Crochet that makes you go Hmmmmmmm

Hello Everyone!

It was the first day of spring yesterday here in New Zealand and what a stunningly beautiful day it was!  The sky was bright blue, the sun was shining, Raymond slept through most of it…

Isn’t that just the most gorgeous sleeping shot?  Do you know, I love him most when he’s asleep…. because when he’s asleep he’s not meowing that loud siamese meow, or chewing his toenails, or trying to get on my lap wherever I am, whatever I’m doing… I salute those of you with children, I can barely cope with a cat!  Oh, did you spot his new leopard print collar?  He’s a trend setter for sure.

So!  I’ve been granny-ing this week and have been so excited to show you the fruits of my labour!  I’ve learned a few new skills in the last few weeks, such as the “magic ring” and “dc2tog” and “dc3tog” which are totally fun, and I really wanted to create something using these new and fun skills!  I’ve been looking at ways to modify my mandala pattern, so was having a play around with these new stitches, and ended up making a mandala in a square.  Great!  I’ve been hunting for a not-your-normal granny square pattern, and have come up with my own.

Or so I thought!  I remember my Mum telling me when I thought I had “invented” a new knitting stitch… (Mum Mum!  I did k1 p1 k1 p1 right to the end!!!  HA!):  “anything you think you’ve created will have been created by someone, somewhere at some time!”  And she is absoloutely right!

So here are a few I made with this new design which incorporates the “magic ring” and “dc2tog!”

I’m loving those colours for sure.
So I thought about just showing you these beautifully blended and blocked squares, but then I wondered if you might like to see the creative process!  The testing and the tweaking, the using up of all of my scraps to test the mathematics of the square….

They’re a bit ugly, but I’ll show you anyway!

The first one, testing the numbers and making sure they add properly… seeing how to turn a circle into a square!

Then the next ones, tweaking stitches to make sure the square sits properly in every round… you can’t really tell, but each square has different numbers of chain etc etc etc…

I’m thinking that I’m liking it, it’s kind of pointy and I want something softer… and I’m pretty sure I’ve seen this design before…

So I surf the net, and sure enough, there are a few similar patterns, and I don’t really want to put a pattern up of someone else’s work, so it’s back to the drawing board…

I try dc3tog for the second round, and it’s nice, lovely and flowery (sorry about that blurry picture, I hate that) but it’s still just not quite right.

So I put it all down and went off to a meeting.  Here’s how crochet-mad my brain is… I’m having a serious conversation with people I’ve just met, about something completely unrelated to crafty-goodness, and I can hear my creative mind saying “split those in half…6 in the centre… if you double the second petals… 12 rounds the outside…” and halfway through this meeting “I’ve got it!” says my creative mind!

And here it is.  I’m not 100% positive I haven’t seen it somewhere before!  But I’m very sure I haven’t!

All these attempts!

In my next post I’m going to do a tutorial of this square for your enjoyment!  So I’ll tell those of you who haven’t done dc2tog how to do it now….

yarn over, insert hook into stitch, pull a loop through, yarn over, pull through two loops on hook (2 left on hook) yarn over, insert hook through same stitch, pull a loop through, yarn over, pull loop through two stitches (3 left on hook) yarn over, pull loop through all three stitches.

Did that make sense!!??  It looks like 2dc but so much more cute and compact, I love these stitches!

I’ll also show you next time, my hopefully finished WIP that I’m creating from these squares, which is not quite half finished, but very exciting!

Oh I love them, they’re so cute and fun and easy to make!  I hope you love them too.

It’s pouring down outside, the wind is howling, the rain was even going sideways before… that’s probably a good thing, as I’m going to spend the rest of the day writing essays and hooking my WIP.  my lovely sister gave me these to brighten up my day, isn’t that sweet?

OK, I’m off!!! Thank you so much for stopping by!  I hope you enjoyed your visit!

Wishing you a lovely day, from Alice and Raymond XXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Grandala Square, Granny Squares. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Crochet that makes you go Hmmmmmmm

  1. Kjirsten Cantrell says:

    Awe…Happy Spring! Here in the states we are getting ready for fall! I love all of your grannies! I haven’t seen that pattern before. ;0) I am super pumped for your tutorial! Yay! I love all the colors that you have used…pretty! That was so nice of your sis to get you flowers! Have a great rest of the week!

    Kjirsten

    http://simplyloverly.blogspot.com

  2. Kjirsten Cantrell says:

    Oh and that IS a great shot of Raymond! What a handsome kitty!

  3. Joyce says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond, looks like he and I have both had a similar day – sleeping. However, I have been as far away from the sun as I can get. Horrid, I know, but the sun hurts my head still, and I am generating enough heat from my own body to solar power our street, me thinks. lol. However I did manage to get some bookmarks done earlier this morning, which seemed to have exhausted me totally. I so love your round squares, the pattern does look familiar, however, at the same time, not familiar at all, if you know what I mean. Would love a tutorial. Also, what is the name of your crochet flower book you have? I have been to our library looking for a knitting and crochet pattern library book, but they don’t have much on crochet or knitting at our library at all. Might have to get onto Amazon books and see what they have. Have a lovely day, and keep hooking those stunning colours. xx

  4. Casey says:

    You always put colors together so well! I wish I had a better stash of yarn

  5. Dorien says:

    Hi Alice, thank you for yet another nice blogpost; I certainly enjoyed reading it. The way you struggled and at the end came with such a nice squares is fantastic. As always, your colours are great, I really love your palette.
    Although you are welcoming spring as we are fall, the weather seems quite similar over here. But that’s okay when you love to crochet, isn’t it?
    groetjes, Dorien

  6. froukje says:

    Hello Alice,
    O what cute that photo with Raymond! Recognizable! We have two cats. Nice blog you wrote. Sorry my Englisch is very bad…
    Froukje

  7. Mrs Twins says:

    Beautiful Squares I love them!
    Hugs Suex

  8. Tania says:

    Hi Alice, Your little granny squares look yummy ! Cant what to see the finished result.
    love T ♥

  9. Really, really nice! I am loving those pink ones….and Raymondo’s new collar :-) Hamish has a nice Tartan one, very trendy also xx

  10. Pearlin J says:

    Loved reading about your Creative process! The squares are so beautiful! And Raymond seems to be in a blissful land :) beautiful shot :)

  11. Anna says:

    raymond is so majestic, such a beauty of a siamese!

  12. tejehannah says:

    Hello Alice and Reymond! These squares are really nice, it’s sure I shall try them!
    We had here in Crete yesterday first day of autumn – still very warm but we can feel autumn in the wind. Reymond is so bautiful sleeping, also I love to look my animals when they are enjoying their sleep.
    Wishes Teje and Nero

  13. Great squares!! And what a cute kitty!

  14. Amanda says:

    Oh that Siamese meow is so unique, isn’t it? And so loud!! But so adorable too :o)

    I love the new squares, can’t wait to see the pattern… my creative brain works just like that too, isn’t it funny!

  15. renee says:

    Gee I love your crochet, particularly the colours you use. Thanks for the inspiration. I have crocheted a stack of circles ages ago and I’m not sure how to join them to make a blanky. I’ll be sure to check out your tutorial and see if I can turn my circles into squares.

  16. frou-frou says:

    Hi Alice

    I understand the geography, but I do find it funny that you’re just starting spring and in the UK we are just starting autumn!!! Crazy planet isnt it

    Fiona xx

  17. Oh so glad i found you blog – so bright and beautiful! Do you have a follower link?

  18. Penelope says:

    Hey Alice and Raymond

    You have the patience of a saint with persevering in pattern making, your squares are really great fun! I am hoping we don’t have to say goodbye to our summer just yet, the other night I found myself popping socks on before going to bed !

    Thanks so much for your comments and visits to my blog, the Debbie Bliss costs £4.25 a ball here, I’m not sure what the exchange rate is but $16 something seems HUGE to me. It’s not cheap but it’s defnitely WORTH it xox speak soon , Penny

  19. PosyLinda says:

    Too luscious for words….wonderful colors. Glad to see Raymond enjoying his kitty nap. Enjoy your sister’s lovely gift……

  20. Louise says:

    Goodness me what lovely crochet goodies you have here, loving the mandalas.
    x

  21. Raymond looks like a sleeping baby! Your crochet squares are wonderful, all that yummy colour, a great colour fix. Love Vanessa xxx

  22. Louise says:

    Fabulous squares! You are quite clever to come up with these amazing patterns!

  23. jacey conroy says:

    I have an award for you and raymond on my blog.
    jacey x

  24. Sandi says:

    Hmmmmmmmm indeed, love them, will have to try. The green one with the yellow and white in the middle really looks like a flower doesn’t it.
    Sandi xxx
    Today is going to be 18 and the sun is out, yippie.

  25. Pammy Sue says:

    Such a beautiful cat!

  26. Linda says:

    I love your squares! I haven’t crocheted for 45 years (am 55, a South African) and am inspired to try again, so am looking for simple but exciting pattern. Think this is it! thankyou!

Leave a Reply

