The FO!

Hello Lovelies!

Thank you for all of your hat embellishment feedback!  There was some great input… The general vote went to the third option of greens and blues mixed together…

I liked the button idea very much!

So I hooked myself up the biggest flower I’ve ever made….

And quite liked it!  But green was also colour of the day… and as it was meant to match my green jacket, I had a try at a green one too…

Both are rather delicious…. but my vote ended up being with the blue and green.  The big green flower will embellish a future project….

meanwhile, I have to admit I’m still not sold on this hat.  I’ve had a few “misses” with my knitting projects lately which has caused my creative juices to stagnate… do you ever get like that?  I tried knitting a lovely pair of stripey arm warmers at the beginning of winter but they were ITCHY!  Evilly itchy!  So I bought some lovely touchyarn merino wool to knit some more, but when I did, oh my goodness, they were tiny and I just don’t know where I went wrong!  I’m also in the middle of a boring cushion which will be a present for my sister… so all in all I’m feeling uninspired!

But here is a picture of the hat for you… I wore it today and felt a bit, well, not like myself!!!

Tee hee… while it’s a lovely hat, I’m going to think about it for next winter!  By then, maybe I’ll be more open to the look!

I’ve decided to combat my annoyance with myself for knitting so many tiny hats, by knitting myself what I’m calling the “crazy stripes hat” which is a purely just for fun hat involving no particular order of colours, no worries about the size and *ahem* no flowers!!!

I’ve started it off with my touchyarn for the band…

Yes yes!  On straight needles again… I’ve given circs a try, but I just can’t get the hang of them at this stage in my limited knitting career… I’ll  try them again one day I promise!

Well the sun is shining beautifully, so I’m going to go and have some fun with my crazy stripes hat and wrestle my camera off KB who is trying to photograph Raymond stalking birds.

Have a lovely lovely day, and thank you for visiting,

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The FO!

  1. frou-frou says:

    Oooooh love Love LOVE the flowers!!!! C’mon! Don’t be shy! Wear them with pride :)

    Fi x

  2. alyshajane says:

    I love both the flowers and your hat. I think it looks splendid!

    I tried circulars and can usually get them right, but every so often I get the dreaded twist and unintentional moebius ‘strip’! I was nervous to try double-pointed needles but gave them a go and I find them waaay easier than circular needles. They look scary, but you are knitting with only two needles at a time, much like straights. Maybe worth a try?

  3. sandiart says:

    I LOVE THIS HAT with the very gorgeous flower, I must make flowers!!!!
    sandi xx

  4. Mrs Twins says:

    OOh this is so pretty! Well done, lovely photo!
    Hugs Suex

  5. jacey conroy says:

    The hat is stunning and the flower is gorgeous, you should wear it.
    jacey x

  6. inkberryblue says:

    I love the flowers ~ both their pattern and their colours. I think the hat’s great too!

  7. Joyce says:

    Oh Alice, stunning just stunning, I think you look fabulous with your hat and the flower is the perfect finish. I can see a peek of your coat here too, and the set goes together very well. Wear it with pride I say. I just love your hat, and now I have your recipe, I am going to cast on for me. Funny you mention stripy hat, that is what I would like to make for me. I seem to be in a muli-colour type of mood at the moment as well. Stripes are in I say, let’s stripe the place with pride!!

  8. Ellen Bloom says:

    THanks for the Mandala link shout-out! I’m honored!

  9. Pearlin J says:

    that hat with the flower is absolutely stunning on you! right now, I am in love with the blue green combo too.

  10. Melissa says:

    Hi, I found your blog through Ravelry (my guilty distraction) and saw your finished hat and had to say that it is absolutely lovely! The colors are amazing and the flower is wonderful. It will take time to adjust to flowers on your hat, but once you accept it, you’ll want them on everything – so says the flower hat wearer. Anyway, great work!

    BTW, I gave you a little shout out in my small blog (just started this year). The Granny Mandala caused it. Love that!

  11. Amanda says:

    Oooh glad to see you managed to choose a gorgeous flower to embellish your hat with :o) It really does look lovely xx

  12. Jennifer says:

    Love your hat and flowers. You should DEFINITELY wear the flower~ it looks great on you. Don’t be shy! Looking forward to the stripey hat ~ I would like to make them for my boys but have not idea how:(

  13. carol says:

    Just loving it both flowers are great!

  14. The hat looks fantastic! The big flower really makes it special. Love the pic of Raymond stretched out from a previous post. I’ve just blogged about the wonderful rosette I won in your giveaway, and I did rather rave about the delicious Raymond. I would love to own a Siamese cat, I think they’re such characters, and I love how needy they often are of human company. Douglas would be a little jealous. And Hugo isn’t fond of cats, so my future as a Siamese cat owner doesn’t look rosy, sadly. Love Vanessa xxx

  15. lyn says:

    Hello, I just ‘found you’ through Vanessa’s blog Do you Mind if I knit’ what a lovely blog and I will pop back over now I have you on my list of blogs.
    I love the flowers on this post.
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  16. Louise says:

    I just L O V E your lovely hat with the fabby flower! Must try and make one for myself as it won’t belong before it goes from blistering hot to freezing cold here.
    Take care,
    Hugs to Raymond!

  17. Jan says:

    The flower on a hat? Gorgeous. I must dust off my crochet hook, and try this for my daughter. I can’t wait for autumn to make its entrance.

Leave a Reply

