Injection dyeing

Hello Lovelies! 

I hope you’re all having a wonderful day!  Mine is going quite great, I’ve spent the morning at a meeting of the Onslow Fibrecraft Guild, learning injection dyeing.

Did you think I had spelt dyeing wrong when you clicked into my blog?  KB and I had a mini debate about how to spell it, which was resolved when I rang Mum who said it had an “e” in it.  I still think it looks wrong, but I’m trusting them!

I was quite excited about learning a type of dyeing, although it is a long and involved process and last night when I discovered I only had a dribble of vinegar at the bottom of the bottle, not 3/4 of a cup, I nearly gave up on it, but now I’m glad I just used that little bit of vinegar and hoped for the best!

Have you ever seen one of these?  Most of you probably have… I remember playing with this when I was a child, but never knew what it was for.  Mum lent it to me the other day to get my wool sorted for the dyeing….

So as I said, last night I soaked my wool in a dribble of white vinegar, and hot water… it’s meant to be 1 part vinegar to 3 parts hot water, and left it overnight.  This morning, it was ready to be coloured.

I didn’t use white wool, but a stone coloured natural which has a tiny bit of dark fibre running through it, it’s lovely.  Greta snapped me injecting the dye with a syringe….

Here’s the ball all full of dye!

Remember we injected it into the centre.  I was surprised that we were making such pastel colours, I had imagined making bright garish tie-dye looking wool at the end (I had hoped he he!) as you know me, I like colours so bright they make your eyes go all funny! 

So then we put it into boiling water to set the dye.

I had injected that ball with blue, red and purple and you can see the red coming through there…

After boiling it for a bit we put it in a warm bowl of water…

It got quite purple by then huh!  Then after it had had a warm bath, into the cold bath it went.

After soaking it in cold water, I pulled it out and squeezed as much water as I could out, and had my first ever try with the niddy-noddy!  Now, as this photo was being taken, I had my Mum telling me how to use the niddy-noddy (I had just wrestled it back off her by then!!) and the photographer asking how to use my camera… “just click the big button!” I’m saying!  “Hang on Mum!  I’m doing it!”  I’m multi-tasking like a multi-tasking pro!

And here I am proudly drying my two hanks of just dyed wool, despite the pasteliciousness, I’m quite proud of these!!!!!

And the finished product.  I love the way the colours change is so subtle.

I have no idea what I’m going to make with these!  They’ll live in my bag of specialty wool which is so lovely I can’t decide what to do with it… it’s a big bag of yummy, amazing wool, I’ll show you one day if I dare!  Mum and I are about to go on a wool dyeing binge I think… She has lots of dye from a NZ lady who makes it, which you can paint the wool with and it’s bright and lovely, so I think I’ll be showing you some of that soon!!!

Meanwhile… I’m off to work on my grandala square cushion which is slowly nearing completion!  I’ll show you in a couple of days!

Lots and lots and lots of love to you all, thank you so much for the appreciation and kind comments you leave me on here, ravelry and your own blogs, you’re all the sweetest and bring so many good vibes into my life.

From Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

OK editing time!!!!!  I had a feeling someone would want the specific technicalities, and I forgot to be very specific because I was so involved in the excitement of writing the post!!!!!  So this is especially for Caz from never knew crochet!!!!!

It was an acid based dye, I’m not sure exactly what, but we soaked the wool in vinegar and hot water overnight, the vinegar opened the pores of the wool so the dye could set.  I’m sure if you asked for an acid based one the shop person will show you which one, but if you can buy Dylon wherever you live, the ladies of the guild say it’s c*ap and use something else!

The boiling water had a small tiny amount of dishwashing liquid in it and we boiled it for maybe 5 minutes per ball then soaked in each of the warm and cold baths for about 5 minutes each.

I hope that was helpful!  Any other questions and I’ll ask Audrey when I see her next month!  Can’t wait to see your tries!!!!!

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Dyeing Wool, Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Injection dyeing

  1. Maria says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this – I really want to try dyeing my own wool. But more especially now I know how to use my niddy-noddy :-)

  2. Jodie W says:

    What gorgeous colours! I can’t wait to see what you make with it :)

  3. sandiart says:

    Ok, so I am feeling a little ignorant here, I have never heard of a niddy-noddy, so we will just by-pass that and get onto – wow!!!!! I am learning new things here on your blog, arn’t you blessed to have all this in your life. Love the dyed wool, and I see a little flower on your scarf, am liking that…..multi-tasking….of course you are a goddess.
    I do look forward to your blogs, always so full of happy chat and colour, and of course Raymond.
    Hugs Sandi xx

  4. Planet Penny says:

    I’ve never seen that method of dyeing before, It’s amazing! The colours are beautiful, although I must admit I’m with you on bright colours. You are making me feel I must get down to doing something with the pile of undyed yarn I have in a box. So many things, so little time! Penny x

  5. Fiff says:

    Those colours looks really lovely. Dyeing yarn looks so much fun!

  6. tejehannah says:

    Those colours are a dream!!! I love all the colours but especially this kind of soft colours! Really lovely and very interesting to see this method! Couldn’t think how it works before I saw. Thank you so much for showing! I think this yarn would make a fantastic shawlette, or a jacket, or anything – it’s so nice! Wishes Teje

  7. Oh there you are! Aren’t you lovely! Yes dyeing does look wrong, but it does without an e too. I can hear my 4th grade teacher ; Mrs Dale saying “e goes away when ing comes to stay”!!!LOL
    Your wool technique looks really interesting!

  8. They’ve turned out lovely! Love the green one especially :-).

  9. 'me' says:

    actually, it is a little bit of magic , isn’t it ?

  10. I found this really interesting – I’ve always wanted to dye my own wool! A few questions, if you don’t mind?
    1. What exactly did you inject into the wool? Is it just food colouring or some speciality stuff, and, if so, where do you get it?
    2. When you boiled it, was that in just water? Or was there extra stuff added to the water? (salt, vinegar?) And how long do you boil it for?
    3. And how long do you do each bit?
    Hope you can help – I really want to try this!
    Thanks! :)
    Caz from Never Knew

  11. Louise says:

    Wow that is so clever. And it looked fun too. I look forward to the results.

  12. Yummy, Yummy, Yummy…..love that wool…did your mum spin it??

    Alice I did a dyeing workshop recently with a lady from NZ. It was fantastic dye and we painted it on. I can’t find the brochure at the moment but will let you know who it was. She had an amazing selection of earthy colours that I want to get but I can’t find anyone in our club who will share the postage just right now. These were cold dyes too BTW :-)

    My chocolate fleece is dry so I am off to the lake with my wheel tomorrow for our fibrecrafters meeting to give it a go at spinning!

  13. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice, I told you I would be back! lol. I just love these colours you have created with your dyeing, and look forward to seeing your new creations when you decide what to make.

  14. Casey says:

    That yarn looks really great! What a fun experience :)

  15. Hi again, Alice, Thanks so much for those extra details. Especially the tip about Dylon – it is very easy to get around here! ;-) I will shop around and try to get some stuff and then I’m going to give this a go! I bought my very own wool winder just this week and I have found some old jumpers so now I can get unravelling and start dyeing. Thanks again!
    Caz :)

  16. Melissa says:

    Do you know what kool-aide is? It’s a powdered drink that we add to sugar and water. I haven’t done this yet, but I read some where that you can add the kool-aide powder to hot water and that it dyes cotton yarns beautifully. It’s pretty permanent too. I have a drink stain in the carpet that’s been there since my 16 yr old was probably about 5….don’t tell his father. It’s hidden under furniture :) I will eventually give this a try and let you know how it works. Your colors are gorgeous! By the way, LOVE the flower on the scarf!! Too cute!

Leave a Reply

