I am close to heading to bed. Fall is upon us and the cool weather is encouraging a snuggle under the added quilt on the bed. I love the bunting and the color combination. So sweet! ~kelly

  11. Leah says:

    Love the bunting, I’m gonna give it a try!

  12. Denise says:

    Just so you know, it’s Saturday night where I am. Stargazer lilies are one of my favorite flowers too. Those are some really nice pictures. It’s too bad your partner is allergic.

    When I see those flowers it reminds me of working an evening shift as a nurse on a early spring day. One of the residents family brought in a bright bouquet of those flowers. I standing at the medicine cart in the hallway with the sun setting and shining down the hall at just the right angle with scent of those flowers wafting down the hallway, it put me in the most cheerful mood. That was 15 years ago, but I still remember that moment.

    I love crochet as well. You have a good eye for color. I always put red, pink and purple together, they are pretty combination.

  13. Planet Penny says:

    The bunting is gorgeous! If Mother Nature can put pink and red together (and blue and green for that matter) it must be ok. You don’t get any navy and black flowers, do you? The cushion is great too, I struggle making big things – my boredom threshold is very low – so that’s why the little cushions I’ve been doing have been good. P x

  14. Patricia says:

    I just love reading your posts and seeing all your great projects. I love your color choices, they look so happy. Love the pink and red together. It is Saturday night here in California. LOL that you have already posted for Sunday morning. Have a great day.

  15. Siobhan says:

    Yes to pink and red and also orange all together! Geranium colours my daughter called them the other day (that impressed me as we can’t/don’t do garden stuff – and because we don’t, that might actually be wrong – but still, I like it as a description). My new blanket will be those three colours. Lots of silly tosh about colour isn’t there? Blue and green should never be seen – that’s another one. Tell that to bluebells! If nature likes it then so do I. I also like brown and turquoise or brown and purple together – was told it was v French (that swayed me); think I saw it on a blog? Would never have dreamt of that combo myself but have worn both and loved it. Love your pretty bunting and taking your crochet on location is brilliant. Think I might just pinch your bunting pattern and improve things around here too! I also love how the internet breaks down international barriers – even non English blogs can be admired and read (with translator) which is fantastic – love the Scandinavian one’s.

  16. Penelope says:

    Your bunting is like a strawberry scrumptious delight! It’s a great idea to use your gorgeous creations to enhance an otherwise dull and boring door / bench / wall etc. I think it’s a good idea for your admirers to be able to purchase some of your crochet as it always is a highlight for us when we go to an exhibition to bring a little something home. Why don’t you make some flower brooches …. just a thought, you may not have time but they would be something I’d buy after an exhibit. xxxxxxxPxxxxxxx

  17. froukje says:

    O I love to read you blog! I live in the Neterlands, love to knit and have also two cats. Have a nice monday!
    Greetings,
    Froukje

  18. devil says:

    It doesn’t matter to me what the rules about color are, I love your bunting. Any and all shades of red or pink are dandy in my book, together or apart. I love blues and greens combined, too.

    Yeah, I know I’m elderly when teenagers these days are wearing the same stuff I wore when I was a teenager. I never thought I’d see bright blue spiky hair again. :)

  19. Mrs Twins says:

    Very pretty bunting! I love it very much. Hanging over your door superb!
    Love Suex

  20. Wow Alice, you’ve been busy on your blog recently, I didn’t realise I’d missed out on such a lot of bloggy goodness! Love your bunting, it looks fab against the grey of the wonderful old door, and your cushion, your massive cushion, looks fantastic. Very much like the wave post too, crashing waves are fascinating aren’t they? Love Vanessa xxx

  21. margie says:

    new to your wonderful site…love the colour and just about every thing..especially raymond…it has turned a very wet sunday afternoon into a bright sunny event…bliss

  22. vera says:

    can you please help me.I just finish a two year battle with cancer&would like to read crochet pattern i crochet but is having a problem understanding how to read the pattern,some of it is from cemo, can you tell me what do sc in ch2sp mean.Ihave looked every where&can;t find the break down for that.

Leave a Reply

