Skill building Part II

Hellooooooooooooo!!!

It’s lovely to be posting today, just a little post to say hello to all of you lovely people out there!  It’s been a stunning couple of days in Wellington, big expansive blue skies which make my spirit soar when I look at it….

I realise after a few days of clear blue skies, how much grey sky we have had since May and how dampening and claustrophobic it can be.  At least however, it makes the blue days so much more special!

Thank you all for your lovely comments on my shrug!  I discovered a way to pin it together with a wooden bird brooch I have, and it looks even better now… I’ve worn it twice and have had so many compliments.  It’s funny though… after that hook-tastic marathon, I have not done any crochet.  *GASP*  I just had to have a break.  I couldn’t bear the thought of picking up my hook!

I’ve been knitting instead.  Just a little baby hat…

OK, so I tell a little lie…. I crocheted a flower and two leaves to embellish my baby hat….

I’m not really a fan of this mixed dye colour wool, but I knit these and sell them in my Mum’s flower shop and the one I made with this colour sold a while ago, so I thought I’d better replace it.  In fact, they’re all selling quite well, and being that I take wool as payment instead of cash, my stash is growing beautifully!  I take wool as payment because let’s face it… selling a hat which took you 4 hours to make, for $18 doesn’t seem worth it!  However, a hat for three balls of wool just feels like a bit more of a bargain.  It’s all in the mind!

And while I didn’t knit it on 4 needles, I did use the other skill I learned the other weekend… rib stitch cast on and WOW!  I’ll never do plain knit cast on again for a hat!  Just look at that beautiful edging in this next shot!

And the best part is, it becomes so elastic!  I would never have known and I am a changed knitter… in fact, I have another hat on the needles now with rib stitch edge and I’m thrilled by it.

I haven’t been sleeping much…. I get a lot of comments which make me giggle, asking me if I ever sleep… usually I do… not having a TV means I have a lot of time on my hands, which means I have a lot of wool in my hands instead!  However KB is away this week, unexpectedly spending time with her family and I’ve noticed I’m not sleeping as well…. that may have something to do with my new bedfellow….

Yes.  Raymond has moved from the end of the bed INTO the bed for the last three nights and he’s not the best sleeping companion…. at some point each night I get woken up with a claw in my left buttock or in my back, and his new breakfast time is 4.30am.  Or 4.37am.  He doesn’t get breakfast then, he gets grumpily dumped outside… but I’ve not been falling back to sleep, so am wired on adrenaline and caffeine at the moment.

A lovely combo.

He’s sooooooooooooooooooooo sleeping outside tonight.

Meanwhile, I’m having a nice knit while I wait for somnos to visit.

Now!  Make sure you pop back in two days for a special celebration!  Have a lovely, inspired couple of days until then!

Lots and lots of love to you, from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Baby Hats, Crochet Cushions, Crochet Flowers, Crochet Goodness, Knitting Baby Clothes!, Knitting!, Ted!. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Skill building Part II

  1. Kari says:

    Lovely hat and yes, that cast on is so neat – lovely work.

    LOL at your new bedfellow. I remember once nearly squahing my poor cat to death one cold winter’s night by unknowingly rolling on top of her when she had snuck in. Fortunately, I woke up in time.

    Enjoy your blue skies while they last!

  2. I like that cast on, will have to look it up….can you use it with knitting in the round?? Yep 3 balls of that lovely wool is a bargain!!

    LOL about your bedfellow! Hamish sleeps on the end of the bed but if I have to move my legs he won’t move….I have to move around him :-)

    Glad it is still sunny, we have a big cloud over all of QLD so it is probably heading your way (sorry) :-)

  3. Linda says:

    so lovely hat! :) you got a colourful talent :)

  4. Your shrug really does look FABULOUS Alice, well done, what a triumph. It looks gorgeous on you, and now I want to crochet one, along with all the other things on my list. Your teddy bear is a sweet chap, he looks very loved, and his hat looks splendid. Interesting idea of payment in yarn, do you get to choose the yarn? It does sound like a strangely good deal doesn’t it! Love Vanessa xxx

  5. Jak says:

    The hat is just so darn cute. I would love to be paid in wool, ‘a fair swap is no robbery’ so they say.
    Jak x

  6. sandiart says:

    Love the little hat, think I will have to knit one, so cute especially on your sweet teddy. I had to learn ‘Old Norwegian’ cast on for the little dresses I have been knitting, it gives a stretchy cast on. Will have to look up the rib cast on.
    I can’t sleep with my Meggs, she keeps me awake with licking and scratching, she sleeps in my sons room on his chair.
    Hope all is ok with KB’s family and she is back with you before you know it.
    Sandi xx

  7. Kate says:

    Lovely hat! Too sweet and Teddy looks fabulous. He’s a great model! I have cat issues too lately with my furry friend waking me at all hours-Sooo starving- and launching himself onto the screen door to see if by sheer will power he can force the lock open…so much banging and crashing!
    Maybe this us the secret of all crochet and knitters output-we can’t sleep as our cats keep us all up ;0)
    have a great week and may kb be at your side and Raymond back down the end in no time!

  8. Erica says:

    That is a beatific arrangement – exchanging a finished good for more raw materials. I would LOVE that. You’re right, maybe $18 doesn’t sound like much for all that time, but getting 3 balls of wool is like getting a little gift. Christmas all year round!

    I used to have a needy, snuggly little tabby cat named Junior, who tucked up with me in the bed every night. He insisted on sleeping in the V of my legs, and on many occasions, I unexpectedly stretched out and kicked him right off the bed. He always came right back, though. :-)

  9. Melissa says:

    I totally understand about bed fellows. When Oreo gets needy, he sleeps on my pillow. This wouldn’t be a problem if he were still a little kitten (like he was when this started), but he’s huge and I either can’t move my head because he’s laying on my hair or he’s hogged the whole pillow.

    There are time I wish we had no TV, but I get most of my hook work done in front of it soo…..kind of a double edged sword.

    By the way, the hat is adorable. I guess I’m going to have to pick up needles and give it another try…Argh.

  10. Casey says:

    love the knit hat!

  11. Penelope says:

    Hello Alice
    What a sweet little girl’s hat, I’m sure it be snapped up soon. Does your mum sell flowers and yarn in her shop? Sounds heavenly if she does. Money is the wierdest thing, I still don’t really understand how pieces of paper can be exchanged for goods? I think my desire would be to live in a world with exchanges of skills, time, knowledge and no greed involved!
    Thanks for your comment about my cushion, it’s certainly not as neat as yours and looking at it now I realise that I must of been tired putting it together as some of the squares are too similar in colour patterns and should have been spreadout a bit more. Oh well there is always another time … hope you enjoy your sleep tonight xox

  12. Ruth says:

    AAhhh – cute hat! Teddy looks very proud wearing it!! xx

  13. Louise says:

    Well Raymond is probably loving his new position in the bed! I can totally relate. My Jack Russell is convinced the bed belongs to him and often pushes me out of bed in the middle of the night! He insists he sleeps under the covers with his head on the pillow!
    Love your sweet hats too, they are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

