Joyful pink-nicity!

Hello Lovelies!

I am in such a pink mood today… well, I have been, it’s almost time for bed, but all through the day I’ve been in one of those uplifted, loving moods where my good vibes seem to expand, and nothing, not even my boss joining me at work for three and a half solid hours could dampen!!!!!

Part of this is due to….

A perfectly blue sky…..

And sunshine streaming through our lounge windows, activating my rainbow harvesting system….

Sun worship… who is worshipping who?

Sexy legs!!!!!

The other thing that has put me in a loving pink mood was the completion of my latest granny square cushion!  I’m sure you remember these from yesterday!

I was going to show you this when I put up the tutorial, but it’s just so pretty I thought it deserved an entire post to itself.

I stuffed it with this… ew… frightening polyester, 1970′s hotel room, disgusting cushion!  It’s SALMON!  I would just like to remind you all at this point, that I don’t buy smelly op shop cushions, it’s ok if they’re just a bit yuck, but bad smells and very suspicious stains put me off… the rest are fair game, keep them out of a landfill I say!

This beautiful cushion needed a particularly nice photo shoot, so I LUGGED KB’s chair down 33 winding steps, past the downstairs neighbour’s front door (glad she didn’t see me in my PJ’s, grunting, camera in cardigan pocket!) to my outdoor photo studio!  he he

KB’s chair is really really heavy. 

But it was worth it….

Aren’t they the perfect colour match!?  The chair used to be burgundy, and was quite a dark pink when we found it at the op shop 15 months ago, but the extreme sunlight at our house has faded it to a lovely shade of pink!  (In my opinion anyway!!!)

Oh how I love my cushion….

We decided on a name for the square…

I liked “Granny Squircle” but my beloved KB as usual was right on the money, naming it the “Grandala square.”

Oh, and speaking of mandalas, click here to see some amazing digital mandalas, made by the divine Atmara, who introduced herself to me because of my crochet mandalas….. her video clips are a sight to behold!  Enjoy!

See you in a couple of days!!!!! Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Cushions, Crochet Goodness, Grandala Square, Granny Squares, Rainbows!, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Joyful pink-nicity!

  1. tejehannah says:

    Dear Alice, the chair with this lovely pillow is a real beauty! So sweet colours! You give me courage to fix my chair also. I have painted it last year but the cover is still missing….
    Raymond is so beautiful! By the way, now I get your posts without any problem.
    Love Teje and Nero

  2. Planet Penny says:

    Just love that picture of Raymond asleep, SO elegant! All your Squircles and Grandalas have made me want to start another new project, but I have to finish of my blanket first (concentrate,woman, concentrate) Love all the colours and all topped of with the perfect blue sky! Penny x

  3. Love your kitty – and that pillow is so pretty!

  4. Penelope says:

    Oh my what candy floss colours, yummy cushion! I think Grandala square is a superb name and well done for lugging KB’s chair downstairs. I think I get like you about the whole photo studio thingy… it just has to be right and it’s obvious when it’s not!
    I am in bed with nasty head cold (see my latest post!) but now feel pink and happy from your post and oh so very much inspired to cover one of my lounge cushions which is crying out for one of your crochetpattern make-overs.
    Looking forward to the tutorial and somehow I will have to interupt my knitting pleasure to create my very own Grandala xox Have a fab weekend x

  5. Tania says:

    Yummy cushion & I LOVE your chair, what a wonderful colour.
    T xxx

  6. Kate says:

    LOVE the new cushion!
    Isn’t it wonderful how a blue sky can change everything.
    Have a happy weekend.

  7. Melissa says:

    I am so in love with……Raymond! Ha Ha! He looks like a wonderful snuggler. I now have a picture of you and Raymond sitting in that beautiful chair with the amazing pink Grandala pillow enjoying the wonderful sunshine….Sigh. The funniest part of all this, pink is NOT one of my favorite colors….I’m going to have to rethink this now. I’m also going to have to get better at my photography. Ugh. You make my pictures look like absolute scrub!

    Joy or joy, we get to have a long week-end – Monday is labor day so I’m off to see what projects I can finish and what kind of trouble I can start :) Have a wonderful week-end!!

  8. I’m amazed you didn’t do yourself a serious injury carrying that chair downstairs!! It does look amazing with your gorgeous cushion though.

    Raymond looks like he was totally interested in what you were up to as well … Yawn!! I have a Burmese cross and her legs are long like that too whereas Hamish’s are short and stout…at the moment they are hanging off the edge of his cat scratching post because he overflows from the top of it :-)

  9. Sandi says:

    No wonder you were feeling the love with all the beautiful pinks. Raymond was also feeling the love…..sun.
    I used to love the sun shining on a crystal that hung in the window, it would send rainbow colors all over the place.
    Sandi xx

  10. Casey says:

    I love all the pink!!

  11. Pearlin J says:

    the chair with the cushion is gorgeous! I am soo in love :)

  12. Dorien says:

    You amaze me with your pictures. Even a picture of ‘just a blue skye’ is just so beautiful, and then the ones of the little rainbows!
    And if that is not enough you treat us with a perfect pink cusion for a beautiful chair. But I do wonder if you’re not on to something. All the crochet you do, and then carrying chairs up and down the stairs to take pictures; I ask you; what are you thinking?
    groetjes, Dorien

  13. Julia says:

    Hello!

    I absolutely LOVE your rainbow harvesting idea – I think we might have a similar thing here in my daughters room where we hung up crystals in the window, so very pretty when the colours shine on the walls!
    Your cushion is also so beautiful! Im very inspired by how you have used the different shades of pink, they work together so well and are quite mesmeric!

    Sending love
    Julia x x x

  14. Amanda says:

    Oooh we have one of those rainbow catcher things in our dining room, and our guests were amazed when we got enough sunlight to activate the motor and set the rainbows dancing around the room :o)

    The cushion is gorgeous, and what a perfect name for your new square pattern!!

    Darling Raymond, how I wish I could scoop you up and nuzzle my face in your beautiful fur xx

  15. Pammy Sue says:

    Your pink cushion is gorgeous. It DOES match the chair perfectly!

    I made your Granny Mandala tonight. It’s blocking as I write this. Will take pics in the morning and share on my blog, along with a little link love for you. Thank you for the pattern. It turned out great.

  16. Maria says:

    Your cushion has me thinking of wonderful summer berries – berrilicious

  17. Fiff says:

    Hello! Nice blog you have, and nice cat! I’m a catlover too! I will keep an eye on your blog from now on, ’cause I believe here’s much inspiration to be found! /Maja in Sweden

  18. Pink heaven….you have put me in a pink mood!

  19. Love the cushion!
    Hope all is well there as I saw on the news of the earthquake and was worried.
    Susan x

  20. natalie says:

    Hope you and your loved ones are ok after the earthquake….x

  21. Joyce says:

    Oh Alice, I did some samples tonight myself. Holey Moley, where did you get your pattern from? This cushion is lovely, and so is the chair, well worth the effort down and up the stairs. I fluffed around and fluffed around again and come up with a pattern, but I am happy with my finished product. It looks similar to yours, but different (!). My first round is singles, my second round is doubles and my third round is triples. lol. My fourth round is where I make the corners. Hopefully this will become my rainbow rug. Have a wonderful Sunday.

  22. Melissa says:

    Hope everyone is OK. Just heard about the earthquake. Let us know!

  23. Melissa says:

    Alice, I hope you and yours are safe and sound. I just hear about the earthquake. – apologize if you get two posts. I’m using Car Guy’s smart phone and evidently I’m not smart enough. Let us know how you’re doing!

  24. Heather says:

    love the juicy pink colours. I’ve done some Mandalas and bunting s from your patterns. Just had to remember to convert to UK terms.
    Thanks for sharing your patterns and tutorials. They have made a real difference to my work!
    Heather x

  25. Patz says:

    Oh my!! I sure feel the pink love too!! Amazingly gorgeous!!! Clever woman you… I told you I was working on ideas for my chair, and as usual, inspiration galore after reading you… Where oh where will your mind take me next?? **to be continued** XOX

  26. Loretta says:

    The cushion and chair look perfect together – beautiful! I have a crystal in my kitchen window and enjoy rainbows on the wall every morning :)

  27. Hi from Australia!

    I literally stumbled across your blog via Ravelry (rav name PhoenixphyreAu) as one of my friends on there had made a mandala and pointed me to your pattern which bought me to your blog via the entry “Revisiting the Granny Mandala” I love the brightness of it and that of your blog that I’ve gone back to your very 1st post and have been doing some “Catch Up” reading. I know I am not even 1/2 way through yet but I just wanted to let you know I am simply ADORING the way you write, your photos and the amazing things you’ve made so far. Your blog is actually inspiring me to break away from my (previously) normal way of thinking – “can’t do that, have no use for it”, or “I’ll save that pattern for when I might need to make something like that for myself or someone else”, and the main way of thinking ” does it come in black, red or purple?” From now I promise to make things because I like the look of it, and to play with other colours and let a rainbow into my life. Thanks for that. :D

    Now just to convince my happy helper Kitty Binx to hop off my box where my hooks are stored and give one of those Grandla Squares ago….I have a cushion here that is desperate need of upcycling!!

    *cheers*

  28. Jon Cruce says:

    Thank you ever so for you weblog.Really thank you! Really Great.

Leave a Reply

