365 days of Raymond

Hello Lovely People!

Welcome to my very special celebration post…..

I’ve had trouble keeping the content of this post a secret from all of you, but I have managed!  I’ve told a few people about what a special day it is today and why, and they all smile indulgently at me with a perplexed look that says “oooooooooohhhhhhhhh kaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay….”

But I don’t care.

It’s Raymond’s birthday today.  Maybe not his real birthday, but it is 365 days since we adopted him from the SPCA.  So I thought I’d tell you all about Raymond’s history with us… I wrote a bit about him in my second ever post, way, way back in May, but as I didn’t have many visitors then, I thought I’d re-hash it again here!

I’m also going to divulge a little secret here…. I’m not much of a cat person.  There!  It’s off my chest…. was that shocked gasps I heard from around the world? Will you still read my blog after hearing that???  Let me explain… I love dogs, especially the little and cute variety… I totally love pictures of cats and patting them, but sharing a home with them is a different story… oh the memories of flea bombing homes in the past traumatised me too much.   But as my darling KB loves animals, I thought to myself about a year ago, who am I to stop her from ever having another cat?  (an example of true love)  So I said to her, that we’ll go to the SPCA one day and walk in and find a siamese cat there, and we’d adopt him.

So September 23rd last year, we went on a spur of the moment trip to the SPCA.  As we walked up the stairs to the cat place, I saw the price list on the wall and said OK universe, we’ll have one of those $75 older cats thanks, not a $150 kitten….

We walked into the older cats section and there he was.  A grumpy looking Siamese right in front of us.  He promptly jumped onto my shoulder while manically hissing at the other cats, and the deal was sealed.  Our bargain Siamese, just as I had ordered from the Universe!  He had arrived that day and we had arrived just before closing time.

He was in a rough state… his paw pads were all crusty like he had been walking a loooooong way and he had white fur circles around his eyes…. we discovered that he doesn’t have enough teeth to crunch biscuits so he just swallows them whole.

So with much apprehension (on my part) we brought him home and discovered exactly how LOUD a Siamese meow is in a small flat!  We managed to keep him inside for 6 days (yes, we knew it was meant to be two weeks, but you try having a yowling Siamese in your teeny flat for two weeks and I’m sure you would have done the same!!!)  So on the 6th day we let him out and he promptly ran away!

He was gone for three days, we weren’t tooooooooooooooooo worried as he is micro chipped, and as you know, he did come back!  God knows where he had been, but he had obviously decided that we were his new family for some reason or another and he came back to stay!

And I really have come to love him.  I wouldn’t say I’m one of those people who love cats so much they wear a sweatshirt with a picture of a cat screen printed onto the front of it, but he has definitely changed me.   He’s a really good boy… he is clean and friendly, he doesn’t discriminate between laps, he always plays with toys when we buy them for him….

He did develop a drug habit for a bit there… we bought him some organic catnip and he loved it so much he was pretty much snorting it off the floor.  We stuffed a mouse with it and I began to notice a habit forming.  I was doing drug and alcohol papers at the time so had some insider knowledge there…. So abstinence it was!  He no longer takes catnip and seems to be doing ok!

So of course I made him a birthday present….

Ahem!  Let’s try that again!

A blanket made from all of the grandala squares I practiced on and edged with all of my scraps… a real patchwork blanket for his bed which we call the Taj Mahal. 

I think he loves it….

It’s funny, we think about his previous life… Life before l*sbian mums, who was he?  He had 10 years with his old family… where did they live?  Was he allowed on the bench?  Did he ever get put outside for the night when the owners just really really needed a full night’s sleep without him waking them?  Did he get given lots of toy mice?

And most importantly… what was his name?

Got any suggestions?

So Happy Birthday to our lovely Raymond, it’s great reading your comments about how awesome he is, because he really is a cool cat….

His coolness does make up for the white fur that covers my black clothing in shedding season… honest!

have a lovely, lovely week and lots of love and appreciation coming your way from us,

Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to 365 days of Raymond

  1. Jodie W says:

    Aw, happy birthday Raymond! I’m sure that if he could speak he would thank you for giving him a warm and loving home. We got one of our cats from a shelter as well and I often think about where he came from and what would’ve happened to him if we hadn’t adopted him.

    I’m sure Raymond loves that gorgeous blanket too! :)

  2. Sucrette says:

    Happy birthday Raymond!!

  3. Bianca says:

    Happy birthday Raymond!!! My Stellar Moon is a slightly mental Animal Welfare League adoptee too.
    PS. Did you just ‘come out’ or have I been missing something all along!
    baahahahaha I am such a deusch! Yay you if you did!

    xB

  4. Penny says:

    Happy Birthday Raymond! I really love reading your blog (Alice) and love reading about Raymond.

    I adopted a 7-month-old kitten 4 months ago (for the first time) and fell in love with her. We named her Biscuit and she was like our child. Tragically she was killed on the road after we had her for 3 months (this is a month ago). It was more awful than I can say, as I’m sure you can imagine.

    So we decided to get another cat, but it would be an inside cat, as we couldn’t risk losing another baby. And so we decided to get two cats, so they could keep each other company! We have had Dinah (10-month-old tortoiseshell) and Hobbes (8-month-old ginger) for almost 2 weeks now, and they are so great! Crazy having two cats, but fortunately after some initial hissing and swatting, they now adore each other and love to cuddle and lick each other (as well as playfight!). It has eased some of the intense pain of losing our precious Biscuit.

    Anyway, this is a really long post but I wanted to tell you that I really like hearing about Raymond :-) And your crochet!!!

  5. Wendy says:

    I had to comment, when we moved house our cat disappeared for around three days too. Where do they go? What do they do? Do cats require a sort of settling in period of initiation where they have to go and find themselves, live in the wilderness, decide whether or not to accept their new surroundings? Who knows. Ours eventually came back as well. Happy Birthday to Raymond xx

  6. Linda says:

    Happy B-day, Raymond! It seems you made him love you, too, since he decided to come back after his little walk :) And he looks veeery satisfied with his Taj Mahal blanket :)

  7. tejehannah says:

    Hello Alice! Happy birthday for Raymond! You have made wonderful present for him! He is certaily happy to have so good home with you! It’s nice to have all your family together again! I hope you had a nice Birthday (and she dind’t find out about that ‘flying thing’)!
    Should I confess also that I’m more dogperson… but I love our ‘Nelli’ (last night she slept again next to me). Sometimes she wants company many days and then sometimes she prefers to be more alone and outside…not like ‘Hanna’ who is my ‘sticker’.
    Wishes Teje

  8. sandiart says:

    Happy Birthday Raymond, I just know you have had the best birthday being spoilt by the ones who love you. Gosh with the absolutely STUPID ‘gay’ adoption laws I’m thinking you were lucky to be able to adopt him (hehe) Sometimes I wish we could understand ‘cat’ to find out what they think and especially with Raymond to know his past. Well all I can say is he is one lucky boy for you all to have found each other.
    Meggs is a semi-longhair and sheds all year around, so you can imagine, I have to vaccume every day.
    Glad KB is home safe and sound and hope that things improve with her family.
    xx Sandi

  9. Penny says:

    Such a lovely post, it made me smile (esp. the catnip addiction part) and warmed my heart how honest you have been about your grown love for Raymond. He’s truly blessed to have a lovely home, bed and blankie! with you. Happy birthday and coming home day Raymond xox
    ps. have you seen what Mr. A pulled out the hat yesterday ? xox

  10. Louise says:

    Happy birthday Raymond!! I’m with you Alice a confirmed dog lover I really don’t understand cats and need the total dependance of my Dog!! I love the way that Raymond chose you at the shelter. That would have freaked me out. That boy wanted you. Clearly he knows a good thing when he sees one.
    Hugs Lou and Sally

  11. Andrea says:

    I’ve been following your lovely blog for a few weeks now, and always LOVE seeing your photos of your precious Raymond (and your crochet projects too)! A very Happy Birthday to Raymond! :-)

  12. Dorothy says:

    Raymond is adorable and loved probably more than he or his owners realise !! He reminds me of my first Siamese whose name was Chang. He was a chocolate point and lived to the ripe old age of 18. Many happy returns Raymond.
    xoxox

  13. Emma Angel says:

    Awww bless his little cotton socks, he is adorable. He was obviously destined to yours.
    Happy Birthday Raymond x

  14. anka says:

    Lovely story, and happy birthday, Raymond!

  15. Teacup Lane says:

    Happy Birthday Raymond! I enjoyed your post Alice. I’ve never had a cat either while growing up or as an adult. I, too, love dogs. My brother has had many cats over the years even as many as 4 or 5 in the house. The last time we visited his cats were jumping into our laps for nap time something they never did in the past. Your kitty granny square blanket is so cute. And it’s obvious Raymond likes it.

  16. frou-frou says:

    Happy kind of Birthday Raymond! He’s a gorgeous boy. I understand what you mean about wondering about his ‘pastlife’ but whatever happened there he’s lucky to have 2 mums and lots and lots of cosy blankets and sunny spots,
    Fi x

  17. Kate says:

    Reading that nearly made me cry. My special older gentleman cat max died after being knocked down by a truck about a fornight ago. He was such a gentle guy, I picked him because like Raymond he more or less picked us. He marched right up to my kids, no fear at all, purring and rubbing up against us. We had him for five or so years and I always wondered about who’d had him before and whether he missed them. Apparently he’d been taken And returned in the past to the shelter which only made me love him more.
    Anyway, happy birthday Raymond, you’re a lucky cat and sounds like your mummies are lucky too.

  18. Patz says:

    A lucky cat and his lucky mums Awww… Happy homeday Raymond. I love the present, Alice ;-) You are one gifted hooker! and a beautiful person which is even more *better* :-P
    We’ve have cats and dogs and turtles and rabbits and guinea pig and… you name it; my mum would rescue anything that came her way! (and the animals must have known!!)
    A bit slower on this side of the world, but early days still :-D
    Have a lovely time spoiling the king cat XOX

  19. Happy Birthday Raymondo!! Big hugs and lots of kisses from me xx

    Alice he is such a sweetie and he is so lucky to have both of you, he knows it too you can see it in his smile :-)

    I had a Siamese once and when I moved to UK for a few years my mum and dad looked after her….my mum hated her and all her noise :-)

    I think he has forgiven you for locking him out for the night, his new blankie is the best! Love his Taj Mahal! I gave Hamish some of those mice with catnip but he isn’t interested in them in the slightest….he must not have an addictive personality!

    I shudder to think what Raymonds life was like b4 and what lead him to being in the pound as an older cat????

  20. 'me' says:

    what a pleasure to read this !!

  21. Erica says:

    What a great story!! I love every single picture of Raymond in this post – he looks so content and loved in your home. The first picture, especially, you can tell by his paws that he’s in the middle of “making biscuits,” kneading away. I’m so glad you found each other. And I KNOW he loves that blanket. I need to make one for my cat – 18 years old! I feel bad for not having done so before.

    I know exactly what you mean by that loud Siamese meow. I had a cat who was half-tabby, half-Siamese and he could raise the roof.

  22. Fiona says:

    Happy Birthday, Raymond!

    I’m not really a cat person (allergic!), but I love animals and have a dog (Pip) who we got with her brother from a rescue shelter eleven years ago. Often wonder how they ended up there in the state they were in.

    Love reading about Raymond and your lovely crochet!

  23. Melissa says:

    Happy Birthday Raymond! In true cat nature, he picked you. He knew that he’d have a loving safe home with his moms. I have two adopted kitties and they do enrich your life….even if their “singing” is loud and off key :)

  24. Andrea says:

    Happy birthday Raymond!

  25. Pammy Sue says:

    I’m glad you shared the story of Raymond again since I missed it the first time around! He is such a beautiful cat. Happy Birfday Ray!

  26. Planet Penny says:

    Happy Birthday Raymond! I’ve just been away for a few days and found loads to catch up on! Love the baby hats, and I’m very jealous of Raymond’s blanket. I think he’s really fallen on his feet with you two as family, Penny x

  27. Renee, spear401 says:

    Happy Birthday, Raymond!

    So, KB (and you) have the cat. When are you getting a little dog?

    Just asking. LOL!

  28. Hugo is cooking, and I’ve just read out this post to him, and we both enjoyed it hugely! Love the drug habit passage, very funny! Hugo dislikes cats, but whenever I show him pics of Raymond on your blog, he seems quite interested for someone who’s not into cats! I forgot to wish Raymond a happy Birthday! So are you giving him a special catnip cake for his birthday?! Wonderful post Alice! Love Vanessa xxx

  29. Sharon says:

    Happy Birthday Raymond! We adopted our cat from a shelter and she has lived with us for 14 years now – longer than either of the our children!! She will be very jealous if she sees Raymonds blanket though as I have never made her one- perhaps she could have one for christmas!

    x x

  30. Louise says:

    Happy Birthday Raymond! What a lovely story with such a happy ending. Regardless of where Raymond was before, he certainly seems super happy now. I’m with you on the cat/dog front. We have four dogs and thought we’d never get a cat. Then two years ago my boss talked me in to taking Pumpkin from the cat hoarder lady we work with (she had about 75 cats!). I thought Pumpkin would never survive with our four dogs, especially with one being a Jack Russell. After about two weeks he settle right in and now rules the roost! He’s so sweet and his friends with just about everyone on our street!
    I even think the dogs like him!
    Anyway, enough rambling, hugs and kisses to the beautiful Raymond!
    Take care,
    Louise

  31. Lyndsey says:

    Happy Birthday to Raymond. What a wonderful story and a wonderful blanket for him. Maude is jealous and I think wants a blanket of her own! Cheers!

  32. natalie says:

    Hello Alice, just wanted to pop bye and say I LOVE NEW ZEALAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I’ve just returned home to Australia after two weeks on your spectacular South Island..wow what an eye popping adventure, I was totally overcome with it’s beauty, it’s a stunning country!..have a great day ..x

  33. Esther says:

    what a lovely cat. makes me what to adopt one – I do miss my old cat but I have kids to ocupy me know instead!

  34. Happy Birthday Raymond!! I don’t know about his last home, but I’m sure he is just in heaven with you two mums!
    Lots of love to you all, and lovely blanky for the Taj Mahal,
    Emily

  35. greenrabbitdesigns says:

    Happy Birthday Raymond! Such a cool cat. :)
    Vivienne x

  36. Minniemack says:

    Can I tell you a secret? I’d like your column more if there were pics of dogs. Don’t you want to get a cute, snuggly one? Your craft is great, but a dog can improve just about anything :-)

  37. Pattygloria says:

    Happy Birthday Raymond! What a nice colourful gift you made for him ,Alice. I enjoy reading your blog and your crochet projects. I remember that we had two dogs and some birds when I was growing up, but no cats. Our neigbourg had a black cat, Mandrake, and he was very fun to watch and very naughty. ;)

  38. Adorable!! Gotta love a girl who loves her cat :)

  39. Happy Birthday Raymond… you have picked a great home by the looks of your new life…

  40. Happy birthday to you, Raymond! Your ‘mom’ made you a perfect gift!!

  41. peasandbob says:

    Awwww Alice, i love reading your blog, i have just settled back home – and have read your blog from where i left it before the wedding, I LOVE this post, it really really warmed my Heart Alice. JUST LOVED IT!!!!!! I really indulge in reading your posts actually, its quite soothing. xoxooxoxox see you soon. Cant wait to update my blog, we get our photos on Monday, wooooo hoooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! xoxoxox

  42. adriana dias says:

    we are kind a like you, l*sbian aunts of a cat, and i have two dog girls, who live outside the house, and i am the one crocheting and knitting
    i love the collor of your blog, will be back often
    kiss from the other half of the globe (brasil)

Leave a Reply

