A “jump for joy” ta-da moment!

Hellooooooooooooooo!!!!!

What a day!  Despite all of the extreme weather warnings we’ve had for the weekend, Wellington has been beautiful!  Sun all weekend, less wind than usual!  (Wellington is known for it’s wind…) I know people up North have had it pretty bad, so I’m feeling very sorry for you, but *YAY* for us!

This morning Raymond and I have been relaxing in the sun, probably the first sun in over a week, so it has been great.  I flagged the vege market and spent the morning cleaning and finishing my……………

FIRST EVER GARMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More of that later… I’m not sure if it’s the season (spring) or maybe the storm blowing around the Southern hemisphere that has made me want to clean.  And with all this sun, and no wind, it was blissful to open up the entire house and have a nice cleansing breeze blow through my lovely home, taking all that stagnant energy and filling it with fresh, new hope.  I spent from 6.45am when I got up, until 1.30pm alternating between hooking a row and cleaning crystals, brasso-ing Buddha, hanging out washing etc etc…

My altar I showed you last week has been transformed.  (I’m a bit embarrassed about last weeks messy shot now!  XX)

My crystal friends are radiating healing vibes now and it’s lifting my spirits.  (Notice the crochet has now entered a sacred space!!  tee hee)

So enough about cleaning…what I am rather excited to show you is a major event in my life!  The first ever piece of clothing I have ever made!  I found it on Corn Poppy Girl’s blog and as soon as I saw it I knew I had to make one for myself.  And me being me, it had to be pink.

Do you know I read on someone else’s blog a comment someone had left about me saying “man, that girl sure does love pink.”  Yes I do… no apologies!

So this small piece of granny stripe nearly did me in!  I take my (crochet) hat off to those of you who finish blankets…. I’m in pain from this, my right arm is nearly dead and I have a lump on the right side of my neck that hurts when I push it….

I’m going to have to take a break from crochet at least until tomorrow (!)

As soon as I finished it I put it on excitedly and discovered that I love it more than any other jersey I have ever owned and I know I will have to make another one in greens and turquoises, my other favourite colours.  *JOY!*

Now I have to warn you that I am terribly self-conscious in front of a camera, but I modelled it for you anyway!…So here goes!!!

 

My camera does not do “wilderness” setting, so I apologise for these shots being over or under exposed!  My sister and I went to Khandallah Park for a bush walk…. it’s lovely and wild in this bush, the trees are so thick you can barely see the sky and these vines grow through all the trees, it’s just amazing.

I snapped these two Pungas (pronounced Pung- iih)… Pungas are my favourite trees ever.  These two were so freakishly tall and had grown together at the base to become siamese twins!  Because the bush is so thick, they’ve grown to the light and are the tallest, skinniest Pungas I’ve ever seen!

The light was just beautiful in there today…

 

Aaahhh, don’t you just love those self-conscious shots that just scream “let’s get this over with!”

See!  Blue skies!  Bliss!

Oh how I love my shrug.

Thank you so much for the divine inspiration Corn Poppy Girl!!!!! 

Make sure you go and visit her lovely blog here!!! 

Well I’m off now!  I’m not sure what I’m going to do with myself now, as I’ve finished this big project!  I actually interrupted another cushion I was making in these colours to make this shrug, but I’ve had enough of this wool for a while, so I’m a blank canvas for now!  (Not for long though)

Oh!  Someone asked me in a comment what type of wool I use.  I’m sorry I forgot to mention it before now… I use Ashford Tekapo and the link to their website is here.  It’s the best wool I’ve ever used… sounds like a plug doesn’t it?  (Pleeeeeeeeeeease Ashford!  Pleeeeeease sponsor me for a plug!!!!!) It comes in lovely big squidgy 100gm balls of luscious and lovely colour… I love it.  I’m very lucky that my Mum sells it at her shop which is why I use it with such carefree abandon.

Speaking of carefree abandon….

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful, rejuvenating weekend and followed joy wherever it wanted to take you.

Thank you so much for stopping by, I hope you enjoyed your visit today,

Lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Granny Stripe, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A “jump for joy” ta-da moment!

  1. leah says:

    Its lovely just like u. Love your alter. I hope Ur ARM and neck heal quickly. Enjoy the sun.

  2. Annette says:

    Yay you!! Good on you Alice, its so beautifully neat and pink is GREAT! You model it perfectly and with a lovely setting I might add. Enjoy your short crochet break, I’m sure it won’t be long ;0). bfn Annette :0)

  3. Louise says:

    Oh Alice that is so wonderful. Worry not about mess it takes time away from hooky and you are needed to inspire us in blogland. I love those colours. Lovely happy pictures too

  4. marion says:

    Dear Alice and Raymond,
    WOW…these are so beautiful pictures, wonderful!
    Thank you so much for the link to the page for these lovely Shrug.
    Now i go and visit the Corn Poppy Girl Blog.
    Enjoy the weekend and I’m looking forward to your next report – many Greetings from Germany,
    Marion

  5. tejehannah says:

    Hello Alice! Nice to have you again company with my sundaymorningcoffee! Your altar looks really good now! Pink is good! Among many other colours I love pink and I’m crocheting very pink shawlet. Your new shrug is wonderful, really good for our autumn also! I like very much your chair and my similar chair is still waiting for the cover. So I’ll make a crochet pillow. How you close the pillowcase? Do you just sew it or have any ‘trick’ how it’s easy to take away? Have a lovely week Teje

  6. Joyce says:

    Alice I LOVE your shrug, its beautiful and you photograph beautifully as well. Love the settings of your modelling as well, really shows of the pink. You are going to get lots of use from your shrug, I am still YaY, about my Leonie wrap too, getting heaps of use, and I have photocopied the pattern to lots of ladies that don’t have internet that have admired it. Hand made goodness is the BEST!! I am going to pop over to Corn Poppy Girl and check it out. I have a lovely grey that would be perfect for this pattern. Thanks for passing it on. Have a wonderful week. Oh and glad the sun is out at your place and the weather has calmed down a little.

  7. ruth says:

    Wow Alice! What a fantastic shrug! I really love the colours and can’t wait to see the turquoise version. Your photos are brilliant – I love that last one of you jumping! I’m sooo glad you enjoyed making it! Have a lovely weekend! Ruth xxxx

  8. Karin says:

    Yes, you look very happy with your beautifully handmade shrug!

  9. Planet Penny says:

    The shrug is gorgeous, and what’s not to love about pink? Amazing setting for the photo shoot too! Penny x

  10. Mrs Twins says:

    You’ve done a beautiful piece of work here, and great you can wear it.
    The colours are superb,and its nice to see some really nice photos of you!
    Like to see all my friends,
    Love Suex

  11. sandiart says:

    Awww Alice you are so pretty so don’t be shy about your pic being taken. Loving that shrug and seriously do you ever sleep????!!!! Isn’t a fresh breeze through the house the ultimate cleansing feel, I love days like that, Spring is a little shy this year here in Melbourne. Love your green place too.
    xxSandi

  12. I love your carefree abandon photo! Your shrug is lovely and I love the pinks….isn’t that wool just the most divine stuff to crochet with, I love it! Lucky you to have it in your mums shop! (green with envy :-) )

    How nice to open all the windows and let the air change in the house, I love doing that!

    PS I am not knitting the shawl in the round but it starts out with 2 stitches and ends with about 450!!!! So circular needles are the go for the extra room plus I can’t loose a needle :-) Give it a try you won’t go back to straight needles ever again!!

  13. Tania says:

    OHHHHHHhhhhhhh LOVE IT !! xxx

  14. Debi Y. says:

    I love it Alice – it looks great on you. (pink is also my favorite color.)

  15. Casey says:

    It’s lovely, the colors are fab as usual :) I had that crochet injury last week, so I feel your pain, oh the awful pain! I hope you get over it quickly

  16. Andrea says:

    Wonderful! That shrug looks so cozy!

  17. Penelope says:

    Oh how gorgeous, pink and green (surroundings) ! Simply my favourite comination of colours. You look as pretty as a picture in pink! I also saw this shrug and thought hmmm should I or soul I not? It may have to go on my to do list. Thanks for inspiring post xox

  18. Kari says:

    It is gorgeous and I too love that yarn – think I just may have to make myself one too!

  19. Lyndsey says:

    Beautiful shrug!!!!!!! I’d love to try it someday too!

  20. Hazel says:

    Wowza! You made that quick. Great job. Love it. x

  21. Bianca says:

    the shrug is beautiful! so is the scenery. LOVING the huge crystal clusters!!I am green with envy! I picked up a few great pieces this weekend myself, tangerine quartz, a few clear points as well as a soulmate smokey quartz, nothing as large and spectacular as your slabs though. do you have a good source for them over in NZ?

    xB

  22. hello lovely alice!

    what a lovely post! As usual your colour schemes are dreamy! We are colour sisters!

    I love your jumping photo and amazing Raymond not in sight!

  23. Jak says:

    Just wanted to say hello to you all over there – your blog is very energising. The shrug looks gorge, thanks for posting the link, I think I’ve found my next project!
    Jak x

  24. Sarah says:

    Hi Alice,
    Just wanted to leave a quick comment to say how much I LOVE your ‘shrug’! Its truly gorgeous. I especially like the colours!
    I’m finding it very hard to believe that those photos are taken in Wellington. It is far too sunny in those pictures!

  25. Erica says:

    LOVE those colors on you! That does look quite comfy… we are SO ready for cooler weather over here, and I am yearning to whip up a garment of my own! Other than hats and scarves, I’ve never crocheted anything wearable either. I am often looking at the chic patterns in Interweave Crochet, feeling they are far beyond my ability at this point. I have no patience for gauge and tension and all that. Sleeves? Are you kidding me? But this, this lovely wrap you’ve made, I think I could manage that. Thanks for posting pictures of your lovely surroundings, too! It’s like a whole ‘nother world over there! :-) Fun to travel from my desk.

  26. Devinder says:

    hi there

    i have just discovered your blog via the Qunice Tree and i have to sy it is lovely, so bright and so many nice things you have made. I so have to start up a blog so i can show people some of my work too. I have a friend who works in Christchurch but lives out in the stickes at the weekend, i will have to tell her about your blog.

  27. Melissa says:

    Oh! Your shrug turned out beautifully! You must have worked on it non-stop! (You truly do make me tired-I wish I had just half your energy) You look lovely in it as well.

Leave a Reply

