An embellishing conundrum

Hello!

I’ve been doing a bit of knitting lately, I had missed it after hooking up all of those cushions… So I started a hat which I had been planning to knit with some *birthday wool* which is very special wool not usually purchased on my student budget!  I bought some of this…

B*gger!  I had to slip a shot of Raymond lolling in the sunshine there, as I have deleted the artistic shots I took of my *birthday wool!*  Well, it was two balls of Debbie Bliss cashmerino… so I started knitting up my hat…

I’m loving that blue… I bought it especially to go with my “new” green jacket I bought at the op shop in Whanganui a few weeks ago.

So knitting away… I was determined not to make it too small (remember the touchyarn hat?) so I made it HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE, then frogged most of it… then made it a bit smaller, finished it, and it has just seemed a bit… you know… not quite right.

Disappointing isn’t it?  I think I have performance anxiety issues around using gorgeous wool.  So this morning I was in front of my mirror getting ready and trying on the hat again, and just as a joke, held up my gorgeous touchyarn flower badge, and it just changed the entire look of the hat!

I liked!

But I’ve never been an embellisher… never worn wooly flowery goodness on my gear, in fact, I make baby hats with big flowers, am I ready to cross that line I have set for myself?  I have nothing to lose, so I’m going to whip up a 4 layered stacked flower and see how it looks.

What do you think will work best with my hat colour?

All blues and turquoises with the original hat colour in the centre?

Maybe that’s too blue?  Maybe shades of turquoise and green?

Or the last option… mixing up the greens and blues?

This is so confusing!

To flower or not to flower?  Will this one flower change my image and push me over into the realms of “out and proud crafter???!!!”  Am I ready for that?  Or am I still in the crafty closet (to a point)?

Let me know what you think!!! 

Love from Alice and Raymond XX

 

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to An embellishing conundrum

  1. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice, oh my goshness, ummmm, *scrolling up to hat and back to yarn pics* over and over. ummmm, I think either option 1 or 3 for yarn. I think the middle pic with the third ball of green is turning me away from this option, however, maybe that type of green would be perfect on the blue. *yikes* I really am no good at decisions like this. I do love the blue of your hat tho. I also notice you have your knitting on needles and not a circular needle or a set of needles. Where do you get your patterns from? I have been scouring Ravelry for ‘knit flat’ beanies, and struggling to find them. I am going to actually get the pattern for an ‘in the round’ beanie and just knit it flat. I just cannot seem to ‘get’ using a set of needles. It totally throws me everytime and I lose stitches all over the place.
    Can’t wait to see your completed hat. lol, Go on, go for the flowery goodness, the colours will ‘unfluffy’ it and totally make it grown up like. Besides, there is no rule to say one cannot have a flower in her beanie! Have a wonderful day. xx

  2. carol says:

    Last one would be the one for me, but hey why not make all three then you can swop and change them around!

  3. I like the last one best but also would like to challenge you to throw in an offbeat color like white or pink or red or something just to change it up and give it that POP! Go for it!

  4. Now I am really going to throw a spanner in the works….I love the second one of the turquoise and greens but I think you need a heavy brown or earthy colour in there to balance it a bit :-) How about a challenge??? Find your circular needles and try a beanie in the round! Trust me once you have done one you will not go back to doing the flat and seaming them! You Tube has some brilliant tutorials and if you are really up for a challenge check out Heidi Bears sock tutorial, she has some nifty knitting tricks over there :-)

  5. PS I have a flower on my hat….does that mean I am out of the closet!! ;-)

  6. frou-frou says:

    Well, if you want my opinion too, I think a flower in the same yarn as the hat would be a good compromise! It will be an embelishment yes, but quite a subtle one. Then when you’re more ‘out there’ add a big coloured button to the middle of it.

    And as far as the crafty closet goes, I say out and proud!!! :)

    Fi x

  7. Debi Y. says:

    I like the last combination – the colors are very pretty together. Don’t be shy – wear your hat with a flower proudly – you’ll probably get people asking you to make them one. :)

  8. Cat G says:

    Option two, with leaves and a flower. Yes.

  9. Cat G says:

    you could make several tiny forget-me-not-like flowers and scatterthem up the side of the hat like a fascinator with a spray of foliage behind them

  10. sandiart says:

    I’m loving the last combo, pretty colors together, and not too loud for your first embellishment. I’m rather shy about wearing embellies on my clothes, but I think a little flower would be ‘just right’
    Arhhh, Raymond wish I could do that, but the sun is coming on Saturday yayyyyyyyyy
    Hugs Sandi xx

  11. My favourite of the three (after much scrolling) is option 3. Although, option 1 would be very nice and subtle, since its close to the colour of the hat (which is gorgeous).
    Or … you could do all three! .. and a pom pom! (But that might be bit much, eh?) ;D
    P.S. That photo makes me want to pet Raymond’s belly.

  12. ozgrkdn says:

    Everything are very nice,I am working croche,I love your blog..thanks..

Leave a Reply

