A self-confessed Mandala Maniac

Hello Lovelies!

I am soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo excited about the photos I have just taken!  I cannot wait to show them to you, and look at them myself too!!! 

I loved reading all of your kind comments on my last post, it was lovely to hear so much positive feedback!  I laughed at a couple of comments about me popping coffee pills which is why it seems that I crochet very fast!  To be honest with you, I actually don’t drink much coffee, I drink a lot of decaf plunger coffee, but if I drink too much real coffee, I get terribly anxious, so keep it to a mimimum!  Crochet is my passion, completely and utterly!  I always wanted to be an artist but I’m terrible at painting and drawing.  As soon as I learned to crochet, I just fell in love with the potential it has for creativity, the shapes, the colour blending!  I feel like at last I have found my artistic medium and I am completely and utterly hooked!  Apparently I even talk about it in my sleep sometimes…

Do you talk in your sleep?  I’m told I do it all the time… sometimes I can get a bit embarassed about the fact that the silly things I think about come out of my mouth when I’m sleeping! 

I just got sooooo sidetracked then!  I wanted to show you my latest mandala!!!  This one only took me a few hours and I know I said this about the last one, but I think it’s my favourite yet!  It’s KB’s fave so far….

I managed to get outside for about 5 minutes between rain showers to get these shots!  It has been raining for 4 days and I’ve got a couple of little things I made which I need to photograph outdoors, so I’m impatiently waiting for the rain to stop!

I love how this mandala is so cosmic.  I love planets and stars and galaxies, and this one is just so… out of this world!

I’m going to take a break from mandalas for a while (let’s see about that though!) because I have an exciting, oh yes, *so exciting* new creation to show you next time!  I was having a play last night and created something I’m thrilled by… It’s still a mandala theme, but just a wee bit different. 

So, I took out the rest of the mandalas and photographed them all together!

An explosion of colour!

Ka-blam!

I am in love.

How are your mandalas going?  I’ve seen a few lovely ones around, and some delicious bunting!  Click here for look at one lovely example!  Oh my, I just clicked “here” and she has made a stunning coffee plunger cozy too!  Make sure you pop over to see Tania’s lovely work!

OK, I’m going to be highly disciplined and turn the internet off, to devote the rest of the morning to study!  I have essays-a-plenty on the go, so time to go and do some work!  If I do, I can sit down and crochet guilt-free tonight!

Oh, but before I go… I had a special request from the lovely Vanessa…

 

Spot his mouse under his paw!  Don’t you just want to run your fingers throught that luscious fur!

 

Washing in the sun… and talking to the birds!

 Hve a lovely day everyone!  And thank you so much for stopping by!

Lots of love to you from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to A self-confessed Mandala Maniac

  1. leah says:

    Stunning. You’ve got a great eye for colour.

  2. Fiolinn says:

    So gorgeous! (both the colours and the lovely Raymond). I am so inspired by your blog!

  3. spear401 says:

    The mandalas are gorgeous, no doubt about it! Um, I have one little, teeny, tiny question…what are you going to do with’em?

    My mother took her mother back to Finland to visit family about 40 years ago and came home with 3 crocheted circles. They were done in orange thread, starched and hung smallest to largest (going downwards), to hang on the wall. Sorry, don’t have a photo, but they looked great hanging in my mom’s living room!

    Gosh, I guess I just dated myself (I won’t say I was just starting junior high school/middle school during that time).

    Renee, spear401

  4. Joyce says:

    ohhhh you have brought the sunshine into my day. How beautiful these are Alice, and thanks Vanessa for the Raymond love request. I just love the last photo. ‘Hi Raymond, you darling boy.’ I have been drooling over your wonderful colours. No crochet action here at all, and I am not even inspired, that’s the worst part. Hugs to you and thanks for sharing your beautiful creativeness. xx

  5. sandiart says:

    Hi Alice, many years ago I drew a mandala for myself, now what a great idea to crochet one, that’s now on my ‘to do’ list, they are beautiful. Your house is full of color.
    Love Raymond talking to the birds and I can hear him too (thanks to listening to my cat ‘talking to the birds’) my cat is limping at the moment, we think she has strained a muscle in her back leg area, poor Meggs.
    Hugs Sandi xx

  6. Bianca says:

    I LOVE your mandala’s. I like the blue and purple shaded one the most. I’m not sure if you got my reply to the reading you did for me. I REALLY appreciated it, I think I replied to no-reply though, not your email address, let me know! I don’t think blogger and wordpress play nicely.
    xB

  7. Aisyah Helga says:

    So lovely!! Wished I had the time to make one…Great work,Alice :)

  8. Cat G says:

    Is that a real mouse Raymond has???

    And I love the trippiness of the madala. Trippy.
    :P

  9. Dorien says:

    Hi Alice, these mandala’s are so gorgious. I especially like the last one you made, but only because purple is my favourite colour. Can’t wait to see your newest creation; you are full of surprises, and they are usually very nice ones.

  10. Planet Penny says:

    A real ‘out-of -this-world’colour explosion, gorgeous! Penny x

  11. tejehannah says:

    Dear Alice, so beutiful and great colours! Thank you also for the great idea about old t-shirts, just what I needed! I shall try that soon! Raymond is always so wonderful!
    Best wishes Teje and Nero

  12. Oh Raymond, you’re the most beautiful cat in the world! But then I imagine he gets told that all the time, doesn’t he! Thank you so much for the treat of more photos of Raymond, I could never get bored of seeing photos of him. Your mandalas look fantastic, all photographed together they look fabulous, a real colour treat! Love Vanessa xxx

  13. Tania says:

    Oh Alice, your soooo sweet to mention me & my little blog. I have a free day to myself today as my little men have gone out with their Daddy so I am hoping to finish my Mandala & GSB :)
    keep the lovely hooky projects coming, you brighten my days xxx

  14. lyn says:

    Beautiful Mandala and beautiful Raymond!
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  15. Pingback: Something for the Nature Table | planetpenny.co.uk

  16. Planet Penny says:

    Just to let you know I’ve put a link to you from Planet Penny x

  17. Penelope says:

    Thanks Alice, such colour happy hooky pleasure! I am off work till thursday when Alice goes back to school, we are going on carry on having fun, might do some more cycling and making mosaic plant pots…..but then tonight she pops over to a friedn for a sleepover till lunch time tomorrow and with hubby working late tonight I will have some time to indulge myself in hooky happiness. I also found out on the East Sussex group on Ravelry that my LYS is having a 50% off yarn sale….. I think Alice and I need to pop over, not that I NEED more yarn but I WANT more. Can a girl ever have enough?

    much love, P xox

  18. Sooo pretty! All of them together look like a fireworks display. (Ka-blam, indeed!) I really love the colour blending of the last two.
    Oh, and Raymond is super handsome!

  19. Delicious Mandala’s, you really have an eye for colour Alice!

    I love that HUGE/Huggable photo of Raymondo with his mouse, he looks like he isn’t interested in it at all….but I dare you to take it off him!! :-)

  20. Casey says:

    eeek, all those colors are gorgeous! I wish they were all mine! I really need to get making some

  21. Melissa says:

    If you keep posting these beautiful pictures, I’m going to get side tracked and drop what I’m working on the make one of these! So beautiful!! You know, they’d make lovely seat cushions, but it would be a shame to hide them under someone’s rear….or at least mine would cover one : ) Thanks for sharing!

  22. Atmara says:

    Beautiful!! I’m a digital mandala maker and always amazed at the different mediums people use to create mandalas. Yours are the first crocheted mandalas I’ve seen. I’m definitely going to have to share this blog with on my Facebook mandala page.
    Blessings,
    Atmara

  23. Amanda says:

    Eek, I have missed a lot by being offline!

    Oh Raymond, how I love you so! You’re the best part of any post (sorry Alice, but he is!!)

    Your mandalas are just beautiful and I cannot wait to find some time to try making one xx

  24. tejehannah says:

    Dear Alice, it’s me again. Do you know why sometimes I have problem to open your blog and instead there opens a page of wordpress.com? The address is right and I have it also in my ‘Favorite blogs’. Wishes from Teje

  25. Kerry says:

    Hi Alice,
    I’m loving all those mandalas together…they look stunning. And I really love your enthusiasm too…its infectious!

  26. allison says:

    these are beauties! i love all of those colors radiating out.

  27. Louise says:

    Hi Alice & Raymond!
    I just LOVE the colours of your beautiful mandalas. I must get to and make some for myself! Lovely photo of Raymond looking as handsome as ever!

  28. Nana GoGo says:

    I love them and your colours are really pretty. Think I`ll become addicted too. I love Raymond too!(em, can I ask a really stupid question? What is a `Mandala`?!)

  29. neko says:

    Hi and thank you so much for sharing such beautiful mandalas.
    Love the artwork featured in this blog . I look forward to introducing this art form to my young art students. They are only ages 6-9 so they will not be able to knit or crochet.

    Cheers Neko

    P.s. Just wanted to share some of my students work with you.
    Please feel free to leave a comment. We love the feedback.

    http://ecogreen4fun.blogspot.com/

  30. Kim Crayton MA LMHCA, Counselor and Reiki Practitioner says:

    wow wow wow! These crochet mandalas are AMAZING! You have inspired me to pick up the hook again and express some COLORS! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

